Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sykeside Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Sykeside Camping Park
Brotherswater
Patterdale (lake District)
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0NZ
Tel: 01768 482239
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 111
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 132 Reviews
                8/10 from 132 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 10 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  132 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Steve+Lin 3 reviews from this member

Very nice site, staff very helpful. Good food both at the pub and campsite bar. Trip to site tested our nerve and the car and trailer brakes as it was twisty down to the site.
Plenty of space on our hard standing to put trailer where we wanted. The only down side was that there are only a couple of water taps and these are up by the toilet block and only one waste point with on real flush only a hose.
Campsite is more set up for tents and overnight tourers. The campsite is not suitable the disabled due to very steep paths.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Princessmargaret 2 reviews from this member

Whilst the site is beautiful, with good facilities and a nice pub, we had to leave after one night due to the entire site being waterlogged. I know that the rain was unusually heavy, but surely this isn't the first time the Lake District has experienced this

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Black Kat 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here in 2009, definitely planning it for this year as well. Other reviews sum it up really. A beautiful area of the Lakes, what we call 'the real Lakes'. Showers and toilets very clean (so they must be, in accordance with my standards), although at peak times the water is more luke warm than hot, so try to get there early!. Pitches good, the site I remember was quiet and everyone friendly. Shop well-stocked, friendly staff. The Brotherswater Inn (who do own the site), great, standard pub food at standard Lake District prices (2-3 on top of prices, not much of an issue). Staff keep the site very clean we noticed. We look forward to returning

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rachael22 7 reviews from this member

Stayed one very wet night after climbing Helvellyn en route to Windermere.

Site was clean and organised. Facilities were plentiful (no queues for toilets or showers even on a Saturday night) and well maintained.

Staff were polite and helpful, even down to giving advice on routes and the surrounding area.

Barn End Bar on site very friendly, food reasonably priced and a fairly short wait for food despite the site being full.

Large drying area and washing up room inside.

Location was great, between stunning mountains and easily reachable from surrounding areas on foot.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tim-antonia 11 reviews from this member

This site is simply fantastic. If you like the lake district and want a good base for excellent walks this is the place, the campsite is surrounded by what can only be described as spectacular scenery, no matter which way you turn you are rewarded with breathtaking views. I wanted to start this review with what this site is all about but that is not all this site has to offer.
The pitches are flat, there is a ball/playing field and the brotherswater lake is close at hand. We ate at the barn end bar located on site and had no complaints and thought the prices reasonable. We ventured down to Ullswater and did some river walking then hired some rowing boats which the kids thought was fantastic.
Overall this is one of my favourite sites in the lakes, it did get very busy so booking is a must and there is a no noise policy at 11. We were reminded of this at check in and it was adhered to. Highly recommended and I will visit again. Hope you have more luck than I did on badger watch, never saw a single one!
One down side is the cost, we paid 58 for 3adults 2children for two nights, most expensive I've come across but the views more than make up for this.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shoppydolly 1 review from this member

We stayed here for the weekend while climbing Helvellyn. Although site was full we never had to queue for toilets and showers. The wardens were really friendly and helpful and Chris, in particular, was great. The views from the site are amazing and we will definitely be returning soon.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ashpat 3 reviews from this member

Well what can I say, we had made a booking and the deposit was paid, my 5 year old daughter was really excited. We then made a second booking on in the morning for our friends (2 people), again everything was confirmed by the campsite.

When we arrive they told us they couldn't accept us and had to cancel our booking as our group was too big, in my opinion 5 adults and 1 child in one tent and 2 adults in a separate tent should not have caused a problem - but it did. So we left the campsite with a very upset 5 year old, who thought we might have to go home and she was going to miss out on her camping weekend.

Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SadMike 3 reviews from this member

I decided to take the folding camper for its first outing. I only wanted to go for a weekend so I used the new search feature to look for sites in the Lake District. This campsite ticked all the boxes :) Open all year, pub on site, serves food, not too far from me.

I can only echo what has been said in the reviews below. Great site! The drive to it was spectacular, views from the site were stunning, staff were friendly, beer was spot on and the food was too! Good bit was dogs are allowed in the pub, which made for good entertainment when one of those Yorkshire terriers decided to have a go at a bigger dog! LOL. All in all a nice relaxing weekend :)

Date of Visit: February 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HappyHeppy 9 reviews from this member

2nd visit to this site and even though this visit was in feb it was just as good as last Summer.

We checked in at the Brotherwater Inn as the shop was closed till Easter. The staff are very friendly and even though we turned up a day early they were very accommodating. They informed us the site was still a bit waterlogged so advised us where to pitch and gave us information on some of the rules.

The shower block and loo's were spotless and plenty of hot water, one of the perks of going 'Off Season'.

Once we had pitched we went back to the pub, there are local beers on draught and a good selection of lagers and cider. We didn't eat but looked at the menu, not much for vegetarian's but a few specials and quite good choice for everyone else.

The site as an area put aside for walking your dog which is quite large and allows you to let your dog of the lead but not escape too far.

The site as a driveway all the way round so even though the weather was poor you never got your car stuck.

The views from anywhere on site are stunning, looking up you can see mountain peaks from all directions, the wildlife is great, the tree's on site are home to numerous species of birds, a welcoming sound first thing in the morning.

You are only three miles from Patterdale and Glenriding where you can enjoy a trip on the Ullswater Steamer or try and pick up a bargain at the Hiking/camping shop which is very well stocked incase you manage to forget something.

I'm sure we'll be visiting this site again in the near future.

Date of Visit: January 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Agent006 4 reviews from this member

Important thing to note for motorhome owners, not all pitches have electric hookup as default!

A small site with good facilities. Two pubs on site, with the Brotherswater Inn being very good.

Drainage can be a problem as it's in the bottom of the valley, but the van/home pitches are at field edges so quite dry. If you drive a larger motorhome you will have fun getting onto some of the pitches as the access tracks are quite narrow. I had to disregard the request to not put wheels on the grass briefly.

Showers and toilets are clean and warm. Never had a problem with hot water supply. Though you will need to take a bag for your clothes as the shower sprays the entire cubicle.

13 a night in January for no hookup was too expensive in my mind.

Previous     132 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


318 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019