Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ambleside > Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile Reviews

Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile
Chapel Stile
Great Langdale
Ambleside
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA22 9JR
Tel: 01539 437150
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 111 Reviews
                9/10 from 111 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  111 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zgreenham 1 review from this member

 Stayed here on the bank holiday weekend late August, we had originally planned to go to the NT site but it was full when we arrived on the Thursday at 6pm!

Owners were very friendly and helpful. When we first arrived here we had no cash and they let us stay the first night on an IOU. Reasonably priced. Worked out at £10 a night (£4 per adult & £2 per car).

Field was quite muddy as there had been rain before we arrived. We pitched down in one of the bottom fields. There was a walk to the shower / toilet block but it was only about 400m. They put some chemical toilets down on the lower fields which was really helpful.

Shower & toilet facilities were very basic, but were kept reasonable clean. The showers got very muddy at busy times of the day (in the morning and early evening). I showered in my flip flops to keep my feet clean. There were also queues at these times of the day. The showers were cleaned regularly though. When I showered in the afternoon one day they were very clean.

Views were amazing. It is a very good location for walking.

There is a no noise policy after 10:30pm and this was adhered to.

Pub down the road (Wainwrights Inn) is within walking distance. It got very busy over the weekend, but the food was ok and the beer was good!

I would like to try the NT site over this site next time but I would happily come back if it was full again. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dougal + Debs 14 reviews from this member

 Arrived late for the NT site and used Chapel Stile as Plan B. A vast site, but like the NT site can become really busy. Reasonable price and shower facilities on site. Although, depending on where you pitch it can be quite a trek! The site was boggy in the rain, so beware stepping on the frogs! Also the lane down the centre of the site is harshly raised, and many people were catching their car's front valance on the rise.

A real good location if you want to enjoy the walking. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sorenlorensen 7 reviews from this member

 Really friendly owners, good value site, great views and some fantastic walking right from the campsite.

The site was reasonably busy but still we had tons of space around us and it was nice and quiet at night. All of the people staying there seemed pretty like-minded and it felt very friendly.

We chose a field near to the main house (& loos/showers) which had a slight slope (but we picked it deliberately because of this as it was so rainy and we wanted to make sure we didn't end up in a bog after the forecast storms overnight!).

The facilities were nice and clean and although there weren't many showers, I never had to queue.

The area is beautiful and there are a few places to eat & drink within walking distance.

In the mornings, we could buy bacon butties from a van which was a pleasant bonus! 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cheshire Al 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful location with the Langdale Pikes almost looming over you.

We were unlucky enough to have the very wet and windy weekend. Some of the fields became unusable due to excessive water-logging, fortunately we had picked a good spot, but lots of others had to pick up and move their tents.

Plenty of room.

As previously mentioned the wash basins are at a ridiculous height, it really made me giggle when I saw them.

The entrance to the site is a little difficult to spot from the lane and also tricky to exit as you can't see out properly, they have put a mirror opposite to help with this.

Price - very good value, £4 per adult, £2 per car.

Pleasant walk down to the pub, either along the river bank or down the lane.

Good walks of all levels to be had straight from the site, which suited us.

I would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Neildonna 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Chapel Stile campsite on the last bank holiday, so have too apologise first for taking so long to send my review. But I have only just recovered from all the walking hee hee.

We were very lucky to manage to get a pitch but the owners were really friendly and let us stay, even though they were nearly full. The cost was only £10 pound per tent (inc.Car and 2 adults) and thats a bargain on bank holiday.

It was a mix of people, families and youths having a good time but still felt safe and comfy (The snorer in the tent next door kept me up more hee hee)

The views and the walks were spectacular and the shop in the town was friendly and helpful.

The showers. Well. If you forget about the long walk if you do not pitch early and get close and you dont mind the even longer ques I am sure you wont mind having a clean luke warm shower. But there is always the brook.

Not bothered about one way traffic, late night noise and snorers or sheep poo. Its a camp site its great and I will stay again and again.

Hope you find my review helpful may hear you there in the summertime. Thanks for a great weekend Chapel Stile rocks. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peewak 1 review from this member

 Left it too late to get on the NT site (3p.M. Bank Holiday Friday!)but was re-directed to this site. Beautiful scenery all around, gamboling lambs, etc. = good location.

We managed to pitch on the smallest of higher fields,across the brook,and it was nearly flat and very quiet,even on Bank Hol. Weekend.

Main fields suffered from some excess noise/drink but miscreants left(or were they pushed?) the following day.

Owners of farm friendly/enterprising - tour de force is the van selling cooked breakfasts / hot drinks etc. At reasonable prices (Sorry if this offends 'true' campers - I couldn't resist the smell of bacon)

Fab walk, behind the site, to Little Langdale - a leisurely 40 min. Walk rewarded by the excellence of the 'Three Shires' pub in the village of Little Langdale - excellent food, cracking real ales- recommend the Hawkshead Red.

Chapel Stile village is pleasant,with good local shop / cafe and is blessed by the Wainwright pub - forget the tacky name, this place sells top class nosh and I sampled very well kept ales administered by a Charles Bronson / Jack Palance look-a-like behind the bar (dont think he shot any customers whilst I supped)

Would recommend the site as much for its little bizarre points - the height of the wash basins must have been determined by the Jolly Green Giant - as for its stupendous views.

£10 quid a night for two humans, one car, one tent = I thank you! 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dcpc5973 2 reviews from this member

 Found site by accident - we were looking for a NT site! The entrance can be a pain if cars are coming the opposite way.

Worth going just for the views! Totally stunning.

Facilities were basic but cleanish. Showers got muddy but it was a packed Bank Holiday. There were queues for the loos, showers and wash-up area so choose when to go carefully.

The showers could do with hooks as you have to throw your clothes over the door, and the sinks are a bit high. I did have a (guilty) giggle at one little girl - the sink was higher than her and she still tried to have a wash!

The owners were very helpful and friendly. I agree with other reviews - try to pitch in the upper fields if you don't want to walk too far to the facilities.

An added bonus was a burger van that opened in the morning and evening during our stay. Sold teas, burgers etc.!

However, we would go back again! Did I mention the amazing views.????! 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nikkitm 4 reviews from this member

 We came here when the NT trust site was full and to me it could only be a second choice site to Great Langdale NT site.
 
This does get very very busy at the weekends and people pitch too close together, this is made worse by the fact that people park their cars next to their tents so the ground becomes very muddy and you feel hemmed in.
 
The site is noisy at night, lots of big groups drinking late and one group had a huge campfire going all night that looked very dangerous.
 
My daughter loved the river and rope swing but because of the noise at night and the predominance of people drinking at night I would not say this is as much of a family campsite as the NT one which benefits from a family field the playground and the shop on site.
 
The showers are fine although the queues do get long.
 
The location is beautiful and excellent for walking however because we felt packed in by cars, noisy parties and pitches that were too close together we did not feel as if we wanted to sit out and watch the stars as we have done previously. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kart111 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 2 night stay during Bank holiday weekend. Arrived Friday lunch and spaces left but think site full sign went up some time on Saturday.
Site was very busy but toilet/shower block clean and toilet paper available during our stay. We stayed in the lower field and timed the walk up to the farm for toilet block etc. 7 minutes each way! Luckily had our 2 year olds potty with us as this was too far for him!
No noise after 10.30 adhered to on Friday night but we did only have a couple of hours sleep on the Saturday as a large group of blokes had sneaked on, pitched literally cms from our tent and partied all night after getting barred from local pub. But.Owner did his utmost to quieten them and they were thankfully kicked out by police next morning. (Owner offered us free nights stay).
Would definitely recommend this site - scenery amazing, local pub (serving food) and village shop with cafe above a short walk away. Our 2 yr old and 11 month old loved it (and thankfully slept through the noise!). Streams and woods kept the visiting kids happy for hours.
Will be visiting again soon, but not during a bank holiday! 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cathn 2 reviews from this member

 We visited for two nights having read the reviews on here. Scenery is indeed stunning and facilities as described. However the site was completely spoilt for me by the mounds and mounds of rubbish that had piled up at the bins. They must have been very busy the week before. It was a real eyesore and for once we were thankful that cooler weather was keeping the smell at bay. It was such a shame. Maybe a one off but would put me off returning. 


Previous     111 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ambleside      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2056 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement