Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Heathland Beach Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft > Heathland Beach Holiday Park Reviews

Heathland Beach Holiday Park
London Road
Kessingland
Lowestoft
Suffolk   (Browse area)
NR33 7PJ
Tel: 01502 740337
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 63
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 111 Reviews
                9/10 from 111 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  111 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jinnertomcat 4 reviews from this member

 Just had 2 weeks at Heathland. Overall this must rank as one of the best sites I have stayed at. Loads to see and do in the area.

Plus points :-

+ 2 toilet / dishwashing blocks for around 60 pitches. Each one is cleaned twice a day. 1 is almost brand new and is immaculate and has a good laundry, the other is a older and a bit dated but both always had plenty of hot water

+ Free entry to the heated swimming pool complex which seemed quite new

+ Fantastic fishing lake

+ Great play areas for children

+ Huge, hedged pitches with EHU and TV Point

+ Beautifully maintained site, very clean

+ 200 yard walk to the sandy beach, although you do need to go down about 80 steps to reach the beach.

Negatives :-

- No entertainment apart from weekly bingo (loud enough to make your ears bleed) and a weekly quiz night

- No food available in the bar evenings and very limited (3 choices ?) at lunchtime. Bar quite expensive

- Bins by the dishwashing sinks would be very useful

Overall about 9.5 out of 10 and definitely very highly recommended 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Snifferxxx 1 review from this member

 Just come back from our first camping trip in many moons.

We only managed to get on the late arrivals spot and although ok would not choose to be there again as I felt we were too far away from the heart of the camping community.

The toilets (there are two blocks) were always very clean and this was with the very dire weather of last week so this would be a very positive remark for this site along with sinks for washing up that were also very clean and also a good mark for all those that were using them.

The site itself has 3 different size outside swimming pools one with a slide that cater for all ages even the very young and I was told by youngest Daughter that went in every day for a few hours even in that weather that the temperatures were very good.

There is a bar/restaurant on site which was a bit pricey and perhaps because of this even on the dreadful weather days was not very busy perhaps something the owners could improve on by adding some entertainment in the evenings which was very lacking or perhaps not what they want to offer missing a trick if you ask me.

There is also a fishing lake and large playing field with goals and grassland for all sorts of sports.

On arrival the staff were very pleasant and being new I didn't really know what to expect and told them this and they pointed me in the direction of the pitching area and said I could put my tent up where I liked.

So we did this and overall thanks to other campers we had a great few days the only downside was the very poor British weather.

Summing up if I come here again it will definitely be on the proper camping ground but all in all an excellent time for our first camp. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rexer 1 review from this member

 We all loved this site. It is really tidy and the layout is excellent with a lovely play area / sandpit at the centre and toilets and showers either side. The staff were friendly and the outside pools were again immaculately kept. Southwold (a posh seaside resort with pier) is only 30 mins away and Great Yarmouth was also near and has a great firework display midweek in the Summer.The site was very quiet at night and there is a nice bar and a well stocked shop. We're going again next year! Highly recommended.

The only downside is the cost (twice as much as some) but it's worth it in my opinion. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Max010103 4 reviews from this member

 Just got back from our first visit to Heathland Beach. Four families altogether. Overall the site was beautiful, clean and tidy. The pitches were very spacious and divided by small fences or bushes which gives you a little bit privacy. The two toilet blocks were always kept very clean, the one we used was a little more updated than the other one, but both were to a high standard.

The children's playgrounds were good, one was built on sand which the kids loved, right in the middle of the touring field which was great as you could keep an eye on the kids. The other one was on the playing field next to the swimming pools. The field was ideal for playing ball games and also had goalposts.

The swimming pools were great especially as we used them everyday as the weather was fantastic. The only downside was that the slide was only open 10.30 to 12.00 and 3.30 to 5.00 which was a pity when we spent a lot of the time there.

The pub onsite was very nice but quite small, pity the pub didn't have entertainment, even if it was just a couple of times a week, one night the pub had a quiz night(this was the only entertainment) as it was full and had a good atmosphere.

There is a very small shop, which is within the reception area and only opens at certain times.

Easy access to the beach (which is lovely) from the site but had to walk down very steep stairs, alright going down but a bit tiring climbing back up.

On the whole a lovely quiet and friendly site, ideal if you are wanting a quiet and relaxing holiday especially if you have children. 10/10 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fivereynolds 2 reviews from this member

 Had a great weekend at this site and plan to go back. Being able to pay extra 5 to stay until 5pm Sunday was a great idea as we got 2 full days.

Each pitch screened by its own hedge or fence so feels very private and like you have your own plot. 2 toilet/shower blocks. One very nice the other just OK with very small shower cubicles. But both very clean which is the main thing.

Kids loved the swimming pool which they used every day and only a short stroll to a wonderful beach and very quiet because no nearby public access by car so feels like your own private beach to the site.

Did not get a chance to use clubhouse but looked really nice. Thought lunch menu prices a bit on the expensive side but did not try them so they may well be worth it. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrmhayes 11 reviews from this member

 Bit of a busmans holiday this one as we only live 10 minutes down the road. But just wanting a quick break we gave this a try.

The Pitch sizes really are on the generous side with water and TV point all at the hook up point.

Watch out though because anything extra you put up on your pitch is at additional cost.

The kids loved the 3 heated ooutdoor pools, one with the somewhat slow flow slide but fun none the less.

The site was immaculatley kept,as were all the facilities.

Ample play areas for the kids as well.

There is a very relaxed atmosphere on the site.

There is a small shop and bar, I would not go to either unless I really had to as they were both over priced.

The on site fishing (extra cost)is good and if you cant catch here you may as well give it up.

We will be going back again but only for short stays.

Plenty to do in the surrounding areas, so close to Lowestoft, Gt Yarmouth and 40 minutes from Norwich.

All in all well worth a visit 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ayers family 8 reviews from this member

 Having never been camping on the east coast before and a little apprehensive because it always seems to be a bit windy we thought we would give it a try. It rained for the week we were there almost continuously and it all seemed very bleak. If it had not been that we were staying on this fantastic camp site we probably would have packed up and gone home early.Massive pitches with loads of room, clean toilets and showers with lots of hot water. Tidy and clean playing area's, small football field, tennis, outdoor swimming pool and a lovely little pub/club with a pool table. Bit of music one night and a quiz another, if only the sun had shone. The staff were excellent and very helpful. One of them even went behind the bar to serve me on her night off, I must have looked thirsty. Less than 5 mins to the beach although there are a few steps down to the beach which goes on as far as the eye can see, a scenic walk to Kessingland with a nice little restaurant with a Spanish flavour.Large super markets near by.

If we were going that way again I would head straight for this site. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Saz1964 5 reviews from this member

 This was our first family camping trip and we had a lovely weekend at Heathland Beach. The pitches are huge and we really liked the fact that they were separated by hedges for privacy.

The showers were lovely and clean but I agree with other reviewers that the water was possibly a little too hot! There are 2 shower blocks and the more modern one had nicer showers because they had doors rather than curtains and stools to put your gear on (the showers are VERY powerful - anything on the floor will get soaked!) and the water wasn't quite so scalding in this block!

This is a great site for families - good play areas for the kids and an outdoor pool.It was quite quiet during our weekend but I would imagine it gets very busy in school holidays. Our boys are teenagers so too old for the sandpit (!) but there is a large area near the pool to play football, fly kites etc. A big bonus is the fact that it is only a 5 minute walk to the beach (down some steep steps) with perfect sandcastle sand! No shops or arcades to eat into the spending money!

I don't know if I would recommend this site to couples. There were a lot of families with children playing cricket and riding bikes until quite late at night which is great but if you're not tolerant of kids choose a quieter site.

If I had a complaint it would only be the lack of recycling facilities - all rubbish goes in one skip.

We will definitely be back and would happily recommend it as a perfect family camp site. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Msjh 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a 3 night stay at Heathland Beach with our 4 and 5 year old boys. As previously mentioned the pitches are huge and the whole campsite has a spacious and very quiet rural feel to it. The whole site is wonderfully mantained and the owners obviously take a pride in it. The location only 5 min walk from sandy beach was fantastic although the steps may be too much for some!

The pools, main one, paddling and third with water slide are great for children and have showers and changing area as well as sun loungers. Our boys loved the 3 play areas (one small under 8's) esp the sandpit right behind the pitch where they could play while we relaxed.

Although we didn't use the bar it looked good and had a secluded outside seating area positoned between 2 of the play areas.

There were 2 shower blocks, one slightly more modern than the other. They were really clean and never busy. A negative point was the scalding temperature of the water! My husband never complains and said it was unbearable and wouldn't let the 5 yr old under. The water in the ladies was slightly better although still too hot for children. Many others were complaining so will hopefully be rectified for are next visit later in the year. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joanne1 21 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site over the bank holiday period and it was lovely. The pitches were the biggest we have ever had and very well marked with hedging. The facilities were spotless and the children loved the sandpit in the middle of the field and also the swimming pool / tennis courts. Would definetely recommend and can understand why this is a bit more expensive than your usual site. 


Previous     111 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Heathland Beach Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Heathland Beach Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Heathland Beach Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Heathland Beach Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lowestoft      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2651 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement