Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sandwich Leisure Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Sandwich > Sandwich Leisure Park Reviews

Sandwich Leisure Park
Woodnesborough Rd
Sandwich
Kent   (Browse area)
CT13 0AA
Tel: 01304 612681
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 187
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 129 Reviews
                8/10 from 129 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  129 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Compromise 15 reviews from this member

 We have visited SLP many times, and love it. One of our favourites. (Even though they don't get my name right) ;-)! what a great sense of humour the girls in the office have, poor girl nearly wet herself when she realised the mistake.

SLP is well situated for the town centre and caters well for us in that we like to leave the car parked for the duration of our stay.

Home from home, lovely facilities, very clean toilets and showers and plentiful.

Wardens took action when noisy campers were partying till the wee small hours (5am) and evicted the crowd responsible, to much applause from those who hadn't slept that night.

Looking forward to returning this summer at some point. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Strongt 2 reviews from this member

 Great site. Very helpful staff, Shower block and toilets very clean, never had to queue. Also has a family shower block useful for young families. Sandwich is a lovely little town with lovely riverside walks for the dog.
We had bad weather on the last day and enquired about staying on a bit later than the 12 o'clock departure time. Were told to donate 5 to the air ambulance appeal and could stay for the rest of the day. Very helpful and nice that the owners were not trying to make money out of you all the time. Would definitely use again. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Teckiegirl 3 reviews from this member

 We camped at this site over the bank holiday weekend.

The site itself is well laid out with plenty of room for each tent. There is water and electric hook for each serviced pitch which is handy.

The facilities are good although there was a problem with the showers on the Sunday - something to do with the cold water pressure making the water very very hot.

The washing up facilities are outside but under cover and well lit.

The playground seemed good although I would recommend being away from here if you are staying without children.

There is a train line running along on side of the camp which was noisy at times but safe.

The local co-op store is a 5 min walk and there are plenty of pubs and take away services within walking distance.

The number plate recognition for entrance into the park seemed a good idea but it frequently did not acknowledge us entering which meant a lengthy wait at the gate for the reception staff to rectify.

There seemed to be a lot of work going on during the weekend to the serviced pitches, which although didn't affect us as we were away from it, would have been annoying if we were pitched closer to the work.

Overall a very pleasant site in a good location. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Motherofjazz 3 reviews from this member

 We went on the may bank holiday and the weather was beautiful.

The site was really nice and we were put very close to the play area which was great for us as we have 2 kids that spent morning, noon and night in there!

It was right next to the railway line, but very safe.

It was enclosed and had plenty for the kids to play on.

The shower block was also very nice, plenty of showers and loos, although we did have to wait for a shower, it was to be expected on a bank holiday weekend.

There was also a family room that had set opening times where the shower,loo,and sink was all in 1 room. Brilliant when you've got a couple of kids to get ready.

The washing up area was outside,but still clean and very nice.

Water and waste points must have been good, (didn't use them myself, that's what Ive got a husband for!)

The only down side was the train, it was very loud and very close and you could actually feel the ground shake when it went past, but it wasn't too much of a problem.

There was a little stream too, which could have been fenced off in my opinion, considering how close to the kids play area it was.

But all in all it was a great place and would definitely recommend it to anyone. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clazz 2 reviews from this member

 The touring field is set back behind the static vans, the pitches are large although some of them are set in groups of four. There was a lot of construction on the back field and some of the pitches were roped off as new grass has been sown. There is a children's play area in the corner of one field.
The main shower block has ladies and gents separate facillites but due to it being low season they were not open, instead there was a large unisex room at the back which had WC's with wash basins, then two smaller shower, WC and wash baisns, two larger shower, wc and 2 wash baisns and finaly a mens urinal. The water was hot and showers easy to use. Although there were hooks in the rooms there wasn't a lot of space to put things down. The washing up areas were well lit.
There is a train track running along one side of the campsite with infrequent local passenger service. Which doesn't start too early morning or run too late at night.
Sandwich is an interesting town to walk round with lots of old buildings. There are plenty of food places aswell as a supermarket just 5 mins away and a spar shop in the centre of town.
There are lots of things to do in the area I recommend visiting Howletts Zoo and all the castles. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bh4u 7 reviews from this member

 What a great site, great size pitches, great kids play area, great toilet / shower block and great distance to the CoOp.

