Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sunnyside Croft Touring Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Arisaig > Sunnyside Croft Touring Site > Reviews

Sunnyside Croft Touring Site
2 Bunacaimb
Arisaig
Arisaig
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
PH39 4NT
Tel: 07887 810051
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 28/03/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 98 Reviews
                9/10 from 98 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  98 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Darrylwebb 40 reviews from this member

 Superbly appointed site.

A lot of thought has gone into the facilities at this site. The owners have obviously toured themselves as there are so many clever little touches. Toilet/shower block is spotless, couldn't be better.

The owners are very welcoming and friendly. Iain apologised in the morning for not being there to welcome us the previous evening.

There are a good number of others sites around Arisaig, but when I'm next passing this direction, it'll definitely be this site I'll head for.

Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scott13 2 reviews from this member

 On our arrival, we received a very warm welcome. Julie took the time to show us around the site facilities and show us around the site, giving us a choice of pitch. Iain and Julie are very knowledgeable of the surrounding areas, which was a great help.

Site facilities are out of this world, very clean and well looked after.

We both will be returning again soon, I hope. Since visiting this site, I just keep recommending to everyone, I meet. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spuddie 2 reviews from this member

 We had a superb stay at Sunnyside Croft with our two children 10/7, so much so that we extended out stay from 1 week to 11 days! The facilities are immaculate, endless free hot water, and always checked on regularly.

Freezer and microwave for campers use, and lots of info on local attractions. Nice little shop with basic and a few luxuries, and wonderful ice cream!

The electric is done by card metre and we hardly used anything, very fair way to charge instead of so much a day.

The beach is around 200 yards away and lovely and safe for our children to play in the water, and in the rock pools at low tide.

Lots to do in the area, boat trips to the islands from Arisaig and Mallaig, train to Fort William, Ben Nevis and fabulous beaches at Camusdarach.

We were lucky to have wonderful weather. Had a look at other sites in the area, and there is no comparison if you want good facilities and quiet after 11pm.

Ian & Julie should be very proud of what they have achieved, and despite working tirelessly they always had time for a chat, and to give out local advice. Would we go again? Try and stop us! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Zak 2012 4 reviews from this member

 First visit to this site and will definitely return! Friendly welcome and very helpful when we needed it.

Facilities clean and well kept, 1st experience of paying for electricity as you use it and very economical way of doing it.

Great location to beach, dog friendly, small shop offering the basics, shops a short drive away, great pub a short walk away which is dog friendly and great food if you don't mind a walk but we took the car!

Loads of different beaches to use around about, peaceful even though it's busy and hardly any traffic! 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tillystravels 2 reviews from this member

 This excellent new site was a super find having seen their ad' in the Cal Mac timetable. With the facilities being less than 12 months old everything worked perfectly, the underfloor heating was a treat as the weather was quite cold when we visited.

The owners were helpful and pleasant and we wish them every success. You are allowed to park in any direction on your pitch to take best advantage of your view out to the bay. The shop has local meats, cheese and smoked products. If you are able to collect from Morar the unusual find of a quality Thai takeaway is a real bonus. New to us was payment cards for electricity. It meant you paid for what you used, much better than some random amount added to your pitch fee.

The only minor criticism, there were very few level pitches. They were all large gravel pitches, well drained and needed to be when we stayed but we resorted to double chocks to get our motorhome level. In the high winds we found this un-nerving. As we completed our journey round Scotland we pointed other travellers in their direction. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DIGO 4 reviews from this member

 Exceptionally well run, spotlessly clean, modern site with most pitches having beautiful views of Eigg & Rhum.

Owners on site and easily accessible --helpful and welcoming.

Arisaig, 2 miles approx, is a delightful village with several eating places and a few shops

Lovely sandy and sheltered beach easily accessible from site making this an ideal spot for families. Trips to Eigg, Skye, Rhum and Canna leaving from Mallaig (7miles from the site) provide great days out.

Without question the best site we have visited. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Greg42 2 reviews from this member

 Booked this site after reading previous reviews, and we weren't disappointed, we had booked for 2 nights but loved it sooo much we stayed for another 2. The site itself, beautiful, well positioned, fantastic views to the isles, The facilities are without doubt the BEST we have ever had, everything is spotless and top quality, extremely well thought out and a pleasure to use. A white sandy beach is a minute away and sunsets to soothe the soul. The owners Ian and Julie are without doubt the nicest people you could come across and have obviously worked very hard to create this haven. There is a static caravan to hire and also a wonderful lodge to rent, which is very cosy looking. There is a pub/hotel called the Cnoc na Faire just up the hill which can be strolled in 15 mins. The site has its own well stocked shop with home grown lamb and beef and other essentials, there is plenty of livestock and wildlife to be seen, this is one place which is impossible to be bored in. We are already booking up for next year, I suggest you do the same. This site sets the bar very high for standards, and I don't think can be beaten. Well done Ian and Julie. 


Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fiona Caroline 1 review from this member

 First time we'd been away in our new-to-us but fairly ancient caravan, with 2 children, in the winter! But Ian & Julie are so helpful & welcoming. They have designed and built an excellent site, in an amazing location. The views of Eigg & Rum are stunning from every pitch and the Cullins on Skye can be seen just round the corner. The hot water in the washrooms was instant & the family bathroom was wonderful. Everywhere was immaculate and clean. They have clearly thought of everything that will make your stay as comfortable and content as possible. Not much open in Feb but loads of lovely beaches and lochs to explore. We went out to the Ardnamurchan Lighthouse, along Loch Morar (didn't spot Morag the Monster!) and had some nice lunches in Mallaig at The Steam Inn & The Chlachain Inn. But the beach in front of Sunnyside Croft is so lovely - great for scrambling over the rocks or just enjoying the white sand & clear water. We're besotted & would happily recommend this site & the lodge & static caravan to anyone without a tent or caravan. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bill.lennox 2 reviews from this member

 Sunnyside Croft Camp-site is now open as recently Built by the Owners Julie & Ian Bryce.

What a beautiful job they have made of there New premises too.

We had a few nights stay and loved it so much we stayed on longer. We must say it does live up to the websites promise of a 21st century campsite.

On arrival you will be welcomed by very friendly owners who are on hand to advise you on all the local amenities.

The reception area which also doubles as a small very well stocked shop, you will be able to buy locally sourced produce as well as the all the basics needed.

The pitches are very spacious and has been well thought out. Unlike some other sites in the area, its nice to have a dedicated pitch that's yours for the duration of your stay. When we arrived Ian got his small tractor out and positioned our Caravan Tow Hitch forward facing the Islands very nice and thoughtful gesture on his behalf. ( And took it out on our departure)

The facilities block is one of the best we have ever used. Family bathroom and disabled facilities are available they really are top specification just like the other Toilets.

A Tourers/Campers kitchen complete with covered dinning area, washing up facilities (even had wash liquid & Brush!) and microwave for cooking and an Ice box for campers to use all are a godsend for campers in bad weather as well as a good meeting place for folks to socialise.

No “Electric Hook Up” tariff here, you buy electricity cards which means you pay for the electricity you use rather than paying up front?

The hire of the “Electric Hook Up”, is fairer we only used £1. 10p of electricity in 24 hours and that was running T. V. Etc etc.

“Bunacaimbe” White Sand beaches are just a short walk away and the Sunsets have to be seen to be believed in this Area !

We were lucky to experience “The Red” Sunset a couple of times and now have Picture Post Card photos.

Back to the facilities block, there's also a laundry room boasting a washing machine, tumble drier and ironing facilities very handy and a few pounds to use each item with Wash Tablets provided.

Of course this area is all about the views, the views from the elevated pitches and the Rocky areas are totally stunning ! A must to See!

All in all, A great experience in a smashing modern site that with People who care and make you feel very welcome and is a great base to explore the Highlands and the Islands. We used the Local Bus service a lot by using our Bus passes. The “Shiel Bus” passes the sites road end so our Car was parked up few days and I let someone else drive while I viewed the sights. Great!

We will most definitely use “Sunnyside Croft” Campsite again and again. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Morticiaskeeper 17 reviews from this member

 The best campsite I have ever stayed on!

We only booked three nights due to another site not responding to our enquiry emails. I think we made the right choice.

Ian & Julie are two of the nicest site owners we have ever met. A full tour of the facilities on arrival and direction to our spacious pitch.

The facilities were excellent. Not just the newness of the building, but the layout and management. Even after a rainy day and grass cutting, everything was spotless. After a suspected incident involving non residents, we were all issued with a door key for night time access.

The location is stunning, She Who Must Be Obeyed has now placed Arisaig above Lauterbrunnen in the all time favourites list! The beach is a two minute walk with lovely clear water and the most amazing sunsets.

The shop is well stocked with local produce, some extra black pudding was ordered just for us! Being a climber, I was given excellent guidance to the various crags in the area.

I would have only two suggestions, the shower temperature was a little bit hot for me, and a coffee vending machine would be nice.

The most expensive site I have stayed on, but the most impressive. Our original three night booking was extended to five nights, because we just didn't want to leave.

This is the way a campsite should be. Ian & Julie are showing the other sites how it should be done.

We'll be back. 


Previous     98 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Sunnyside Croft Touring Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sunnyside Croft Touring Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Sunnyside Croft Touring Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Arisaig      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4089 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement