Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Parkers Farm Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Ashburton > Parkers Farm Holiday Park > Reviews

Parkers Farm Holiday Park
Higher Mead Farm
Ashburton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ13 7LJ
Tel: 01364 654869
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 31/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 112 Reviews
                9/10 from 112 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paul l 1 review from this member

 Stayed for 10 days in July and had a excellent holiday. We were very surprised that the site was not busier but when we asked we were told that they do get very busy in August.

Facilities excellent, toilets/showers always clean, bar facilities excellent, food excellent and good prices. Childrens indoor play area was excellent, our 3 year old asked to go to the pub every night so she could play with the other children.

Site is well located to visit all the local attractions, Paignton Zoo is a must, Babbacombe Model Village excellent - most attractions with 25 minutes so it is an ideal base to see the area.

Well set up for children, with several outdoor play area, indoor play areas, feeding the animals, farm walks, we were told that in August there are tractor rides but we were there too early to take advantage of these.

All in all an excellent site, we are booking up for next year and taking the parents with us. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mr Bobkins 2 reviews from this member

 We have just had 6 days on this site. This was the first time we have used a caravan and we found the park to be family friendly, very helpful owners, staff and fellow guests.

The super pitch was great, at the top of the site and looking over the rest of the site and the view of Dartmoor.

The site was spotlessly clean; the lower toilet block is new, the top one is clean and spotless. There is an area for washing, charging mobiles, recycling points, chemical toilet and family rooms all in one central point. The bins were emptied on a regular basis all day and were convenient each time you went the loo!

The park provides many areas for kids, lots of trampolines everywhere. A large play area is at the front of the site next to the restaurant/club and this was used until late evening but not near any pitches so was not disturbing anyone. There are farms walks great to see pigs and sheep go past your caravan window with lots of people!

The restaurant food was very good, huge portions and not expensive or just chips, chips and more chips! The entertainment was very good catering for all tastes and not too late into the night.

Dog owners this is a paradise two large open field (sloping) for the dogs to run round in swallows in the top field were a delight to my jack Russell puppies! Plenty of poo bins around the site for any mishaps! There is also a room in the restaurant where you can take the dogs and still be able to participate in the entertainment.

We visited the river dart great for teenagers as there is high ropes (like Go Ape) zip wires etc there are areas for young children too with all activities in the lake get the wetsuits out !

We also went horse riding on Dartmoor this was a life achievement and well worth the 30 each for the 2 hours - It was in torrential rain but the views and air was to die for!

I give 10/10 for this site and would go back again! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kayfamily 4 reviews from this member

 Visited this site for just one night but wished we could have stayed longer. We were in the J field which was just for a few tents (with EHU) and surrounded by hedges so although the site is pretty big, we still felt quite secluded. The pitch we had was level and had no problems with water logging even though there has been a lot of rain recently.

The site has excellent facilities on site for children - our two daughters had great fun in the play area for ages and then absolutely loved the 'Farm Walk & Tractor ride' which was even more amazing as it was all completely free they even got a free range egg for free which came in useful for breakfast!

We didn't eat in the on-site restaurant but the prices and selection on offer looked good. We did have a drink whilst the girls played in the very useful family room which was massive and had loads of toys to keep them happy.

The toilet block was very clean and the showers were hot - never had to queue as there are lots of blocks scattered around.

The only slight downside was the close proximity of the A38 - the noise isn't actually that bad but it didn't feel very 'Dartmoory' if that is what you are after. Two Bridges and Princetown are only about 20 mins away though so its a good base.

Would thoroughly recommend the site and we hope to go back there again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hwntw 5 reviews from this member

 Just back from this site and would definitely recommend it. Lovely terraced site with large, private pitches. Clean toilets and showers - whatever time of day we used the facilities they were clean. Great play areas for the children and friendly bar/restaurant with reasonably priced meals and drinks. Activities for the children on most days as well.

The staff were all helpful and were always around the site if you needed any assistance. Some road noise but not enough to disturb us. Several attractions in the area for families and about half an hour to the coast. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stenning 1 review from this member

 This was our first time camping so we went just for 3 days arriving a little anxious as it was raining when we arrived, but what a lovely welcome we got from the owner! He showed us where to set up tent and then pointed out where all the facilities where.

The toilet block, shower room and washing area was absolutely spotless and I was so impressed that they had a separate Family shower room AS WELL as a disabled shower room.

My children are too old to play in the play ground now, but it looked really good and other children were having a great time on the trampoline. We enjoyed walking around and looking at the animals and then down to the large bar/ restaurant where we had a lovely meal at a very reasonable price. Everybody was very friendly and we enjoyed a game of bingo whilst others played pool in the games room below.

There is a separate information room with brochures of hundreds of places to visit so your never stuck with no where to go!

You can hear the traffic on the A38 at night but it didn't worry us as we are use to it.

We would recommend this site to anybody (in fact we already have) and will be using it again as it's near to our son's college and makes a nice little break! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Falfa. 6 reviews from this member

 Booked by accident as the rest of our choice's were fully booked for the Whitsun bank holiday.

Arrived about 6pm and were warmly welcomed and shown to our pitch. As it was tucked at the end of a little cul-de-sac in field A the warden offered to reverse the caravan for us but it was not necessary,but a nice touch. The price was very reasonable 55 for two adults and a dog for 3 nights. Food was to a pretty good standard and bar staff friendly and consistent with the price.

Dog walk up a very steep hill (called heart-attack hill) lol but worth it for the view at the top and the bench is needed ! Lots to do for younger children.

My only bug-bear being we seemed to be pitched above the access road to the shop / reception / pub and even though the road is fenced, many of the children and quite a few adults would walk through our pitch, down a steep slope and climb over the fence rather than walk 30 yards around. Also we have a GSD on a leash which didn't take to kindly to children doing this. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BCAcampers 3 reviews from this member

 We have just had 7 days on this site. We found the staff at the park to be family friendly and very helpful.

The pitch E2 was great, close to the top of the site and looking over the rest of the site and a great view of Dartmoor.

The site, showers and toilets were exceptionally clean. There are family rooms in both toilet/shower blocks.

The park provides many play areas for children, numerous trampolines everywhere. A large play area is at the front of the site next to the restaurant/club. There is also a games room under the restaurant.

There are farms walks and tractor rides where you get to see pigs and sheep. Children get to feed the animals at certain times of the day.

The restaurant food was very good, generous portions and not expensive. The entertainment was limited but considering it was April it was adequate.

It takes approximately 20mins to drive to the coast, however if the coast is not your thing, then there are some delightful small villages to visit within 1hrs drive.

This is a great site. We use sites as a base to explore the surrounding areas and this site is in a great location to do that.

My five year old daughter enjoyed the animals so much, that when we departed she did not stop crying until we approached Exeter!

We give a rating of 9/10 for this site and would certainly go back again. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Linn1e 1 review from this member

 We spent four nights here and loved every minute of it, everybody was friendly, there was lots for the kids to do, they loved the tractor ride, feeding the various animals on the farm walk, as well as walking Dolly the sheep and eating the eggs they found. They also liked the trampolines in the play areas and the machines in the games room. We would definitely go back there again.

There were plenty of toilets, showers and sinks for everyone including a family room which was very popular and all of it was clean, there was enough sinks for washing up and also the laundry room was more than adequate, I had a problem with one washing machine, but the site manager returned my money and explained what had gone wrong with it, which wasn't anything major, also there were several tumble dryers in there, which was much needed with the weather! The laundry room was closed from 9 - 5 one day just for maintenance on all the machines, but a notice had been put up from the morning before so that everyone was aware of it. Also the rubbish and recycling facilities were good, with bins emptied regularly.

Every evening there was something going on in the clubhouse, including a quiz, karaoke, bingo and live music, they even did face painting for the kids.

The food in Miss Piggy's diner on site was lovely with large portions and it wasn't expensive either.

There was lots to do in the surrounding area as well and nothing that would 'break the bank' so to speak, all the information about various things to do was in a little room next to the laundry on the site.

We opted for a tent with electric hook up, which we got but, the only thing we were disappointed about was that nowhere was it mentioned that it would have been advisable to have a long lead for the electrics, as the pitch we had was the furthest from the electric point for our section, so when we got there one of the first things we had to do was go and buy another lead, it was probably no more than 15 - 20 feet, but we had to get it round 2 trailers, belonging to the other campers, and the next door tent. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jascarro 1 review from this member

 Our first proper camping holiday with the children, and we chose Parkers Farm after reading the reviews on this website. The site is easily reached from the busy A38, and is quite close so there is a fair amount of road noise all through the day and into the night, although not enough to keep any of us awake.
The staff were very helpful, the showers (free hot water!)and toilets as clean as you could expect given the appauling weather, and the site clean and tidy. We were on the shady lower tier which became very squelchy as the week went on, something that didn't appear to affect those higher up. We went to the very good clubhouse on several nights, good food reasonably priced, 2 rooms for the children and a varied entertainment program (great quizzes).
The shop could do with a wider range of goods (but there are plenty of bigger ones within 5-10 miles if you need them) and a bit more variety in the playground wouldn't go amiss, but that didn't stop the children enjoying. Would heartily recommend the miniature pony centre near Bovey Tracey, a fantastic day out and good value too. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrs skippy 1 review from this member

 We visited this site for 2 weeks early in july with our to 2 youngest 12year old girl [animal daft] and 14 year old boy, after a long overnight drive we were met by a very friendly warden who escorted us to our super- pitch and helped unhook and manoeuvre caravan on, as the road wasn't wide enough although this was rectified within a couple of days.
The shower facilities are spotless and cleaned daily there are notices posted giving these times, the laundry facilities are above average with 5 front loading domestic machines a number of dryers 2 each and a free iron. There is a small shop at the reception which sells basics however ashburton is only 5 minutes away and has a couple of small supermarkets and newton abbot is about 10-15 minutes drive and has a large asda and tesco.
The bar is open from 6.30-10.00 and serves meals to either eat in or take away until 9 they have quizzes and family bingo on alternating nights and also a toddler room, games room as well as an area inside that you can bring dogs.
The field behind the service pitches were we were have goats, sheep, cows and ponies in there is also a pets corner which you are able to go in to see the rabbits and ducks the farm walks are great and the children can feed the animals. There is a well stocked information room with leaflets from a wide ranging area all in all one of the best sites we have visited in 13 years of caravanning we are looking forward to returning again next year 


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Parkers Farm Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Parkers Farm Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Parkers Farm Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashburton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2910 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement