Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Edinburgh > Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
35 37 Marine Drive
Edinburgh
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH4 5EN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 166
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 96 Reviews
                9/10 from 96 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Karl51 27 reviews from this member

We started our summer holiday here, this was the 1st time we'd been to this site but we'll be back again.

As you would except from a CC site the pitches are large enough and the shower / toilet blocks are kept to a high standard. There is a dog walk on site which my bull terrier loved because the trail was through a wood. The site also has a WIFI connection for those who want to surf the web from their own van.

Great travel links to the city centre with a bus stop outside the site gates, for those who wish to drive its about 4 miles.

The area is going through redevelopment with a new school and homes also being built. There are shops close by which we walked to, the area looked rough but the staff in Somefields, Chinese take away & off licence were all very friendly.

If fitness is your thing then there is a golf course bordering the site and you can do as much walking as your legs can take along the shoreline.

You are in the flight path of Edinburgh airport but you get used to it. As said before there does appear to be a bit of an unofficial race track at night for the local boy racers, we combated that by getting a central pitch.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BillHox 3 reviews from this member

As per the previous comment, good bus links to the city centre. The site is up to the usual CC standards, clean well run, well laid out. If you are a light sleeper though, this may not be the place for you, with the site being in the landing path for the airport and the roadway out front doing a passable impression of Brands Hatch at some ungodly hours (3:00 am and 4:00 am).
There are shops local (within 1 mile 'ish). The local area does give the impression of being 'run down', but there is some obvious re-development going on, so by the time you visit, the area may be totally different. On a more positive note, there is a good promenade for walking and if you like a round of golf, the golf course is close to the site. All in all, my wife and I enjoyed our stay here, and will visit again in a couple of years.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Viggo 15 reviews from this member

An excellent site for sightseeing in the city, with easy bus connections right outside the gate. Buy a 'day ticket' for 2.50 and use the buses as 'hop on/hop off' lifts around the city centre to cut down on some of the walking - great value. The art galleries and museums are free, and we spent many hours there.

Facilities on site are up to the usual excellent Club standards (although the piped music in the shower block had disappeared on our visit. Some hate it, but I'd rather hear music than the ablutions of my fellow campers!)

However, it's not somewhere I'd recommend for a relaxing break on-site. It's under the flight path for the nearby airport, the road outside the fence can be busy and there was a lot of noise from nearby playing fields. If peace and quiet are your thing, this isn't the place to be.

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wagonlad 6 reviews from this member

We have used this site twice now and love it, a nice plesant and very well run CC site. I have seen people commenting on the site being like a prison camp ie high fences and cctv cameras around the site, yes they are there, but you dont notice them easily as hedges have grown to hide the fence and the cameras are of the small variety, and after all they are there to protect us and our vans.

The wardens were very polite and helpful and the site upto the CC very high stanards, I love the area being just over the road from the beach and firth of forth.

We would both recomend and use this again and again.

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rbtmillar 5 reviews from this member

Been to this site a few times now as it's only 40 minutes away and great for a quick night away. As with most CC sites there's no bar/club but it is fantastically maintained, always spotless. The toilets/shower block are always clean and pleasant and the piped music is pleasant when in the shower. Staff are always friendly and on hand to help if required. Not really withing walking distance to any pubs or restaurants but you can get the bus right at the entrance which will take you to the city centre in about 15 minutes and even bring you back at 3 in the morning if you decide to make a night of it. Late checkout never been a problem if you need to stay that bit longer to sober up a little!

Date of Visit: February 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: IainM 22 reviews from this member

Use this site a lot in winter as it is less than an hour from home.

Well laid out, friendly staff and good facilities. Could do without the piped music in the loos, Abba on panpipes! Though my best mates two year old is entranced by it!

Easy access despite city location, though the actual CC directions take you a bit of a long way round, fair enough if you don't know the area though.

A bit off putting is the nearby flats in Pilton which are rather run down, but never had an issue with security on this site.

Date of Visit: February 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Taralabradog 5 reviews from this member

We are just about to leave this very quiet site after 3 days.

The facilities are excellent as you would expect of the Caravan Club.

The site is situated just above a promenade and park which is a lovely place for a walk.

The best bit though is the bus stop just outside the gate which takes you straight into Edinburgh for 2 return. This means no driving which is great in my opinion.

There does appear to be a few eateries and pubs pretty close but whether they are within walking distance would depend on personal opinion although we have not used them. They are certainly only a few minutes drive.

The only negative if you can call it that is that there is a road running past the site and there is some aircraft noise but we did not find it too intrusive. I would say that it would be best to get a pitch a little distance from the road but if you cannot then I wouldn't let it put you off.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Geordie01 14 reviews from this member

Been here 3 times in the past 18 months as its only a two hour drive away . Its one of the best sites around. The buses stop out side the gates going to and from the city center or from pennywell going to lieth past the ocean terminal

Or if you dont fancy the 15min walk to that bus stop get the bus out side the site gate and change three stops later from no42 to no 16.

Site is immaculate with plenty showers etc.

If you want the nearest bar you can use the globtrotter inn across the road it does good very resonable food although limited meneu and be aware that it is a backpackers hotel so plenty of younger folks having a good time. Great views across the firth of forth.

Cant wait to go back

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Alvan 31 reviews from this member

A wonderful site, booking in was quick and efficient despite a few booking in before us. Wardens are nice and helpful.Reception stocks the basics but NO newspapers.There is an information room next to reception,also a large Late arrivals area.Entry to the site is via a card operated electic barrier.The site is has large gravel hardstandings (even accommodated a large American R.V).The toilet block was clean and well maintained,access via a combination lock.Outside is a dishwash/Veg prep area. I was pleased at the number of chemical disposal points around the site.Motorhome service point also impressive. There is a dog walk and a lovely tent area,surrounded by trees and hedging with an undercover area for cooking,eating etc.

Outside the site the bus stop takes you to Edinburgh,if you turn right outside the entrance a 10 min walk to the roundabout and there is a bus every 10 mins to Leith and the Ocean Terminal shopping centre with the Royal Yacht Britannia.Excellent audio tour. A 5 min walk from the site takes you to the shores of the Firth of Forth.We took a 45 min walk via Crammond,along the lovely river Almond,past the marina,Bistro/Cafe and back along the promenade to the site.Lovely! Did the usual visit to Edinburgh.If the weather is bad or kids are bored,I recommend the National Museum of Scotland,free admission lovely Cafe and shop.Ground floor has Hands on exhibits for the kids. Great site

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Grumpyman 27 reviews from this member

Booked for 3 nights and ended up stopping for 6. This site is maintained to a very high standard with pitches of a very good size. Toilet and showers blocks immaculate. Staff can not do enough for you.

Walk outside the site and there is a bus stop. Number 42 bus runs every 20 minutes and on time to Edinburgh. Pay 2.50 and you can use as many buses as you wish for 24 hours. Lovely walks over the road from the site with fantastic sea views. Visit the now defunct Royal Britannia a good 2 hours tour. Take a walk to Crannond lovely fishing Village with a nice pub.
Loads to do.

Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2521 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019