Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pinewoods Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Norfolk > Wells Next The Sea > Pinewoods Holiday Park > Reviews

Pinewoods Holiday Park
Beach Road
Wells Next The Sea
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR23 1DR
Tel: 01328 710439
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 114 Reviews
                7/10 from 114 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Helen72 4 reviews from this member

 I would echo everything said about the location of this campsite, it is absolutely fantastic.

However the toilet and shower blocks really let it down. We were staying in the overflow tent area 'The Horse Paddock' so used the main ones near the cafe/shop area. These blocks are tired and in need of refurbishment. They were also not very clean - we stayed 4 nights and I never witnessed any cleaning or evidence of cleaning. My husband said that it was like having a shower in a urinal in the men's block. But the main thing is that there is hardly any water pressure so you get this dribble of water out. If you've got long hair and want to wash it you'll be there a very long time! This was very frustrating especially when you're paying £17 a night to stay in a field with no facilities apart from some grotty portaloos.

There was a massive thunderstorm on the first night and the field quickly became flooded. We were shocked when we came out of the tent the next day to find we were surrounded by substantial pools of water. No wonder the security guys advised paying for one night at a time! I agree with previous reviews that they should charge a lower price for staying in this part.

One more thing, be careful using the communal freezer in the laundry block. One unscrupulous individual replaced my expensive freezer block with a cheap rubbish one. Very annoying.

I will definitely go back to the area but not to this site in a tent. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jess72 1 review from this member

 We booked this after having a lovely holiday in one of the lodges last year. We then became rather worried after reading the recent camping reviews! However we've just had a lovely weekend there luckily.
We stayed (with a tent) on one of the superpitches as we were with friends with a caravan - these pitches were great (split up by little hedges) and had at least two near-by and clean loo / shower blocks. I can see where concerns have been with the camping field by the lake - it looked very uneven and I'm glad we weren't on that bit (especially as the rain got us good and proper one night and I bet it was waterlogged).
Shame the shop closed at 5, but otherwise all good - great to be so close to such a fantastic beach and enjoy the walk up to the town. Would definitely return - but only to use a superpitch. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JamesO 12 reviews from this member

 Nice site this one, big though so it won't necessarily be the most peaceful campsite in Norfolk. Having stayed several times now if we have a gripe it's that loud music late at night doesn't get tackled by the staff, which can be a problem on such a popular site with us repressed English people too shy to say anything ourselves.

Otherwise I have only good things to say, the shower / toilet / pot-washing blocks are kept clean enough considering how much use they get and free as they should be at the price for a night's stay. The shop and restaurant aren't cheap but we shouldn't expect them to be, basically you have convenience for any emergency supplies you may need.

The location is lovely, Wells is as attractive a seaside town as you could wish for, just be ready to queue for fish 'n' chips during good weather. Top place to stay if you're a birdwatcher looking for somewhere to stay in between Cley and Titchwell.

We may look for other sites in North Norfolk but Pinewoods will always be a dependable campsite with top facilities. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Philaw 5 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site many times, from when we first started camping 15 years ago. The site has changed beyond recognition with the camping facilities now down to just the lakeside 'Group Area'. Previous reviews have pointed out how wet this area can be, it was very hot and dry, and had been all week prior to our visit. However, kneeling on the grass reveals the main problem, the underlying water (water table?) rushes up to meet you, and anything left on the grass WILL get wet.
The staff are absolutely fantastic, the security is A1, very comforting, and arriving 'after hours' was made a very pleasant experience. The first signs of trouble are when you need to use the toilet / shower blocks. I have fairly limited mobility, the nearest block was locked shut, walking 500 metres to the first available block isn't too bad if you are mobile. The next day, the closest block was open, it was filthy, the shower locks were broken, the toilet seats were designed for Lilliputians, and the shower can be best described as a warm leak.
This is the most expensive site we visit, they really do need to invest in the infrastructure. The refurbished coffee shop is good, but expensive, that investment would have been better suited by tidying up (rebuilding?) the toilet/shower blocks. It is a beautiful area, and the only site within walking distance to Wells. One other gripe - why shut the shop/off-license at 5? For supplies we had to go to town. 5/10. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Poppyandskipper 16 reviews from this member

 We booked this site because we wanted a site near to Holkham Hall where we were going to see Status Quo in concert on 1st September. The site looked so lovely on the website. What a disappointment this site was, small pitches, old dirty toilets and showers, leaking taps, overflowing, badly stained toilets,.  One toilet block not even in use.  This site was by far the most expensive we have stayed on -  and we do a lot of touring and was the worst for facilities and cleanliness.  The areas around the toilets were boggy.  The "roads" were uneven and potholed and filled with water when it rained.  With the expensive cost of touring on this site I would have expected better, and am surprised that no upgrading appears to have taken place for a long time.
 
Needless to say the QUO were great! The one highlight of our weekend. 
 
We will not be visiting again and would not recommend this site to anyone.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lisa harwood 3 reviews from this member

 Check in was poor- on arrival our pitch was occupied by cars! we were given another pitch and 4 days later told to move by a security guard late one evening. (we saw this happen to tents around our van during our week long stay)

The toilets and showers were filthy. The play area is very poor and small. Shopping on site took about 40 mins to buy a loaf of bread. Worst of all for a site of this size was the limited recycling facilities.

The site is set in an amazing location by the beach. The local indian restaurant was friendly really trying hard to please everyone despite being so busy.

Pinewoods seems to rely on there location and not customer service for a busy site. We were not impressed!

There is so much to do with children in local area we ran out of time.

The boat trips to see the seals is amazing with Beans boatyard  


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Flowerpower 3 reviews from this member

 I have been going to this site for 20 years, starting with my mum and dad in a caravan.

I am now going down this year for the first time without my parents, in a tent, and can only pray that the weather will be fine.
The reason?  As so many people have already said on here, when it rains in Norfolk, it rains, and the ground in the overflow field near the lake, and the horse paddock end up looking like a festival site!
They apparently put in new drainage to the lakeside field a couple of years ago, but it doesn't appear to have worked.
And they are wanting £16.50 a night to stay on them, and £25 on the electric pitches during peak season!
 
The lakeside field isn't too far from a toilet block which is in with the statics, but the horse paddock field is further from a toilet block and has a row of portaloo's in case you get cut short!
 
The showers are nothing special, but I feel comfortable using them, as they have been worse!  Some toilet blocks are better than others, as they started to do them up a few years ago.
 
Away, from the downsides, Wells, is a gorgeous little town, with many exciting things happening during Carnival Week in the summer.  Lovely unspoilt beaches, and a nice walk into town along the flood bank (takes around 20 min).  Wells Harbour Railway can you to and from the campsite to town taking only around 5 minutes.
There are some lovely shops, and if you can't find something, I'll bet you a fiver Walsinghams have it - they seem to have everything!
 
The site shop is well stocked, and the cafe sells nice food, although both can sometimes be a little pricey.  But there is a shop up the top of town which is like a small supermarket, where you can get food for extremely reasonable prices (Nobby's).
The pinewoods are lovely for a walk, and the trampolines, canoes, etc are great fun, and I have spent many a happy hour on them.  There is also a kids play area.
 
For some reason unknown known, as mobile phone signals aren't brilliant in Wells, is that all the phone boxes have gone off the site apart from (if it is still there) one in with the statics.
There was a freezer in the Laundrette that campers could put their ice packs in to freeze, but last time I was with someone who used this, they didn't freeze properly although left a long time, and people had ripped open the bags to keep them together and some had gone missing.
 
Overall though, a great little town, with a nice campsite (although I feel it has gone downhill since the council stopped running it - at least they sent a pump to get rid of flooded pitches when it rains), although I hope they don't get rid of tents, or put their prices up too much.  I love his place though, and will continue to come for as long as I can.

If I hear they want to get rid of tents, I shall be the first one to start a petition! 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cowsonconcrete 6 reviews from this member

 We have camped here the previous two years, once in the overflow field behind the shop / office and once in the tent area, by the lake.  Both times the weather had been fantastic.  This year we arrived late at night in the pouring rain, we hadn't booked but the security guard pointed us to a "super" pitch with hook up, which we were charged for at a normal rate.  Unfortunately this was next to one of the toilet blocks.  However.Being a tent camper the site of hundreds of statics and tourers isn't one that fills us with joy but the sites location and surrounding area more than makes up for it.  Yes the toilet and shower cubicles aren't always at their best but this is a big site and more often than not the toilet block is closed for cleaning so if you time your visits right you shouldn't usually have a problem. 
The sites proximity to the beach makes it suitable for families or walkers and the pubs and restaurants in the town offer a fine choice of food at a range of prices to suit every diner.
I'm in no doubt that we will return next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camper1980 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed in the overflow camping field. While this may not be to everyones standards we loved it. The field can be quite unlevel in places but you can just pitch your tent where you like so are not limited on pitch size. Something to bear in mind is that you ae quite exposed to the elements and there is not much shelter. The field is just opposite the lovely beach. The main toilet block is a 2-5min walk away but they also have chemical loos in the field which were always clean (nothing like festival loos!) if you need to go in after dark. There is also a sink in the field with water. There is a well stocked shop and cafe on site which is great, the pine woods are a short walk away as is the beach. you are paying 15 per night for a pitch which is quite expensive for a basic pitch but the location we feel is very much worth it.  


Date of Visit: March 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chewie 30 reviews from this member

 Despite the awful weather, 30mph winds anyone? we enjoyed our last visit to Pinewoods. The super-pitches are very good, with electricity, water, waste and TV aerial to a well laid out pitch. The bays are very widely spaced and are level & the shower and toilets are clean and warm. The shop and cafe are a welcome addition.

The lovely beach is a short walk, and the town is a miniature train ride away, (in season & weekends).

We have visited twice now, at the end of the 2006 season and early this year. The site is peaceful and quiet; but we haven't been there at a busy time. I'd expect it gets very busy judging by the large number of pitches.

A very good site for touring caravans 


Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Pinewoods Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pinewoods Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pinewoods Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wells Next The Sea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


53021 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement