Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Beacon Fell View Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Preston > Beacon Fell View Holiday Park Reviews

Beacon Fell View Holiday Park
110 Higher Road
Longridge
Preston
Lancashire   (Browse area)
PR3 2TF
Tel: 01772 783233
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 54
Open: 01/03/2021 to 14/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 108 Reviews
                7/10 from 108 Reviews

Photos (11)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  108 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Busygirl 2 reviews from this member

 I thought that this site were not very interested in tents. The toilet block is down a steep flight of concrete steps as is the water point. The camping field is at the top of the site next to the road so a bit of a worry for the parents of small children.
When I asked the receptionist, who I found off hand, about facilities to refreeze the blue blocks for cool boxes she said she had never even heard of such things. The club house and pool were great as was 'Jenny' the kids rep. However, on the whole I don't feel I want to return and I am usually easily pleased. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rich Tea 2 reviews from this member

 Spent 2 nights here in camping field (which is quite small) .We were lucky as only 6 or seven tents on field at the time. You cannot park your car next to your tent but leave it at the end of the field and carry your stuff to your pitch. We didn't have a problem with this as pitched near to car park. The car area can get congested as can only fit about 10 in the space so if there are a couple of cars with each tent it can be quite a squash.


Facilities were fine - toilets were clean and with lots of loo roll. Pool was nice and warm and staff were friendly. Down side to this park was the noise from nearby building work( not connected to site) adjacent to the camping field that is going to be on for some time to come. We were woken up at 6.45 am by workmen arriving for work and then the sound of heavy machinery which we weren't too happy about. The sound wasn't as bad on the second morning but won't go back in a hurry due to the building work. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tci872 14 reviews from this member

 This was our 1st camping expedition following a 10 year break so we went local , (15 miles) for 2 days to try everything out and get back into things. The tent field was relatively compact with about 8 EHU's (1st come 1st served) and accessed through a separate entrance further down the road. Cars were not allowed onto the field as there were wooden barriers preventing access. Not so much of a problem for us with our tent but families with trailers had to negotiate an obstacle course through the cars to get onto the field. At various stages of our break, cars were 3 deep in the car park so if you wanted to go out, I guess you had to find all the drivers blocking you in.

The tent field is adjacent to the local quarry which started at 7am on Sat and, you guessed it 7am Sunday. not happy. The dust was also blowing further down the park where bbq's were being done. The toilet block was ok the shop had all the usual stuff. The club was ok but we didnt use the take away so cant comment. The weekend served its purpose and we look forward to a longer break next month in Scotland 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Helen chapman 6 reviews from this member

 Not for anyone looking for peace and quiet. We have just spent 12 days on this site. Monday to Thursday was not too bad but the weekends were the noisiest we have ever experienced, the loud partying went on until 4am. The site has got great views but is let down by the very small pitches we only just got our trailer tent and awning on.
There is very little grass mainly stone and we struggled to get a few tent pegs in. the site was very busy and cars had to reverse out as there was no room to turn around. The shower-block needs updating, most days the hot water went off or was too hot to shower. The shop and take away were great and had everything you could need, but we didn't stay on site much as we felt to claustrophobic. This is a great site if you want to go and party but that's about all. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: The broons 1 review from this member

 Have just returned from this site and was not impressed. Caravan was lovely and very clean, staff were friendly but facilities let it down - mainly due to hardly ever being open! We went in HIGH SEASON! If you want to stay on site most of the time and use the facilities it would be fine. However we went out during the day to tour the surrounding area and nothing was open in the morning or evening (except the adults only bar) we had a toddler with us who was too young for the kids club.

The swimming pool was great but we had to make a point of not going out just so we could use it. It opened from 10am -4.45pm - far too restrictive. We would have used it early morning or evening.
Kids outdoor play area had broken glass lying around and loads of rubbish at one side - not very safe. Also the only small "bouncy animal" was broken and had jagged edges. Indoor play area could only be accessed by getting a key from reception (which was open only from 9am -6pm) and was not in particularly good state of maintenance. Some of the padding had worn away showing through the metal underneath
the shop was only open from 10-12 and 4-6 again no use to anyone going out for the day and the take away was only open Friday, Saturday and Sunday as was the entertainment.

Also not a very easy park to find and not as close to the motorway as it seems - around 20 minutes drive needed to get through the villages before reaching the main road either way. We had a great holiday but the weather was superb (there were no deckchairs supplied and very little space to sit outside the caravan) Wouldn't't like to be stuck here in the normal British weather!

Maybe it's just us but, having looked at the website before we went, we were expecting much more and as I said the opening hours of the facilities were ridiculous for high season.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Bazza71 1 review from this member

 Ok bear with me here. My parents owned a caravan on this site for over 10 years from 1981. I remembered it with fond memories and met my partner there in 1990. Now that my parents are no longer with us, we decided it would be good to relive old memories and hopfully give the kids a taster of what I experienced all those years ago. So we booked a hire in a Static caravan for a week.

Booking is was without effort and the staff incredibly friendly and helpful. I was unsure as to what sort of caravan we would be offered (after all it is 'for hire'), but shouldn't have worried. Less than a year old it was like new and incredibly clean throughout. There was even a welcome pack that included our passes for the facilities (more later) and various things to do in the area, and 'bedtime reading' consisting of the site rules etc. The bedding was all like new and there was enough of it.

We arrived on a saturday and within no time had to go to the clubhouse. Again very familier to me, not much has changed. Serves the purpose well and there's a bingo run with Jenny the compare, followed by a live act (who turned out to be a great singer). Sunday was just bingo along with some fun and games for the kids.

If you want peace and quiet along with a quiet drink in the evenings go during the week when the kids are at school. It's just a limited number of residents in the clubhouse and there isn't entertainment on weekdays, so we had free run. Everythings VERY relaxed.

The people are great. Yes during a weekend there's loads of kids about which adds life to the whole place and they love it. If you're not a sociable person or don't like talking to people dont bother coming here. We've met loads of people who surprisingly all live quite local to the park (Preston,Burnley,Blackburn,Clitheroe etc). If you eye contact them they'll say hello. Return the courtesey and you'll probably end up seeing them in the club that night. Just great.

As I said Jenny is the compare (and tree cutter, barmaid,bingo caller,etc) and she's fantastic. We made a great friend with her so much so we have here phone number now. Fantastic with kids as well.
Lisa was our neighbour and runs the Burger bar. Food's good. Don't complain about choice it's a burger bar not a restaurant. You're free to take the food into the club at night. Ah the club. There enough there to do the job. Not a poor selection of drinks by any means. John regularly works the club.Quiet lad but majorly polite and a really nice guy.

The facilities. Nearly forgot. A pool. It's been there for years but now it's enclosed and WARM (81deg). Theres also a sauna. You need your pass to access these along with the gym, but they're FREE. Jungle Jims is a play area for younger kids (upto about 8ish) it's either supervised or you can watch the kids yourself. Everything's padded for safety and there's a ball pool,slide and climbing frames to explore.My kids loved it.The added benefit is that it's attached to the main clubhouse so it's safer and gives the kids more independance.

Should you wish to buy a caravan get your fat wallet out. You've got to have cash to stay on here. We so nearly purchased but it was running costs that blew it. After buying a Static for between
£10k & £48k you'll need at least 3k/year to cover the site fees,gas,electric & water. Then add in your food and beer money could easilly take you upto 6k/year although the site only closes for 6weeks every year you could go when you want. We're so upset that we just can't afford to buy on here.

I was dissappointed about one aspect regarding purchase. The caravan I wanted was used. The owner flatly refused to relocate it to another free plot for me as he preferred to put a 'brand new one there instead' even though some on that 'row' were older than the one I was looking at!. To me this is a very particular individual who'll not allow a number of clients a relatively simple thing. As my partner said at one point "If our money isn't good enough then stuff him".

Don't let this reflect on the site itself though, it's clean,the people are fantastic and residents all polite. We may even be back there in august for a week. Will update on progress

Can't comment on the touring pitches but hey. Get there early because they get packed at weekends.

Hope this was helpful. It's the first time I've written one of these 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kazrover 5 reviews from this member

 We visited this site as a group of 20 campers and caravanners. The pitches for caravans are very tight. We were lucky as we were 1 of the early arrivals as some of the other caravanners really struggled to fit their vans in. The campers field was a real disappointment. The field was not big enough for the 4 family sized tents to fit on with the other campers(we had told them in advance the size of the tents). They all had to have their tents overlapping guide ropes. The camping field was unsuitable for anyone with walking difficulties as you had to climb up two sets of steep steps to get to and from the toilet and shower blocks infact all facilities (which was a real pain for the children at night as they were so tired). Their were only two electric points on the whole field and they were in the middle of the field so even tho charged for elec they could not use(as campers who did not use elec had already pitched up in front of it. On the plus side the childrens play area was brilliant. The swimmimg pool was also very good. The staff were all very friendly. Will go again but not camping and not in peak season. 


Date of Visit: March 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Redwine 3 reviews from this member

 Large campsite not easy to find if you go please don't follow signs to beacon fell view country park as we did very very steep hills. Site on different levels so not good for the less active toilets and disposal points not nice. Play area nice and views are great, the was no take away staff all very nice. 


Date of Visit: July 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Danlaur 9 reviews from this member

 We go caravanning in a small group several times a year, and I must say how impressed we all are with the views from Beacon Fell... although the pitches were a little close together, the varying levels provided some fantastic Countryside views..... & only an hour from our Wigan home !

Children always enjoy their stay....with a great heated indoor pool area & a well equipped play area. From what I recall, the toilets / showers & Chemical Toilet points were in dire need of updating and had no heating to any of them. The small shop seems to have a decent stock of many things you may need.

Last time we visited, two families in tents were chopping up pallets of wood for an open fire, and went the whole weekend unchallenged by any security.... Not sure that we would go back later this year !

We also enjoy visiting a local pub a mile down the road ( Brown Cow ? ) which offers good pub grub at good prices

The site has a great large superb warm indoor swimming pool and adults only jacuzzi, clubhouse with kiddies entertainment disco etc then bingo for adults  


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fudge11 14 reviews from this member

 Spent 3 nights over Easter at this site. Really enjoyed it. Free swimming pool was nice. Good outdoor play area. & soft play area. Great Clubhouse children welcome.

Our only problems were: the pitches were too small and too close together. It was virtually impossible to fit caravan, awning and car into one space. Which meant cars were parked all along the roadside, which felt a bit dangerous and crowded. Also there are no signs as you enter the site. If you do take a wrong turn it is virtually impossible to turn - as our new found friends (hi Jayne & Mark - if you read this) found out.

Some lovely villages to visit. Dunsop Bridge was nice to feed the ducks and have an ice cream. Will definitely return. 


Previous     108 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Beacon Fell View Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Beacon Fell View Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Beacon Fell View Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Beacon Fell View Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Preston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5668 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement