Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Crows Nest Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Crows Nest Caravan Park Reviews

Crows Nest Caravan Park
Gristhorpe
Filey
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO14 9PS
Tel: 01723 582206
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: Tourers 50 - Tents 200
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 222 Reviews
                7/10 from 222 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 10 miles   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  222 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bluemoon74 3 reviews from this member

Crow's Nest has to be the worst caravan park we have ever stayed at, to the point we only managed to suffer it for three nights out of the ten that were booked, took the hit for the money wasted on the seven remaining nights but it was worth it to get out of there.

The initial reception was frosty and apart from a layout of the park, no additional written information was provided, ie opening times for the shop or lounge bar, route to the clifftop walks or park rules, infact I think the rule was there are no rules.

The majority of the touring pitches are located in a small middle section, surrounded by a one-way narrow road and static caravans.

Pitches are not spacious and I was able to touch a motorhome and another pitches awning from my awning. Don't come to this site if you want privacy, relaxation and a sense of boundary: children and dogs wandered freely between pitches. Despite the nearby play park, it seemed perfectly acceptable for children to play ball games and run around on bikes and scooters next to other pitches.

The toilet block for touring caravans is dated and in need of some repair and on 2 occasions, 3 out of 4 of the cubicles had no toilet paper. We decided to use the newer, larger block up near the campers. This block may have been recently upgraded but was busy on all occasions (either before 8am or after noon) and extremely messy and dirty: toilet paper lying on the floors for hours at a time and dirt around the corners of the toilet and shower cubicles. I did go back to check as there was no indication of a cleaning rota within the block.

There is no security at the park and anyone can come in and roam at anytime, day or night.

Three plus points: the staff in the shop and chip shop were very friendly and helpful, the cliff top walk into Filey is lovely and the way out. Would not recommend to anyone.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Haggy1969 3 reviews from this member

Been on this site a few times over the last few years and it gets better every year. The EHU pitches are well spaced out with your own little garden and the new toilet block is state of the art with excellent showers. The trusty old park is there and the kids spend hours in it.

The club is cosy with stuff on every night during peak times and 2 pool tables in the music bar. The staff are all friendly and helpful.

The pool is very reasonable at £2 for a day pass and the water is very warm (the slide is a bit scary for me haha) The shop sells just about everything you need and is not your typical rip-off camp shop, all very reasonable prices.

The chip shop is very nice food and not bad prices. There is a nice challenging walk, hike, rope climb down the cliffs to the secluded, albeit pebbly beach (watched by the bobbing seals)

I'd recommend this site to anyone who likes camping.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Barnsleybill 2 reviews from this member

This was our first time on this site after a dreadful experience at a neighbouring site.

On arrival we were quickly dealt with at the modern reception block.

Tent pitches are in a field that slopes back from the very cliff top. As we had taken a mountain technical tent we pitched up near the cliff top to enjoy the fantastic view.

It was very windy so if you have a 'big, flappy wendyhouse' I'd advise you to pitch further back down the slope unless you want to be blown over.

The shower block is probably the best I have seen on a campsite, spotlessly clean, hot water, spacious shower cubicles and well laid out.

The chip shop was reasonably priced and the food was surprisingly good. The bar is small but wasn't uncomfortable.

There is a pool for which there is an extra charge of £2 per day. This is great value and we spent a good two hours enjoying a swim and letting the children play on the slide. Other reviews have said that the water was cold but we found it very warm.

There is a large, well maintained play area which is excellent for the kids to run off energy.

We did have some very noisy neighbours on the Saturday night, where a large extended family had pitched. The site could probably do with a security patrol to keep this kind of thing under better control but all in all I'd return to Crows Nest without a second thought and recommend it.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Schosh 2 reviews from this member

Our friends had booked to stay on this site so we checked out the Crows Nest website and on the face of it all seemed good! However this has turned out to be a bad choice and is without doubt the worst site we have ever stayed on.

The touring caravan pitches are situated in a square within the main site which is surrounded with static vans which seem to be occupied by the more chavvy type that rent for a week or two. Security is none existent allowing anyone to enter the site and mill about. Teenagers abound and the site roads are just for them!

It's pot luck which pitch you get. Some can accommodate a caravan, awning and car but those on our row were really tight for space so parking was on the car park only. For £27 per night I would expect to be able to park our car at the side of our outfit and if I couldn't then I'd appreciate at least an entrance barrier as some security.

The older shower/toilet block are terrible with a broken toilet, small shower cubicles with poor showers and the smell from the urinals was disgusting. That said some 10-13 year olds just loved playing in the block!

Yes there is a new shower/toilet block up the top of the site but this was in the area for the tents. This block was the teenager meeting point probably because it was a bit more 'up market'?

Plus points were a small swimming pool which seemed to be used for the unwashed to bathe in, a burger van and on site fish and chip shop to feed the aforementioned unwashed, well stocked but expensive shop and bar with various karaoke type pub singers to entertain the now clean and fed clientèle!

Customer service was questionable but I'm sure the employees got top marks when passing out from the Genghis Khan school of charm and deportment!

We love Filey but this time we got it so so wrong. By all means if you like this site visit again and think 'what on earth is that guy on'? If your thinking of visiting then read all the reviews and make you decision as you see fit but after out experience we will be steering clear!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Diamonds 6 reviews from this member

We arrived lunch time to a nice looking huge site stood on a hill, reception was clean and bright and we were allotted a pitch number for EHU but told if the pitch was water logged to just choose another. We were given a map which was useful.

The Camping area was right at the very top of the hill looking straight out over the Sea. You couldn't fault the views even though it rained the whole holiday and Scarborough had been in the news the previous week for flooding at a caravan park nearby.

The pitch was large yet very wet and uneven and on a camber which was disappointing. The other pitches were similar so we decided to keep the one we had been allocated.

The weather over the four days we were there was awful, so we looked forward to at least getting warm food on site from the fish and chip shop the site advertises as 'open daily during the high season'.

Upon a stroll down whilst taking the dog for a walk, the shop was closed with a sign saying open Fri and Sat, which as we were only camping mon to thurs, was useless to us. One of the reasons we booked Crows Nest was the bar and the on site food due to us having a young dog.

Showers/Toilet facilities were all free and lovely, large cubicles, hot water was plentiful.

We visited the bar on the last night as it never looked open. It was apparently just the front bit was in darkness. There were about 5 couples and a family in the bar which was basic and warm. Dogs arent allowed in the bar which we knew as I telephoned before we booked to check, but they were allowed in the Conservatory (which was in darkness).

Ordered drinks which were reasonably priced and we went and sat in the Conservatory. No lights came on, even though the barman knew we were sitting in there, so I went up and asked if the lights could be switched on. He said sorry he didn't know where the light switches were! but would text the boss. After about 10 minutes the lights eventually came on. There were two heaters but they weren't working. Crows next could do so much more, if they had switched the lights on every night we wouldn't have driven past to seek a beverage off site !

During our stay, there was plenty of ground maintenance taking place but only for the caravan areas which was a shame and very disappointing. If you are a camper and just want the basics, this place is fine, if you are looking for a dry level even pitch and place to eat and drink with your doggie, forget it sadly.

And don't expect reception to be open when you need them, they need to at least put a sign up with opening hours, we often drove past early evening to see new arrivals peering through the window looking for help.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hellena 3 reviews from this member

I visited this site and stayed here for a week with my family. The site is very nice, but windy. The site is on top of high cliffs, I recommend you have a good strong tent as the wind can get pretty bad. We have been staying in a Sprayway Valley 6 tent for the past three camping trips and it held out very well. There were quite a few smaller tents that unfortunately did not fair so well. Not the campsites fault at all, I would stay there just for the views from the cliff tops.

The shower and toilet block are the best I have stayed in. Lots of Large shower cubicles and within each cubical a separate changing area, with a door. Very modern and clean every time we used them. The sinks and pot washing facilities were perfectly fine, plenty of cover and draining boards.

I would recommend some better lighting in the tent area, the area below where the caravans are have good lighting, so not good where the tents are at night.

There is a nice small kids park and a dog walking area.

We liked this campsite the shop was well equipped an well priced. There is a pub on the site, it has pool tables and the entertainment was fun on an evening.

Great base for walkers, you can walk to bridling along the cliffs on a good day, and Scarborough is on the other side.

Just on the outside of the camp you can get regular well priced buses to Bridlington and scarbough, which is very useful.

Loved this site would visit again!

I recommend this site, but again you will need a strong tent.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Riponrobertsons 8 reviews from this member

We visited this site for the first time in May and will definitely be back. The tent field is at the back of the site on top of the cliff over looking the sea which is great. We had great weather the weekend we were there but being on top of a cliff it was a bit breezy so a windbreak is a must for this site!

A new toilet block had just been finished which was fantastic and extremely clean. They have really thought about the facilities needed. There are plenty of showers each with their own inner part where you can put your clothes before you go through into your shower, which is great as none of your belongings get wet.

Some of the shower cubicles even have sinks. There are cubicles just with sinks in and plenty of toilets. In the main sink area there are free hairdryers and plug sockets for your own hairdryer / straighteners! There are family showers too, which although we didn't use them looked just as nice and clean. There was also plenty of hot water.

Outside the toilet block are the washing up sinks which come with wall hung pot drainers, we've not seen this on any other sites we've visited but again a very good idea. There is also a laundry.

The site also has an bar, well stocked shop, fish and chip shop, indoor swimming pool, children's playground and dog exercise area. The bar was very nice and reasonably priced with a good selection of drinks. We didn't use the fish & chip shop, pool, playground or dog area so we can't comment on those.

The site is about half way between Scarborough and Filey, very close to Cayton Bay and is right on a bus route. I'm not sure if you could walk easily to the beach as we didn't try, we got the park and ride into Scarborough for the day which was cheap and easy to do.

All the staff were very friendly. A brilliant site, we will definitely be back :)

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Leesdna 4 reviews from this member

We stayed at crows nest at the weekend and the new facilities are fantastic. The toilet/showers are 5 star + they are lovely and warm clean and everything has been thought of. Showers are a really good size and we love the partitioned area that separates the shower from the area where you can dry and change, no soggy shower curtains. Showers are nice and warm,

We also love the individual changing rooms with wash basin and mirror, plenty of plug sockets for hair straighteners etc, also hair dryers at no extra cost

The family bathrooms are lovely and the laundry area has a drinks machine in, ideal for a hot chocolate on your way back to the tent at night after going to the clubhouse to watch the fantastic live entertainment,

The chip shop on site is nice and also does a breakfast menu and there is a well stocked shop.

Pot washing facilities are really good too. There is a brilliant play area for the kids and the site is very dog friendly. Dogs allowed in the conservatory of the club house, so you don't miss out on the entertainment, also a fenced off dog walk area.

Site is lovely and clean and it has everything you need for a perfect laid back holiday.

We have been visiting crows nest for the last two years and have always loved it. The views from the camp site are amazing

The old toilet blocks were the only thing that let it down but now they are closer to the tent field and have been rebuilt, this site is now perfect. So want to say thank you crows nest you really have got it right we will be returning to you in June, July, August and September we love it.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Patto 1 review from this member

We've been quite a few times and enjoyed visiting this site. The beaches around the area are sandy and the majority of them (if not in a town)are dog friendly.

Getting back to the site, I hope they move all the touring caravans to the new area soon as there is only one shower working out of three.

The bar and pool seem to be popular. The on site chip shop food is edible and the staff are friendly. A small shop for the basic items you forgot to pack.

This site is in a good position for visiting Scarborough, Filey and Bridlington.

For the Heartbeat and Vampire fans Goathland and Whitby is a nice trip out for the day.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Straycat753 3 reviews from this member

Just had a great bank holiday weekend at the Crows Nest. Arrived on Friday and was shown by a friendly member of staff where the EHU pitches were located and told to choose a free one. The tent area was quiet when we arrived so I got to choose a great spot.

The toilet/shower block was fantastic, it's a brand new building and a lot of thought has gone into it, I agree with another review that it is 5 star quality.

Site was very quiet at night. This site has everything you need for a great holiday. The site felt very safe with a great play area, which kept my little eight year old occupied most of the time.

Will definitely be going again.

Previous     222 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7489 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019