Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Carsington Fields Caravan Park And Rally Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Carsington Fields Caravan Park And Rally Site
Millfields Lane
Carsington Water
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 3JS
Tel: 01335 372872
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 20
Open: Easter To Sept

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 92 Reviews
                9/10 from 92 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Primus2 16 reviews from this member

Lovely site , excellent toilet block/shower block we stayed there april 2007  near the pond they have , the owners are very helpful and offered to help us back our van in if we were struggling will deffinately be going back and I think they will give the cc site next door a good run for their money on the quality of the site , carsington res is almost next door so is only a 15 minute walk away and the knockerdown pub is well worth a visit for a good meal .

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cloughy 1 review from this member

Stayed here for one night on 28 April and found the site to be excellent. Clean facilities and nice hot showers (take £1 coins!). Ideally located for exploring Carsington Water and the Derbyshire dales. There was plenty of room on the site and the owners put up the site full sign early evening, so I was glad we arrived early!

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steve1961 18 reviews from this member

Lovely peaceful site close to Carsington water which has water sports, cycle hire, a very good children's play area, a few nice shops picnic area's etc.
The nearest pub is around two miles away, a nice walk over the Carsington water dam takes you to it, they serve good food & a good selection of drinks, they also have a small farm with animals that the children can look at.  
There are plenty of pitches on the site with electric hookups for caravans & tents set out around a small pond, or a large field for camping if you want to be a bit more back to nature.
There is a charge of £1 a time for the showers. The new washing up facility's & toilet/shower block is spotless with nice hot water, however a few shelves in the gents showers to put soap etc on would be good! A few lights around the site at night would also be a very good idea as it is pitch black, even with a torch my o/h was very apprehensive about walking to the toilet block after dark, as they are in total darkness until you walk through the door & the lights come on. 
On the whole we enjoyed our stay here & would probably visit again, as I have said it's very handy for the beautiful countryside surrounding Carsington water & Matlock, & the owners are very nice & friendly.

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lornaw1500 2 reviews from this member

Visited this site at the weekend, lady was friendly when visited as only booked the night before. Nice level flat pitch, was very disappointed as single parent cost £12.00 per night and had to pay for showers. Don't mind paying if reflected in the price, but very basic, no shop also and as was camping cannot really carry the basics like bread and milk either. If visiting this site please be wary as more suitable for caravans than tents and more geared up to caravans and rallies! Very dark at night as not much lighting except from the toilet block! 

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrsk24 1 review from this member

Thought the site was beautiful, shower block was clean but it is a bit of a trek in the night! Owners were very nice and friendly. Ground was quite hard so make sure you have tough pegs. All in all it is recommended, kids will love it, plenty of room to run about.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clarebearbarton 1 review from this member

Had a fabulous weekend here - plenty of drinking water sites, quiet, yet children made to feel very welcome. Very safe for them too. Plenty of room. Showers & toilets kept very clean and well stocked.

Would definitely visit again. Reasonably priced. Bricks available for BBQs too. Perhaps more rubbish bins rather than just sited in a wheelie bin at the entrance to the site.

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Stebbo87 1 review from this member

For the right balance between good facilities but an easy-going atmosphere, I recommend this site. After continuous rain the previous week I was worried the site would be flooded, but a dry bank holiday weekend (for a change) was enough to make the ground fine for our friends' tent, and, after a little persuasion, we got our campervan into the top field too.

The couple who run the place are very friendly. There are several marked out pitches in the bottom field (mostly with 16A hookup) but, if you prefer something a bit less regimented, the top field is 'free seating' and lots of room for games of football and rounders. It's a green and pleasant site - no open camp fires allowed, but barbeques OK.

The new shower block is great (must have been a bit dire before this was built) with 2 washing up stations also. Hot water good 95% of the time. Location is excellent - take your bikes for good cycling round Carsington Water and High Peak Trail etc.

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jac3312 1 review from this member

Well what a gem, this site is lovely, The new shower block had just opened on good Fri morn and is as expected immaculate, even though it's only 2 showers each. We were on a hard standing pitch and I'm glad we were as it rained a lot and the site is very soft around the pond. Having spent a lot of time talking to the owners you can see that as another review said "this is someones dream" nothing is too much trouble for them. Every penny they earn is put back in too the site, most of it on drainage. You can see that they are winning the battle of the drain.

The weekend we were there was a Sterling rally at the same time and they had a whale of a time. I am sure this will become a real favourite and the owners deserve every accolade that they will surely get. Well recommended. And at £14 pn over easter a bargain!

Date of Visit: August 2004
Reviewer: AandD 2 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site. It's peaceful (we did have a bagpipe player but it was quite nice!), beautiful countryside and a great waterside area just up the road. The owners are clearly fully committed to making this a great site and couldn't have been any more friendly and helpful. Had tea in the Black Horse - inexpensive and good food.

Reviewer: Andy3743 1 review from this member

Late May B/H 2004
What can I say, BRILLIANT.

We are very new and "green" to the touring scene, picked up our motorhome the afternoon prior to arriving, and were made very welcome on our arrival.

Toilets were spotless and kept very clean, we were sited right next to them and saw Judy the owner visiting and cleaning them repeatedly.

The staff were extremley helpful and always smiling. I agree wholheartedly with the other reviews, it was a really wonderful break, one we hope to repeat in the near future.

Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4444 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!