Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX
Tel: 01736 753127
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 249 Reviews
                9/10 from 249 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  249 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dazandkim 1 review from this member

We returned from a 10 day trip to Cornwall and stayed at this site after reviewing many other sites. For us this was by far the best. When we checked in they gave us a map of the site and the beach along with three different places on the beach you could walk to for food and drink.

The owners and staff are kind and helpful. The toilet blocks were spotless and hot water was a plenty. There are hair dryers for free. We stayed over Easter and never had to wait for a shower. There is a separate bathroom with a tub for parents with small children. Laundry on site and very clean dish washing area.

While we were there the fish and chips van came twice a week and we even saw an ice cream van come by a few times.

In the office there are basic supplies and the prices are not over inflated as some sites are. You can get fresh eggs from their chickens and lovely bacon too.

Free wifi was great cell service not so much however texts could be sent and received. They also charged your phone or iPad. There is a room for ice packs and a place to wash your wet suit.

The pub across from the site was great and dogs were more then welcome. There was a beer festival on and we had a great time.

As other people mentioned there is a slight slope on many pitches, enough to drain water but not enough to complain about. While we were there in rained and rained and we never flooded. There are wind barriers between the pitches and when full grown will ever be better.

Someone mentioned security and even though there wasn't a security gate we felt more then safe.

We don't have children so can't comment on the child friendliness

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vickisters72 3 reviews from this member

Extremely friendly and helpful staff.

The site is beautifully laid out with neat hedges separating each pitch.

When we stayed there was a small matter of a storm on the Easter Monday. Our tent was slightly damaged, however the staff were extremely helpful and provided us with spare poles etc to mend our tent.

The toilets and showers are very clean and the water is nice and hot.

The shop was equipped with everything you need and more.

The walk to the beach is lovely and the beach is very clean. The walk past Godrevy point to see the seals is worth it.

The site is nice and clean and to hear the waves crashing when you wake up in the morning is very relaxing.

A very pleasant stay and we plan to return.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Tlck9 32 reviews from this member

Originally booked for one night but decided to stay for two. It was a lovely site. Showers were hot and kept clean. There are quite a few, I suspect during summer it would be quite busy, but in sept it was nice.

The one thing that struck me was how many hooks you got in the toilet/shower block they were everywhere, something which is over looked normally, as you don't have enough to hang clothes and towels, but here that wasn't a problem

The site accepts dogs, and there is a part of the beach that dogs are allowed, however in the evening, after 7pm dogs are allowed on the whole beach I believe

There is free wifi which is good.

On certain nights they had a fish and chip van which was good. We went to the pub which accepted dogs,

The shop even out of season was stocked and even at the end of the season the site was well kept. The pitch was a decent size and the owners were very helpful.

Would I stay again, yes, definitely.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Routemaster 2 reviews from this member

A brilliant Park, beautifully laid out with natual screening between pitches.

We stayed with two other motorhomes and they allowed us to utilise 2 large pitches for the three of us so that we could be together.

There was plenty of room and meant we were close to the facilities. These were more than adequate for our stay, I can imagine they get very busy when the site is full.

There was a relaxed atmosphere and all the staff were friendly.

A short walk over the dunes reveals an amazing beach.

I'm sure we will revisit in the future.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kevin15 6 reviews from this member

Just come back from a week camping at Gwithian Farm & it is an excellent site.

The pitches are spacious & there have been screens / windbreaks thoughtfully positioned around the site, in between pitches that when mature & fully grown will be even better.

Most pitches are on a slight slope

The showers & toilet facilities were kept spotless & the showers have room to move around & dry off properly unlike some other sites we have been on. The only negative would be that it is a long walk to the toilets if you are at the top end of the field. The same would also apply to the dishwashing area, very good but a long way from the top of the field.

They have free wi-fi on site which is a great idea.

The mobile phone reception on the site is very poor, sometimes we could not get a signal!

Another camper said that they were not happy that there was not any security on site, ie anybody could drive in or out of the camp. Unlike other sites where you had electric gates / barriers to get through to enter sites. But this did not bother us, and the owners cottage is by the entrance to the site anyway.

It is a 10 minute walk to the beach, the beach is three miles long, Clean & unspoilt, There is lifegaurds at the one end of the beach.

There is a pub opposite the site which we did not go in but was told that it was very good & the food was not bad either.

The nearest supermarket is in Hale, a 5 minute drive & there is a Lidl or Coop. The shop on site sells basic items required & newspapers etc

The site is in a great position close to many attractions, we visited Lands End, The Minack Theatre, St Ives, Penzance, St Michaels Mount, Falmouth, & Newquay, all within 30 minutes drive of the site

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dubdogs 126 reviews from this member

Site is in a nice location near to the sand dunes, the beach and the pub. Pitches are a very good size and the site is well looked after.

The pub was good value and also dog friendly. It's advisable to book as it gets quite busy. The beach has a dog friendly section throughout the year and restrictions on others parts during the summer months.

The only downside to the site is that it was a long walk to the washrooms. We'd probably only stay again, if we could book a bit closer to the them, as a couple of minute walk during the night isn't great.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Toptrout 3 reviews from this member

We had a really lovely stay at Gwithian, the site is very well kept, clean & friendly, family oriented, with a good size pitch and in a lovely location. Within walking distance of the beautiful beach but you do walk near tall cliffs - my only point for raising this is that whilst we were there a little dog jumped off the cliff, which was very sad - so keep your children & pets close! There was a field for children to play on & an area with rabbits etc for the kids to see.

I recommend this site to everyone who wants to stay in this area & definitely would like to return one day.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ziggy65 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a week in August, the owners/staff are so friendly and welcoming. We had a fantastic EHU pitch and from what we saw all the pitches were good and had plenty of space for caravan, awning and car.

The toilets/showers were always spotless and considering it was one of the main holiday weeks we never had to queue for the showers.

The site is in a fantastic location; opposite a pub, a short walk to the beach, a short drive from Hayle and St Ives.

There is also a regular bus service to St Ives and Newquay that stops right outside the site.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Calcamper 15 reviews from this member

Recently returned from a week at Gwithian, an area we know well, but first time at this campsite.

Pitches are spacious, we were screened with hedges on 2 sides so quite private. Campsite had small shop and play area, showers clean and hot.

Main benefit was it was a 10 minute walk acros dunes to a fabulous beach, miles of golden sand. Excellent for surfing and fully lifeguarded.

The sunset surf does great food and hot chocolate.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: NellyPS 8 reviews from this member

We have been to Gwithian for the past two years and are booked again for this August. With this summer looking like a washout we considered going abroad but the children (and the dog) voted for Gwithian, which we are more than happy about.

As everyone has said a warm welcome waits for you at the site, itís a beautifully clean site and well set out with great pitches and close enough to the beach and pub to leave the car at the site.

Everything has been covered by previous reviews but I wanted to mention a bit more for the benefit of families with children.

Although our children are 13 and 16 they still enjoy camping and as we have been going for a couple of years they have made friends who return each year at the same time, they keep themselves busy and we get some time to ourselves.

There is a little area for the children to congregate with table tennis and also the large field at the top for games, expect a stampede for the ice cream van, mass games of manhunt and plenty of ball games and kite flying during the summer holidays, the site is always busy during peak times and is very popular with families but people are considerate and will bring in their children at the appropriate time and it is quiet early enough in the evening to allow the smaller children to sleep.

We look forward to our return in August!

Previous     249 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth £560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4044 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £369 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £780

Open Today's Window to reveal Today's Prize





0.1289