Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Ingleton > Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site > Reviews

Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site
Thornton In Lonsdale
Ingleton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
LA6 3PD
Tel: 015242 41432
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 42
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 106 Reviews
                10/10 from 106 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (28)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jondy376 62 reviews from this member

 His site is very well located for exploring the north west, we stayed 2 nights, As everyone else has said the site is beautiful and faultless, it looked like the site was quite new and the toilet block was out of this world. There are a couple of nice country pubs near by that do excellent meals, and also a farm shop just 5 minutes walk away that is well worth a visit. This site was a little more expensive than any site we’ve been on previously but well worth it and will return when in the area 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: LesNick 3 reviews from this member

 Our 1st visit was when it was a 6 pitch site and we were really satisfied with our choice, hence my earlier review. Just a 1 night visit last week and the fabulous site as was previously stated has, in my opinion, developed into something almost unbeatable and in one of the best designed and built settings possible, where the design and layout makes everything easily accessible and kept in pristine order. A credit to this family team. I can see one problem, that if not monitored could develop into a problem and that would be ball games taking place on the access road and encroaching onto other users pitches. Otherwise the best you will find.  


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Josie+steve+bazil 28 reviews from this member

 As with other reviewers, this site is beautiful! a lot of thought has gone into the planning and layout. The pitches are a generous size, with grass in between. Once the newly planted hedges have established, there will also be the privacy that most of us like too. The showers are immaculate, but then they have only been in use for a couple of months, with underfloor heating. Bliss! There is an undercover pot wash area and also an information room where all sorts of snippets of info can be found. There is also a picture gallery of how the campsite has developed in the last few months, and it is amazing the transformation! Well done to the owners!

The campsite is an easy walk to the Country Harvest shop which is beside the A65 and has lots of tasty treats for your holiday. The car park is always busy so a popular place for people to visit. Ingleton Waterfalls is also an easy walk from the campsite, in the opposite direction. However, the Waterfall walk is as described in the leaflet, strenuous (!) but well worth the 4hrs it took us to do. (we must be unfit!)

In the hamlet of Thornton in Lonsdale which is immediately behind the campsite, there is The Marton Arms. A lovely little pub/hotel, which allows dogs into the bar area but not in the restaurant. Extremely good food! We ate there twice during our week long stay and we weren't disappointed.

We visited Hawes twice, once on market day which was Tuesday( as is Settle) and we had chips from The Hawes Chippie, and I can safely say they were the best chip shop chips I have ever tasted! Crispy on the outside, fluffy inside. Absolutely gorgeous! We went again on the Thursday to visit the Creamery as we ran out of time on our previous visit. Well worth going if only for the cheese tasting!

Most of our evenings were spent with our friends who were in an adjacent caravan, sitting in the awning, and we could barely hear any noise from the main road, I think because the site is in a dip? It isn't until you walk to the end of the farm drive that you realise this.

The views all around the site are lovely (I think Ingleborough hill is the main one you can see)

Dogs have to be exercised away from the pitches, off site, and that would be my only tiny flaw. A small exercise field, where dogs could run off the lead and for all dog owners to clear up after their hounds!

It's not even a criticism, just a personal thing for my dog in particular, who would rather do his thing off the lead! However, we managed and there is a bin in the lane for such things.

The owners have also said in their description of the site, that there are no areas for children to play ball games, and there isn't, but the families who were there, were letting their children play ball games. I felt that it isn't really a site for families as there is nowhere dedicated to playing. It also states in site rules that children weren't allowed to play in the brook that runs through the site, but they were. However, once the hedges have established themselves then that may stop.

A lovely family who have invested a lot into this site and we wish them all the best for their future. I would happily recommend this site to anyone going to that area of the Yorkshire Dales. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BuddingTraveller83 10 reviews from this member

 This is, by far the best site we have visited. Brand new, modern facilities that are second to none, as good and as clean as the best hotels. It is easy to get to, just 12 miles from M6 and good 'A' roads to get to it.

The showers are big with a partitioned clothes space so they don't get wet, the toilets, separate sinks and showers alike are spotless, 24hrs a day. The site is well laid out and the pitches are huge. Enough room for the van, car, awning plus. Location is 1 mile from Ingleton and there are so many walks around; Dent, Clapham, Hawes, Bentham to name a few.

We have unfinished business in the area and will be booking again here. Thanks for an amazing site with amazing views and facilities. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jacks59 4 reviews from this member

 We booked this at short notice originally for 6 nights. It was a shame we had to leave early as this is a superb site. It is clean, tidy and very we'll kept. The toilet and shower facilities are excellent. Having told Sandra the owner that we would not be able to stay the length of time we had booked she gave us a refund, which was unexpected yet very welcome. Although the site has nothing for children my 2 grandsons managed to amuse themselves, mainly in the beck. Having family that live in the village of ingleton this is a site we most certainly plan to return to and would recommend to anyone. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nwilson777 3 reviews from this member

 This was our first outing in our new tourer and we chose well.

The site was spotlessly clean. Toilets and showers were clean and well maintained. All pitches are hardstanding. No facilities for children re a play area, but its not that kind of site. More of a quiet hideaway.

A good base for walks around Ingleton. Country Harvest shop (pricey) 5 mins walk from site. 10 mins walk to Marton Arms (excellent food served at reasonable prices).

The owners are very helpful and allowed us to stay later.

Will be back in the future 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Abbeygal4 1 review from this member

 We visited Thornbrook Barn last year when the site owners were just drawing up the plans to extend this excellent caravan site. Over looked by Ingleborough on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales

Now with some 29 large pitches new toilet and shower block the site looks fantastic where you can relax in your own little private pitch.

When we visited the shower and toilet block was not finished but operational once the new seeded grass and shrubs start to grow the site will look even better.

The Family run Sheep Farm and Caravan site are a real credit to Alan, Sandra, James and Ellie not forgetting Granddad who have worked hard to get this site up and running for Easter.

On arriving we were met by a smiling friendly site owner who handed us a map of the site and leaflets of places to visit locally. We will be visiting again in the near future to meet old friends and while away the hours in a tranquil, peaceful part of the Yorkshire Dales 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alkaz 10 reviews from this member

 Husband and myself like Ingleton and were looking for a quiet site in the area. We found this one whilst looking through this web site and are glad we did. The site has been developed over the past year, new trees planted, spotless heated toilet/shower block, information room and pot wash. We had a super pitch that was larger than a normal pitch.

Once the trees have grown and the grass it will be a really nice site and the pitches private. The owners are friendly and the whole family hardworking.

I wouldn't really recommend it for children as there are no facilities such as a play park for them. Considering the site is just off the A65 there was hardly any road noise.

The nearest pub was the Marton Arms about 10 min walk down the road. As we were only 16 miles away from Hawes we visited the Wensleydale Creamery and came away with some very nice selected cheese. We will definitely visit again as we like the area and it will be nice to see how established the planting has become. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lennythevan 2 reviews from this member

 This is a meticulously cared for site in beautiful surroundings with immaculate, huge pitches, a pristine shower block and a great location. Reasonable too. The booking process was well organised and Sandra was very helpful prior to arrival. My only comment is is that they maybe need to decide who they are targeting the site at. The owners should potentially consider becoming an adult only site as there are absolutely no facilities for children (whatever age) and any outdoor play is actively discouraged. No parent takes their child camping and can realistically expect them to sit down and not play ball games or explore and the children in our party were told off numerous times by the gentleman owner. On one occasion he was quite aggressive with my two (well behaved) teenaged boys who were playing a gentle game of football and causing no nuisance to any other visitors. I appreciate enforcing rules (although there was no sight of a 'no ball games rule' in the information leaflet) but there are ways and means to do this without stereotyping young adults and yelling at them. An explanation first of the existence of a rule and why, followed by a polite request to stop would have done the trick and then as parents we would have intervened if it had continued. The owner's behaviour on this occasion was unacceptable and led to upset all round. All in all we'd probably return as a couple, not as a group with children. Therefore, I would highly recommend Thornbrook as a site for adults who like peace and an early night in their motor home/caravan. (Incidentally we weren't a 'party group' as we were there to get up very early for the gaping gill winch and walk up Ingleborough and were off site for most of the time. ) Good luck to the owners with their new venture - they have created a beautiful space to enjoy the fabulous location - they just need to make it clearer on the website about children as we would have booked elsewhere if we'd known that family groups were an issue and saved the stress all round. Also note, the hardstanding is VERY hard - compacted gravel rather than loose gravel - so pack a good hammer and pegs and don't plan to use your awning as a bedroom. Marton Arms is in walking distance; food ok (not great), friendly staff, service was shambolic for us unfortunately but they did have a wedding on at the time so hopefully that is not a regular occurance. The location itself is stunningly beautiful and I highly recommend Kirkby Lonsdale, Claphan and Ingleton as places to visit plus the amazing walks to enjoy in the area. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ron22 20 reviews from this member

 I can only agree fully with the comments of the previous review. The toilet block was not quite finished on arrival however showers and WC were operation. The dishwashing room was completed the day after arrival and I would anticipate that all the other smaller works will be finished well before Easter. Grass seed had been sown and was starting to appear. The pitches are massive and once mature this will be one of the top sites to visit. The owners are extremely friendly and hard working. Evereything is brand new and therefore spotless and up to date.

The local bus can be stopped on the main road, a five minute walk. (2 Hour service to Kirkby Lonsdale and Settle)

This is an excellent location for walking. The information room contained books on local walks and also O. S Maps.

My overall Rating of 9 is purely down to the fact that there was unfinished parts of the site. 


Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ingleton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


53524 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement