Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Beacon Cottage Farm Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > St Agnes > Beacon Cottage Farm Holidays Reviews

Beacon Cottage Farm Holidays
Beacon Cottage
Beacon Drive
St Agnes
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR5 0NU
Tel: 01872 552347
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 27 Reviews
                7/10 from 27 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Picturemaker 1 review from this member

 Very clean site and pristine facilities, reception very helpful and welcoming.

Great location, Will definitely return.

Small play area for children, no kids clubs or similar, nice quiet site plenty of outdoor space for play 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Magiceye 10 reviews from this member

 On arrival at the site which is very tight to negotiate because of the stone walls around the farm we were met by a lady who told us where we could park up, we paid our fees which shocked me 37. 50 per night 2 adults one dog (jack russel) awning no hard standing.

Off we went but soon found it was so packed that we requested to be moved, that was not an option, stay and put up with. We had two tents one either side of our caravan on the offside there was 5 feet between the van and the tent, on the other side I had to ask the tent person to move his car over as I had no room to erect the awning, it was ridiculously close so much so that my car had to be parked at the rear end of the caravan.

Looking around the site we found the toilet block for Males had one Loo and four showers available there was another block with 2 more loo's a short walk away, but for a site that holds around 200+ people they are certainly very short on facilities for the price, what we paid you would have expected your own private toilet.

Now the site itself as a working farm it has all the attributes every morning around 0800 hrs there is the roundup of the cows (I suspect for milking) the noise for the next 45 minutes is unbearable, this happens again in the afternoon around 1700 hrs not a nice secluded peaceful site, then you have the gardener on his sit on mower that does not cut, if he went over one patch once he did 15 times, up and down a real pain.

No one would mind if the grass actually was being cut. However with cows come the inevitable flies, as we were on the top field and close to the barns we were covered in flies 24/7 the awning filled up the caravan filled up with all the flyscreen deployed there were so many you just could not keep them out. We found after about day 3 that the woodwork and surfaces were covered in black dots also our awning, on checking this was Fly saliva associated with the cow pats that was now all over inside and out the caravan, disgusting.

In conclusion I would say that this is a site that is making the most financially out of unwary customers, and using the great scenery around to justify the extortionate cost's, the site seems to want to carry on with farming and cram in as many campers no matter what, This place for us NEVER AGAIN. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bigpig 3 reviews from this member

 One of our favourite campsites, we return each year to enjoy the lovely walks and views from both the coastal path and the Beacon.

The toilets are kept impeccably clean and the site is quiet and pleasant.

St Agnes is a wonderful village to have nearby with a good fish and chip shop, bakers and an excellent pizza takeaway. Chapel Porth is a pleasant walk away, St Agnes is also accessible on foot.

Hearing the occasional moo is a nice reminder that you're on a working farm. The animals bring a lot of character to the site.

This site can be windy as it's on the coast but there are some sheltered pitches as well. The views from the site are worth putting up with a bit of wind. The owner and staff are friendly and do their best to help you enjoy your stay. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mintcake 1 review from this member

 We stayed here 2 nights as we were attending a wedding on the beacon.

We were very impressed with this campsite the views are amazing, the pitches are large, the facilities are clean and the staff are friendly.

When we arrived the weather was awful and we found that our hook up cable was too short. We were lent a longer cable.

Our pitch was a good size we have an mpv and an 8 man tent and there was still plenty of room left.

The shower block was a 2 minute walk from the field we were in they were very clean. There was also a washroom which was also well equipped.

We didn't bring our children who would of loved the play area.

There was a van that turned up on the Saturday morning selling coffee, croissants etc

We will definitely be bringing them back.

Yes the approach roads are narrow like many in rural Cornwall. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HOLM200277 2 reviews from this member

 This was a fantastic site. The pitch near the office was awesome. Really quiet after about 9.

The toilet block was so clean and so were the toilets and there is always hot water. The owners are really helpful. St agnes is only a couple of mins in the car or 20 walk.

The dog field is huge. They have breakfast rolls for sale some days and they have a strawberry man coming selling fresh pick strawberrys.

Would I go back ha just try stopping me. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Barnabys 29 reviews from this member

 Arrived on a lovely sunny day, narrow lane for about 2 miles leading to the site which is quite daunting as we have a twin axle 8m van and I'm experienced at towing. Very tight getting into the site and after checking in at reception was helped into the access of goose field which is also a tight squeeze through the gate. Once in the field it slopes down with breathtaking views of the sea.

we were pitched at the bottom corner and had ample room for our awning etc.

Water point close by but the elsan was a hike up next to the toilet block.

Good tv, mobile and 4G signal which is unusual for Cornwall.

Rest of the week was extremely windy but our awning held up OK but if you're in the middle of the field it could be a problem.

Showers are push button and last for about 3 seconds and are clean and hot.

Good kids play area in a separate field, also mobile food vans on different days for currys/sea food etc.

It is possible to walk to the beach but carrying bags etc it's too much, best to drive and pay to park but you need to be early as not too many spaces.

Very peaceful site and friendly staff but we won't return to this area as the access to the beaches are too difficult with parking etc, will go back between Padstow and Newquay next time as much more choice of beaches and easier to park.

We did however enjoyed our stay even though the weather wasn't at it's best. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smiffinch 24 reviews from this member

 Fantastic location, right near the coastal path, 5 minutes from Wheal Coates (tin mine) and only 15-20 minutes walk from Chapel Porth beach. Trevaunance Cove and Porthtowan also not far, all beaches great for bodyboarding and surfing.

Really nice site with lots of room, spacious, flat pitches, very well maintained, very good facilities which are kept spotlessly clean. Although there are not actually that many toilets, it didn't seem to get too busy, perhaps because there are a number of caravanners who use their own.

No shop on site (only milk and eggs) but St Agnes has 2 good shops (and some nice pubs).

It's quite expensive though, we paid 34. 50 a night for a family in one tent. In school holidays you have to book for a minimum of 7 nights. We stayed for 6 nights but were asked to pay for 8 because we slightly changed our dates.

Also I was slightly disappointed that having booked over 3 months previously, we were put on the Goose Field, which is the outermost field, mostly containing caravans and people who have just turned up and not booked (and who don't always stay 7 nights). The advantage of this field is that it has fantastic coastal views. The disadvantage is that it is very exposed and windy, especially in a tent. And of course, this being Cornwall, we did have a couple of bad days and we now have two broken tent poles. Next time I would probably go to a cheaper, more flexible site, or just not bother booking. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Campy124 11 reviews from this member

 We didn't book but rang up the day before we came from another site, we were given a space with fantastic sea views as far as St Ives, this is a nice quiet site with good clean toilets etc.

Just over the road is a nice walk with fantastic views along the coast, we were watching seals swimming down below and walked to the next bay along.

The owners were very helpful and pleasant, Loved this site but was a little expensive.

Highly recommend and would return. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SussexUK 2 reviews from this member

 There are a lot of good things about this site particularly if you have children. We had a pitch very close to the playing field which they loved and the views from the site were beautiful. The facilities are excellent yet I would question the claim that you are only a 10min walk from Chapel Porth Beach, particularly if you have young children, they might get down to the beach yet at the end of the day on the beach its quite a tall order to ask them to make the climb back, you are likely to find yourself making the return journey yourself to return with the car, yet there is an easy pickup point for that.

That said what we were really disappointed in was the site owner who choose to see fit to allow a group of 7 single guys and one young woman to pitch in a single tent right next to our tent and two other families with young children. The group spent the whole of the first day drinking and progressively got louder and louder and lewder and lewder. This booking was done even though the owners explicitly say they don't allow groups of singles to camp on the site - 'Parties of single youths are not accepted'. When the owner was approached they sough to justify rather than rectify. Thankfully the group were only there for three nights and they were responsive to requests to cut out the swearing and turn down the noise.

Just on this basis alone I don't think we would return. Its not just the fact that they booked them on and next to young families when they explicitly say they don't on their website it is also the way the concerns were handled. Hence the overall rating. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gump1975 6 reviews from this member

 This is a fine site. St Agnes and its beaches are beautiful and the beauty of this site is that the beach is 15 mins walk away along what must be one of the most stunning coastal paths in Cornwall.

The facilities are clean, pitches are adequate sized, great playground, peaceful site. Limited number of toilets and showers along with inconsistent hot water supply and expensive laundry facilities do make it feel a little expensive for what you get.

However, you're paying for location and views - which are breath taking. As the tv programme says, it's all about location, location, location! Beware of goose field- it's very windy. 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Beacon Cottage Farm Holidays child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Beacon Cottage Farm Holidays?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Beacon Cottage Farm Holidays dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Agnes      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5959 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement