Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Holme Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Settle > Holme Farm Campsite > Reviews

Holme Farm Campsite
Horton In Ribblesdale
Settle
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD24 0HD
Tel: 01729 860281
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 96 Reviews
                7/10 from 96 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Highlander2246 1 review from this member

 A nice, welcoming site, stayed here for a few nights in the late May bank holiday with a couple of friends - as were doing some walking in the area.
 
Campsite owner is a very nice chap - checking that people were OK at every opportunity.
 
As mentioned, toilet facilities could do with a make-over but at the end of the day, they do the job.
 
Two pubs, cafe and a post office within two minute walk and railway station five minute walk away.
 
A pleasant site, well situated in the heart of Yorkshire.
 
To the poster below remarking about the sheep - if you don't want to hear sheep, don't camp in the valleys of Yorkshire! It was their home before any of us turned into tourists.
 
Would be happy to return to this site.  


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nellerance 1 review from this member

 All in all had a very enjoyable weekend at Holme Farm.  The owner is very welcoming and really does wander round and keep an eye on everything.
 
Some aspects to consider:
- you can't camp by your car, so need to carry everything across a field
- that means that lots of tents are near each other, so can get a bit noisy
- far from adequate shower facilities - one each for male and female, nowhere to put dry clothes, apart from a couple of hooks on the back of the door, and £1 a shower!
 
However, on the positive side:
-fantastic location, with lovely views and spent hours watching the lambs in the next field
- cafe and two pubs very near. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mkwolf 3 reviews from this member

 I chose this campsite for its location and not facilities. In hindsight it certainly proved to be true.

The site is situated in a very lovely location. Each pitch is divided by lawn mowed squares.

The owner is very friendly and helpful and on arrival you are invited to choose which pitch you want.

We stayed here in a large dome tent which didn't have a sewn in/zipped in ground sheet and the wind really proved to be our downfall. We really struggled to get the tent pitched in the wind, just 2 adults. Once pitched we found we had to put every piece of luggage we had on the edges of the tent just to keep the wind out!

The facilities here are very basic, showers/toilets are very primitive to say the least.

If you are backpacking then I would highly recommend as somewhere to pitch and get your head down and be on your way again, for a family break then I'm afraid I wouldn't go again, too primitive!

On our 3rd day, we returned to find out tent still standing but most of our possessions strewn across the field, we thought we'd been burgled! The wind had ripped out our windbreaks and blown most of the living area out of the tent. The locals all told us that these were freak winds but this was enough for us we packed down and left! Mr Sutcliffe was very understanding and refunded us our whole stay, I wasn't expecting any money back I was just telling him out of politeness that we were leaving.

All in all, a great owner in a great location with very basic facilities in a lovely village, great for backpackers but not for me. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Melissa Hubberstey 4 reviews from this member

 We visited this site over the bank holiday weekend and found it a most pleasant stay.  It was fully booked with being both the bank holiday and a lot of visitors doing the three peaks.  The campsite itself is joined onto a farm and is quite large - is able to fit alot of tents on - each pitch is laid out individually.  I would agree with the other comments made about the owner being friendly and helpful - he was very accommodating and came round each tent asking if everyone was okay and had everything they needed. The price was very reasonable too - being £2 per person, £2 tent & £2 for a car.
 
There were 2 nice pubs within a short walk - one next door to the campsite the other just further down the road, both were nice and welcoming. 
 
The only downside was the toilet facilities - there was no hot water to have a wash and no towel to dry your hands with.  Overall though I would recommend a visit to this site - the location and views are really nice and I would definitely go again. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Niko8 1 review from this member

 Stayed here with a group of friends in order to do the Three Peaks. Found the campsite to be quite crowded but excellently based for the pubs / shops in Horton. Campsite owner is as described by others, a little eccentric but very friendly. Try to avoid camping too near the top of the site as flood lights are on until past 12 at night and it can be difficult to sleep. Price is 2 pounds per person plus 2 pounds per tent and 2 pounds per car. Toilet facilities are basic but reasonably clean.

If you want peace and quiet probably not the place to go. If you want to be near the pubs and the start of the Three Peaks walk an excellent place to go.

Recommend the pies at The Crown Pub - but get there early as it can be busy.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: February 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Techtonic 2 reviews from this member

 I have been visiting this site for nearly 25 years as I enjoy walking the 3 peaks. The camp site has an excellent location and is within walking distance to 2 pubs, a cafe and a post office/shop.

The pitches are well spaced, marked out and on an relatively unnoticable gentle slope.

The owner is friendly and helpful and the site itself is also part of the farm.

The downside is that in 25 years the toilet and wash facilities seem to have never been decorated or upgraded. They are now in a poor state and are in desperate need of a full modern renovation.

This is the only let down and shame as the site is set in a beautiful location. If you like roughing it then this campsite is for you.
 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Camper_cruz 23 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a lovely and warm Easter weekend at this site. I concur with the other reviews about the farmer, he was very friendly and constantly keeping the site clean. He is also very accommodating and if he can fit you in he will. The only overcrowded part of the site is the car park as your not allowed to park next to your tent.
Obviously the site is without hookup but when your in camper like us your warm enough even on cold April evenings. Site is a great base for the assent of all three of the three peaks. Whether your doing all 3 at once or individually.
Ingleborough and Pen-y-ghent can be reached from Horton while Whernside is a short train ride away via Horton station. Additionally for all those slumming it in tents when it get's too cold there are 2 pubs in the vicinity. The Golden Lion is next door and the Crown Hotel is 2 mins down the road. The Crown does excellent food.
 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bigharves 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights and 4 days. The site has good but basic facilities and the campsite itself is brilliant value for money! The farmer is friendly and a good laugh! Welcomes you with open arms and checks every now and again to see if you are alright. The only problem that there is the noise of the sheep during the night and early morning, other than that its a great place to stay. The village has a post office 3 minutes away from the campsite and a tourist information and public house 5 minutes away. There is a park near the train station where trains run every 2 hrs. A brilliant place to stay and good for getting away to relax. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bmb9asg 3 reviews from this member

 Very nice campsite. We stayed for two nights while doing the Three Peaks. The campsite is reasonably basic, but has all the essentials.
 
There were 3 toilets and 1 shower in the ladies and similar, I think, in the men's. The building housing the facilities was a little run-down but the toilets were new and clean. Good washing up facilities, again with hot water, and washing up liquid and sponges were provided. No hot water in the sinks in the toilets so I would suggest getting water from the washing up section round the corner if you want a hot wash!
 
There was only 1 shower per sex, however, since the site itself is not vast, there wasn't too much of a problem. The showers are supposed to cost £1 each (which is a little steep in my opinion). However, the credit is not reset after each shower, and £1 goes a VERY long way in the meter. I'd advise checking the meter before putting your money in - when I was there, there were 80 credits already in, (each pound gives you 4 credits!) and the dial had barely moved after my shower. 
 
The tariff in August 2006 was £2 per person per night, £2 per vehicle per night and £1 per tent per night.
 
The farmer is very friendly and constantly attending to the site, chatting to campers etc. Very nice site and we will probably return in the future. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lizzy23 7 reviews from this member

 "e stayed here last weekend, when my Hubby completed the 3 peaks, I would have to agree that the facilities are basic, but with a view like that what more can you want. The Farmer is very friendly and constantly cleaning the toilets and checking to make sure everyone is ok. On the whole we will go back probably not the weekend that the challenge is on, but just to enjoy the view, the peace and to do a bit of walking around the area. After all for £7 a night it really is value for money 


Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Holme Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Holme Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Holme Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Settle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


57676 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement