Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stanwix Park Holiday Centre

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Silloth > Stanwix Park Holiday Centre Reviews

Stanwix Park Holiday Centre
Greenrow
Silloth
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA7 4HH
Tel: 016973 32666
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 126
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 101 Reviews
                8/10 from 101 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  101 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paul ivison 1 review from this member

 Went to the Stanwix park with my family in a tent. I was told on the phone when I booked that they had opened a new touring field and pitches available. When I got there pitches were there BUT they were old static caravan pitches, not good because they were about 200m away from the toilet block.
It was very clean park, the toilet block was spotless,the entertainment was excellent , the cafe on the park was ok. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Norrisg 31 reviews from this member

 Having visited many of the 'entertainment' sites around the UK I can comfortably say that this is the best (and I include Holgates and Ribby Hall in that!).
Not only have they clearly spent a huge amount on the entertainment complex, but the staff are great and a standard of cleanliness and attention to detail throughout would indicate that it will stay in great shape.
OK the pitches are very tight, but they are all service pitches. The loos have baths and showers in and are door code protected. Despite the heavy traffic they get in August, they were clean and tidy.
What this site gets right is the management of the entertainment; some adult only cabaret and bars, other family areas, reasonable prices, and no evidence of under age drinking or the yob culture, that can plague these sites. All done without security guards or bouncers as well! This is no doubt due to the card system which they employ diligently and although a bit frustrating, it works. I met a local who told me that the owning brothers had refused the big money sell-out and instead still work the bars and invest heavily in the sites facilites.
The pool is good, sauna/steam room adults only - couldn't really fault it, even the new static site is cul-de-sac and well presented (might consider one).
No dog excercise on the site however the beach is next door past an excellent chippy! 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Slinkycat 6 reviews from this member

 29-31 July
Just got back from a brilliant 2 day stay at the Stanwix. We were treated to glorious sunshine for both days with a nice breeze. Got checked in with no bother, paid £2 deposit for each pass (not for under 5s) which you need to show each time you go into the complex. Everything is in 1 area. You go to reception and everything is under 1 roof.
Shop is'nt particularly well stocked, but ok for basics. Children only allowed to go into one of the bar/entertainment areas, the other 2 are adult only. Spar and Co-op are 5 mins drive in Silloth. Restaurant is quite small, and we would class it as a cafe rather than restaurant, and at £10 for 2 sausage baps, 1 toast, 2 teas and a glass of milk we thought quite expensive, but as we were on our way home and had packed all of our cooking stuff we had no choice.
Indoor and outdoor pools are good, both have childrens shallow areas. Hubby tried gym,sauna and steam room and enjoyed them. Our daughter loved the disco on the night-time, not really childrens music, but the kids loved dancing anyway. Foxy fox and the magician were really good with the kids.
Pitch was ideally located. We had pitch 65 on Criffel Site, which is a gravelpea base, but with a couple of extra taurpaulins under tent, was ok, and was great when we packed tent away to find tent was bone dry! Nice having the pitches sectioned off in about groups of 8 pitches, we had a hedge behind us and to one side, so felt sheltered and quite private. Really close to toilet/shower block, which was really good, private cubicles, loads of them, choice of shower or bath, very clean, and had powerpoints for hairdryers, etc. Laundry and Campers Kitchen available too.
Nice little childrens oudoor play area. We popped into Carlisle which is only 40mins away, which was nice to wander around. Drove to Allonby and Maryport but did'nt stay. Would definitely visit this complex again, has everything you need without being too commercial. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barkspoor 32 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a week here in school holidays.

Park very busy but plenty of room for everyone.

Pitches were on pea gravel which is much cleaner when your tent is lifted, each pitch has water drainage and electric .

Toilet facilities were always kept very clean and individual bathrooms are a great idea.

Entertainment block great as everything under one roof which is great for the kids.

Couldnt fault the site and would definitely recommend it to any one thinking of trying it. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stiggycow 10 reviews from this member

 Well the rain didn't help!
If you are comming from the south the roads are not very caravan friendly.
The village of Silloth is only a couple of minutes away by car but there is not much reason to go there .
 When we walked around the site it was a bit like the Marie Celeste ,eerily quiet. The shower / toilet blocks are fine ,they are accessed by code ,(a tip here enter code ,wait a moment then push door).
There are three bars. The largest downstairs is for families, lovely light changing feature. A duo sang on a couple of evenings and were ok. The upstairs bar seemed to cater for older people. On one night a 17 piece brass band and on another music from the sixties. Not to our taste at all. The third bar was described as a quiet place to sit and chat with friends.There were three tvs all with sound on showing different programs. A music system was playing from behind the bar.and when doors opened the brass band music came in. Not quiet at all.
The indoor pool looked nice but we didn't use it. The outdoor pool was locked.
There is a chip shop just the other side of the site hedge,it was ok but not great.
We had paid for eight nights but left after five and we will not be returning. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: THERESA KERR 10 reviews from this member

 This site is more suited to families and there is loads for the children to do. Outdoor and indoor pool, games room, cafe and bars. Evening entertainment on every night.  The site is not far from the beach, just a short walk over the golf course. 

The walk into Silloth will take you approx 10 mins.  Silloth is a nice town with several shops and bars.  There is a nice walk along the Prom and you can stop on the way for fish/chips, ice cream etc. 

On the downside we would have to say that we were not overly impressed by the toilet/shower facilities. The ladies toilet/showers could have down with being cleaned more than once a day.  I used the facilities at various times of the day/evening and always found the floors flooded and dirty.  With a site this size, it could do with being cleaned twice a day.  A suggestion might be to leave a bucket & mop so that people can clean up after themselves, as they do on other sites. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mandyfrost 1 review from this member

 We stayed at the Hylton Park part of Stanwix which is just down the road.  Whilst it wasnt the most attractive or scenic location, the site itself really couldnt be faulted. It was nice and quiet, the toilet block was great - each cubicle was like a mini bathroom with loo, bath with shower over and basin (great for families with small kids) and it was very clean.
You have use of all the facilities at Stanwix if you want them, but we never visited.
Quite a handy base for visiting the Lakes, Scotland, Carlisle and surrounding area.
  


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Selina_chris 3 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a bank holiday break. Me and my mate went with our four children between us ranging from 9 to 2 and a half. When got there, got a great welcome even though we arrived late evening. Dealt with fast and directed straight away to make sure we took all our time to have a good time.
Pitch was fine for our 8 berth (did inform them before booking), EHU and tap next door to pitch which was great. Things to do on site are a plenty, but be careful of the shop staff as they don't seem to like children!
We stayed on the criffel site, I found the site great unlike previous comments made. Showers clean, never waited once to use them, given the park was packed.
Silloth seems dead, nothing much there, but Maryport or Whitehaven are better. Overall, I really recommend using this site again, we had a fantastic time. 


Date of Visit: February 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Big Brian 56 33 reviews from this member

 Just got back, what a nice place to go, pleasant staff, super pool, entertainment for the kids and adults. A short walk to Silloth and the bus stops right outside if you want to visit Maryport. Lovely scenery on the way up, will be returning , deffie ! 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beezers 13 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a couple of nights in June. We found the site to be excellent value for money, although they are strict on pitch size. We took our Monty 6 and I think that`s about the biggest tent you could get on a single pitch.
The pitch had it`s own water tap and EHU as well as waste disposal, which was quite handy. The pitches are `soft pea gravel` but we bent a peg or two pitching our tent. It kept the SIG nice and clean though and also kept the floor of the tent surprisingly warmer than a grass pitch.
The shower blocks were excellent and clean. The showers are free and some are single shower cubicles, but most are in cubicles where they are situated above a bath and the cubicle also contains a sink and toilet. We never had to queue to use either. Be warned though, the water from the showers can fluctuate between luke warm and scalding hot!
The washing up area is inside a kitchen area where you have the free use of electric cookers.
All the shower blocks and kitchens are accessed by entering a number into a keypad.
We stayed when the weather was hot so we made full use of the outside pool. It was worth the money for this alone. There is also an indoor pool with free sauna and steam rooms for adults only. The changerooms aren`t segregated into men and women so be warned! Lockers are £1 each.
The site shop carried most things you would need, but we preferred to us the Spar shop in Silloth. The clubs for the crazy golf are available in the shop for the princely sum of 20p each and  arefundable £1 deposit.
There was a cafe which seemed popular although we didn`t use it ourselves.
The family bar looks practically brand new and the entertainment was excellent. Prices are reasonable as well.
There is indoor ten pin bowling, which our kids loved and of course the obligatory games area.
Overall we found this site to be of a high standard and we will definitely return. 


Previous     101 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stanwix Park Holiday Centre child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Stanwix Park Holiday Centre have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stanwix Park Holiday Centre?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Stanwix Park Holiday Centre dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silloth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3569 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement