Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Carsington Fields Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Carsington Fields Caravan Park > Reviews

Carsington Fields Caravan Park
Millfields Lane
Carsington Water
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 3JS
Tel: 01335 372872
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 17/03/2024 to 01/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 104 Reviews
                9/10 from 104 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  104 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ju6573 2 reviews from this member

 We had a great/eventful time, on arrival the staff were very friendly, as if they had known you for years, took you down to where your pitch was, whilst there we ran out of gas so again they told us where to go which was only next door.
Then my son decided to get something stuck up his nose so again they advised us where the medical centre and hospitals, were, after a stay and operation in hospital, we returned to the site, they asked how he was. The Site has lots of room to play for the kids, they even made friends, we visited Gullivers Kingdom a great family park in matlock just a short drive away. We realy enjoyed it (the site not the hospital) that we have booked in for this aug bank holiday

Lets hope this time its not quite so eventful! 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hertsteacher 1 review from this member

 We spent two nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it. My tom tom satnav found the site with no trouble. The pitches are very generous. There is plenty of space of children to play, and there were several games of football while we were there. We looked at the Caravan Club site next door, but preferred this one because of the open aspect and space between pitches. I agree the shower is expensive, but the free hand cream, hairspray etc in the ladies section was a pleasant surprise, and everything was spotlessly clean. The owners are always about and very helpful; when I wanted to know about well dressings in the area, she phoned the local tourist board to find out for me. The walk to Carsington Water was lovely. We will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hug_away 1 review from this member

 Excellent weekend away. Used site as base to visit Alton Towers, (30 mins away). Shower block costs a £1, but once door open both my daughter and I could use. Water little intermitant in flow but shower warm (if little small). But clean and tidy.

Site wasn't that busy and pitches are good sized. DO NOT TRUST YOUR SAT NAV.

Owners stay on site and are very friendly.

Carsington lakes 15 min walk, but so busy we went back to the campsite and played on the open area. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Davers 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights. The owners on the whole were pleasant. The site was immaculately kept, grass cut, toilet block cleaned at regular intervals. There is a good sized dog walking field.

The downside. No shop so would recommend you stock up on supplies. We were close to the road at the back so sometimes a little noisy.

The showers were £1 so a little expensive. Also, although children are welcome, there is not much for them to do. Yes there is a grassed area for the children to play on but we unfortunately had rain so it was a bit muddy. You are allowed to cycle around but you have to go really carefully because of the caravans around the site.

The surrounding area is beautiful and it is a lovely walk to carsington resevoir.

Had a really good time, this is a relaxing site. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: TheCalams 1 review from this member

 Just visited the site for one night to test out our new trailer tent. Rang to book the night before on the off chance of a pitch.
Lovely welcome when we arrived. We did have great weather which always helps but the site is well kept and the toilet facilities kept clean on a regular basis. I would imagine that when the site is full that there would be queues for the showers. Close enough to Carsington Reservoir to walk to and Ashbourne a short drive away. Would certainly return! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: PeteLuc 22 reviews from this member

 Just came back from what was a superb yet disastrous weekend! On arrival we were met by the most friendly of staff ever. Everything was clearly pointed out.

Now the fun starts! On arrival on pitch, I made the mistake of assuming the grass area across from the pitch was fine to go on; it looked like it had recently been cut.

Unfortunately there had been a lot of rain and the 4x4 promptly sank! Thanks to the other 2 guys for the tow out. Very much appreciated. First time ever stuck and I've been in some bad places!

I could imagine the owners watching in horror as some idiot went and ruined their lovely field. Then one of the plastic connectors to the hot water tank split and filled the van with 30 litres of water!

Anyway, thats got nothing to do with the site. I felt so bad about ruining the grass that I had to own up. The attitude astounded me. I thought they would probably go mad, yet I was greeted with 'don't worry, things happen'!

The site itself is very well kept and looks great. The shower blocks and toilets were kept very clean and tidy, as was the whole site. A dog walking area has been provided.

The site has some lovely views and is located close to Carsington Water, Ashbourne and Matlock Bath providing an excellent base.

Carsington is well within walking distance and is worth a visit. The whole of the local area has plenty of walks. There are a couple of pubs within a few minutes drive or a short walk.

All in all, this site is well worth staying at, is in a picturesque area, close to the Peak, very clean and run by friendly people. Will be going back again, in fact we booked again whilst there! 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ju6573 2 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent place to stay, all staff are very friendly and helpful. Plenty of room for the children to run around and to walk dogs. Next to Carsington Water, which is a lovely area to explore. A short drive to Gullivers Kingdom, another great day out for the family. Local pubs/ places to eat, all very friendly. Enjoyed so much going back again this year. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Topbrewer 3 reviews from this member

 Hi, Just got back from this small but nice site, plenty of room between pitches. Clean site. Toilet block very smart and well kept, only 2 showers in block though and these cost a pound each. We paid 15 pounds for the night with leccy, and another pound on top of this I think is a bit off, especially when there might be 4 of you in the party. 15 mins walk to Carsington Resevoir then another hours walk to the visitors centre. Nice walk though. Didnt see a pub close by, site is very dark at night, no site lighting, nice sounds of wildlife at night, owls and cock pheasants etc. No on site shop, The people who run the site are very pleasant and were constantly working on the site so when we revisit something new will have popped up im sure. Mobile phone and telly signals are limited due to the hilly nature of the area.Overall good rural site. Would probably revisit. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brodix 7 reviews from this member

 A very well maintained site and owners friendly. However the toilet block although very clean is quite small and compact and got very busy at times although there was a caravan rally on the weekend we went. Also showers a bit disappointing for £1 a time. In parts the site is quite close to a road which you could here traffic at all times of day and night. Site dark at night toilet block on timer so only lights up when you approach the block and if you spend too long in block you are plunged into darkness! Plenty of space for kids to run around no play area though. Ideally situated with plenty to see and do nearby. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jo.s 1 review from this member

 Wonderful site only a short walk from Carsington Waters, which is great for all ages.  We visited with children and they had plenty of room to ride their bikes etc. Very clean toilet block with complimentary toiletries which I have never seen anywhere else before, a lovely touch (£1 for a shower though).  A bit of a hike to the rubbish bins (front entrance) could do with more bins around the site.  Owners very friendly.  Would definitely use this site again. 


Previous     104 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Carsington Fields Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Carsington Fields Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Carsington Fields Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


58015 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement