Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Seal Shore Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Isle Of Arran > Seal Shore Camping Reviews

Seal Shore Camping
Seal Shore
Kildonan
Isle Of Arran
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA27 8SE
Tel: 01770 820320
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/04/2022 to 16/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 116 Reviews
                9/10 from 116 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  116 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sandsiders 7 reviews from this member

 This was our 2nd visit to this site, the scenery was as wonderful as usual, however we did feel that standards had slipped a little despite the addition of new showers.

The gents did not have any soap for hand washing for the six days of our visit, the ladies ran out on day two.

Drinking water was not labelled and the chemical waste toilet disposal would not flush and the hose outside this area did not work.

However we did enjoy our stay and would probably return 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jennifer sutherland 2 reviews from this member

 Wow just back from seal shore on the 20th of June had an amazing time weather was fab. Site was great as usual. Only very minor complaint was the hairdryer is not working in the shower area and the new showers were running a bit cold but didn't mind so much as the weather was very very hot, but the old showers were great anyway. Brilliant site excellent location. Please please please consider putting in a play area for kiddies and I would spend most of the summer there every year. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wooll-rivers 1 review from this member

 Just to add what others have written, the Kildonan Stores and Post Office have now sadly closed. However, the Kildonan Hotel next to the campsite has opened a shop, which sells newspapers, milk, bread, wine and many other lines. This saves having to drive to Whiting Bay.

The campsite does not publicise the hotel shop, so for prospective visitors to Sealshore, the Kildonan Hotel is your best bet for essentials. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Freck 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely small site right on the shore at Kildonnan next to the Kildonnan Hotel. Site was quiet when we were there with fantastic weather. Basic clean facilities but this is more than compensated for by the fantastic location and stunning views. The Owner is extremely helpful and polite and will even charge your mobile for a donation to charity if you have no hook-up.

Kildonnan Hotel is right next door but there was no noise at all to speak of. A short walk along the shore will allow you to see seals snoozing in the sun at close quarters. We stopped seal counting when we got to 100.

There is a well stocked posted office within walking distance for all necessary supplies. No play park or anything but this is not necessary as you are next to the beach. There is an undercover area where campers can eat and barbecue. W

e would definitely go back but it is expensive to take your caravan on the ferry so maybe a tent next time. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Norrisg 31 reviews from this member

 We loved this little site, brilliant location right on the shore with lovely views. Its not a beach, as such, but great for walks.

Next to the site is a cracking hotel which has a public bar and does really nice bar meals.

The site itself is sloping although 'almostly' level hard standings (flags for the wheels really) were being installed whilst we were there. It has a small shop in the office, a tv room, he'll do washing for you!, and the rest of the facilities are pretty good too. You may want to book as the site is small and limited electric.

Chemical waste is a very primate affair here, as the island can only handle green loo fluid.

The roads on Arran are very tight which is why you don't see many caravans - certainly nothing bigger than small.

We got around on the bus although we didn't come across anywhere outstanding to visit, but generally the place is lovely and the site ideal for a quiet couple of days. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Nash130 4 reviews from this member

 Fantastic spot to stay, lovely views but beware of strong winds that blow off the sea. Owner helpful, toilets clean and showers very hot!

No playground but lots to see and do along the shore. Take a walk past the post office through the gate and follow the path, its amazing, we saw in excess of 60 seals and was very lucky to be able to get within about 20 meters from a baby one.

The walk to the Eas mor library is ok, waterfall is beautiful but the library was very disappointing. Distillery was also very good but if you want to buy anything then check in the local supermarkets first as we bought the same size bottle of 'Arran Gold' cheaper!The ferry fry chip shop in Brodick do a fantastic fish supper. We was given an Arran information broucher on the ferry, great we thought, loads of discount vouchers, but all out of date!

Arran is a very nice place but we has a family didn't enjoy it as much as the Isle Of Mull. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: TonyCv51 8 reviews from this member

 We were lucky enough to be on one of the front hook up pitches in our motorhome, with brilliant uninterrupted views of Scotland, Ireland (and the seals) whether we were sitting inside or out.

Very friendly owner, and some work to improve the facilities was nearly finished when we were there, although I think I would still love this place even if it had no facilities.

Had 2 nice bar meals in the pub next door which was family friendly. It ran out of Arran beers the first night but luckily had been stocked up the following day.

No play area but this was our kids favourite site of the holiday - the beach is a mixture of sand, rocky outcrops, rock pools, seaweed etc that just seemed to fascinate them and we were in danger of running out of clean dry clothes for them if we'd stayed any longer !

There is a shop about 15 minutes walk along the beach to save a drive if you are short on supplies 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carol65 2 reviews from this member

 I reviewed this site last year and have returned twice since then. In this short space of time there have been some great additions. There's 4 new showers going in and the pressure of the existing ones are more like power showers.

The entrance to the toilet block's been extended thus turning the door away from the prevailing winds - brilliant idea.

All the facilities were clean and tidy with new tiling and a reorganisation of the shop making everything look bigger.

The position of the site came into its own this holiday as the sea was spectacular (glad we weren't on it that day!)

Maurice has worked really hard and provides so much more than we have seen at other sites. Laundry, well stocked shop, undercover cooking, great showers, clean and tidy facilities, day room, sky tv and most of all, a warm welcome and boatloads of friendly advice on the island.

New addition to the shop before we left was the Isle Of Arran version of Monopoly - can't wait to play that one.

We'll be back - again and again!  


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AKA963 4 reviews from this member

 This is a super campsite with great views! We stayed here on a touring trip round Scotland on a motorbike. We had booked but fellow bikers we met on the ferry arrived at the campsite late that night and had no problem fitting in! The site itself is out in the sticks so if you need supplies call in at Lamlash or Whiting Bay on the way from the ferry.

The site has everything you might need clean toilets and free showers (though the water pressure is low, especially the ladies second one in!), washing up areas, under cover BBQ area if needed, day room with TV (not used but good for kids on rainy days I suppose!), stands and wind shelters for cooking and a shop! The owner is really friendly and will tell you anything you want to know. For a donation to his charity jar he will charge camera/phone batteries too! The front field is right by the sea with clear views out to Pladda Island (the owner sometimes does boat trips out there but hasnt been able to this year!) and Ailsa Craig. Be warned though the trade off for the sea view is the sea wind! Make sure you bring storm lashing or extra guy ropes in case the wind picks up! The back field was much more sheltered when we wandered round.

We paid 13 per night for two adults, a 2man tent and the bike which we were able to park right next to the tent although cars need to use the car park. It is possible to see the whole island in one day and there are some beautiful views to be seen. We were told there was a golden eagles nest in Lochranza but didnt manage to see it! If you go to Lamlash you can get the ferry out to Holy Isle (price, not sure!) or go mackerel fishing (18 each). The fishing needs to be booked a day or two in advance but it is worth asking if there are spaces as we managed one the same day. Fresh BBQd mackerel for tea with the views from Seal Shore incredible! Will definitely return if we visit Arran again! 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jennifer sutherland 2 reviews from this member

 I loved Seal Shore and we cant wait to go back. Fantastic location with brilliant views and well maintained. The facilities were great for campers e.g nice hot water in showers and toilet block and clean fridge freezers to use.

Only possible criticism would be could do with more parking if you cant park next to your tent and an extra shower or 2 as it can be difficult during busy times and a wee play area for kids would be fab. 


Previous     116 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Seal Shore Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Seal Shore Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Seal Shore Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Arran      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ayrshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2515 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement