Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart > Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site > Reviews

Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site
1 South Balfern
Kirkinner
Newton Stewart
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG8 9DB
Tel: 01988 840613  or  07752471456
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/04/2023 to 31/10/2023
           01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 132 Reviews
                10/10 from 132 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  132 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sparkey1957 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a week at this site. Great place for exploring the Solway Firth. Lovely clean wash rooms and toilets. The pitch was nice and large with wonderful views down to the sea and the distant hills.

If you want piece and quit though avoid the school holidays as there are lots of young families on site. Overall a wonderful site and very reasonably priced also. Would not hesitate to return here again. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Burns 3 reviews from this member

 We eventually made it to this site after a previous attempt was halted due to a family matter.

We were certainly glad that we made it as it is one of the best sites we have been to.

Lesley and Ralph were very helpful and we were surprised to see that they were always out and about working away on the site.

The surrounding area offered plenty to do and see while the site was relaxing and peaceful. It actually felt very comfortable and we could have stayed there a lot longer if time permitted(we did actually stay an extra 2 nights).

The kids loved the park and games room. It was a change for them to disappear for so long.

We are definitely planning on a return visit next year and the kids will be looking for the crazy horse in the field behind the site.

We can only agree with the other reviewers regarding the toilets/showers and other facilities - brilliant. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Caroline T 2 reviews from this member

 We visited this site for just one night on a short break from our home in Glasgow. We found it to be a super site, well maintained and spotless. (Lesley was cleaning the toilets at 11pm so they were clean for the morning - what dedication! And Ralph is constantly emptying the bins and checking the site to make sure its clean and tidy.)

We had a warm welcome onto the site by Lesley and she showed us around to make sure we knew where everything was. Our boys enjoyed using the games room and found a rope swing in the nearby forest too! We had a great pitch with lovely views.

Were very lucky with the weather too! Visited nearby Garlieston and had a lovely walk along the shore to Rigg Bay and through Galloway House Gardens. Its a lovely part of the country and the campsite just made it perfect.

Would have been good if you could buy milk and basic provisions on site but its not far at all by car to the local village. Hope to return in the not too distant future! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Robnixon 21 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 4 day visit to Drumroamin. What a fantastic site!

Great flat pitches with a lot of room. Electric pitches around the perimeter of the field, (non electric in the middle). Small park for the children to play in and a games room with sofas, TV, Pool table to occupy them later on.

Toilets / Kitchen facilities very good. 3 Showers in mens & womans, but rarely was anyone in them.

Great location with Garlistone, Isle of Whithorn, Newton Stewart etc all near by. Good Fish & Chips in Whithorn. No shops within walking distance, so just get supplies when you are out and about.

We visited Culzean Castle (quite a drive up the coast (45 miles), but well worth it for NT members). Also visited Portpatrick, Port Logan (go to the pond!) and Mull of Galloway another day. All great to see and visit.

We were lucky with the weather, but the day before we arrived it had rained all day, but pitches were dry, so drain well.

Site very clean. Bins emptied twice daily.

Definitely go back for longer next time. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Audrey + harry 1 review from this member

 We spent 3 nights on this peaceful camp site, perfect for visiting surrounding area. Pitches are superb, lovely view of the hills and sea.

The toilet and shower blocks are the cleanest we have seen in all our touring years (25 years )

there is a room for relaxing to just sit or watch tv, play one of the numerous dvds that are available or choose a book to read.Great camp site and we cant wait to go back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Winkie 1 review from this member

 Flat and well maintained campsite with excellent facilities including very clean toilet and shower block with 2 washing machines (3 to operate), a tumble dryer (50p for 15 minutes), a fridge freezer with ice packs you can use and ice cubes in bags, a washing basket with pegs (there's a washing line outside too) and - most unexpectedly but very welcome - a hair dryer (and power socket in the toilet block next to a mirror).

There is also a sink for washing clothes by hand and 3 sinks for dishes, which come equipped with cloths, sponge scourers and washing up liquid.

Next-door to the shower block is a little room with books and games, a sofa, table and chairs, which you could use to relax in, write postcards, etc. Outside this there is a small play area for children, which has a sandpit and a basketball net.

The whole place is clean, tidy and well organised but it still feels reasonably wild because it's at the end of a mile long rough road (fine for cars driving slowly).

There's not much in the immediate area in terms of shops, etc. But this is part of its charm and what makes it quiet. The nearest village is Kirkinner, which has a pub and a post office shop, and I'm not sure how far it is but perhaps 2 miles from the campsite itself.

There are plenty of things to see and do in the surrounding area including several lovely gardens (Logan Botanic Gardens, Logan Gardens, Ardwell House Gardens and Glenwhan Gardens), the Mull of Galloway lighthouse and RSPB reserve (which also has a good cafe and shop), Sandhead beach (nice tearoom called Woodlea in Sandhead, well-stocked village shop and the excellent Tigh-na-mara restaurant), Portpatrick, Wigtown book town (amazing array of second hand bookshops which makes an excellent way to spend a wet day, and there's a nice cafe called Cafe Rendezvous there, as well as a couple of pubs serving good meals and a couple of other small cafes), Whithorn and Isle of Whithorn (the Steam Packet Inn there is very good for food and also stocks several real ales). There is also the wonderful Galloway Forest Park to explore if you fancy going inland a bit, which includes 3 information places with surprisingly good cafes and many woodland walks.

I've been going to the Galloway area since childhood and I still love it. It's a relatively undiscovered area of Scotland, in terms of tourism, and although it doesn't have the dramatic scenery of the northwest, it does have a very relaxing air about it and I find it a great place to wind down and chill out. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hever 5 reviews from this member

 Second time to the area but first time at the camp site.Breathtaking views, such a warm reception on arrival, shown where everything is and everywhere is exceptionally clean,

Leslie and Ralph are always working either cleaning, mowing or emptying bins, very helpful too if you need anything. Nice little playground too if you have little ones.

We spent 15 days here and although we suffered high winds and rain and the toilet block and laundry area was still very clean also the drainage on the site was good.

Will definitely be returning 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Linda B11 5 reviews from this member

 The site is as previously described with fantastic views, peaceful and very helpful owners.

The shower block and toilets were immaculate at all times. Although we found the water from the family shower runs towards the shower room door and the floors were slippy when wet this did not put us off in any way. We never had to queue for showers or toilets. Excellent washing up facilities with freezer for blocks and ice. Pitches were spacious and brilliant price of 15 per night including EHU.

Our three year old enjoyed the children's play park which was wooden and looked quite new. We visited the beach at Galloway House Gardens at the owners suggestion and we were not disappointed with the lovely walk through mature gardens to a private beach. We had a lovely quiet break and would certainly recommend. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Justsojoe 1 review from this member

 We visited this site as part of The Avondale Club and were definitely not disappointed. Lovely site with perfectly immaculate shower block, play area,level pitches, beautiful views, and excellent owners.

We were lucky with the weather, lovely and sunny, plenty of places to visit and lovely walks around the site. Garlieston was our favourite - especially Galloway House Gardens and the secluded beach which you could access on foot.

We had a lovely Sunday Lunch at the Bladnoch Arms pub, and we used the Games Room on site for a Cheese & Wine evening. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happy campers75 4 reviews from this member

 Spent 3 nights here with my husband daughter and her friend, this is a great child friendly sight, totally remote and safe feeling, you are welcome to use a bbq but no fires / firepits allowed on this site,there is a climbing frame, swing and shute at the far end of the site and at the bottom of the site there is swingball and basketball which proved a big hit with our girls (and mum & dad) there is also a sandpit for younger kids.

There is a games room / dining room/ tv room which is great if its wet. The toilet / shower block was excellent, plenty of them so no queueing up at busy times,loads of space and it was spotless, there is even a hair dryer,

There is dishwashing facilities, washing/drying machines, even a freezer for your ice blocks, also plenty of ice left by the owner which is a nice touch,(nothing worse than a warm drink)

Set in a beautiful location with great walks and if your lucky a fab sunset,there is a co-op about 10 mins drive away and some other shops and pubs, you should get everything you need here.

There is a couple of horses in the field on site, they seemed to like our girls especially when they had an apple for them. Overall this is a fabulous site would recommend you check it out you won't be dissapointed,we had a great time, will visit again. 


Previous     132 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newton Stewart      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 01/02 to 04/02
Held in Feb 2024, caravans, motorhomes, campervans, holiday homes, lodges, tents, boats and accessories all in one destination. Find out more!

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5447 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2023


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
2023 Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £200 each PLUS a 2023 Christmas Day Star Prize worth £919

Open Today's Window



Advertisement