Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pooh Cottage Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Budleigh Salterton > Pooh Cottage Holiday Park Reviews

Pooh Cottage Holiday Park
Bear Lane
Knowle
Budleigh Salterton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX9 7AQ
Tel: 07875 685595  or  01395 442354
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 52
Open: 20th March

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 92 Reviews
                9/10 from 92 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andyavery 1 review from this member

 Would recommend this site.

The facilities are reasonable and kept clean - not the most modern but did the job. Some have said there weren't enough. The site was busy when we were there and I never had to queue for the shower. The hot water at the sinks wasn't so reliable but was usually OK.

The site accepted our large tent with no surcharge which is something worth noting. We also had easy access to electric hook-up.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

In spite of the poor weather, the field coped very well with the excessive rain and was only boggy on the main roads.

All in all it was a good stay and a nice site. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Corndog 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in Aug 08 which was very wet- we only had one and half dry days but still had a nice holiday

Plus points about this site:

- level pitches; good size also

- pool (but it can be a bit cold!)

- location for a lovely part of East Devon

Minus points:

- facility block really needs upgrading. The washing up areas are quite exposed and the toilets/showers are quite old

Otherwise, a nice base in a nice part of the country 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tourer878 3 reviews from this member

 A campsite where you have got plenty of space between each pitch. Showers are not very good, one lot kept losing pressure the others are in a portakabin which is accessed via a track with bushes over hanging it. This means that when you enter the shower area you have muddy shoes and when you have had your shower, your clean feet have to stand on a muddy floor.

Childrens play area is ideal, with climbing wall and slide. Washing machine, tumble drier and iron on site which is very handy. Site diagram was a very poor photocopy which made it difficult to work out where drinking water was located.

Cycle path to Exmouth is close to the camp site, Exmouth is 7 miles away. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pdulfo 3 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a great few days at this site. In all we had a group of 8 families staying together. We booked this site as it was one of the few that would take a block booking, had electric and a swimming pool. The staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. The comments about the toilet blocks appear to have been put right. We were at the far end of the site, where there was a new(ish) toilet and shower block. Male , Female and disabled.

Very possibly go back again. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Webb11 1 review from this member

 Just come back from Pooh cottage campsite. We had a good level pitch with water and electricity and occupied a field with appox 25 vans and two tents. Ladies toilets consisted of two loos with one sink, separate shower block with two shower cubicles.

Saying all that if you own a vehicle with a loo and shower and you would like a site near the the beach (10 minutes walk through the park) this site is for you. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Katsam 1 review from this member

 We booked this site last minute a little apprehensive about the shower/loo block situation, but were glad that we went for it! Though the blocks are minimal to say the least, we never had to wait for either a shower or a toilet.

We spent 2 weeks here and never felt crowded or kept awake at night, this park has a lovely atmosphere and we would definitely use again if going back to the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Millie-moo 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this site over the Aug bank holiday period.  Our booked pitch had been taken overnight, however staff were very apologetic and helpful in finding us a favourable pitch, which turned out to be very nice.  The site itself is set in lovely surroundings with views from most pitches.  Considering it was a bank holiday and packed, we did not encounter any noise at night at all. 
The site shop is basic but supplied fresh milk which is all we needed anyway.  The local pub "The Dog & Donkey" is only a short walk away serving a good selection of food.  Plenty of places to visit - Budleigh Salterton being our favourite as it is so beautiful and peaceful. 
The pebbled beach is only a few yards away from the main car park, toilet and cafes.  There is a lovely cliff walk to Ladram Bay Holiday Park which has spectacular views along the way.  We walked back via Otterton and along the river which was very pretty. 
There are only two small blocks on the site 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Nickym1664 3 reviews from this member

 Just come back after a bank holiday weekend at pooh cottage. It was great. Obviously it was very busy, but still loads of space for children to play. Showers basic but do the job, only two, but we never had to wait. Used washing machine and dryer, very casual arrangement just put money into tub! beware washing machine cycle takes over 2 hours!, but washes ok. 
Play area was bit hit with my children. It was a really relaxed, friendly site, would definitely go back and definitely recommend. Dog and Donkey pub in Knowle has fab food and a great children's menu and is easy walking distance! Budleigh beach great and worth a visit, pebbles but great coming home with no sand everywhere. Paignton zoo also worth a visit.
All in all a great time  had by all. Just be aware the lane to the campsite is narrow and a single track road. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emvid1 17 reviews from this member

 We booked this site very last minute after the site phoned me up to say there had been a cancellation and they could now accomodate us.
 
The site consisted of 2 main fields and 2 smaller fields at the back.  The site was mainly level with a few very gently sloping pitches - these were nearer the play area.  Pitch sizes weren't too bad. Not the hugest but more than adequate for our large frame tent. I would have preferred just a little more space between units, but for mid August it was still quite open and DIDN'T suffer from the refugee camp feeling of some sites.
 
This site was lovely and peaceful. Things quietend down very quickly on an evening with almost complete quiet by 10pm, which suited us with a young family.
 
The owners seemed to work very hard at keeping the site clean and tidy as well as customers happy. 
 
The showers in the main reception area besides the pool were very good and the showers had loads of space for parents to take in several kiddies with them! The loos in the same main block were modern and clean and had the nice touch of being decorated with a pooh bear theme, which was a hit with the kids. There were only 2 individual showers in this block (unisex) and separate male/female loos. There were 2 loos in the ladies - sorry cant comment on the mens!
In addition to these facilities there were also some caravan/portaloo style showers and loos, which although were always hot were rather claustophobic and a big no no for those needing to shower little ones due to lack of space.  Also the showers unit controls were very high up and caused problems for my 8yo trying to shower on her own.  Saying all this though, I never had to wait for a shower or a loo, and for mid August I think that's quite good!

There is a new facilities block planned for the future which would greatly improve the current facilities.
There was a very busy laundry room, that had the only washing up sink I could find.  There were notices to say that the new planned block will also cater for a much improved washing up facility. There was also a freezer available for freezing icepacks and this was free to use.
 
There was a small wooden play area in the first field. Play area consisted of little wooden cottage/playhouse, wooden tower and slide and a wooden climbing frame.
 
The reception area doubled up as a basic shop selling a few basics and essentials, although the opening times were abit adhoc I  never had to wait more than 5 minutes though for the shop to open.
 
 This site is close to cycle paths and is within easy walking and cycling distance of Budleigh Salterton about 1 mile away.  The nearest pub is about 10 minutes walk from the site. The chippy in Budleigh got extremely busy with a long queue so we ended up having an Indian instead which was yummy and  I would highly recommend it. Also MacDonalds 5 minutes in car enroute to Exmouth and in Exmouth itself I can highly recommend the Hungry Horse on the seafront called the Bath House. Small co-op in Budleigh and big tesco 5 minutes by car on the road into Exmouth.
 
All in all a pleasant campsite which I would recommend to those wanting a fairly quiet break. It will be even better when the new facilities block has been built. 


Reviewer: Andy

 August 2003
Site consists of 3 fields, 2 of which are generally level, the 3rd (used for overflow) is on a slope. Of the 2 main fields, tents/caravans are pitched around the edges leaving good sized playing areas for the kids in the middle. There is also a little playground with a wendy house and other play equipment.
Toilets/showers are in 2 blocks, one is a portacabin which looks fine but we didn't use it as it was the further block. The block we did use was basic with no hot taps, 2 hot showers which worked erratically and toilets. Facilities were clean and though we thought they would not cope with demand we were pleasantly surprised to find very little, if any, queueing on a busy weekend.
There are no laundry facilities or basic provisions (milk/bread) available.
We found the 'booking system' disorganised. On arrival we were directed to a very poor pitch even though the site was only half full, then, on complaining procured a decent pitch. As we arrived early for the bank holiday this was no problem but later arrivals were clearly upset to find that no pitch was reserved and they had to squeeze into the free-for-all on the 3rd field. So arrive early as I don't think the booking means a lot.
The site is in a quiet location, no road or railway noise and great for cyclists as it is right next to a disused railway line which is a nice ride to Exmouth.
In spite of the shortcomings, we enjoyed our stay as, for a bank holiday, it was amazingly quiet in the late evenings and the kids loved the available grass space for cycling and games. We would certainly return to the site if we revisit the area. 


Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pooh Cottage Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pooh Cottage Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Pooh Cottage Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Budleigh Salterton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1447 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement