Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Amerden Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Berkshire > Maidenhead > Amerden Caravan & Camping Site Reviews

Amerden Caravan & Camping Site
Old Marsh Lane
Dorney Reach
Maidenhead
Berkshire   (Browse area)
SL6 0DZ
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 50
Open: Closed For 2019, Reopening 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 161 Reviews
                9/10 from 161 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  161 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rachelpotter 10 reviews from this member

5* star campsite.Cannot rate it high enough. Fantastic value for money. It was like camping in someone's back garden, lovely laid out pitches amongst the trees and hedges. Fantastic wardens who looked after you from the minute you arrived. Even giving our 3 children mini Easter eggs. They kept the site very clean and maintained.

Great facilities, very clean shower and toilet block, vending machine, microwave, fridge and freezers, washing machine and tumble drier. Lovely play park for children.And was not worried about the kids walking around the site.

Great location for Windsor, Maidenhead and especially Legoland.

Please don't let the idea of it being near the motorway put you off.It becomes background noise, you know its there but don't switch onto it and actually we found it quite therapeutic!

Definitely going to visit again.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: RyanBeth 3 reviews from this member

Just back from 8 days at this site, and it was easily one of the best we have been to. Bev and her husband were the most friendly owners I have met, nothing was too much trouble for them. It was relaxed, fun, clean,great location and hopefully we will return!

There were 2 vans in our party, kids had a great time on bikes and the playground, the river was close by with nice walks.

Taplow station offers easy access to London.Windsor, Bray, etc all easy reach.

Maidenhead is walkable, nice area, pub by the river, close to The Fat Duck if you re-mortgage the house!

The motorway noise isn't really a problem, its more background noise than anything and it just makes getting around easier as you are close to it.

Overall a very nice site that I would recommend to anyone.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KerryH81 3 reviews from this member

We visited this site to be close to London and Legoland for day trips. Legoland is roughly a 15 minute drive from the site and you can get the train to London just a 25 min walk up the road. The campsite and owners were fantastic! It is set by Bray lock and in the evenings we would stroll along the bank os the river. There are 3 showers in the ladies which are very spacious, always hot and kept very clean and I think 5 toilets. There are 3 large sinks with plenty of hot water for dish washing with a washing machine, dryer and a large sink for laundry all under cover.

There are also freezers for free ice pack cooling and a microwave which is free to use too. My kids (21 months and 5) loved the little park.

We will definitely be returning

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Golomz 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site on the way back from Belgium. We were looking for a base to stay so we could site see London. This site was ideal. We got a good friendly welcome, helpful and cheery. The kids took too the site straight away thanks too the excellent play area.

The pitch was level and well kept with electric close, also water nearby. I liked the way caravans and tents were mixed together so you could meet a cross section of people, the people in the tent next to us were very friendly.

The toilet block was outstanding, and the disposal point was easily accessible. With a train station near by it was easy to get a day rider for the train and underground. Although the nearest station does not operrate on a Sunday, Maidenhead was nearby. All in all a wonderful place to stay.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AllieStops 3 reviews from this member

Fabulous site. The Motorway was noisy and as we pitched right at the end of the site only about 50 yards away, but you definitely get used to it and the kids slept right through all three nights.

The toilet facilities were fabulous, never once saw them messy. There was also a microwave, a fridge and two freezers.And laundry facilities!

As the site was fairly quiet we were allowed to pick our pitch and settled for one between hedgerows which offered even more privacy. The site owners and the couple that help run it were really, really friendly and helpful.

For kiddies, there is a small climbing frame, slide and swings which were ample big enough for our two (aged 3 and 5). The only site I have let them wander over to the play area unsupervised. Relaxed in the knowledge that they wouldn't go further and would be safe. It is also a very short walk to the Thames and a beautifully kept lock, where you can sit and watch the boats go through. If you head up the river under the motorway, on the left is a fabulous adventure playground too. Although adult supervision would be wise for this!

They don't mind you having barbeques as long as they are raised from the ground. There are a few very handy picnic tables and they even have menus for local takeaways prepared to deliver to site.

There is a Harvester just up the road too, which offers an early bird menu up to 10.00 pm at night! Very handy on the return journey from Legoland at 7.00 pm with two starving children.

All in all, definitely want to come back to this site and have already recommended to other camping buddies. The only downside is the motorway but it really isn't a problem.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Boop123 2 reviews from this member

We have had just had 4 nights at this site. Well what a little GEM! We loved it! Used it as a base for legoland,Windsor Castle and Chessington. The wardens were very nice from the moment we checked in until we sadly checked out.

It was spotless at all times,and plenty of hot water. We did hear the motorway but it quickly slipped into the back ground.

We were pitched next to the children's playground which was great as the kids could play while we had a cuppa and watched on.

We hope to return to this site ASAP and would recommend to anyone.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fitz169g 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here 5 nights as a base for travelling into London. It was perfect location for doing so as the train station was approx 20 minutes walk from the site and then 30 minutes and your in central London.

The site itself is spotlessly clean, very flat, very generous pitches. The facilities were great, hot water in showers at any time of the day, Good washing up area, recycling, laundry. Lovely walks along the Thames riverbank and locks.

The motorway noise on this site has been mentioned before and cannot fail to be mentioned again. It's a constant drone (perhaps better than a quieter road with the occasional lorry rattling past) constant 24 hour drone which is loud enough to afford you the privacy of conversation without feeling like your neighbours can hear everything you are saying. It did not keep us awake, or stop me from enjoying an afternoon lying in the sunshine, with a good book and a nice glass of wine.However when you are away from the noise, you couldn't help but enjoy the silence.

Wardens on site were lovely, very helpful and very knowledgeable of the area.

One point to note - no credit card facility for paying for stay - only cash or cheque.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dil G 1 review from this member

Absolutely the best site we've visited in years! The facilities are spotless & the site is located on a flat ground, although can be a little noisy (just by M4 motorway) Great location to visit legoland (7miles) or into London (35 mins or so by train) Just 5 min walk away is beautiful pathway along the Thames & nearby Bray locks. Staff friendly & very helpful we stayed 4 nights with my two children age 6 & 9 will definitely be visiting again soon 9/10 would be 10/10 if further away from motorway noise.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jobeclane 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a brilliant week at Amerden. Would echo the other reviews really. Here are the best bits:

*extremely friendly and helpful wardens

*flat, level pitches, easy access to water

*clean toilet blocks with free showers

*large washing up area with separate sink for laundry

*free use of fridge, freezer, microwave and toaster

*vending machine selling crisps, chocolate, sweets and soft drinks (very good value for money, inc. Pocket money sweets for children)

*small but good childen's play area

*beautiful location alongside the river and locks.

The negatives: none really apart from the noise from the motorway but that didn't really bother us once we got used to it.

If you've got children try:

*Legoland

*ask the wardens for directions to the nearby adventure playground

*taplow to London on the train was about 45 minutes and you could get a family railcard for about 27 including return journey and all zones on the underground.

*the Roahld Dahl museum (leaflets in warden's hut)

We also visited Windsor and Eton - both beautiful and if you've got a head for heights the big wheel at Windsor gives brilliant views of the castle.

We would highly recommend this campsite and hope to return next year.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Actweaver 2 reviews from this member

The site is located alongside the M4 and underneath the Heathrow flight path. Peaceful it is not. We failed to pack earplugs and therefore spent most of the night listening to the backdrop of constant traffic. The campsite and facilities are good and the wardens helpful. The campsite was almost full when we arrived and had lots of families and kids. The good thing about the M4 is that it's easy to find and very accessible but anyone planning to visit needs to prepare for noise.

Previous     161 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Berkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5417 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019