We stayed from the bank Holiday weekend Friday to the following Friday.

On arrival I did find the staff a little vague as to where to put us, this was after two phone calls to query the booking dates which where not the dates we gave when we called to book. Any way in near enough no time we where found a pitch, which was plenty big enough for us.

I noticed that the standard of cleanliness of the site had dropped after the weekend and the Family Shower Rooms where no longer open, which became a pain when it came to showering our younger two.

BUT!

All in all, we had a very pleasant stay here, Kids loved it, a lovely part of the country and will probably return here again one day. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sally whitmore 2 reviews from this member

 Visited this site the back end of August bank Holiday Week, wed-fri. This is one superb site, it is very well kept, the play area for the kids if fantastic and well 5 star toilet and show block. There is a railway that runs down the back of the site but that just adds to the fun.

The pitches are set out, and you have plenty of room. Even though no shop on site, there is a supermarket within 5 minutes, which stocks everything you need.

We went to Howletts Animal Park, (with our tesco vouchers), which is an absolute brilliant park to visit, and was only 20 minutes away. Sandwich is also a lovely picturesque place to walk round, and the most amusing part for me was the 'road with no name' and 'shop with no name'.

We will definitely visit this site again, it is the best one we've been to yet. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bobandnicky 6 reviews from this member

 We visited at the start of the school holidays, during a period of hot weather and as a result the site was quite busy. We felt rather crammed in with the other tents and there wasn't much privacy.

Sandwich is a lovely little town with plenty of places to eat (both restaurants and takeaways) and there is a Co-op close by for grocery shopping.

The site's reception has a freezer for your freezer blocks to go in, and I believe they also have a loan service for their own blocks (although I didn't make use of that). The security barriers work on numberplate recognition, which means that it's quite a secure place. The grounds are well maintained, although there was some evidence of work going on with diggers, etc, dotted around the place.

We were on the field where the train line runs past and there's no getting away with the fact that it can be noisy when the train goes through, but the trains don't run overnight. The children's play area is sited in the corner of the field where the train track is, and the equipment is obviously very new. The playground is in a fenced in area with a gate, and has bark chippings on the ground, so make sure your kiddies wear their shoes!

The shower and toilet block was spotless, hot water plentiful and the shower cubicles are big. Even though it was busy we didn't have to queue for either toilets or showers. The washing up areas are sited at either end of the shower block and are covered.

Overall, it was an OK site which I'd recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nickyp96 5 reviews from this member

 We found this site a great family site but quite peaceful. One of the best sites we've been on so far. The Reception staff were very helpful, the pitch was flat and secluded and because the gate wouldn't open unless your number plate was registered, it felt very secure. I was quite happy for the kids to go to the play area, which was a good park and looked new. There is even a bike park for them to leave their bikes!

Having a tap and drainage on our pitch was a real advantage. There was also a tv aerial socket although we didn't use this as we didn't have a long enough lead.

The shower block was very clean and well thought out with seperate cubicles with sinks and shelves in the showers and hooks on the doors to save you having to put your stuff on the floor.

As other people have mentioned, there is a good supermarket within 5 minutes walk and Sandwich itself is well worth going back to.

Little touches like having a pub-style picnic table to use put this site on our list for returning to, in fact we tried to rebook for the Bank Holiday but they were full. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sharpstone 1 review from this member

 Delightful campsite and slightly upmarket. Immaculate play area for the children, and in view of some of the tent area, so we were able to sit by the tent and watch them play. Great toilet block that was clean and in very good condition. Trains next door added to the fun (choo-choo) as did planes from Kent Airport.
Good grassy areas for footy, and other campers were friendly. The kids made friends, and we enjoyed the easy pace. However, some care needed with little ones wandering on the road that runs through the campsite. And Sandwich is a great little place, with nice shops and a French delicatessen. I think we'll come back some day. 


Previous     129 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sandwich Leisure Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sandwich Leisure Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Sandwich Leisure Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sandwich      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1300 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement