Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart > Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site Reviews

Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site
1 South Balfern
Kirkinner
Newton Stewart
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG8 9DB
Tel: 01988 840613  or  07752471456
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 98 Reviews
                10/10 from 98 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  98 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fitboe 2 reviews from this member

A wonderful Site set in a lovely idyllic location. The pitches were large and flat all the facilities were spotless with loads of little personal touches like spare freezer blocks, ice cubes, hairdryer, and much more. I agree with the comments on other reviews but in my opinion the best way to appreciate how good this place is is to stay there. Absolutely FAB!

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Arabella 1 review from this member

We really liked this site - very well designed facilities, the owners clearly thought about what campers want, not just what they could get away with! My partner is disabled so we were given a space close to the toilets etc; no problems with steps, polished floors, or any of the other hazards that we often find when camping.

Dog-friendly too - nice walks close by.

Friendly, helpful & clean. Recommended.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nickyjane 1 review from this member

This site is amazing! The owners couldn't do emough to make you feel welcome, and they take pride in their site. The facilities are so clean and spacious. There is a small play area for the children, but no swings or slides (sandpit, basketball and swing ball only). I had 4 yr old twins and a two year old, and felt completely at ease with them walking around and exploring. There is no shop, but a van comes once a week selling essentials. You are really in the middle of nowhere here, and there is little to do but unwind and relax. EXCELLENT! Would recommend to anyone, except those with older children as I expect they will bore of it easily!

Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rdt2 4 reviews from this member

Having just spent three nights here for the Wigtown Book Festival, we can only agree with the other reviewers. It being October, the site was very quiet but the high standards were still maintained - the hot water was still hot and the heating was still on. The owners are seasoned campers and it shows in the facilities - sensible shower cubicles with quality fittings and six hooks in each. No more having to hang towel, clothes, specs, etc all on one hook. One of the best sites we've visited - and open almost all year round.

No shop or pub within walking distance - so take in what provisions you need and enjoy the peace. Being adjacent to working farms, expect to hear the animals in the distance. Idyllic.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Liz Wade 6 reviews from this member

Arrived home from Drumroamin Caravan Park on Sunday 9th September after a wonderful week. Thought we were only going Sunday to Friday but decided to stay Sunday to Sunday. Tired out and stressed when we arrive but came home still tired but more relaxed. Wished we could have stayed longer.

All facilities were always spotless at any time of day. Leslie and Ralph a great couple and Snowey, our Beardie, fell for Mags the Brown Labrador.

Well worth a stay.

Liz and Malc Wade and of course Snowey

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DavidKirsty 1 review from this member

Great site, Lesley and Ralph the owners are great, shower/toilet block all ways clean the showers are huge and free, plus the water is always hot.
 
Next to the showers is a room with washing machines, dryers and sinks for both clothes and dishes plus a freezer with FREE ice cubes and if you don't have your own you can use some ice pack's FREE.
 
All the pitches are flat lots with electric hook up, all pitches are marked and are huge, we had a 6 man tent and large car and still had plenty of room.
 
When you pull off the main road on to the little track down to the camp site you think that you have made the wrong choice, but when you do pull up outside the reception and you get the guided tour you know you did make the correct choice. Anything you need to know just ask Lesley or Ralph and they are more than happy to help.
 
Great site there should be more out there like this.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paullynn 14 reviews from this member

This site is a hidden gem, I’m sure the people who know about it want it to stay this way but I’m sure that Lesley and Ralph, the owners, want it to be a huge success so here we go spreading the word.
Don’t let the road into the site, put you off, this is a fantastic site with large and level pitches, quite a few with EHU for tents and caravans alike, an excellent toilet block with large showercubicles with plenty of hooks and free hot water, excellent laundry and dishwashing facilities with washing up liquid supplied, games / library / TV roomfor relaxing in, lots of room for kids to run about without tripping over guy ropes.
The hosts are great and always on hand to ensure your holiday is problem free, Lesley even helped us put our tent up as we struggled in the wind.
Lots of nice villages in the surrounding area, if you don’t fancy cooking we can recommend the Kirkinner Inn inKirkinner about a mile from the site for eating in or takeaways. The Kilsture Woodsat the top of the access road to the site have a couple of marked footpaths andwe were lucky to, literally, stumble across a couple of deer when we walked it.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tildes30@msn.com 1 review from this member

WOW! What an amazing campsite. I dont think I can fault it at all apart from no shop but thats not the end of the world.
 
We had to set our tent in the lashing rain which was interesting but in the morning much to my surprise the ground wasnt marshy at all. 
 
Cracking toilet and shower block which was immaculate!
 
The owners there where extremely friendly and I would like this opportunity to say a massive thank you for doing such a great job. 
 
I could go on forever praising this camp/caravan site. ACE! *****

Date of Visit: July 2005 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Olivesnpasta 1 review from this member

This is the only campsite I have ever found that has left me with a feeling of total relaxation, even with 3 young boys. Theres loads of space, (even a space set aside for play!),loads of space and loads of space. The facilities are spotless, everything works, the games room is perfect. We normally avoid any campsite that says gamesroom, but this really was different. It is just what you need.
I look forward to returning this year

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karla65 6 reviews from this member

Visited this beautiful little treasure of a site during the May Day Bank Holiday. Very well tended grounds, huge pitches, some with EHUs. The toilets and showers were immaculate. There was a big laundry/washing up room, with scourers and washing-up liquid provided, and a big rec room, with tv, books, comfy settees, table and chairs, etc. Father in law went in there to watch Dalziel and Pascoe! T

he site is very small and quiet, but well-situated if you want to tour around Kirkcudbrightshire, Wigtownshire and Galloway. It is down a little single track past a lot of farms, and so there is no traffic noise, no passing cars, and if you stand at the gate, you can see Wigtown Bay! The owners were friendly and unobtrusive, and had a very friendly dog!

The entertainment for kids was a bit sparse, just a sandpit and a basketball hoop, but our 5 year old loved it, and the other children on the site just seemed to enjoy running wild around the site. We did not actually spend a lot of time on the site during the day!

It is a bit windy, so make sure you are very well pegged down, and some stone pegs would not come amiss! We had a big of a blow and rainstorm whilst we were there, and the pegs holding down our front porch popped free, collapsing it a bit, and we had to tie the guy ropes to the fence, but all was well, and it was fine the next day.

No bar, no club, no pool, no noisy neighbours, off the main road, quiet, peace, just what we were looking for, and we found it.

Previous     98 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1878 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019