Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sandringham Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sandringham > Sandringham Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Sandringham Camping And Caravanning Club Site
The Sandringham Estate
Double Lodges
Sandringham
Norfolk   (Browse area)
PE35 6EA
Tel: 01485 542555
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 270
Open: 13/02/2021 to 04/01/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 161 Reviews
                9/10 from 161 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  161 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Glamper Puss 8 reviews from this member

 We booked this trip as a last minute get away and spent 4 very pleasant nights here.

We needed a jumbo pitch to accommodate our rather large Ohio XL, complete with awning. As the campsite was less than half full, upon arrival, we had a choice between 2 pitches. I especially liked the way the pitches we not arranged in a regimental line, and instead dotted around.

The reception staff were polite, as was the gentlemen who showed us to our pitch.

I found the shower and toilet facilities to be clean. Although one slight gripe was that at 2 minutes to 12, when the facilities were shut from 11 - 12 for cleaning, I was not allowed to enter and was told they were still being cleaned. I was told I could use the disabled toilet. So, I stood and waited for 2 minutes, during which no more cleaning was done and then they reopened again.

The washing up facilities were clean enough, most people tended to wipe round the sink afterwards and remove any debris.

We visited Sandringham House whilst we were there. Great value!

The site is in a good location for both towns and coastal drives alike.

I would return here if I wanted to camp in this area again. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Grif1 7 reviews from this member

 Firstly when I arrived the reception told me that I was too early. I had been so silly as I had arrived at 11:58hrs instead of 12:00hrs! A whole 2 minutes early. Well this wasn't a problem because by the time they had gone through checking in it was after 12:00hrs but it didn't stop them making a fuss!

I had become a member and booked and paid online. I didn't have my membership card and although I could show the booking confirmation (on my blackberry)and they had it in front of them (with make and model of vehicle etc) this wasn't acceptable- so a photo ID was required. When questioning this,'it was to reduce the chance of credit card fraud'.

The site itself was really nice, well laid out, spacious, and clean.

The dog walks through the forest are really nice.

Toilets and showers are clean and well maintained. The Shop next to the site was well stocked and seemed more than sufficient for most peoples needs.

We didn't find a pub nearby and this would have been the most welcome treat, but we managed to stay in with a bottle of wine.

One word of caution is that if you do have kids - be prepared as the TV signal is extremely poor here, and this really can limit a night in with teenagers!

Apart from the bizarre welcome from 'the friendly club' yes we thoroughly enjoyed it, and would head back there again some day. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Deeana 16 reviews from this member

 We visited for three nights in early September and loved this site. It is like camping in a forest, and the first thing that greets you when you arrive is the scent of pine trees. Very invigorating! The pitches are large and well placed, and the toilet and shower blocks are clean, modern and warm. A great added feature is the fish and chip van which comes in the evening - we bought just chips to go with some chicken we had grilled and the portions were huge and delicious!

The wardens are friendly and efficient, although the phone manner leaves something to be desired. It is a common problem when calling any campsite to be greeted with something approaching suspicion when you ask for something slightly unusual (in this case an early arrival) and the answer is usually an emphatic NO. However we were allowed to park in the overnight parking for a few hours until we were able to take up our place on site.

We thoroughly enjoyed the local area - our second visit - and recommend the RSPB reserve at Snettisham as a place to walk the dog (on leash) - it was a lovely way to start the day. We also liked Castle Rising, where there is an English Heritage castle well worth a visit. We were there for a painting course at the West Norfolk Arts Centre in the village.

Nearest supermarket we found was Budgens in Dersingham.

Definitely worth a visit to this delightful site. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 3narf 9 reviews from this member

 I doubt this review will contribute much to the cannon (74 and counting!) of previous articles, but I want to be consistent by reviewing all five of the sites we patronised this season.

Sandringham is, not surprisingly given its CCC ownership and location, expensive- £178 for five nights, two adults, a 6-yr-old & two mini kids. Hmm. We bit the bullet due to having friends nearby, and joined the CCC on checking out which gave us a discount almost equal to the membership fee.

The site was just as we expected when we arrived- efficient, spotlessly clean, busy but not crowded and with that delicious pine forest smell. Facilities were superb; the site filled up to capacity at the weekend but never felt crowded. We had a corner plot next to the fence & surrounded by trees which was lovely- there's no charge for a gazebo, provided your allocated plot has room for one, so we made use of ours seeing as it did rain a bit. As you will have read from earlier reviews there's an excellent shop on the site and a fish-n-chips van visits twice a week which we used with no complaints other than the snaking queue!

After our recent Brook Meadow trip and subsequent wasp problem, we came equipped with an electronic bat and extra insect spray, but only saw one wasp the whole time (and it never came in the tent). The biggest problem was with bird poo which made a horrible mess of our tent & must have added 1/2 an hour to pack up day. The forest floor gets quite filthy after rain so some crocks or sandals are handy, as is a doormat.

We sat by the barbecue one chilly evening, piling sticks onto it (it's not a campfire, it's a barbecue, honest!) and a hedgehog waddled up to see what was going on. The local area is actually really nice, not what I expected after being based at RAF Marham in the mid-'80s; that place was bleak. The north coast is lovely, with sandy, windswept beaches, bleached, pastel beach houses and pretty (but affluent and very busy) market towns.

Due to our kids being so young, we didn't take bikes with us this year, but we were disappointed to see signs at the exit to the site forbidding the riding of bikes on any of the forest paths. What an absolute waste. After seeing a similar attitude prevailing at Windsor Park I guess the horsey set, royal variety in particular, have a downer on bicycles, maybe due to them being clearly superior to, and a lot cheaper than horses.

I think we'll be back as my wife really loved the site and it's handy for seeing our friends. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gclarke1985 1 review from this member

 This was our first time camping without the comfort of my partners parents motorhome. We chose Sandringham as it was around midway between our friends and us and were not disappointed. We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived, shown straight to our pitch which we were able to chose and was settled in within the hour.

The major negative of the weekend was the fish and chip van, especially as they missed out a portion of chips from our order. On the Saturday we visited Wells Next The Sea which was a nice little seaside town ad then visited the Holte Arms in Burnham Market. It was one of the nicest pubs and villages we have visited and definitely recommend, although its about 30-40 minutes from the camp site.

On the Sunday we went to Hunstanton and then back to Burnham Market before packing up on the Monday morning. I'm unfortunate enough to have one of the clumsiest friends who on the same day lost his wallet at the site and then his car keys all in the space of 6 hours.

Luckily these were handed into reception confirming that the Camping and Caravanning Club really is 'The Friendly Club'. We will be back next year! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mjlincs 26 reviews from this member

 A very friendly welcome and a choice of pitches ensured we enjoyed our stay at this site. The facilities are excellent with plenty of showers etc and all very clean. By the time we arrived the awning space was bare of grass and a groundsheet was essential.

If you have not got a dog borrow one and take it with you, you will have a friend for life. This is an amazingly quiet site considering its size and very child friendly and safe for all ages.

We found the shop beside the camp to be expensive, had restricted opening times, more rules than I like to see displayed, and was less than helpful but never rude, a drive to Kings Lynn is best for supermarket shopping but the surrounding villages had good local shops.

The local area is bliss if you want walks and peace and Kings Lynn is well worth a visit with interesting historic parts by the river. The Old Bank Coffee shop in Snittisham just a few miles north is a real treat for lunch or dinner with reasonable prices and you take your own wine but check on opening times and book for evening meals. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andyokeeffe 36 reviews from this member

 Our party, as usual, was made up of me (Dad), the wife; our two boys aged 10 & 7 and our doggie.

We used the C&CC Map and directions to the site which were clear and easy to follow. The use of Sat-Nav for this site would not lead to any great disaster but as the maps are clear, it’s best to use them once near to the site.

Check-in was as per usual C&CC standards and once paid up, you are shown to your pitch and then informed where all the amenities are located and once you’re happy, the Warden(s) leaves you to it.

We were allocated a pitch where by my 25 meter electric cable only just and I mean just, made it to my outfit. It left a tripping hazard for other people as the wire was stretched at the EHU bollard but no-one else seemed to be concerned.

Once again, we had booked a grass electric pitch and once again it turned out to have everything but grass and with Sandringham C&CC site, it was a horrible type of dust mixed with a sort of ash so come lifting day, everything had to be dusted down before being placed away and when it rained, everything which had already just had a dusting of the soil, now was caked in.

There are two separate shower / toilet blocks and even in high season, none of us had to queue for anything and the standards were very high at all times. These, considering they are not the newest on the club are of an excellent high standard.

The laundry, we felt, fell short in regards to not enough of them. We stayed for 5 nights and each time we went to use them a queuing was required for the washing machine.

My only real complaint was the times of the rubbish collection considering we were right opposite the sites refuse bins. First thing Saturday morning we were woken by the Rubbish Collection wagon making an early call and emptying the bins at a volume that seem to suggest that they were trying their hardest to ensure every last speck of dust had fallen from the bin into the dust cart.

On site, the Vodafone signal was perfect and 3G signal for our broadband dongle was also good.

Near-by, we visited the following attractions:

Langham Glass - this was great for adults but kids needed to be patient.

Bircham Windmill – Fantastic value for money and kids loved making their own cakes and having them baked.

Snettington Farm Park – The deer safari is well worth the money as the deer will eat out of your hand.

Best Regards

Andy O’Keeffe 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wsseaman 67 reviews from this member

 Spent 2 nights here @ £26.00 per night all-in (2 adults, 2 dogs & electric). Reception were very friendly and helpful and the on-site shop very well stocked (opens between 9am-5pm, shut between 1-2pm for lunch).

There was a chip van on site Friday evening. Site was very busy and I was told almost full by the time we arrived which meant our choice of pitch was extremely limited, resulting in no satellite TV signal which was disappointing.

Our pitch was generous and having walked around the site, was glad to have been allocated a pitch in a quiet area! My sister used the toilet/shower facilities and was full of praise for them, saying they were even spotless mid-morning after a particularly heavy night of rain.

There was plenty of forest surrounding the site to walk the dogs in. Sandringham House is a 20-min walk and worth a visit. With at least 2 play areas, its a good site for families. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mush145 3 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site twice now in three years and I have always found it to be very well maintained and managed.

It always surprises me how many people are on the site and yet it maintains a peaceful air.

The facilities are well managed, clean and tidy and rarely appear to be overcrowded.

It did rain while we are on the site and although the ground does drain quickly some of pitches can be a little muddy. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Garybats 2 reviews from this member

 A great site & a credit to the club & wardens.

A big site but because of the layout doesn't seem like it. Excellent loo blocks, different types of pitches ( shady, sunny, sheltered, windy)

Loads of paths to walk the dog & plenty of bins by all the gates into the woods. A good shop a few steps from the site.

Very windy while we were there but had a good sheltered pitch

Brilliant, roll on our next visit 


Previous     161 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sandringham Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sandringham Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sandringham Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sandringham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4714 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement