Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Axehayes Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Exeter > Axehayes Farm Reviews

Axehayes Farm
Clyst St Mary
Exeter
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX51DP
Tel: 01395 232336


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 8 Reviews
                8/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fen Marshall 17 reviews from this member

 The impression of this site probably varies on which of the two fields you stay. We opted for the field with about ten other vans which were all seasonal and generally empty. It was close to the toilet block (OK, without being smart)with its 50p showers which lasted for ever. The site had an air of being only temporary. One side had Heras builders' fencing with an agricultural building beyond. It wasn't a site to sit around on but was really convenient for Exeter, Woodbury Common (don't miss the Maltsters' Arms in Woodbury) and Exmouth.

The other level field had a more rural look to it although a bit further for the facilities.

The owners were very pleasant and didn't hassle at all and we found this site rather better than my review sounds! 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ssmale 7 reviews from this member

 This reviewer should bear in mind the site fee of £14 per night which includes electric hook up, showers are 50p.

On arrival we followed the signage which sent us towards the reception/Private dwelling, turning here with a caravan is not easy. The actual pitches are to the left or right of this sign (not marked).

The site is split between some new industrial offices and is located at the edge of a small industrial estate.

We chose to pitch on the site which had the shower block, using the other site would have meant a trek to the loo. The Shower block is concrete and very basic, and home to many spiders. The Gents loos had two cubicles, one of which was out of order and the loo seat on the other was loose (most annoying). The ladies room also had two loos, the hand basins lacked soap.

The site did not appear to have any lighting and was poorly maintained, the electric hook ups and fire equipment were almost hidden with hawthorn and nettles. The Elsan point was not marked nor the single water tap, which was in an awkward place. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JWAL 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site on 22nd July 2016 for one night en-route to Cornwall. Selected this site because of its proximity to the M5/A30 and in this regard it was excellent. There are two camping areas with electric hookup. Where we were is a South facing semicircular area with large pitches. There is a modern toilet and shower block which is spacious and provides lots of hot water. The owner is friendly and helpful, and the site represents good value at £14 per night.

We were directed to a farm shop about two miles away with café, chip shop etc. Pricey but nice quality produce. Lots of supermarkets etc. Locally.

Only stayed for the one night but would certainly return here for a longer period to explore this area. Although an excellent stop over site at the end of the M5 it would be worth staying a night or three for a proper break before venturing West. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Werthemods 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Axehayes farm over the august bank holiday & we were pleasantly surprised. Great value for money(£14. Per night inc EHU). That was for our touring caravan 2 adults, 1 child & 1 dog. Seperate washrooms with 1 shower. Small cost, site was quite even over the BH. 10 minutes drive from m5 junction 30. Nothing on site to keep kids occupied. Fantastic location for stopover or between dawlish & exmouth. Large dog walking facility. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Heavymetal 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night on the way to Haven at Devon Cliffs, and stayed again on the way back from Haven and would happily have stayed here rather than go to Haven.

Its very easy to find, just off jct 30 of the M5. They have 2 fields and let you choose your pitch. The pitches are very widely spaced out and in a single row, so you didn't feel like battery hens, like some sites, with a field in front which was ideal for the kids to play in.

The toilet block was lovely and clean, didn't use the showers. They don't have a washing up poin, but that wasn't a problem.

The pub/restaurant 'Cat and Fiddle' is a short walk away, but you have to walk on the grass verge of a busy road as there is no pavement, so may be awkward for little children, it was fine for my 8 and 11 year old. It was very quiet, but I don't know why because the food was very good, and I would definitely recommend eating there. They also have an outdoor play area and an indoor ball pool for children under 5.

The campsite was a very quiet site and lovely and peaceful, even though it was Easter weekend.

We will definitely return to this site and use it as a base for local attractions, I think it was very close to Crealy adventure park and there is a bus stop near the Cat and Fiddle that could take you into Exeter. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tazzie71 12 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 4 nights over Whitsun holidays with a 3yr old and 2 spaniels.

Lovely quiet site even though it was the holidays. Right on the main Sidmouth road not too far off Junc 30 M5, so was easy to get too and find. We have a 28ft van and access to this site was easy.

You pick your pitch which are hardstanding. Large pitches and mostly level.

There are 2 toilets and 1 shower per gender which was adequate - never queued for a shower. 50p for the shower which lasted for a nice long shower. Plenty of hot water too. The facilities appear to have been renovated and are spotlessly clean.

Didnt see the owners, only the first night when we paid but I'm sure they would be there if you needed them.

Quite cheap too at £14 pn inc electric.

There is a pub 10mins walk away which was lovely. Food was great. It had an outdoor play area plus a ball pit indoors too. However there are no pavements so we didn't risk the walk with a little one as this is a very busy road.

This is a great little site to explore Devon. We hope to return here. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Angelica01uk 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed there for Easter weekend. This is a lovely quiet site. The site is split in between 2 fields. The main field had about 10 caravans/motorhomes and the field we were in had maximum 3 vans during the weekend and 1 tent.

All pitches appeared to be hard standing. Our pitch was sloping and we needed blocks under one side to get the van level but most pitches appeared to be level.

The toilet block is modern and spotlessly clean with 2 toilets and 1 shower for each gender.

The access to the site is great, a couple of hundred yards off the main Exeter > Sidmouth road. There are so many little sites in Devon which are hidden down country lanes and almost impossible to get to, this was a refreshing change!

We paid only £12 a night including electric - Very cheap for the usually expensive Easter weekend. The owner of the site was very trusting - we only really saw him when we went to pay.

This is a basic site but a great location for exploring East Devon.

The Cat & Fiddle pub just down the road was good for an evening meal. There's a lovely little Chinese takeaway in Woodbury we stumbled across too.

Will definitely be returning! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PJ-67 3 reviews from this member

 Found this site last year, but ended up at Leadstone, Dawlish Warren as I lost the number.

Anyway, found it this year, gave them a ring for the bank holiday for me and my son, quoted £8 per night,£24 in total. Booked there and then!

The site is on a an operating farm with only chickens,just crop producing. It is split into two fields with a shower/toilet block in one of them, comprising of two toilets and one shower for each the sexes. Charging 50p for about 8mins, it was long enough and was a decentt temperature. Their was also electric shaving points as well,not sure about the ladies !SORRY, no washing-up area. No playground.

The fields are generally quite flat,with one of having a gentle slope. Both surrounded by hedges. There was hook-ups on the hard standings,not sure for tents though.

Nearest city was Exeter, a couple of miles away.Also nearby is Exeter Airport, Westpoint Showground and Crealy which is why I booked, just 10mins walk away. Pub, 10mins walk with child playground and family dining room.

We cycled to Exmouth on Saturday, mostly back roads, got to Lymestone,then used the cycle route to Exmouth. On the way back we followed it all the way to Exton. Purpose built walk/cycle route and fantastic scenery. DO IT and get an Explorer Map from the Library and find it!

This is a no frills place, but at the price it is hard to beat on bank holidays. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Axehayes Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Axehayes Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Axehayes Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Exeter      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6346 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements