Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Beacon Hill Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

CLOSED: Beacon Hill Touring Park
Blandford Road North
Poole
Dorset   (Browse area)


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Site Closed 2018

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 110 Reviews
                6/10 from 110 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  110 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lumpo31 6 reviews from this member

Had a great August Bank Holiday weekend at this site, 2 adults 4 kids. Didn't use the facilities apart from the takeaway on the Sunday evening as we'd forgotten the shops closed at 4. No quibbles with staff; only problem was a first-time camper couple who pitched (while we were away from the site) less than a metre from our tent, and then, even after being told not to by site staff, insisted on barbecuing inside their tent, and merely laughed when the flames shot up unexpectedly. They also didn't check the flames were out completely when they drunkenly went to bed, meaning I had a very apprehensive night's (non) sleep.

Very quiet site, quite happy otherwise, although as others have said, very expensive - cost £99 for 3 nights for us in 2 tents (one 4 man, one a pop-up). Great location for touring Dorset and surrounds. If it weren't for the price, I may stay again.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Asap 1 review from this member

Well I am back from Beacon Hill camp site and have to say it was quite a nice site.
We arrived at the site in the rain on the Saturday and by the time we had finished setting up the ground was a bit squishy. Mud was every were but you cannot blame the campsite for the weather. 
When the sun finally came out (on Tuesday) the site started to look like it does in the photos.
The kiddies play park (Beacon Fort) was great for my youngest and he did spend rather a lot of time in there just climbing up on everything.
The fishing lakes or should I say very large ponds were just teaming with fish and just dipping your hook in would get you a bite or two.(the kids loved it)  
The toilet block was cleaned at least twice a day during our stay and I was supprised at how clean they stayed even with the mud.  
I am not too sure what they ment by Heated swimming pool as it was soo cold even my 20 month old did not like going in.
I never did try out the Cafe but I did see lots of kids walking around with chips so it must have been ok. The bar was a bit small and the entertainment was not exactly great (I only went once) but as I spent most evenings by the tent I did not really mind what it was like.(only the reports from the kids each night reasured me that it was bad)
So to sum it all up this is quite a nice site but is a bit over priced for what you get.
Would  go again?  NO   Why?  only because it is over priced.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pwag 4 reviews from this member

Returned yesterday from a last minute 4 night stay.  Sadly the site we had originally booked cancelled our booking due to water logging.
 
I was reluctant to book as it was the most expensive site I have ever stayed - £140 for a tent with 3 adults and 2 children.  However due to the late booking we didn't have a lot of choice. 
 
My reluctance was well founded as this was extremely overpriced and I most definitely would not return. 
 
I am sure that this was once a lovely site as it does have some good facilities but feels like it has not been at all looked after.  The eldest member of staff was probably around 20 yrs old with the majority of them being in their teens.
 
The drainage is poor and after a few hours of rain the place became very wet and muddy. 
 
The shower/toilet facilities are very adequate but poorly maintained and need updating. 
 
The swimming pool was FREEZING in 27 degree heat - my children didn't stay in for longer than 10 minutes.
 
We didn't use the tiny shop which was poorly stocked and very overpriced.
 
The whole place was in need of a good mow as the grass was too long all over - particularly around the electric hook ups which were badly placed and resulted in us having to hire an extension lead in order to trail wire all across the 'field' to enable us to use it.
 
I can't comment on the games room and bar as we didn't use them. 
 
Play parks were just OK.
 
This place has real potential due to it's lovely woodland setting if only someone would spend some time and money on it! 
 
It's in a convenient location for Poole, Bournemouth and the New Forest but we won't be going back!

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Privs 2 reviews from this member

First time camper (well, since scouts etc 15yrs ago!). Went with my partner and our two daughters (5+2).
 
First impression was of a lovely setting, but having read a few reviews of this campsite, I gotta agree that it could do with a bit of an overhaul. Or at least someone to hose down the washing facilities once a day.
 
If we'd gone ten years ago then I think it would have looked great!
 
I'd score it something like this
 
Location 9/10
Shop 4/10 (sells wine but not much else in it)
Games rooms 6/10 (looks "tired")
Bar 6/10 (v. Small)
Takeaway (3/10,  it's basically a greasy spoon cafe!)
Pool 7/10
Play areas (5/10)
 
Obviously when the sun kicks in, everything seems much nicer - SO GO IN THE SUMMER!

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Corinneeddie 1 review from this member

Having just got back today and a second timer to the site. It was clean tidy and everybody friendly. The weather was bad but the site was great. Take away food, swimming pool which my husband and son used, bar and games room for the kids. Helpful staff. we also took my 1 year old boxer with us and she loved. Would go again

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lesliechnt 3 reviews from this member

I have to agree with these reviews we stayed at the site in July 2007 and although it is in a nice woodland setting that is all it has going for it.
The toilet and shower blocks were dirty and the open air swimming pool was covered with muck all over the top of the water. It needed a good skimming and better looking after. Not one that was inviting to swim in.
I must agree with the comment that the site was not managed very well and the security barrier to the main entrance was not in operation so anyone could drive straight in.
We will not be returning. It also cost us £26 a night for a caravan with 2 adults and one car.
The site did not justify the cost. We visited Litchett Manor site not far from this one, whilst staying here, and have booked to stay there next time we visit this area in August 2007.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Turkov 1 review from this member

Having read some of the recent reviews, I am shocked at number of disappointed campers. I stayed at the site in early July with my husband and 2 year old, and felt that our needs were catered for. I must agree that there were times that the toilet facilities weren't as clean as they could have been; however due to recent bad weather I find it appalling that those who wish to camp do not understand that washing facilities cannot be kept pristine when campers run their muddy shoes through the showers.
On arrival we were greeted in a very friendly manner. I explained that because of the little one I would like to be pitched somewhere that would be safe for him to run around. I was put in area called new field with other families, which was very close to a small play area and within close proximity of the toilets and showers. Overall the sites natural surroundings and friendly staff made our stay an enjoyable one. I would love to return.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Redmac 1 review from this member

This site offers much but poor investment and weak management lets the site down and on the whole I would not return.

The site itself is nicely situated in sprawling woodland and offers a more traditional camping experience. The facilities are clean but tired, the playgrounds are good, and the outdoor swimming pool is OK though has nowhere to sit and lounge.

But . With no security barrier to the site and its close location to Poole, it is no surprise it attracts wandering souls and people who like to pitch tents at 11.30pm. The site of luminous clad security men patrolling on our first night did make us feel a little uneasy. Their effectiveness appeared limited, however, with large groups returning in taxis and partying all night long. Our complaints were listened to by the manager but little reward after no sleep. This was not a single night experience and we left early not surprised to find other campers equally unhappy at this time.

It was a disappointing stay and we hope the management get a grip because it could be a really good site.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mirabelle 36 reviews from this member

Following a relaxing couple of days staying at Beacon Hill we'd have to give the site mixed reviews.
On arrival we thought the site looked very natural and peaceful with lots of shady trees etc. We found reception shut, but then noticed a a couple of young lads, one of whom was signalling us to come in to reception. We noticed straight away that the reception/shop seemed sparse on goods, but we didn't buy there and used Asda in Poole and Tesco up the road. Also it had a stale odour (and we later found out we weren't the only ones who noticed it after speaking to some other campers).
The young lad who let us in to reception was nice enough and told us we could pitch anywhere as the park was very quiet during our stay so we were able to pick our pitches, we chose pitches at the back of the park near the woods and bar/takeway (which was closed the whole time). 
Despite it's spacious feel and great location (near Poole and the beach etc), the overall feel of the site was that of a once fantastic site, now past it's best.
Such a shame as the setting was lovely with nice views and wildlife, rabbits, birds of prey etc to look at. The faded unkept woodwork on the tap blocks, signs etc, cracked paving, broken glass on one of the windows in the club house, uncut grass round our electric hook up points and old footballs and rubbish in the fishing ponds made the site feel a bit neglected. The pool was a welcome bonus in the hot sun, but again had an old neglected feel to it, with green moss growing from the drain holes. 
The toilets were clean(ish), but not fresh smelling, and at least 2 did not flush and were filled with toilet roll etc! they were very much in need of an update, and the ones nearest our pitches were shut the whole time, so we had to walk to the ones near reception.  Also we were surprised with the very un-managed feel, we never once saw a member of staff walking around, but on the day we left  at last we saw one, another young lad near reception, my husband said good morning but to his annoyance did not get a reply!  I think with a bit of TLC and a more visible adult management team Beacon Hill could be a great site.  Prices were reasonable during our stay, but we hear they go up to £25 + per night during peak season, and there is no way in it's current state we could justify paying that!  We'd possibly come again out of peak season, just for the lovely setting and pool, but wouldn't be rushing back too soon.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chooseyshuz 1 review from this member

This was our first camping holiday; myself, husband and 2 girls ages 8 and 12.
 
On arrival early on Whitsun Bank Holiday weekend, helpful staff let us choose which 'field' to pitch in and then gave us some useful pointers on siting the tent for maximum space and privacy, as they were expecting to be very busy over the weekend. We didn't really see any staff again though after that.
 
We liked the small clearings within the woodland setting and the trees and hedges gave added privacy. We were on the edge of the camp site too so in front of us were open fields with horses and rabbits, and the girls had a fair amount of green space to play in close to the tent. We did note that the other fields with electric hook-ups were very busy and cramped with campervans and tents whilst we were comparatively spread out in a non-electric field. As it got busier over the weekend we also noticed some larger newcomer tents were awkardly squeezed in - too close for comfort judging by a few disgruntled looks from those already settled in. A little planning might have helped here, (and more modestly sized tents for some I suppose!)
 
We were pleasantly surprised with the facilities which were very practical. The shower/toilet blocks had large private changing/shower rooms. Long queues formed in the ladies (with children esp) later in the morning and towards bedtime but we generally used these early mornings with no problems at all. The undercover washing-up area had 3 sinks and there were often queues for this too but there were also lots of taps conveniently placed in the fields. We did not use the laundry.
 
The kids pool was a little small for the size of the site and consequently very busy that weekend. Likewise with the playgrounds. The lake was also smaller than I expected and a bit littered and stagnant so it wasn't to my liking but the girls and my husband, (who've never fished before) made friends with a generous fellow camper (and his tackle!) and enjoyed a wonderful evening by the lake being educated in the art of fishing. We didn't use the bar or the games room, not even when the rain poured down on the 3rd day because by now we were craving some peace and quiet from the crowds, nor did we use the take-away or the shop, which was very small with just a few bare essentials.
 
Overall we liked the site and the location very much. We thought the facilities were OK but insufficent for the number of visitors that weekend and a little dated perhaps but otherwise clean and very practical. We would go again although would explore other campsites first, and we would definitely try to avoid busy weekends.

Previous     110 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Dorset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1254 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019