Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Pinewoods Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wells Next The Sea > Pinewoods Holiday Park Reviews

Pinewoods Holiday Park
Beach Road
Wells Next The Sea
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR23 1DR
Tel: 01328 710439
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 110 Reviews
                7/10 from 110 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  110 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Poppyandskipper 14 reviews from this member

 We booked this site because we wanted a site near to Holkham Hall where we were going to see Status Quo in concert on 1st September. The site looked so lovely on the website. What a disappointment this site was, small pitches, old dirty toilets and showers, leaking taps, overflowing, badly stained toilets,.  One toilet block not even in use.  This site was by far the most expensive we have stayed on -  and we do a lot of touring and was the worst for facilities and cleanliness.  The areas around the toilets were boggy.  The "roads" were uneven and potholed and filled with water when it rained.  With the expensive cost of touring on this site I would have expected better, and am surprised that no upgrading appears to have taken place for a long time.
 
Needless to say the QUO were great! The one highlight of our weekend. 
 
We will not be visiting again and would not recommend this site to anyone.  


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lisa harwood 3 reviews from this member

 Check in was poor- on arrival our pitch was occupied by cars! we were given another pitch and 4 days later told to move by a security guard late one evening. (we saw this happen to tents around our van during our week long stay)

The toilets and showers were filthy. The play area is very poor and small. Shopping on site took about 40 mins to buy a loaf of bread. Worst of all for a site of this size was the limited recycling facilities.

The site is set in an amazing location by the beach. The local indian restaurant was friendly really trying hard to please everyone despite being so busy.

Pinewoods seems to rely on there location and not customer service for a busy site. We were not impressed!

There is so much to do with children in local area we ran out of time.

The boat trips to see the seals is amazing with Beans boatyard  


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Flowerpower 3 reviews from this member

 I have been going to this site for 20 years, starting with my mum and dad in a caravan.

I am now going down this year for the first time without my parents, in a tent, and can only pray that the weather will be fine.
The reason?  As so many people have already said on here, when it rains in Norfolk, it rains, and the ground in the overflow field near the lake, and the horse paddock end up looking like a festival site!
They apparently put in new drainage to the lakeside field a couple of years ago, but it doesn't appear to have worked.
And they are wanting £16.50 a night to stay on them, and £25 on the electric pitches during peak season!
 
The lakeside field isn't too far from a toilet block which is in with the statics, but the horse paddock field is further from a toilet block and has a row of portaloo's in case you get cut short!
 
The showers are nothing special, but I feel comfortable using them, as they have been worse!  Some toilet blocks are better than others, as they started to do them up a few years ago.
 
Away, from the downsides, Wells, is a gorgeous little town, with many exciting things happening during Carnival Week in the summer.  Lovely unspoilt beaches, and a nice walk into town along the flood bank (takes around 20 min).  Wells Harbour Railway can you to and from the campsite to town taking only around 5 minutes.
There are some lovely shops, and if you can't find something, I'll bet you a fiver Walsinghams have it - they seem to have everything!
 
The site shop is well stocked, and the cafe sells nice food, although both can sometimes be a little pricey.  But there is a shop up the top of town which is like a small supermarket, where you can get food for extremely reasonable prices (Nobby's).
The pinewoods are lovely for a walk, and the trampolines, canoes, etc are great fun, and I have spent many a happy hour on them.  There is also a kids play area.
 
For some reason unknown known, as mobile phone signals aren't brilliant in Wells, is that all the phone boxes have gone off the site apart from (if it is still there) one in with the statics.
There was a freezer in the Laundrette that campers could put their ice packs in to freeze, but last time I was with someone who used this, they didn't freeze properly although left a long time, and people had ripped open the bags to keep them together and some had gone missing.
 
Overall though, a great little town, with a nice campsite (although I feel it has gone downhill since the council stopped running it - at least they sent a pump to get rid of flooded pitches when it rains), although I hope they don't get rid of tents, or put their prices up too much.  I love his place though, and will continue to come for as long as I can.

If I hear they want to get rid of tents, I shall be the first one to start a petition! 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cowsonconcrete 6 reviews from this member

 We have camped here the previous two years, once in the overflow field behind the shop / office and once in the tent area, by the lake.  Both times the weather had been fantastic.  This year we arrived late at night in the pouring rain, we hadn't booked but the security guard pointed us to a "super" pitch with hook up, which we were charged for at a normal rate.  Unfortunately this was next to one of the toilet blocks.  However.Being a tent camper the site of hundreds of statics and tourers isn't one that fills us with joy but the sites location and surrounding area more than makes up for it.  Yes the toilet and shower cubicles aren't always at their best but this is a big site and more often than not the toilet block is closed for cleaning so if you time your visits right you shouldn't usually have a problem. 
The sites proximity to the beach makes it suitable for families or walkers and the pubs and restaurants in the town offer a fine choice of food at a range of prices to suit every diner.
I'm in no doubt that we will return next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camper1980 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed in the overflow camping field. While this may not be to everyones standards we loved it. The field can be quite unlevel in places but you can just pitch your tent where you like so are not limited on pitch size. Something to bear in mind is that you ae quite exposed to the elements and there is not much shelter. The field is just opposite the lovely beach. The main toilet block is a 2-5min walk away but they also have chemical loos in the field which were always clean (nothing like festival loos!) if you need to go in after dark. There is also a sink in the field with water. There is a well stocked shop and cafe on site which is great, the pine woods are a short walk away as is the beach. you are paying 15 per night for a pitch which is quite expensive for a basic pitch but the location we feel is very much worth it.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chewie 30 reviews from this member

 Despite the awful weather, 30mph winds anyone? we enjoyed our last visit to Pinewoods. The super-pitches are very good, with electricity, water, waste and TV aerial to a well laid out pitch. The bays are very widely spaced and are level & the shower and toilets are clean and warm. The shop and cafe are a welcome addition.

The lovely beach is a short walk, and the town is a miniature train ride away, (in season & weekends).

We have visited twice now, at the end of the 2006 season and early this year. The site is peaceful and quiet; but we haven't been there at a busy time. I'd expect it gets very busy judging by the large number of pitches.

A very good site for touring caravans 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: FOXY64 3 reviews from this member

 We decided to go here after reading the reviews of the site. We booked from Thursday to Easter Sunday at a cost of Approx £25 per day so we were expecting good things.

On arrival met by effiecient staff who directed us to our "super pitch".

The site it self was already quite busy and the pitches were very close no more that 20ft apart in some case by the time people had erect awnings and a wind break there was not a gap between vans. On the non super pitches the gap was less than 10ft.

The site shop was well stocked and cheap.

The site toilets and showers were at all times not good - in fact they were so bad there were numerous complaints and I understand these started well before the easter rush arrived. I witnessed the cleaner arrive to one over flowing urinal dirty showers and unbelievably filthy toilets to just spray air freshener - I asked for him to clean a shower cubicle for me which he did with a dry mop.

The town its self Wells was about a mile walk along the sea wall or a 5 min minute train ride for a pound both worth doing. The town had numerous pubs eateries and enough shops for all supplies butchers grocers etc. Wells by the sea is a lovely sea side town. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Widget 5 reviews from this member

 I agree with the comments below. Wells itself is a fantastic place (crab fishing in the harbour was great!) But the campsite was awful. We were in the overflow field with no electric, no lighting, uneven pitches portaloos which were disgusting and taps that had no water! I can safely say we'll never be staying on this site again, especially with young children. Will be staying at a C&CC site from now on when visiting Wells. At least you know you're not going to get some horrible disease from the toilets on their sites!
 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jarvos 3 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site, we had a super-pitch which was great- flat and plenty of room. Shower blocks were large, very clean and always plenty of hot water. We were surprised how quiet it was for a large static site- no noisy  kids running about just happy holidaymakers! Plenty to do- nature reserve & boating lake on site was great. The beach just a few mins walk away was beautiful- lovely dunes and safe shallow sea. You can walk or catch a mini train into Wells where we spent hours crabbing off the harbour. It was our dogs first visit to the coast & he loved it. We will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tony3:16 1 review from this member

 Have been coming to Pinewoods for a number of years. The reason for this is that we fell in love with the location. Brilliant beach, lovely town (offering pubs and arcades a plenty) and a nice campsite with great facilities (shower / wash blocks, canoeing, crazy golf, trampolines, shop and café, and of course the little train).  
However, over the years the owners has slowly got rid of the tent pitches so that the site is now dominated by static caravans. Whereas once we got a tent pitch really close to the beach, now we have been told that there are only 8 tent pitches. Therefore if you have a tent and want to stay in the busy season you are stuck at the far end of the site (a trek from the beach) in the ‘overflow area’, which is essentially an uneven, muddy field with no pitches marked and only portaloos, and get charged a small fortune for this privilege (same as being on the main site). Also they do not always offer the overflow field due to the fact that when it rains that area tends to get flooded, which means that often there is no room at all for campers.  In addition, last year we were told that there was no space for our small two man tent on the site, despite the fact that there were a number of spaces reserved for caravans which were not being used. As campers (as opposed to carvaners) this made us feel very unwanted, and if it wasn’t for the beach and town we would seriously consider whether to return.  I can only see this situation getting worse and fear that it in the near future the owners dispense with tent pitch altogether in pursuit of more money. From reading other peoples comments it seems that I am not the only one who feels this way and hope that if the owners read this message then they can be more accommodating for those with tents.  
So my verdict is this is that Wells-next-the-sea is a brilliant place to visit, you will love the beach and the town. In addition, if you are a carvaner then this will be excellent site for you, but if you own a tent then it is a lottery whether you will actually get to stay there (they don’t take bookings for tents – so it is not till you get there that you are told that you can not stay), and if you do you are likely to be stuck in a field with little facilities (and fell like a second class camper). 


Previous     110 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pinewoods Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pinewoods Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pinewoods Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wells Next The Sea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2668 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window