Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Shepton Mallet > Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping Reviews

Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping
Batcombe
Shepton Mallet
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA4 6BW
Tel: 01749 372373
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 24 April - 20 September 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 102 Reviews
                9/10 from 102 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  102 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Redface 8 reviews from this member

 We had a great time here. The couple who run the site are very frendily and are always on hand to sort out any problems and offer advice on routes and places to go.

I found the boating lake a great idea for my son he spent most of the time on it and playing around in the trees around the park.

The only thing I found a downside was as the other reviews said was the showers and toilets and washing up facilities. These were all clean and well kept but the lack of hot water in the showers, 4 showers for ladies and only 2 for the men, and amount of toilets 2 for ladies and 4 for men you did have to wait for the loo and you had to be up early to get a hot shower (there were signs up stating about the hot water shortage). The site was full when we visited and at peak times you had a long wait to do your washing up. BUT I did love this place, it was so relaxing no traffic noise and the added bonus of having the fishing lakes was great we did not get time to use them but friends of my son did and caught lots of fish.

The site was about 2 miles to nearest shop, close enough to frome, sheppton mallet and longleat.

We would go again as I said it was very relaxing. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Trokey81 4 reviews from this member

 A wonderful site in the heart of the countryside as another camper has stated it is like a hidden valley with great sites and sounds of the wildlife and scenery. Facilities are very clean however limited with only 2 showers and 2 toilets for each sex, on my visit I had not seen another camper using the facilites (the site was around half full). There is a boating lake which you must do when you are there, it is free and there is so much pond life to see when you are in the rowing boat. Further down from the site are a series of lakes for fishing. There is a small co-op in the next village of Evercreech and a small Tesco in Shepton Mallet which is about 15 mins away in the car and a Sainsburys in Frome which is about 25 mins away. There are lots of pubs around the area and the campsite wardens are more than happy to recommend somewhere to enjoy a drink or a quality meal.

Overall a top site which is very friendly, clean and amazing countryside however I personely think this site should be an adults only, as it has no facilities for children and literatly in the heart of the countryside and is sadly spoilt at times with noisy children. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nerys Jenkins 9 reviews from this member

 Spent a weekend at this campsite. Gary the owner was very helpful, he lent us an extension lead for our electric hook up as the point was quite far away from our pitch.  The campsite itself is set in very pretty surroundings and is ideal for a quiet weekend away.  I took my nieces who enjoyed the boats but it would benefit from a play area - it does have an empty space for ball games etc., but no swings or anything for younger kids to play on.  The toilets and showers were very clean but modest.  There was plenty of hot water. 
I found that the space allocated for the tent was a bit narrow and too close to next door which would not have been a problem if they were not so miserable! Our tent is quite large so the space issue was more to do with that than the campsite.  I think Gary and his wife have only been in charge of this site for a year and I think that given another year it will be even better.  Well worth a visit if you want somewhere to stay within easy reach of Longleat. There is a Tesco and other shops in Shepton Mallet if you run out of supplies and a nice chip shop in Evercreech about 2 miles away. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bridie 102 reviews from this member

 Stayed weekend before bank holiday and had good weather! Site less than half full so no pressure on loos etc . Showers hot but only 2 each in Ladies and Gents,so if site full need to time your visit! Site is beautiful, like finding a hidden valley.Excellent for exploring Wells, Glastobury Tor, Cadbury Hill. Had wonderful walks and row on lake back at site. Very friendly, helpful  managers. Will definitely return 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: W Peters 1 review from this member

 We visited Easter Saturday 2007 for a week.We are a family with 3 children and all of us thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. The site is very pretty, with lakes and trees. There are about 30 pitches and all were full the first weekend but the site was still relaxing and peaceful. The pitches are larger than average all with nice views. The toilet block was basic but very clean. In the ladies there were 2 toilets , 3 showers and 3 0r 4 sinks so there was a bit of a queue on the bank holiday weekned and the hot water ran out but the rest of the week this was not a problem.The owners were very friendly and helpful and keep the site in very good order.We used the campsite as a base for longleat, wookely holes, roman baths , and the National Trust properties nearby but our most relaxing day was spent on the site in the beautiful sun and on the free rowing boats and having a leisurely stroll in the fields.We will definetely visit again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lesley + Pete 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site.

Friendly people running the site were always on hand to help.

Good clean facilities with everything you need convenient to all pitches.

A brilliant setting - could not fault the location and great if you want a peaceful break away from it all.

Great for kids and great value for money.will be back soon. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Laddie-tude 2 reviews from this member

 Stopped here again for a couple of nights this year. The site is under new management and just gets better. The new site managers are extremely friendly and helpful.
 
This year we discovered the bottom two lakes. This is very tranquil and the fish almost jump out of the water. My 7 year old caught a carp with a fishing net!
 
Shower block is better equipped this year and very clean. The flowers in the toilet just add a touch of "luxury".
  


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chatty 8 reviews from this member

 Spent a lovely few days here, the site is really nice and the scenery wonderful, there are brown direction signs, which are a great help as you would get lost without them, easiest way in is from Shepton Mallet.
The pitches are big and well marked, and the whole site  well kept. Could do with more ladies toilets but everything is clean and free so can't complain.  The hook ups are near the pitches and there are plenty of them, the site is lit at night so not too much problem finding one's way around.  Wells and Cheddar Gorge are nearby and well worth a visit, Weston Super Mare has a lovely big sandy beach and Bath is well worth a visit. The owners are really nice and helpful,  especially when my keys were locked in the car! Only downside for me were the amount of noisy kids left to run around early and late and some very loud talkers also late at night. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jackie123 1 review from this member

 Ve just returned from five glorious days on this brilliant site. The campsite is nestled in it's own valley, well away from roads and traffic, surrounded by beautiful hills with stunning views. The campsite managers, Barbara & Gary are the most friendliest and helpful we have met - they go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your stay and keep a  very well run site. The fishing lakes are well stocked and provide a tranquil setting for a spot of fishing, the boating lake and green play area seemed a hit with the children.  
Yes the toilet and shower block is well aired but is spotlessly maintained and during August did not seem under pressure at all. Fresh cut flowers were a nice touch too. Showers, use of a freezer and bin bags were all provided free of charge - many other campsites charge for such facilities.
Pitches are a good size and some are well separated by hedges or trees. Footpaths leading up into the fields are close by and ideal for dog walking. Highlights were the fantastic setting, great dog walks and finding the river and weir pools ( thanks to Gary! ) with proved a great hit with us and the dog. Watching the sunset  from the top of the field was magic too. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Neildavies 5 reviews from this member

 We went here for 2 nights. I had a good feeling when I spoke to them on the phone, very friendly, and this was the case when we arrived (right down to when we were lost, being 'found' and guided to the campsite)
 
The campsite is based around one of 3 lakes, and is a stunning setting. Nice and quiet, as in away from the road. Free boating seemed to keep a lot of the kids happy. We had our dog with us, and there's plenty of places to walk.
 
The Toilet block is quite small and basic, but kept very clean. The site is unbelievably well kept, and the couple who run it are very friendly. Would definitely recommend this site to all sorts, couples or families. 


Previous     102 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Shepton Mallet      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5544 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement