Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Alfriston Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > East Sussex > Alfriston > Alfriston Camping Park > Reviews

Alfriston Camping Park
Pleasant Rise Farm
Alfriston
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN26 5TN
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 29/03/2024 to 27/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 107 Reviews
                8/10 from 107 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  107 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Snuffalo 1 review from this member

 A lovely site situated well back from the nearest road, so lovely and safe for children / pets.

The field for tents is a little uneven but nothing to stop you from finding a decent pitch - it's a large field so plenty of space.

It was fairly windy when we were there, the valley funnels it through the site but that just makes it more of an outdoors adventure!

It's not too far from Seaford (about 4 miles) which has all the shops you'd need and Alfriston itself is a lovely village.

The amenities on the site are OK but the toilet / shower block could do with being done up. That said they do the job and for what it costs to stay there you can't really complain! Owner's comment: Please note that from May 2010 we now have new separate Ladies / Gents, Toilet / Shower facilities.

I'll definitely be going back!

Note from site owner: Please note that from May 2010 we now have new separate Ladies / Gents, Toilet / Shower facilities. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Saram 1 review from this member

 Lovely location, site pleasant and within easy walking distance of Alfriston. Nice pubs, bit pricey though.

Great walks around area, particularly in the nearby forest.

Campsite is good, relatively peaceful and serene, site owner always on hand to help, cares immensely about your stay, very welcoming.

Only downside, showers can be cold and full of creepy crawlies. Owner's comment: Please note that from May 2010 we now have new separate Ladies / Gents, Toilet / Shower facilities.

Overall very good and well worth a stay, will return again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lady lee 1 review from this member

 The facilities are basic with plenty of piping hot water, but you really feel like your getting away from the city! The camping field is so beautiful, surrounded by woods and dramatic rolling hills. It is in a perfect position for walking and cycling on the south downs, seven sisters and to close to pretty villages. It is a little gem and some where I have already been back to twice and can't wait to go again.

The owner Mr Savage is friendly, on the ball but relaxed as he lets you have a fire, which is perfect. It is hard to find and the signs are easy to miss but its worth it. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tomguk 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a weekend away at this campsite.

Friendly owner, great location.

Toilet block a short walk away in the tennis club area, clean but very basic. It suited us but others might wish for amenities nearer to the tent camping. Owner's comment: Please note that from May 2010 we now have new separate Ladies / Gents, Toilet / Shower facilities.

I'd recommend this site definitely.

We went with our 7 month old baby - the 10:30 curfew was generally in force ( though we did have some teenagers driving round the field in the middle of the night once) so it was quiet and relaxed.

You can have a fire there if you keep it off the grass using bricks or whatever.

Perfect situation if you are walking the south downs or otherwise exploring the area - the sea is a 15 min drive away. The nearest village of Alfriston, is a lovely quaint village with some nice pubs and sights. Easily walkable to from the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Micksypixie 1 review from this member

 Depending on what sort of camping you like and what sort of camper you are, like Marmite, you will either love it or hate it! It is difficult situation to manage when our camping group (4 adults) are bitterly divided in opinion (2 guests wanted to turn on their heals straight away). If you lower your expectations, you will not be disappointed.

The campsite is less than 10 minutes walk into Alfriston which is beautiful - nice pubs selling Sussex ale, an amazing post office / deli and the NT Clergy House. The site itself is in a fantastic position with views of the South Downs, horses grazing on the valley slopes and tranquil sunsets. The site has limited flat areas however we found a nice spot upon a southerly flat ridge near the woods.

Access to the site is not great, both cars grounded along the rough drive at the entrance. You drive past an immaculate touring park for motorhomes, then past a rally field then into the site. The facilities are quite a walk away and are the most basic I have seen though at the end of the day, a shower is a shower and it was fine

Roy (The Owner) is keen to help out and cares that we are enjoying ourselves.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mohawk5 7 reviews from this member

 Have just enjoyed a sunny weekend at this really beautiful site. Situated at the end of a badly potholed lane and set in a wooded valley (we were lucky not to have much wind) this site is seriously scenic. You can pitch where you like on a choice of level or sloping ground; space is not a problem - there's acres of it. The grass was short and the ground seemed well drained.

Although there is no site shop, the pretty village of Alfriston is an easy 15 minute stroll and has several good, friendly pubs that all seem to serve food. There's also a surprisingly well-stocked general grocers. Although quite busy by Saturday, the site was really peaceful. We may just have been lucky, but we found the great mix of campers on site (families, couples and groups - including quite a large group of single lads!)were amongst the friendliest and most considerate we have come across. I say 'lucky' as we were not made aware of any 'rules' regarding noise, vehicles etc and the site has no visible warden presence other than visits from the owner to collect his site fees. However, people just sat outside their tents relaxing and chatting quietly until around midnight and then there was almost total peace and quiet.

Unfortunately...be aware that the facilities are really very poor. One toilet and one shower each for men and women and a couple of portaloos that we were told were for 'school groups'. Not only insufficient - and not that close - but I'm afraid, not clean either. Drinking water is also a bit of a problem: there are no working taps at all on the camping field, and although there are two on an adjacent caravan field the caravanners were adamant they were not for campers' use. Water is available from outside the toilets, but this is quite a distance from the camping field. Note from site owner: Please note that from May 2010 we now have new separate Ladies / Gents, Toilet / Shower facilities.

However, we were so impressed by the site's beautiful setting and the relaxed and peaceful atmosphere - we would definitely return. Next time though, we will be better prepared! You really need a reasonably-sized water carrier and strong arms; a torch, as there is no site lighting; and ideally an old fashioned camping loo and tent! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mky337 22 reviews from this member

 You can't fault the location of this camping only site, Alfriston is a lovely village, nice pubs, a great little post office/old fashioned village store and easy access to some beautiful walks.

There are 5 portaloos, one of which seemed to store the site refuse, two others were locked. As others have said, you can also use the facilities in the tennis club shed. For the gents, this was an old brown WC, a sink and a shower. There's 1 other shower of a similar standard next to the outside washing up area. Ok, there was hot water and toilet paper, but that was about it. Note from site owner: Please note that from May 2010 we now have new separate Ladies / Gents, Toilet / Shower facilities.

One last point, the access road is full of potholes, grounding my car several times on the way in and out. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kunlebarker 1 review from this member

 What a great site! Large field so even though it was quite busy we had as much privacy as we needed.

The location is perfect as the Village of Alfriston is just fantastic. The management of the site was friendly and facilities very good, although its a shame they were not a bit closer to the tents, although this did not spoil our enjoyment of the trip 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clarice1 2 reviews from this member

 Only had one night though would have loved to stay longer. The site is lovely and you can go for walks all round very easily, even the 3 year old enjoying the uphill walking.

Roy is a great host and really wants you to have a good time. The toilets and showers are fine, not luxurious, but do the job well. There is plenty of space on the site all in all no complaints other than the drunken group pitched by us! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kiwishane 1 review from this member

 This is a fantastic back to basics campsite, always enjoy the look on peoples faces after you arrive in darkness and they wake the next morning to an awesome view and so close to London. As a kiwi I love to get out of London as often as possible this being the perfect place to do it .Site facilities are basic, not suited to everyone but basic and gets the job done. The position of this campsite means you have immediate access to the south downs, river, beaches and my favourite friston forest for you mountain-bikers (great fun) The owner Roy is always keen to help out and is a real character. Cheers 


Previous     107 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Alfriston Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Alfriston Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Alfriston Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Alfriston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


32194 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement