Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cwm Cadnant Valley

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon > Cwm Cadnant Valley Reviews

Cwm Cadnant Valley
Llanberis Road
Caernarfon
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 2DF
Tel: 01286 673196
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 69
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 102 Reviews
                8/10 from 102 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  102 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paulius8 3 reviews from this member

 Excellent site. The layout was ideal and the fact the site is on stepped levels with trees interspersed protects from winds etc. Very easy to find and signposted from the town centre. 
 
While the site did not have shop / club etc, this by no means detracted from its appeal, there is a local store within a quick easy walk, and entertainment or take aways only 10-20 minutes on foot, supermarkets only marginally further. Attractions and places to visit were also bountiful and very easy to access. Public transport etc was also very accessable.
 
The owners were great, always about making themselves available if needed but leaving the camper to themselves if they so required, allowing them to control the site at arms length. The fellow campers were well behaved and those who were not were soon approached, nipping any problems in the bud. Helping out when needed, in all sorts of situation, like the guy who tried parking his car down the embankment in the water.
 
The BEST site we have used in North Wales, We will be back. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JACQSZOO 6 reviews from this member

 After reading the great reviews on here thought we would give it a go. I have to say I was disappointed.

The site is surrounded by trees witch makes difficult pitching - it took four times as long to pitch as it normally does for us, obviously not a problem if you are in a caravan. The plots will not comfortably accommodate a larger tent - although when booking I was assured that our tent would be fine on one of their pitchs, I actually gave them the dimensions of the tent to be sure (6mx6x). Fortunately we had extra room in our tent this trip so were able to jiggle things about a bit, but had we not we would have been most upset. Half of one of the "bedrooms" was pitched on a very steep bank which was covered in brambles and thistles. Another bedroom was pitched less than an inch from the road that runs through the site. You literally could not walk around the tent at all.

To sum up - if you are in a caravan and want somewhere located close to town then great. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leplombier 3 reviews from this member

 We decided to visit the site after reading the reviews on here. We weren't disappointed, it's a smashing site, a veritable oasis very close to the town centre and a great location for visiting Snowdon etc.
 
Male showers recently upgraded and are very good. Lots of hot water and very powerful. Ladies showers perform the same (so my little ray of sunshine tells me) and are next on the list for refurbishment.
 
There are also good family / baby and disabled shower facilities, although the disabled shower tends to let water out onto the floor (due to the power of the spray) which could make things a bit treacherous for the less sure footed. (in case you're wondering the owner suggested we try it out if it was free as he's quite rightly proud of his facilities). I also found that the ventilation in the disabled shower is poor and I needed to open the door to clear the place! My little swamp duck informs me that the same applies to the family showers! I'm not being picky, I think it could be very important for some, especially for disabled visitors.
 
On a similar vein, the site like the area is quite hilly, so the use of bikes etc. Is for the athletes amongst us. We took ours and they stayed on site!
 
The owners are extremely pleasant and helpful and make regular patrols of the site. Comments about not tolerating noise after 10.30 ish are accurate, which is great news unless you're planning a multiple party break as we often do. Stay away from Cwm Cadnant!
 
There is a multitude of tourist information in reception on places to visit etc., and as mentioned previously, there are supermarkets a plenty either within walking distance or a short drive.
 
I promised the owner that I would submit a review - I hope he's not disappointed! Would I go back? Absolutely, it's an excellent little site. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Eggy700 2 reviews from this member

 We spent 8 days at this camp site and found it to be looked after & well maintained. The site is split into levels with tent / motorhome / caravan pitches. There is access to bins / water on several levels with the shower / toilet block situated on the lower level near to the childrens play area. The mens / family shower block looks as though it has had a recent refurb, where the ladies is due one (I think the owners said it was being done at the end of this season). One thing we found very useful was the facility of a family washroom, this had a large double shower with baby changing facilities and a decent size area to get the children changed, it made showering so much easier (there is also disabled showering facities).  My wife also liked the laundry which was cheap to use and very convienient.
There is a mix of electrical / non electrical, hardstanding / grass pitches.  Be warned the slope from reception at the entry to the park / top slope to the bottom is fairly steep but does manage to keep you fit. The site owners are very friendly and helpful.  The site is 5mins drive from town centre, walkable if your feeling fit! Near to the site (less than 5mins walk) is a chip shop and Spar shop. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chris58 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first ever go at camping, so we were a little nervous. Needn't have worried, the owners were very friendly and helpful. At this time of the year the site is very quiet, although the owner did say it was best to phone ahead from now on (Mid May) as they do get busy. The pitches for the tents were plenty big enough.

The toilets were clean and pleasant and the washing up area is sheltered. The showers were hot and torrential - a real treat after hacking up Snowdon! There is a barbecue area, although each pitch has it's own paving slab on which you can put your stove.

It was an easy 10 min walk into Caenarfon. There is information about local restaurants etc in the reception. As well as the Spar close by, there is a Morrisons about 5min drive from the campsite, on the A487 towards Bangor, and a Tesco Extra (open 24 hours) on the A4807 into Bangor (about 6 miles away). If you come out of the campsite and turn left, you soon get to Snowdon National Park (Llanberis etc.) I shall definitely go back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Oatesfamily 6 reviews from this member

 Nice well laid out site with mix of tents and vans. Excellent shower block with toilets regularly cleaned + decent hot showers (men's recently refurbished, ladies scheduled for refurbishment) Owners do not like noise late at night so great for quiet retreat close to town centre. Adequate kids play area with shallow stream close by. A little oasis which is well worth a visit
 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Psyklon 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Cwm Cadnant for 4 nights over the Easter holidays. We had 3 units, 2 caravans & a Trailer Tent and the owners somehow managed to accommodate us altogether whereas loads of other sites we'd tried couldn't! We were right behind their House, in their back garden if you like and there where just the 3 pitches all with EHU's which was ideal for our group. The site is lovely and Idyllic and layed out in three tiers, but as we were on the top tier, we didn't have to negotiate the rather steep hill back up from the lower level.

The Mens toilet/shower block was immaculate, and my OH informed me that the womens weren't bad either (mens have recently been refurbished, womens due to be done this close season) and they were closed everyday between 1200-1300hrs for cleaning. There is a laundry room on site and a great little adventure playground for the kids which is located on the lower tier near to the stream.

There is a Spar shop about 150yds from the site entrance for all your needs(Beer, beer & more beer!) and a great little chip shop right next door that does excellent fish. Drove to Llanberis which is only 6 miles away and walked into Caernarfon Town a couple of times for a few beers which took about 10 mins. Would highly recommend the floating restaurant by the castle, food was fantastic.

The site owners, June & David were really nice & helpful and were always on hand to help out or give advice, they even arranged for the Easter Bunny to drop in and leave an Easter egg each for the kids which was a nice touch. David pulled our caravans off the grass pitches onto some hardstanding with his 4x4 before we hitched up so we wouldn't damage the grass on the pitches after some overnight. All in all, we had a great time and we will certainly be going back there in the very near future, hope we can get the same 3 top pitches again 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Moonpeople.com 2 reviews from this member

 Good site, split into different levels, which makes some nice little secluded corners, but some of the pitches looked a bit squashed in between the site road and the stream. We had one of the nicest spots, but generally the pitches did not seem very generous.

Good facilities, fairly clean, lots of (free)hot water. Good little play area.

Owner was friendly and helpful 


Reviewer: Karen354 6 reviews from this member

 July 2005
Just arrived back today from a 5 night break at Cwm Cadnant Valley..
Lovely site surprisingly rural considering it's location..10 minutes walk into beautiful carnerfon(Ideal for crabbing)..
Excellent shelter if you have a tent generous pitches for all.
The owners were very helpful.. The site was very clean & well kept.
Facilities were very good & clean,Showers were excellent hot & powerful plenty of room in them.. Washing up area very good with a laundrette on site... 2 minute walk to a good chip shop & very good spar..

We stayed there peak week & it was still very peaceful & relaxing.
We met french,Spanish,Irish, Scottish,Welsh & English in our 5 night break all were very pleasent & all the children played very happily together on the Adventure playground( Great play area)..
My husband has told me to mention on the way out of the site you have a extremely steep slope & those towing smaller engines & heavier caravans might struggle,We managed it but don't stop until you reach the road...  


Reviewer: WelshLass 1 review from this member

 June 2005
Stayed in Cwm Cadnant for the week in mid June, very quiet on the site with only a few other tents in the field with us. Site close to Caernarfon centre and well situated for exploring the snowdon area. The site itself was very pretty, with a little river and plenty of trees which provide a good bit of shelter.

The weather was very bad when we were there but the trees gave good protection from the wind and although the grass got very wet it didn't get too muddy.

The toilet blocks on the site were adequate but not the nicest - could've done with a bit of a revamp. The showers are very hot and powerful though, very nice! Be aware that there is only one toilet block for the whole site consisting of 2 female and 2 male showers - hardly adequate if the site is busy!! Luckily it was very quiet when we were there and we were situated very close to the block - some pitches were a bit of a distance away.

Site was nice and quiet in the evenings and stone slabs were provided for BBQing. We didn't walk into Caernarfon at all because of the bad weather but it was possible to walk - make sure you ask the wardens the best way to go because there is a good short cut to take!

Be warned that Caernarfon is a very quiet place in the evenings out of season, most pubs stopped serving food very early but there is a good Wetherspoons which serves til late. Also recommend Bar Llewellyn which served lovely home-cooked lasagne! Be aware that the gates are shut to the site from 11pm to 7am, although arrangements can be made for early departures.

All in all we really enjoyed our time in north wales and this site is ideal for touring around snowdon and surrounding areas. A good site to go to during off- and mid-peak seasons but not sure if I would want to stay during busy periods!!  


Previous     102 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cwm Cadnant Valley child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cwm Cadnant Valley?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Cwm Cadnant Valley dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Caernarfon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3770 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement