Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Site Reviews

Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site
1 South Balfern
Kirkinner
Newton Stewart
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG8 9DB
Tel: 01988 840613
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 96 Reviews
                10/10 from 96 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nickyjane 1 review from this member

This site is amazing! The owners couldn't do emough to make you feel welcome, and they take pride in their site. The facilities are so clean and spacious. There is a small play area for the children, but no swings or slides (sandpit, basketball and swing ball only). I had 4 yr old twins and a two year old, and felt completely at ease with them walking around and exploring. There is no shop, but a van comes once a week selling essentials. You are really in the middle of nowhere here, and there is little to do but unwind and relax. EXCELLENT! Would recommend to anyone, except those with older children as I expect they will bore of it easily!

Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rdt2 4 reviews from this member

Having just spent three nights here for the Wigtown Book Festival, we can only agree with the other reviewers. It being October, the site was very quiet but the high standards were still maintained - the hot water was still hot and the heating was still on. The owners are seasoned campers and it shows in the facilities - sensible shower cubicles with quality fittings and six hooks in each. No more having to hang towel, clothes, specs, etc all on one hook. One of the best sites we've visited - and open almost all year round.

No shop or pub within walking distance - so take in what provisions you need and enjoy the peace. Being adjacent to working farms, expect to hear the animals in the distance. Idyllic.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Liz Wade 6 reviews from this member

Arrived home from Drumroamin Caravan Park on Sunday 9th September after a wonderful week. Thought we were only going Sunday to Friday but decided to stay Sunday to Sunday. Tired out and stressed when we arrive but came home still tired but more relaxed. Wished we could have stayed longer.

All facilities were always spotless at any time of day. Leslie and Ralph a great couple and Snowey, our Beardie, fell for Mags the Brown Labrador.

Well worth a stay.

Liz and Malc Wade and of course Snowey

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DavidKirsty 1 review from this member

Great site, Lesley and Ralph the owners are great, shower/toilet block all ways clean the showers are huge and free, plus the water is always hot.
 
Next to the showers is a room with washing machines, dryers and sinks for both clothes and dishes plus a freezer with FREE ice cubes and if you don't have your own you can use some ice pack's FREE.
 
All the pitches are flat lots with electric hook up, all pitches are marked and are huge, we had a 6 man tent and large car and still had plenty of room.
 
When you pull off the main road on to the little track down to the camp site you think that you have made the wrong choice, but when you do pull up outside the reception and you get the guided tour you know you did make the correct choice. Anything you need to know just ask Lesley or Ralph and they are more than happy to help.
 
Great site there should be more out there like this.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paullynn 14 reviews from this member

This site is a hidden gem, I’m sure the people who know about it want it to stay this way but I’m sure that Lesley and Ralph, the owners, want it to be a huge success so here we go spreading the word.
Don’t let the road into the site, put you off, this is a fantastic site with large and level pitches, quite a few with EHU for tents and caravans alike, an excellent toilet block with large showercubicles with plenty of hooks and free hot water, excellent laundry and dishwashing facilities with washing up liquid supplied, games / library / TV roomfor relaxing in, lots of room for kids to run about without tripping over guy ropes.
The hosts are great and always on hand to ensure your holiday is problem free, Lesley even helped us put our tent up as we struggled in the wind.
Lots of nice villages in the surrounding area, if you don’t fancy cooking we can recommend the Kirkinner Inn inKirkinner about a mile from the site for eating in or takeaways. The Kilsture Woodsat the top of the access road to the site have a couple of marked footpaths andwe were lucky to, literally, stumble across a couple of deer when we walked it.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tildes30@msn.com 1 review from this member

WOW! What an amazing campsite. I dont think I can fault it at all apart from no shop but thats not the end of the world.
 
We had to set our tent in the lashing rain which was interesting but in the morning much to my surprise the ground wasnt marshy at all. 
 
Cracking toilet and shower block which was immaculate!
 
The owners there where extremely friendly and I would like this opportunity to say a massive thank you for doing such a great job. 
 
I could go on forever praising this camp/caravan site. ACE! *****

Date of Visit: July 2005 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Olivesnpasta 1 review from this member

This is the only campsite I have ever found that has left me with a feeling of total relaxation, even with 3 young boys. Theres loads of space, (even a space set aside for play!),loads of space and loads of space. The facilities are spotless, everything works, the games room is perfect. We normally avoid any campsite that says gamesroom, but this really was different. It is just what you need.
I look forward to returning this year

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karla65 6 reviews from this member

Visited this beautiful little treasure of a site during the May Day Bank Holiday. Very well tended grounds, huge pitches, some with EHUs. The toilets and showers were immaculate. There was a big laundry/washing up room, with scourers and washing-up liquid provided, and a big rec room, with tv, books, comfy settees, table and chairs, etc. Father in law went in there to watch Dalziel and Pascoe! T

he site is very small and quiet, but well-situated if you want to tour around Kirkcudbrightshire, Wigtownshire and Galloway. It is down a little single track past a lot of farms, and so there is no traffic noise, no passing cars, and if you stand at the gate, you can see Wigtown Bay! The owners were friendly and unobtrusive, and had a very friendly dog!

The entertainment for kids was a bit sparse, just a sandpit and a basketball hoop, but our 5 year old loved it, and the other children on the site just seemed to enjoy running wild around the site. We did not actually spend a lot of time on the site during the day!

It is a bit windy, so make sure you are very well pegged down, and some stone pegs would not come amiss! We had a big of a blow and rainstorm whilst we were there, and the pegs holding down our front porch popped free, collapsing it a bit, and we had to tie the guy ropes to the fence, but all was well, and it was fine the next day.

No bar, no club, no pool, no noisy neighbours, off the main road, quiet, peace, just what we were looking for, and we found it.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jesssiex 1 review from this member

We stayed at this campsite after reading the wonderful reviews on here. Lovely flat pitches which are 10 metres wide for those of us with large tents, the toilets and showers are free and very clean.
 
Free washing up liquid, scourers, ice also use of picnic tables. There is a local shop and pub a couple of miles away and supermarkets available in Newton Stewart which is around 8 miles away.
 
The only problem here was the ants which attacked me each night in bed!
 
One of the best campsites we have stayed at 9 out of 10.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MamaBo 1 review from this member

What a great little site. We chose Dunroamin after reading earlier reviews and were not disappointed.

The site is perfectly flat grass (heaven for those of us with large tents) with spacious marked pitches. Pitches round the sides of the field have electric hook ups, those in the centre don't. The site was quiet when we arrived and we were free to choose our pitch.

The friendly owners are tent campers themselves and the facilities have been thoughtfully planned. The showers and toilets were spotless, freshly decorated and looked brand new. Shower cubicles were huge, with plenty of well placed hooks for hanging clothes/towels. There is a family shower room too - but the main showers are so big that you could easily take kids in with you. Hot water is free, the facilities are open round the clock and they are centrally heated!

There is a laundry/washing up room - washing machine and tumble dryer (50p for 20 mins) although if the weather is good you can use the outdoor rotary clothes line. Immaculate washing up sinks with plenty of worktop space round them, cloths, scourers and washing up liquid all provided. There is a freezer for ice packs and ice is provided for campers to take for drinks.

The games room has a small TV, pool table and a selection of books. This is a real bonus on a chilly evening if you are tenting. For the kids there is a sandpit, swingball and basketball hoop.

There is a small shop in Kirkinner, just a couple of minutes drive away, a Co-op in Wigtown and a few more shops in Newton-Stewart. You do need to plan provisions ahead as this is not late-night or 24 hour shopping territory - one reason to come here! The Bladnoch Inn, just outside Wigtown, does reasonable bar-food but sadly no real ale.

£11 a night for 2 adults and monster tent - a bargain! We will definitely be back.

Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2483 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019