Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Waterside House Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Waterside House Campsite > Reviews

Waterside House Campsite
Waterside House
Howtown
Penrith
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486332
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 28/03/2024 to 01/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 208 Reviews
                8/10 from 208 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  208 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Martztat2 1 review from this member

 My wife, myself and the dog just got back from waterside house. Ad a fantastic time there. The site was so clean was inpressed with the toilet blocks with been clean and ad hot water. Shower block was clean. Veiws was fantastic. Cant wait till we go back in couple of months just hope don't rain like last week. I would reconmend ths site. Ive always used a caravan but stick with a tent now just to go to waterside house site 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sharatoni 1 review from this member

 Realey nice site, not busy at all, we piched at water edge which is stunning views

Plenty info on surrounding area

Toilets & showers are clean and cleaned reguarly

10 min walk into pooley bridge along lake side which has a few nice pubs. Lager shandy 3. 40, a bit expencive. Meals not too bad.

Only issue was very large group of men pitchen next to us, they were very roudy, so we left a day early as had a long drive home and didn't want to be awake all night we would go back, but stay in the family field 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carneycastle 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a fab 3 night jubilee escape at Waterside House Campsite. We pitched in the family field pitch was level with a view of Ullswater.

Although it was the Jubilee weekend and the site was full, we didn't feel claustrophobic. The facilities where clean and always loads of hot water in showers and pot wash.

The site shop was well stocked with a great selection of food, drinks and accessories. The playground was a hit with our 3 year old as was the pebble beach and the canoes.

The lakeside walk into Pooley Bridge is a nice casual one, there's a few nice pubs and local shops great for a bimble round and a 5 minute walk to the steamers.

All in all a great site and we will be returning. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Muddy feet 4 reviews from this member

 This is the second time we have visited this site and we weren't disappointed. As it was earlier in the season (and not very warm) the campsite was quite quiet.

It had been raining a lot in the weeks before we arrived and some of the pitches were waterlogged, so be aware of where you are putting your tent if you expect heavy rain. The new ladies showers are fantastic. Under floor heating and large cubicles with places to put your clothes.

The toilet block is still very basic but clean.

The children's park area has been extended which pleased my two no end.

The site is next to the lake with beautiful views and access for kayaks. You can also take a picturesque walk (1/2 hr with kids) into Pooley Bridge.

We have been here twice now and I am sure we will visit again in the future. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vivo 19 reviews from this member

 This is THE lakeside location.

The facilities are adequate to very good. It is expensive, as you'd expect. There are lots of other facilities, canoe hire, play area, a very nice laundry etc.

I couldn't get DTV or Sat signals.

There is a 'rocky' footpath to Pooley Bridge, not ideal for bikes, 15mins.

BUT

At the end of the dsy it is the Ullswater lakeside experience you are getting snd this site is certainly that!

Highly recommended and we would stay again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jennybell 1 review from this member

 Pitched with an electric hook up, good size pitches. The kids love the park which is safe and suitable for all ages. The washing up facilities are covered and provide lots of hot water. The new ladies shower block is fab with heated floors and plenty of showers, potties and baby baths available. The old ladies block are now additional showers for the men. Really friendly staff, the kids were allowed to go and see the newly born lambs. Nice flat walk into the town along the lake. The town has a number of pubs and cafes serving food. The shop is stocked with all the essentials required for camping, plus lots of sweets and toys. The views from the sight are breath taking over the lake. I would highly recommend this site, as we continue to return each year. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: BiffyBoffy 23 reviews from this member

 Having walked through this campsite during last summer we were keen to try it out, (when it was quieter though). We arrived on Saturday and parked up in one of the coves by the lake along with four other campers that night.

When we arrived the reception / shop was not open probably due to it being low season but everything was straight forward and the farmers / owners were about if we would have needed anything.

The site has three camping fields for different group types but only the field nearest the farm was open as the sheep were busy mowing the grass ready for the summer in the others.

The toilets and showers were kept clean for us over our two night stay and the alfresco washing up facilities were handy. My only problem with the showers was that the lights are on a sensor and as the site was pretty empty there was nobody else in the shower block so the lights went out twice! Luckily nobody came in when I was waving my hands about in my birthday suit to get them back on outside my cubicle!

We went for a couple of short walks one round the lake to Pooley Bridge for afternoon tea and play on the rope swings along the lake shore. Then next day we walked to Howtown on the bridleway at the base of the hill and back along the road.

We paid 14 for two adults per night in low season 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jaanru 2 reviews from this member

 We've been visiting this site since 2001 - when foot and mouth struck! Great facilities then, even better now. Fantastic location: lakeside pitches, plenty of space between each, well maintained. Great walk around the lakeside to Pooley Bridge or down to Howtown if you don't fancy the steamer - but who wouldn't travel by steamer. All the facilities in Pooley Bridge you could ever need including one or two nice pubs serving great food.

The Lowis family are great - they run a good operation and have developed it over the years to include a catering van and super-douper new showers! We haven't seen the teepees and bell tents yet but look forward to seeing how folk would glamp waterside style.

Back up there at the end of this month - might take the thermals just in case, woke up to -2 last year but what a beautiful place to wake up in! Great for families, great for couples or small groups of sensible friends. No stags or hens (thankfully) and no revellers - just folk out for a quiet (but sociable) time. For the water sports minded there's plenty to do on Ullswater too.

Book up - you'll love it! If you're taking children, camp in the back field away from the lake -it gets chilly even on the warmest nights! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Liver1 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Waterside House last weekend for our first camping trip and a new tent.

Lovely location, just a short walk alongside the lake to Pooley Bridge. We got a good pitch in the Manchester Field as it seemed to be really busy elsewhere on the site but was never rowdy.

The facilities we thought were very good and you didn't have to pay for hot water, and it was very clean.

The children's play area was great too, overlooking the lake. The camp shop had essentials and not too overpriced. We enjoyed it very much apart from the weather, it rained lots!

We would go back, definitely. Good value for money. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Msfoto393 7 reviews from this member

 This site is ideally located right at the waters edge of Ullswater. The site is large, there is a 'family' field which on the whole is flat and another field for everybody else - I was told groups are directed to this field and basically anybody who may make some noise, surprising as they say No Groups!

This second field is not as flat as the first one. If you want to pitch near the lake most pitches are on a slope, you also tend to get wind coming off the lake which was strong enough to bend the metal poles in my windbreak!

There are plenty of toilet facilities spread about the site whilst cleaning and showers are near the entrance.

There is also a park for children but is on the lakeside which I though was a little odd

The reception also doubles as a shop selling a limited selection of products. As mentioned before there is also a portable cafe/burger van selling all the usual stuff at a reasonable price. At 20 per night (without electric its not too bad but I have stayed at better places for less. Weekends are very busy and they tend to pack them in! 


Previous     208 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Waterside House Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Waterside House Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Waterside House Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


57278 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement