Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Croft: Caravans Lodges & Apartments

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ambleside > The Croft: Caravans Lodges & Apartments Reviews

The Croft: Caravans Lodges & Apartments
North Lonsdale Road
Hawkshead
Ambleside
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA22 0NX
Tel: 01539 436 374
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 54
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 115 Reviews
                9/10 from 115 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  115 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Annebmorgan 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed one night (Friday) at this handy site. It was busy when we arrived but we still managed to get electric hook up (£16.50 for a van and two people for one night).

The toilets and showers were clean but given that this is a muddy site it would be impossible to ensure that it was always spotless. The showers however are badly organised. There are no hooks for clothes outside the cubicle and no chairs to sit on or put clothes on. There is insufficient room inside the cubicle so I had to undress outside the cubicle, and prop as many of my clothes as possible on the windowsill before going inside for my shower. There is a shower curtain inside the cubicle and because the space is so small the curtains blow in and I was constantly peeling it off my skin while trying to wash myself. You get 4 minutes for 20p which is tight if you're planning to wash your hair. To insert another 20p you have to come out of the cubicle dripping wet.

The young man I booked in with at reception was unfriendly to say the least and bordered on rude. Not as much as a thank you when giving me my receipt. My male companion however found him to be friendly a few hours later. Perhaps he just doesn't like women or maybe he was feeling grumpy before his dinner. Who knows.

The site is handy to the village but be careful when leaving the campsite as cars travel at fairly high speeds just at the camp site entrance. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bugrain 1 review from this member

 2nd time at this site in two years, wanted to be in the area again and this was a great option.

We were in a tent but on a powered site, lots of tent room for non-powered people who like to "rough it", powered sites are fine though - not too cramped but the site was not full either.

Weather was bad (hey, it's the Lake District) and ground underfoot in grass areas was soggy, but things seemed to hold up OK.

Facilities are good and clean (albeit a little muddy in the toilet block because of the weather). Lot's of evidence of the cleaner putting in an extra few hours, though. Service at reception was friendly and they were often 'open' outside of advertised hours.

Hawkshead village is 2 minutes walk, mainly the sort of shop you'd expect to find plus 4 pubs, small supermarket and post office/general store. The 3 pubs we visited all do food lunch and evening with some excellent menu choices (and, true to Lakeland tradition, large portions).

Grizedale forest is within walking distance, or car to the visitors centre. Lots of forest walks, mountain biking (including the North Face trail which is great for an intermediate mountain biker with a good proportion of single track to forest road) and the "Go Ape" tree walk (which was fully booked when we tried to have a go, but looks great).

Further afield you can set off walking towards Lake Windermere, Tarn Hows, Langdale and Consiston, amongst others without hitting too much road. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Blupton 8 reviews from this member

 Nice location next to a wonderful village with a fab range of bars and cafes.
We arrived and were allowed to pitch our tent before paying for the week.
However most of the pitches available were about 1" deep in water, but it had been pouring with rain for days so I guess all sites suffered the same level of waterlogging.
We pitched in the only dry pitch left, unfortunately it was at the edge of the site nearest the road. Dont underestimate the noise from this road. From about 7am until about 11pm the noise is dreadful.
So, not a bad site (adequate) but avoid the pitches next to the road. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DaveyDave 26 reviews from this member

 Tried this site for the first time and it was excellent. Very quiet, lovely views of the surrounding hillsides and excellent facilities. There are plenty of walks from the site which we tried and thoroughly enjoyed. Lovely little stream at the rear of the site where we were able to walk the dog. 2 minute walk to the village which had 4 pubs and a few really nice shops (including a Co-op).We will definitely be coming back. The only problem we had was the weather but that's England for you. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bundys 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 8 night stay at The Croft, over the bank holiday. This is the third time we have stayed at the croft and the fact that we have returned to this site speaks for itself. This is a nice site in a great area, Hawkshead village is very pretty with it's whitewashed buildings and cobbled streets and a nice mix of pubs, shops and necessities. We can thoroughly recommend the Sun Inn for fab food, service and cleanliness - by far the best pub in the village for families with children.
Site facilities are very good and maintained to a good standard, showers are coin operated (20p for approx 3-4mins) but powerful and always hot, downside to showers is the coin machines are outside the cubicles and water starts immediately you put the money in so you need to get ready and step outside the cubicle in your towel to put your money in, machine will take a couple of coins at a time so you can get a good shower.
We stayed on the touring side of the site as we need electric, good sized/level pitches, some grass but mostly hard-standings with grass area. We had a walk round the tent field, again appeared to be good space between units. Staff are friendly and helpful, leaving you to choose where you wish to pitch. Plenty to do off site (no childrens play area on site),walking, cycling, fantastic scenery, villages etc.something for everyone!, and we had good weather which made this stay enjoyable, the only downside for us on this occasion was on returning back to the site after a day out, we found we had lost our car parking space to a party of noisy caravanners which pitched up right next to us and taking up the hardstanding area of our pitch who then kept us awake until the early hours every single night. Can not grumble in anyway about the site just wish some people would be a bit more thoughtful to fellow campers!.
Would definitely recommend this site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Katiet 7 reviews from this member

 We visited this site during the May bank holiday.  The site was busy but wasn't too crowded.  The pitches aren't marked out so you can pitch anywhere you like.  Dogs are FOC. The facilities were great.  There were 4 showers (20p for 3 minutes).  There are also electric points for hair dryers etc at a small charge.  There is a games & tv room also on site. 
You are literally across the road from hawkshead village with shops, pubs etc.  There are great walks from the site, maps are available at reception.  The people at the site were very friendly.  We will definitely be going to that site again.  Lovely part of the country would recommend it to anyone. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Richard.and.wendy 1 review from this member

 Had just had 3 nights on this site. Have thoughly enjoyed the weekend. Staff were very kind and allowed us to use their electricity as we were unable to have a pitch with a hook up as it was fully booked. Campsite had all we needed and was clean and tidy. Would visit again. 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: David_roo 1 review from this member

 This was my first time camping and what an experience! The camp site was nicely situated just inside Hawkshead providing fantastic access to this wonderful little village. The campsite itself had everything I desired and more! Showers were cheap and cheerful. I was a bit dubious but I found putting two 20ps in did the job. My girlfriend was very happy with the electrical sockets provided in the bathroom for her hairdryer and straighteners! It was very reasonable at 20p for 4 minutes of electricity!

The staff were always ready to help if you ever needed them. Nearby the main office was a tv room and game room which came in very handy during the rainy days.

All in all I would recommend this camp site to anyone and it provided me with a wonderful first camping experience! 


Date of Visit: September 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Davidxyz 6 reviews from this member

 Very nice site.  Flat pitch without designated areas so you could go where you liked 
 
Really clean showers and toilets.  Showers were 20p and lasted ages. 
 
Right next to Hawkshead village with some nice walks.  We went on a Saturday night and had trouble getting a table for dinner, would be advisable to book as the village centre gets quite busy Friday and Saturday nights.
 
Had a problem with noise due to a large drunken family causing a fight with other campers.  No one was around to complain to and we didnt get to sleep till gone 3!
 
Would come again if in the area 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lyndsey-Jane 2 reviews from this member

 We visited this campsite for the first time, arriving on Tuesday afternoon and leaving after lunch on Thursday. 

Anyway this site is an excellent site for everyone.  Having previously stayed at Pooley Bridge and Glenridding I struggled to find a campsite similar to these in the sense that the campsite is a short walk from an adequate village.  Meaning you can travel further afield by car if you wish but if not you can visit the village daily without the need for a car. 
Hawkshead is a perfect match to our requirements as it has 4 lovely pubs serving fab food, a co-op open 8am till 10pm, a post office, an array of wonderful shops selling anything from camping equipment to gifts to local produce, also a few good little cafes.  There is also a beatrix potter museum.  The church in the village is beautiful and of great interest.  The local bookshop will supply you with a brief history to the village for 50p! Very interesting.  The village itself is a step back in time with some of the most amazing aspects of history. 
I like to enjoy all aspects of camping but especially require a good campsite, good pubs and food.  The pubs where always full although nearly September.  Campsite fab although as others have said need to put 40p in for a good shower, and need a mallet!  Initially the church clock is noticeable but you forget the chime afeter a few hours. 
Overall 10 out of 10 going again next year, great location in the village and only a few miles from Coniston and about 8 to windermere! 


Previous     115 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Croft: Caravans Lodges & Apartments child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Croft: Caravans Lodges & Apartments?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Croft: Caravans Lodges & Apartments dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ambleside      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3299 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement