Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sandwich Leisure Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Site Reviews

Sandwich Leisure Park
Woodnesborough Rd
Sandwich
Kent   (Browse area)
CT13 0AA
Tel: 01304 612681
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 187
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 126 Reviews
                8/10 from 126 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  126 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Motherofjazz 3 reviews from this member

We went on the may bank holiday and the weather was beautiful.

The site was really nice and we were put very close to the play area which was great for us as we have 2 kids that spent morning, noon and night in there!

It was right next to the railway line, but very safe.

It was enclosed and had plenty for the kids to play on.

The shower block was also very nice, plenty of showers and loos, although we did have to wait for a shower, it was to be expected on a bank holiday weekend.

There was also a family room that had set opening times where the shower,loo,and sink was all in 1 room. Brilliant when you've got a couple of kids to get ready.

The washing up area was outside,but still clean and very nice.

Water and waste points must have been good, (didn't use them myself, that's what Ive got a husband for!)

The only down side was the train, it was very loud and very close and you could actually feel the ground shake when it went past, but it wasn't too much of a problem.

There was a little stream too, which could have been fenced off in my opinion, considering how close to the kids play area it was.

But all in all it was a great place and would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Clazz 2 reviews from this member

The touring field is set back behind the static vans, the pitches are large although some of them are set in groups of four. There was a lot of construction on the back field and some of the pitches were roped off as new grass has been sown. There is a children's play area in the corner of one field.
The main shower block has ladies and gents separate facillites but due to it being low season they were not open, instead there was a large unisex room at the back which had WC's with wash basins, then two smaller shower, WC and wash baisns, two larger shower, wc and 2 wash baisns and finaly a mens urinal. The water was hot and showers easy to use. Although there were hooks in the rooms there wasn't a lot of space to put things down. The washing up areas were well lit.
There is a train track running along one side of the campsite with infrequent local passenger service. Which doesn't start too early morning or run too late at night.
Sandwich is an interesting town to walk round with lots of old buildings. There are plenty of food places aswell as a supermarket just 5 mins away and a spar shop in the centre of town.
There are lots of things to do in the area I recommend visiting Howletts Zoo and all the castles.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bh4u 7 reviews from this member

What a great site, great size pitches, great kids play area, great toilet / shower block and great distance to the CoOp.

We stayed from the bank Holiday weekend Friday to the following Friday.

On arrival I did find the staff a little vague as to where to put us, this was after two phone calls to query the booking dates which where not the dates we gave when we called to book. Any way in near enough no time we where found a pitch, which was plenty big enough for us.

I noticed that the standard of cleanliness of the site had dropped after the weekend and the Family Shower Rooms where no longer open, which became a pain when it came to showering our younger two.

BUT!

All in all, we had a very pleasant stay here, Kids loved it, a lovely part of the country and will probably return here again one day.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sally whitmore 2 reviews from this member

Visited this site the back end of August bank Holiday Week, wed-fri. This is one superb site, it is very well kept, the play area for the kids if fantastic and well 5 star toilet and show block. There is a railway that runs down the back of the site but that just adds to the fun.

The pitches are set out, and you have plenty of room. Even though no shop on site, there is a supermarket within 5 minutes, which stocks everything you need.

We went to Howletts Animal Park, (with our tesco vouchers), which is an absolute brilliant park to visit, and was only 20 minutes away. Sandwich is also a lovely picturesque place to walk round, and the most amusing part for me was the 'road with no name' and 'shop with no name'.

We will definitely visit this site again, it is the best one we've been to yet.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bobandnicky 6 reviews from this member

We visited at the start of the school holidays, during a period of hot weather and as a result the site was quite busy. We felt rather crammed in with the other tents and there wasn't much privacy.

Sandwich is a lovely little town with plenty of places to eat (both restaurants and takeaways) and there is a Co-op close by for grocery shopping.

The site's reception has a freezer for your freezer blocks to go in, and I believe they also have a loan service for their own blocks (although I didn't make use of that). The security barriers work on numberplate recognition, which means that it's quite a secure place. The grounds are well maintained, although there was some evidence of work going on with diggers, etc, dotted around the place.

We were on the field where the train line runs past and there's no getting away with the fact that it can be noisy when the train goes through, but the trains don't run overnight. The children's play area is sited in the corner of the field where the train track is, and the equipment is obviously very new. The playground is in a fenced in area with a gate, and has bark chippings on the ground, so make sure your kiddies wear their shoes!

The shower and toilet block was spotless, hot water plentiful and the shower cubicles are big. Even though it was busy we didn't have to queue for either toilets or showers. The washing up areas are sited at either end of the shower block and are covered.

Overall, it was an OK site which I'd recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nickyp96 5 reviews from this member

We found this site a great family site but quite peaceful. One of the best sites we've been on so far. The Reception staff were very helpful, the pitch was flat and secluded and because the gate wouldn't open unless your number plate was registered, it felt very secure. I was quite happy for the kids to go to the play area, which was a good park and looked new. There is even a bike park for them to leave their bikes!

Having a tap and drainage on our pitch was a real advantage. There was also a tv aerial socket although we didn't use this as we didn't have a long enough lead.

The shower block was very clean and well thought out with seperate cubicles with sinks and shelves in the showers and hooks on the doors to save you having to put your stuff on the floor.

As other people have mentioned, there is a good supermarket within 5 minutes walk and Sandwich itself is well worth going back to.

Little touches like having a pub-style picnic table to use put this site on our list for returning to, in fact we tried to rebook for the Bank Holiday but they were full.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sharpstone 1 review from this member

Delightful campsite and slightly upmarket. Immaculate play area for the children, and in view of some of the tent area, so we were able to sit by the tent and watch them play. Great toilet block that was clean and in very good condition. Trains next door added to the fun (choo-choo) as did planes from Kent Airport.
Good grassy areas for footy, and other campers were friendly. The kids made friends, and we enjoyed the easy pace. However, some care needed with little ones wandering on the road that runs through the campsite. And Sandwich is a great little place, with nice shops and a French delicatessen. I think we'll come back some day.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jrocher 3 reviews from this member

Very nice toilets and showers and it was really handy having a co op supermarket within walking distance. Only down side was that the site was very noisy with children on bikes every evening shouting and riding round and between tents until nearly 10 at night and sometimes riding into them. The rules of the campsite state this is not allowed but it happens anyway. Otherwise a pleasant site.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Shibudo 12 reviews from this member

Stayed for just one night, wish it was longer! Campsite was very nice, number plate recognition so you can come and go as you please, nice touch! We were put on the rear field, a very spacious pitch with a 'pub bench' which was very handy.

Walking distance to the centre of Sandwich. If you go for one reason then let it be 'Bella Amalfi' a lovely Italian restaurant in the Quay. This little place is beautiful and made the trip into the perfect getaway.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lyncol1737 1 review from this member

One night stay to try out our newly aquired tent and were delighted with what we found. Site was busy but not bursting, easy to find and staff were very friendly and helpful. Pitches were well laid out with lots of hedgerow screening. Facilities were all clean and well tended. Toilet block was excellent, and very well maintained. Childrens play area was sufficiently distant not to be a problem (I'm a teacher and it's nice to get away from the little darlings!)

Locally, there is a Co-op superstore within 5 mins walk, a fine selection of pubs and restruants catering for all types of wallet, with several fish and chip shops too. Sandwich boasts lots of good town and country walks for those who feel the need and on a sunny Sunday morning - Everyone was soooo friendly!. Whilst it's only 35 mins drive from home, it's nice to know there is a great little de-stress bolt hole.

Previous     126 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Kent   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1809 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019