Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cashel Camping In The Forest Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Glasgow > Cashel Camping In The Forest Site Reviews

Cashel Camping In The Forest Site
Loch Lomond
Rowardennan
Glasgow
Argyll   (Browse area)
G63 0AW
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 168
Open: 26/04/2021 to 18/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 99 Reviews
                8/10 from 99 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  99 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scandude 1 review from this member

 This was the first ever time we have been camping. We phoned the Forestry website about a month in advance and was told we needed to book a minimum of 3 nights and we had to pay extra for a loch view. We arrived after over 5 hours travelling at 7pm on the 15th Sept on a very rainy and windy night to be told by the site owner that they had no soft ground pitches with loch views left and should have been told this on the phone. We were allowed to pitch our 3 man tent on ground near the loch, but this ground was very rocky and stoney and our tent pegs were not strong. After 30mins struggling in strong wind and rain we gave up and went to the reception (which by this time was closed) we got hold of the site owner (who was very friendly and helpful considering we interrupted his meal) and he provided us with lots of extra strong pegs and a extra ground sheet. After an extra 30mins and getting much wetter and colder we got the tent up. We went to the toilet blocks to dry off, which were immaculately clean and tidy. Overall the site was clean, tidy, and the reception provided basic provisions. The staff were very helpful and friendly, even giving us some advice on restaurants to visit on our anniversary. The site has some spectacular views of Ben Lomond and the Loch itself, overall we enjoyed the stay and wouldn't hesitate to pay a visit again, hopefully with better weather. We have taken some pictures of the site and asked permission from the site owners to put them on here to give others an idea of what it looks like. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kazza3 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 2 weeks end of September early October

Very helpful and friendly staff very knowledgeable

About the area.

Outstanding scenery from our lochside pitch.

Very clean and peaceful site.

Took 3 dogs and the walks were fantastic.

We will be going back next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cara89 30 reviews from this member

 The view from our pitch here was fantastic over the Loch and area and we werent even on a lochside pitch.I liked the fact that the road that runs alongside the site ends completely at the scenic area up a bit.Nice feeling to be surrounded by scenery and forest and fresh air.Nice wee shop/reception with very friendly and helpful staff.Toilets and showers you wont believe.The best. Only problem was that there was no playpark and it is documented in leaflet,site information etc that there is. The site had been changed recently -(more hardstanding pitches) so maybe it hasnt been built yet.Kids were quite happy playing on the Lochside which was shallow but my daughter likes the`socialising` in a park(She`s only 4 though!). We were dreading midges as everyone had been telling us scare stories but they didnt really be a bother. I heard an interesting fact that if there are a lot of birds around (which there were) there are less midges. So maybe a packet of birdseed is another idea to combat them.(It was our crunchy nut cornflakes they liked though!)
Would visit again. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: C Kirkwood 1 review from this member

 Well being first time campers my husband and I did not really know what to expect when we arrived. After a very friendly welcome from staff we set of to find our spot and began to erect the tent. Upon deciding that divorce lawyers were not going to help put up the tent we knuckled down and got the tent up. This really goes to show anyone can do it. Once settled we were able to enjoy the lovely scenery that surrounded us and enjoyed the calm.

The site is well laid out and the shower and toilet facilities were spotless which was a great relief. All in all the place was just what we needed and the staff were very helpful in giving suggestions on where to go in the area. The shop on site stocked the basic provisions which was handy.

All in all we had a good stay and we will definitely go back in the future, and to all the staff there keep up the good work. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: _FINN_ 5 reviews from this member

 Facilities were fantastic with 2 toilet blocks which were very clean.
Views were great as you would expect. There was no kids play park which my son was not happy about,(man said it was being built, have my doubts as couldn't see where there was room for one), but he enjoyed the loch and little burn that ran through the camp.
Pitch I had was not good, man told me there were no standard pitches left in tenting area, so had to pitch under trees, then I walked through site and there seemed to be a quite few pitches available (so bit peeved about that). Midges where horrendous worst I have ever experienced, eaten alive when pitching, night time and when breaking camp in morning.
Overall great campsite but don't know if I would go back there because Midges were really awful. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ramrodewe 1 review from this member

 Excellent site run by friendly and helpful staff (in stark contrast to my experience down the road in Milarrochy!)

Reasonably priced with good facilities extending to a spacious warm and clean the toilet /shower block which seemed to be cleaned every night.

Particularly welcome on an exceptionally wet first morning there was the cafe selling bacon and egg sandwiches! 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sharonhardiman 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Cashel for three nights in August and had a lovely pitch overlooking the loch with stunning views. Great sunsets, fabulous weather, 1st rate facilities and staff who clearly take a pride in their site. Would definitely stay again in the future. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happybunny 7 reviews from this member

 This site is wonderfully situated right on the banks of Loch Lomond and has quite good facilities (shop, playground, loos.) and very helpful managers. It's only disadvantage is that is it somewhat dominated by seasonal "touring" caravans that are so entrenched they couldn't tour anywhere - right down to non-folding hardwood furniture permanently set out in the awnings. This means that it is very difficult to get a lochside pitch unless you are there all summer. Many of the "seasonals" also run generators, which rather spoils the peace when they all want to watch TV.
HOWEVER - the site management are keen to change this situation, and make the site more friendly to visitors who don't have the money to take over for a whole summer, so this situation should improve over time.
Summary: Fantastic location. Well worth a visit. "Seasonals" domination should be improving.
 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suebea 4 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site in a brilliant location. The staff there were wonderful and accommodating. The facilities were clean and tidy and never had any occasion when I couldn't get in the toilet or shower.
It is a large site with two toilet blocks it even has a little cafe / shop but never felt crowded or that you were too near the pitch next to you. Only downside was the migies but have been camping places where they have been worse.
Only thing missing was somewhere we could refreeze our ice blocks couldn't even find somewhere to buy ice locally and as we camped during hot weather could have done with some ice. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kemcp_uk 3 reviews from this member

 Great campsite that gets busy but that doesn't seem to matter. We pitched our tent in the wrong place and the owners didn't make us take it down and move it! The washing and toilet facilities were clean and close the tent pitches. Access to Loch Lomond is a few steps from the tent. 


Previous     99 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cashel Camping In The Forest Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cashel Camping In The Forest Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cashel Camping In The Forest Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Glasgow      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5393 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement