Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Isle Of Wight > Bembridge > Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park > Reviews

Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park
Hillway Road
Bembridge
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO35 5PL
Tel: 01983 872671  or  0330 053 7000
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Tents in summer only
Open: 01/07/2024 to 31/08/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 68 Reviews
                6/10 from 68 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Airam 2 reviews from this member

 A very good family site. Pitches are large and clearly marked (although a little hard in areasto get your pegs into - take a good mallet! The shop also sells heavy duty pegs!) The showerfacilities aregoodand were generally verycleanconsideringit was the height of the season.

There is good family entertainment along with two great pools - great for all weather! You need a car to get to other attractions on the island though as public transport is a bit pricey and long winded! There is a well stocked shop and the staff are friendly and helpful. Also an area to temporarily pitch up on if, like us, you are travelling on a tighter budget and have arrived on the very early morning but cheap ferry (travelled over with the post men!) 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gazza180 3 reviews from this member

 Site good, with large pitches, plenty of rubbish bins & water points within easy reach. Shower & toilet blocks mostly clean & tidy but showers vary, some the hot water lasts forever for your 20p others it runs out quite quickly, so get to know the best ones.

Entertainment on site good for adults & under 12's not so much for teenagers. The entertainment staff were very good but the outside 'star' cabaret was very 2nd rate.

Overall the Isle of Wight was an ok holiday and I will come back when the children have gone off and are doing there own thing. The one bad point was that some of the locals that we came across didn't appear to be all that helpful, but perhaps we caught them on a bad day. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Warrenib 2 reviews from this member

 I visited this site with my wife and 4 children. The pitches are quite small and close together, and the 2 pitches I had were extremely stony, making pegging the tents a slow, difficult and frustrating process.

The washing facilities were adequate in number for the men, but not for the women apparently. I have to say that the facilities were quite dirty. Both these criticisms should be taken in the context that I visited at peak season, however I am reporting as I found at the time.

The reservation, check-in and shop staff were extremely helpful and cheerful, and very happy to explain the facilities available.

The touring site is across the road from the main holiday park, and this is where you find a wide range of facilities, a reasonably well-stocked shop, bars, restaurants, laundrette, outdoor and indoor swimming pools and a small gym, as well as access to the beach. The indoor pool was heaving with people, although to be fair that reflects changeable weather, and the fact that it was peak season. I persuaded the children to brave the outdoor pool, which was very pleasant with breathtaking views over Whitecliff Bay.

The site is only 4 miles from Sandown, 6 from Shanklin and about 9 from Ventnor, so there are countless opportunities for entertainment and food within easy reach.

If you are the type of person looking for a lively site which will keep you entertained 24/7, then this is the site for you. However, it's a bit too "full-on", cramped and busy for me, and I shall be looking for somewhere a little quieter with a little more breathing space. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Off2thePub 1 review from this member

 Just come back for the second time this time for 2 week, just as good as last time, better because of the extra week. Love the beach that's a couple of min walk away, need strong legs for the walk back up the hill though. Kids loved football, restaurant was great. The Nab bar with Les got my husband going with the karaoke. Terrible. Overall we had a great time and would definitely go again. Recommend to anyone. Bring lots of 20p's for showers 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Batchy Boy 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 2 week stay. First my bad points. The toilet/showers were not the most modern or cleanest Ive seen. You are best getting there for about 10 am just as people who are leaving are packing up as you have to drive around and pick your own pitch so you have the best chance of getting some thing decent. I found that some electric pitches were not as big as others so have a look round, and check the ground as ours was infested with earwigs&ants but hey thats camping although the missus wasnt impressed.

Now the good points. The staff were friendly and the entertainment for kids in the club on the main site at night was very good which gives you the chance to relax and have a beer. Make sure you carry your passes with you when you go across the main site as you need them to get in most places. The beach at the other end of the main site was decent although it is a bit of a treck especialy if your carrying all your beach stuff. We drove across and parked by the outdoor pool.The site is very well placed to go out and explore. Turn right out of the campsite and follow the lane to a r/about on a hill and turn left which will take you along the sea front in Sandown and you can park for a fee on the Dinosaur isle. The Palm terrace bar along the sea front in Sandown is a nice place to eat and you get a free kids meal with each adults and the beer was spot on. All in all we enjoyed our time here and would go back again.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Boo1 16 reviews from this member

 Really enjoyed our four nights here. We did book in advance but were told that if we wanted a standard pitch then there is no need to book as they are always available with the exception of the August Bank Holiday weekend.

Great site for kids who could spend a week here and still not do all there is to do. Plenty of showers/toilets and although the showers will set you back 20p a time they last for ages.

Pitches are very generous, we were told the smallest is 10m x 10m, and the one we were on seemed quite a lot larger - could have got 2 tents and 2 cars on easily.

Spent many hours just sitting outside the tent watching the light aircraft land at Bembridge airfield just below us.

We didn't try the pub on site but a half hour walk along the coastal path is the Crab and Lobster pub in Bembridge were Richard and his team serve up delicious seafood specialities washed down with locally brewed real ale. This pub has an incredible beer garden that is right on the edge of the cliff and is now open all day in the summer - well worth a visit.

One small gripe is that it cost us 17.50 for a 4.5kg Calor Gas refill which I thought was a bit steep, but it wouldn't stop me returning to what was otherwise a lovely site. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Marclewis 27 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site during the recent heatwave. So the weather was very good. We stayed on a super pitch at the top left corner away from the small airport that operates froM about 8:30am til about 6pm. The were mostly small single engined planes and helicoptors. Its in a lovely valley and we enjoyed watching them. Most of the campers and caravaners I spoke to had been here many times and we ourselves would return again. If you want any entertainment, you have to cross a road to the static caravan and lodge site. (Be carefull with small children) We only went twice as they had bingo on most of the time and far too smokey for us. We also tried the top bar and restaurant by the pool complex. Food was ok, but the resident musician was not to my taste.

It did have a nice pool outside and a decking area with LED uplighters. It also had crazy golf. There is a path to the left of this which leads to a field that then leads down a steep narrow road to a nice beech. If you have a boat or jet ski and are brave enough. You can launch it down there. Quite a few did. We swam in the sea on many occasions, which was very nice. It also has a cafe bar down there.

We did not use the showers, as we use the one in our van. They looked ok and cost 20p a time.

There are some good walks around here and they also have some fairly easy bike onlt paths. We cycled from Sandown to Godshill (About 14 miles) with our 4 yr old son in tow with a trail gaitor. We went to a fantastic tea rooms with lots of water features that was just by the very nice model village in Godshill. Only one problem. The tiny streets are very busy with traffic, so be carefull with small children. We will go back to this site again, as its so near to London where we live and the island feels like a small Devon and Cornwall. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Milkybar 10 reviews from this member

 Found this site from off here and were very impressed on arrival. Pleasant helpful staff gave us information on the site and told us to pick our own pitch in any of the 3 fields. We choice the doggy field lower down the hill ( no dogs allowed during peak season) as it seemed less windy. The site was very clean with lots of toilets and showers. 20p for the shower but it lasted long enough for me and my 6 year old if you don't linger. Liked the fact that it was a nice 10 min walk to pools and a lovely clean beach. Only 2 minor complaints 1st that the cleaning staff would close the shower around 9.30 - 10 am to clean and usually they would still be very busy and everyone would then have to go to the other block and queue. Second we did visit the entertainment but found the club very dated old Formica tables and dirty looking. It was also low ceilings and VERY smoky we had to leave as soon as we had finished our drink due to asthma problems. Plenty off EHU points and tents and caravans where all mixed together.

This site is in a great position for lots of sights around IOW and we will be back to Whitecliff Bay next year 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Magicmanuk 3 reviews from this member

 Second time we've been to this site and although the weather wasn't great we had a very good time, amenities are good and the site is well maintained, drainage isn't great on the site however and after a couple of days of rain it got rather swampy, but then again it is English weather!

On the main chalet site over the road there are places to eat and a club etc which are ok but nothing special, we ate out once in the pub/restaurant at the top of the main site and the food was not great and over priced.

The superb crab and lobster pub in Bembridge however is well worth a visit as it serves fantastic food, but i'd advise to book as it gets really busy.

I have visited the isle of wight about 6 times and really love the place, this site provides a good base to tour from and if your going with children it provides activities for them if the weather isn't too great. Recommend for a good family holiday. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Denise30 1 review from this member

 We had brilliant time staff were so friendly. Entertainment was great very clean. Beach beautiful very blue water. Only thing was you had to pay for the showers. Good shopping facilities. Places to wash up. Good laundrette. Nice pubs. Good swimming pools. A place where we go again next year for two weeks. 


Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bembridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


59090 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement