Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wild Rose Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Appleby In Westmorland > Wild Rose Park Reviews

Wild Rose Park
Ormside
(lake District)
Appleby In Westmorland
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA16 6EJ
Tel: 01768 351077
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 280
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 114 Reviews
                8/10 from 114 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smida040 2 reviews from this member

 Travelled to site from M6 Northbound, roads are very up and down but offer no real problem for a tourer caravan.
Upon arrival the reception was efficient, after getting directions to our pitch we were greeted by a warden part way through the site who further directed us.
We had booked a "super pitch" at most sites this means electric, fresh and grey water hook up. At this site you also get TV connection, pitch hedged on 3 sides, private picnic bench and also a small wooden locker for storing your stuff in,†there is also†a light which is motion activated after dark. (I am sure this locker was for storage but my 5 year old informs me that it is actually a Tardis and kept him amused for a good hour whilst we set up†)
The whole site very well maintained, the shop is excellent and as well as selling the usual groceries, newspapers, toys etc it also has a range of caravan and camping accessories. There are a couple of children's play areas which were very popular with my 5 year old. Unfortunately the weather wasn't good enough for us to venture into the outdoor†swimming†pool but†on a nice day†I am sure†it would be very†inviting. There was a Hog-Roast on our arrival day outside the main reception but we had already made plans for our evening meal. The site does have some food facilities but did not use them purely because we were out most days.

We†spent†most†days†off site†and ventured†to†Ostrich World, a†Bird†of Prey Centre,†The†Pencil†Museum†at†Keswick and†made it over†to Windermere on the†last†day. Appleby is a short drive away†and we ate out one evening at the Crown and Cushion. This served basic pub fayre but the portions were very very generous, I would have been more than happy with my little lads portion of minted lamb chops!

This camp site is one of the best I have visited and I will definitely be returning. However next time I wouldn't be too concerned if I did not get a super pitch as many of the pitches are fully serviced. The toilet blocks were of a good standard, although we didn't use the showers beacuse we have our own in the van.The site recycles glass,paper and tin cans.

Some of the pitches are a bit tight for manouvering, particularly†if you have†a big van, but†most were fine.†

I am a novice golfer and visited the Penrith Golf and driving range, there is a small golf course but I didn't play this one, however about 7 miles down the road at Kirby Stephen is a 9 hole course which is quite informal and very friendly.
Considering we had poor weather we had a great time and will be returning shortly!
It's not the cheapest but I rank it amongst the best. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janbo25 17 reviews from this member

 Just arrived back from a bank holiday weekend away at this park, having chosen it for it's numerous awards it had received. However once there we were slightly dissapointed, given the fact that it had firstly cost us £30 a night therefore we were expecting great things we were then shown to the camping field and the majority of the pitches were sloping, luckily enough for us we managed to get there early and choose a flat one, however we found that the pitches were not very big at all and due the bank holiday weekend you really did get the feeling of being crammed in like sardines, which left no room for the children to play due to the road being immediately to the front of your tents and that being where cars for each side had to park.

The toilet block was close and had won a loo of the year awards for 2007, however there was only 4 showers in this block which I have to say was clean along with the toilets, however given the park being at it's fullest capacity you were extremely lucky to get to the showers, therefore it meant a very long walk upto the main shower block near reception.

Overall it is a nice site with a few little extras like pool and games room etc, however we personally felt that the emphasis of the site was definitely towards those whom were in caravans and definitely statics which seemed to be there primary business. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dants 4 reviews from this member

 Wild Rose is a very very large site close to the A66, close enough to the Lakes for anyone staying to drive over to Ulswater in time to get a seat on the Steamer, not so far that you'll get stuck in the traffic as you head out again.

Resembling a middle England shanty town of immaculate pitches and spotless loos, each caravan would appear to posses a satellite dish, and each tent an electrical hook up.

There is a bar, restaurant, a couple of outdoor pools, shops. Absolutely everything you could imagine so that you can forget about the kids, crack open a beer, get your nose in the latest Andy McNabb / Express / Mail / Take a Break etc and while away a holiday oblivious to the amazing Lakeland scenery a few miles down the road.

I can see why to some people this is heaven on a bowling green flat earth. Laying in my tent listening to the noise of TV sets coming from fully electrified tents and the harmless but noisy roaming packs of youths it was quite the opposite.

Lovely loos and great management though. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sazzy1972 1 review from this member

 Party of 2 adults and 2 children.Second visit. Great site, Wardens very friendly and kept site very clean and tidy. Toilets could do with being checked a little more often for basic cleanliness but saying that facilities are good. Fairly quiet at night. Would go back. 


Date of Visit: February 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Trekkin Tekkie 9 reviews from this member

 I haven't much to add to other reviews, but thought I ought to write something because there hasn't yet been a review this season.

What didn't come across to me in the reviews I'd read was the feel of the site: a significant proportion is given over to (privately owned) statics, and much of the rest to hard-standing touring pitches which†are very well ordered, defined and separated. This formal layout, to me, defines the park's atmosphere.

More such pitches have been†developed fairly recently. The one we had, on Egglestone Tiers was well appointed (own taps, electric hook-up, grey water disposal, and proximity lighting).

Nobody's yet mentioned the walk to nearby Appleby. A lovely small town, with a swimming baths (which, years ago, I used to†go to†in its open-air days). We did the walk as a stroll in about 90 mins, and 50mins 'going for it'. Just be very careful to stay to marked paths if you're going across farmland; trespassing will get you evicted from the site (or so a notice says).

This was our first time at Wild Rose, and we'll definitely be going back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tony allen 3 reviews from this member

 Immaculate site with level pitches, mature trees / bushes. Grey water drain and tap on pitch. Good showers,b ut you have to lean on the control all the time! Good shop at good prices, but not great facilities for children late in the season. In the summer this would not be a problem, as the countryside is excellent 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andysmith 1 review from this member

 I'm not quite sure if the last reviewer got out of bed on the wrong side, because I would have to say wild Rose is among the very best caravan parks this country has.
I have a young family and there was plenty for them to do, I felt safe letting the kids play and the facilities including toilets and showers were maintained immaculately. The owners have invested a great deal and created some absolutely amazing pitches. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I wish the gardener would come and look after my plants!
I would recommend Wild Rose Park highly to anyone planning a visit, we will certainly return in the near future. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hexhome 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for three nights at a cost of £82.50. This was for a tent, two adults and one child plus a £2.50 booking charge.
As you will guess, I expected a lot.
There are†excellent facilities here,†and as†they are well documented here†I won't re-list them,†just†give†my opinion on†them.
The tents are dispatched†down to†the bottom†of the†site†in†'Donkey's†Nest'.†We were†given†a†pitch number by the†3 receptionists†and†were then directed to†the 2 wardens,†they directed†me to my allotted†pitch, which was occupied! Apparently, other campers were told, 'as it's quiet, go where you like'. OK, so we find a vacant plot, the wardens return and agree that all is fine. Pitching has to be done centered to a marker, this means that late in the season you will be pitching on mud.
Wife and child dash of to the swimming pool, but return quite soon, put off by the temperature and floating insects. We are pretty sure that the pool is heated, just, but not to a reasonable level. As to the floating insects, well it was the afternoon, but sadly there was no evidence of much cleaning the following morning.
We were very impressed with the play areas although we did fail to find the football pitch. The shop is excellent and not excessively expensive given the situation.
Toilets and showers - we were not very impressed, and have enjoyed far better at many other sites that don't have such high award status.
There are only 2 showers per sex in Donkeys Nest and although we only had to queue once, this is inadequet for the number of pitches. I hated the 7 second water tap in the showers, although it did introduce me to yoga! I appreciate the reasoning, but there are better ways.The toilets didn't appear to be cleaned too regularly either but at least there were plenty. We were aware of the extra facilities in the main block, but they are a long walk (about 700 metres) and why do we have to pay for a key?????.
Conclusion, good site but not great. It was very expensive but we have to compete for space with mobile homes and caravans in a growing market. We will not go out of our way to return to Wild Rose but definatly will return to the Eden Valley. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GNAJ 6 reviews from this member

 Spent 4 nights here. Facilities are kept very clean and regularly checked, never ran out of toilet roll although it was bank holiday and the showers could get busy with long queues. There was even a built in baby bath with shower head which was perfect for my 5 month old. There are 2 pools (one like a paddling pool) which are very cold. 2 play parks, one more suitable to younger children - one to older kids.
There are play rooms with pool tables, tv room, and a small play†room for†small children†etc and onsite shop which had reasonable prices and stocked everything! There was a restaurant but only had take-away one night so can't comment. Wardens made their presence known by driving round in their golf buggy and it was a very pleasant stay.
Only grumble was that they claimed we had cancelled our booking and returned a cheque to our friends which made the booking (not recvd) and could only offer one pitch together. This however was at the bottom corner of donkeys nest. We had to refuse the pitch and split up as half our pitch was actually the drainage ditch of the field! Thank goodness as when the rain came down the bottom corner was washed out. We would certainly be happy to go back again but would recommend avoiding the bottom far corner of donkeys nest in wet weather. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Goofyden 6 reviews from this member

 Having just spent a quite forgettable 6 nights at Ullswater, we spent our last 4 nights of our holiday at Wild Rose and I have to say this is one of the best if not the best 4 nights camping I have had with my family. (Wife, 2 boys age 2&4). The whole place just oozes calmness. It was friendly, very clean, free showers with piping hot water all day. (Loo of the year 2006).

My 2 boys made friends almost before the car engine had cooled down and their friendships continued the whole time we were there making parenting quite easy. The shop was well stocked and reasonably priced, the take away was hit and miss sometimes good sometimes not so good, the 2 swimming pools were an instant hit and the play parks catering for all ages.

I think one of the main reasons for the superb stay was the other campers, Everybody was so friendly, always a nod or a good morning when you passed, and lots of families who just wanted to have a nice quite camping trip with lots to do for the children.

Top Marks. 


Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wild Rose Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Wild Rose Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wild Rose Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wild Rose Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Appleby In Westmorland      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5374 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement