Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Riverside Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Site Reviews

Riverside Caravan & Camping Park
21 New River Bank
Littleport
Ely
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
CB7 4TA
Tel: 01353 860255  or  07813 523960
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 49
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 118 Reviews
                8/10 from 118 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  118 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jarvo52 1 review from this member

We had a fantastic time at the riverside camping and caravan park, very friendly people, even set up my freeview, dish something I had been trying to do for 2 weeks

Very well kept site, spotless showers and toilets. Off site walking for the dog was good.

The walk into littleport isn't too far and the indian restaurant (takeaway) was first class. We will be going back

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fredmum 2 reviews from this member

This is a return visit to this site. When I booked I asked if I could have the same pitch, this wasn't a problem. The wardens where happy to accommodate this request. Ann & Jim are so helpful and keep the site beautiful.

Yes it is a busy road but it doesn't detract from the lovely site and didn't spoil our stay, though you can hear the trains, they don't run all night again it didn't spoil our trip. We sat on the river bank watching the world go by.

The site is very peaceful despite the above and we went home very relaxed. This site is to be recommend to anyone who wants to completely relax and go back home refreshed. We will be back for a third visit soon.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lynm 81 reviews from this member

A lovely site with very, very clean facilities.The shower is not the most powerful one ever but hot & free. The managers Ann & Jim are the nicest ever, so helpful & friendly.

The local pub was shut for refurbishment so we carried on walking into Littleport & went to the Indian restaurant. What a fantastic place. If like us you are a fan of Indian food then this place is a pleasure for the senses.

We are definitely going to stay here again but we will take ear plugs as the horn on the train is loud. As it's close to a railway crossing they have to sound their horn.

That was the only thing we could say that doesn't give this site the highest rating.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ttigger 8 reviews from this member

Quite a good site although calling it 'Riverside' is stretching it a bit! There is a very busy road between the site and the river! Then there is a steep bank so not easy to sit next to.

Because of the busy road and train line this site is not quiet.

The chickens wandering around and getting in the tent were a real pain.

Owners very friendly and helpful. Tidy and clean with good facilities, including showers, toilets, fresh water, waste disposal points, washing-up and preparation areas, and hook-up.

Other than that a nice site great for Ely.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ron2one 1 review from this member

The site was quiet but the road outside is a rat run to Ely and is also used by sugar beet lorries. The railway over the river has a level crossing and the trains all sound their horns, even late at night.

It is also close to Mildenhall US airforce base so the noise of the jets is quite loud.

Free range chickens wander round the site so if you have dogs it is a problem.

The grass is cut but not collected so if the weather is wet you carry it inside.

Facilities on site were OK although not the friendliest site we have stayed on. Also Cards are not accepted so you will need cash or cheque.

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dean95 15 reviews from this member

What can I say we stayed for the weekend,nice clean site,toilets and showers lovely and clean,we parked what was like a little orchard really lovely

Also what lovely and helpful owners, we had a spot of trouble with our caravan and the owners where on the spot to give us a hand, a really nice couple

Lovely walk along the river where we ended up in a nice little place called littleport,which had a few nice shops,there was a fish and chip shop,co-op that was handy,ideal also if you like fishin

Ely not far away about 5 miles went to oliver cromwells house enjoyed that,lots lovely shops in ely,went to ely cathedral,so lovely what a lovely town. Ely is the old cobbled streets ect

On the whole a lovely campsite and surrounding area we will be back.But plan to stay longer next time

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Roger read 2 reviews from this member

What a great few days away, been to this site a number of times and good to see that it is continuing to be maintained to a very high standard. Has all the basics you need for a quiet adult only site.

Pitches well spaced and laid out, trees doted around and chickens run free.

Helpful and friendly owners, short walk along the river to Littleport, good selection of small shops, Indian and pub which serves good basic food.

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TSA135 1 review from this member

We was searching for a site for a weekend break near ely, not too close and not too far. We picked this one because it was advertised as stunning scenery, next to an elegant river, adults only (with no screaming kids, litter and balls whacking the car).

We could take our dog, he was very well behaved and liked the trees dotted around. Well it was advertised very well but not doing this site justice enough.

The owners were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The toilets were impeccably clean, the water was nice and hot when needed on the few cold days. The owners dogs were very welcoming and we met them on arriving and they did not bother us at all, we saw them again once when the lady was emptying the bins

There were a few other families there and they were very quiet, there seemed to be only 1 static being used.
The only bugbear was the gravel track, it seemed everyone on site including us tip toed across the gravel to the toilet or bin area but it was still a noisy track.
The site was not the benevile salt flat level with grass on top but a scenic campsite that only a complete idiot could not get a level pitch. It rained hard while we was here but it seemed a very well drained site.

The local town was very welcoming with plenty of local grocery stores and some very quaint old fashioned stores that seem to be extinct in my town.

The site was extremely easy to find by map and effortless by satnav. The road outside was very quiet and calm, every now an then a faint sound of a train hoot or a truck rumble past. I say faint but my hearing is pretty good and most things at night wake me up but I slept very well hear.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Autumn9 19 reviews from this member

This lovely, moderately sized site is next to a quiet road, which runs alongside the River Great Ouse. (The road was closed to through traffic for bridge repairs when we were there but I shouldn’t think it gets very busy). The site was restored by the current owners a few years ago and they are keen to maintain its high standards.
Tidy and clean with good facilities, including showers, toilets, fresh water, waste disposal points, washing-up and preparation areas, and hook-up.

The site is gated at night and each hook-up post has a night-time lamp. There is a mix of static chalets, caravans, motorhomes and tents. The rectangular site avoids too much regimentation of pitches and has a cosy atmosphere. It was extremely peaceful during our visit, with only birdsong and the gentle clucking of the hens when we threw them some left-over couscous.

The Black Horse pub is a short walk along the river, which is a popular mooring place. The pub serves food. Across the bridge, in Littleport, there is an Indian and a Chinese restaurant, and fish & chip shop, both recommended although we eat in our ‘van. Dogs are welcome, if kept on a lead but it seems poor experiences in the past have lead to this site becoming adults only.

The cathedral city of Ely is about seven miles away; Cambridge about twenty seven. There are plenty of other small towns and villages to visit and attractions such as the nature reserve at Wicken Fen, some fifteen miles away.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hawley 1 review from this member

1st visit to this campsite but will def return,this site is clean,shower block and amenities very good standard, really good that you can use the freezer.Fell in love with the dogs and the owners are very friendly and helpful,even the chickens were cute. The indian restaurant in the village is really good and within walking distance. Ely not far away and well worth a visit. All in all we got what we came for, a complete rest in peaceful surroundings.Looking forward to our next visit.

Previous     118 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1949 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019