Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Silverdale > Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park Reviews

Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park
Middlebarrow Plain
Cove Road
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA5 0SH
Tel: 01524 701508
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 107 Reviews
                9/10 from 107 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  107 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: November 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Winchman 7 reviews from this member

 Just back from Bonfire trip to Holgates, its great, best cleanest site we have been to, consistent good standards over our 3 visits mostly out of season.
We first went in a 25 year old caravan bought for £100 just to try it, we where made very welcome, nice staff, good food, bar, good pubs and resturants and chip shop in Arnside village 2 miles away, nice walk across country to save driving.
We have booked several trips for next year
Book early 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Roganfamily 5 reviews from this member

 We only stopped here for one night on the way back home from Windsor, I was a bit apprehensive about the price £31 for the night but was very impressed with the quiet but large park.
It was very clean, with good toilet / shower blocks, food was good and reasonably priced, the pool was great and as for the sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, after driving in gridlocked traffic up the M6, it was Bliss!
The only thing is the heart stopping drive on the country lanes to get to the site, especially the locals that speed along there familiar roads. Would definitely go back! 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paul Pearson 9 reviews from this member

 What can I say ?  Fantastic site, great facilities, great shower blocks, very very clean, power showers, lovely indoor pool, sauna, steam room, big big pitches, you drive round and look for a pitch you like, then go back and tell reception which one you are on. Just go there and enjoy yourself ! Big pull-in area on arrival, it's just very very good. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Ajandk 1 review from this member

 I visited Holgates with my parents in their tourer many years ago and loved it. A couple of years ago my husband and I purchased our own tourer having got fed up trying to find accommodation that would allow us to bring our 2 labradors. We stayed at Holgates again, my parents in their tourer on the next pitch, and loved it. So much so that, this year, having sold our tourer, we bought a static caravan there.
The site is immaculate, friendly staff and at night you can hear a pin drop. We spend as much of our free time there as possible as we both work full time but always come home feeling like we have had a relaxing break.
If you are planning a trip here, book early (its very popular, arrive early (to pick your pitch) and leave as late as you can (although you won`t want to go).
See you at the bar ! 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Vickybannister 2 reviews from this member

 This is the best site we have ever visited. Facilities were excellent, plenty of things to keep the whole family amused. Everywhere was very clean, lots of hot water.
So good we re-booked before leaving.
Tip, when they say hard ground it is, take a lump hammer to get those tent pegs in! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Elephant 18 reviews from this member

 After breathing in several times and closing our eyes whilst navigating the narrow access lanes! (follow the website instructions), we arrived and immediately were impressed by the sheer size of the site and the spacious pitches.
 
We chose our own (level) pitch and the children played in one of the impressive play areas.
Shower blocks very nice and site very tidy.
 
I did think prior to staying at the site, that it was expensive, but once I sampled the facilities I think the site is well worth it.
 
The site is very quiet at night and there is a barrier system in operation.
 
There is some work going on near the entrance and consequently there are jcb's up and down shifting rubble.
 
Only major niggle I had, which admittedly wasn't Holgates fault, was the drivers who drove a lot quicker through the site than the 10mph sign, which made very nervous! 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KevW 1 review from this member

 If you are thinking of camping here using a tent - DON'T BOTHER! The small area set aside for tents is as far away from the amenities as possible at the very top of the campsite and is quite exposed to wind coming off Morecombe Bay. It is too uneven for all but a small tent, but by far the worst thing for tents is that the ground is basically rubble covered by about 3" of soil, making pegging-out very difficult, if not impossible.
On arrival we spent 2 hours trying to peg-out, with most pegs just bending. We went out for a drive on the first day, only to come back and find half our tent blown away and one of our fellow campers holding the rest down against a not too strong a wind. We then had to re-peg using double pegs, put a wind-break up across the front of the tent as best as possible, and then use the car right up against the wind-break and tie this to the car, where it remained for the rest of the 4 day stay. We weren't the only one having problems, another tent was also part blown away at 2am the next morning, and one of the caravaners nearby recounted a tale the previous year of a couple who's tent ended up in a tree and them sleeping in their car before leaving for home in the morning minus tent!
This is a shame as the campsite as a whole is excellent with a good, modern, bar, fine resteraunt, superb (warm) pool and lovely clean showers. 
Come on Holgates - spent a little of the expensive site fees to make tents more welcome! Until that time we won't be going back.  


Date of Visit: February 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SRPhoto 13 reviews from this member

 Clean, well looked after caravan park. Great free pool, sauna and steam room (Gym at extra cost) all run by friendly helpful staff. Smart bar and restaurant facilities serving lovely food. The only downside was that the toilet block was not as warm as it could be, and the drainage on some pitches is uphill (18" wall) so you may still need your Wastemaster.

The access roads to the site are tight and two caravans meeting from opposite directions could cause problems. NOTE:- Use the directions on the Holgates site to minimise the tight lanes as a GPS (tomtom) takes you over a blind hill that is only wide enough for 1 car and is about 1 mile long before it opens up. 


Date of Visit: December 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Touring Mad 7 reviews from this member

 We vistied this park on Boxing day for three nights. Excellent park. Shower/toilet block very clean and well maintained and heated all the time (thankfully). Lovely views of countryside and a couple of minute walk to pebbled beach and sea. You can walk to nearest village of Silverdale where there are a few shops and pub, also a bus runs quite regularly to the village. Carnforth is not far away either.

The facilities at this park:- Swimming pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Restaurant and Bar are excellant no complaints at all. (except they were fully booked for New Years Eve as we wanted to stay longer). Will definitely be going back but be warned book early. 


Date of Visit: October 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cashdown 7 reviews from this member

 When you arrive on site you are able to choose your own pitch which are quite spacious and well laid out. The pitches are hard standing and our awning pegs were quite ineffective. Something we hadn't experienced before because we are relatively new to camping.

The site has a cafeteria style retaurant and the meals are reasonably priced. There is only one bar area which is adults only - so I'm not sure what you are supposed to do with the kids. There is a small games room but it is aimed at slightly older children.

The indoor pool is very clean but cold. There is also a jacuzzi, a sauna and a steam room non of which I could access because I had to stay in the pool with the kids even though they are quite competent swimmers and there were two lifeguards on duty.

This is a quiet and peaceful site which is well maintained and spotlessly clean. However we were there out of season. There is a lovely walk down to the beach which our four year old managed quite easily. Another bonus is they are relaxed about what time you vacate the pitch which is great when you only have the weekend away.

We enjoyed our weekend and I'm sure we'll be back in the future. 


Previous     107 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silverdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3542 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement