Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Herding Hill Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Haltwhistle > Herding Hill Farm Reviews

Herding Hill Farm
Shield Hill
Haltwhistle
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE49 9NW
Tel: 01434 320175
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: Wigwams, Pitches, Lodge, Tipis, Lotus Belle Tents
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 85 Reviews
                9/10 from 85 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  85 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wendy Allen 3 reviews from this member

 Very well kept site. Lovely setting and ideal for walking Hadrian's Wall

Facilities spotless, modern and well maintained.

Would highly recommend. Our only slight gripe would be the poor internet. Not that much of an issue! 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Fitkid 2 reviews from this member

 This is a very clean site with 5* toilet/ shower block that was great as it has a separate family room which meant my husband could take our 5 year old girl and 9 year old boy at the same time to get washed/showered etc. There was also 2 baths with showers in in the ladies shower room which meant we could wash all the sand off the children easily from our coastal visits.

There was lots of nice touches at this site - like dog water and a hook to attach dog lead to at the toilet block, washing up liquid and drying rack at the pots washing area. There was also lots of nice animals on site - but due to covid there wasn't the normal feeding and also it had a play area which was closed. There was also a well stocked shop. A big disappointment was there wasn't really a big flat field area where the boys could play football which usually they do lots of on campsites.

Near to the site we had great wood fired pizza at the Twice Brewed Inn, lovely food at the Black Bull.

It was fairly quiet in the morning apart from one morning which meant we could stay in bed till 7. 30/8am which is a must for me - although the donkey does eeyore at around 7. 30-8am!

For us - even though facilities were great - it was just too far from all the things we wanted to see in northumberland (apart from Hadrien's wall!). Also Haltwhistle seems to have its own weird microclimate which had a dark cloud over a lot of the time - as soon as we travelled away in the car each day the blue sky would come out! If we could move the site - we would definitely go again! 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Helena Ferguson 1 review from this member

 Without a doubt then nicest campsite I have ever stayed at.

The amenities were immaculate and the staff were all so friendly.

We had a number of amazing walks from the campsite and walked into Haltwhistle a couple of times.

The fire pit was a wonderful addition to sit around. The bbq sausages and burgers purchased from the shop were very high quality and tasty!

The campsite is in a beautiful location and I would highly recommend! Thank you! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Damaca 49 reviews from this member

 As others have said, this is a really lovely, well kept and friendly site.

You can walk 1/2 mile or so uphill from it to Hadrian's Wall which is definitely worth visiting. Vindolanda (Roman excavation site) is also walkable and one of the best, and best-explained, historical sites we have visited.

The llamas (alpacas?), donkey, chickens and rabbits on the site make for an interestingly nice ambience, and we fell asleep to the gentle sound of sheep chewing the cud immediately the other side of the drystone wall from our pitch. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cycosport 14 reviews from this member

 Lovely site and extremely well kept. Ideal for Hadrians Wall and the other great countryside.

Although due to covid there were a few restrictions, things such as the on site animals and small shop enhance the site.

Pitch size and facilities all great. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Charlo 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic camp and caravan site, 100% the best one Iíve been to. The grounds were lovely and well maintained and it was lovely being able to walk round and see the animals. The gentleman who greeted us was very welcoming too.

The shower and toilet facilities we really clean and modern, I would return and also recommend to friends and family. 😀

Haltwhistle itself was a great little village, we visited 2 pubs which both had beer gardens and a great atmosphere. The walk back to the campsite is a big climb! We did this twice and didnít see anyone else walking up it, we shouldíve tried to time it better with the bus! Also within a 30 minutes drive away is GoApe (Matfen) we visited this and had a great day, so thereís plenty to do around the site but remote enough to enjoy the countryside. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Merlot65 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for 2 nights to visit relatives in Haltwhistle.

The campsite is immaculate and well kept by the owners/wardens.

Extra measures put in place due to coronavirus and we felt comfortable during our stay.

Pitch was lovely and level, facilities were immaculate, although we did use our own shower and there are 2 baths in the ladies block! Owner very friendly and takes pride in the site.

The site has llamas, a donkey, chickens and a pig so great for kids to see them up close. Next to a quiet road just outside the town but a walk down the hill takes you into Haltwhistle or you can walk up the hill, turn left and follow the burn walk into town.

Great for cycling too and cycle path runs through the town.

Site has pods and hot tubs too.

Would definitely revisit. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Davidgosling 4 reviews from this member

 Had to cut short our stay here but we were there long enough to be sufficiently impressed to want to return some time.

A relatively small site. We had one of the 3 fully serviced hard standing pitches which was a bit limited in length - our 7. 2ms motorhome only just fitted on - but of adequate width.

We did not use the toilet/shower block so cannot comment upon it. There is a dog walk on site which is basically a track fenced off so at least you can let your dog off the lead.

The main attraction of the site is its location within walking distance of Haltwhistle although it is quite a climb on the way back but it is a nice walk across the fields. Alternatively, you can catch the bus back which stops outside the site entrance and which you can also catch to places along Hadrianís Wall which is only a short distance away ( again which can be walked ). 


Date of Visit: November 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Taraandkellie 1 review from this member

 Where do I start. Itís been the first time we have brought the 3 children to this site and we canít thank them enough. Their hospitality is second to none! And have went above and beyond to ensure that my 10 year old non verbal autistic boy had just as much fun as my other children during activities the whole stay.

From feeding the animals, arts and crafts, and the allocation of our pitch (right next to the park to ensure we could supervise with giving freedom)

Ordered the beautiful home made pizzas on our first night and they were cooked to our requirements as asked for, my son who has to have it cooked a certain way and advised it would be no issue at all, to return them to reception and they would be cooked till they were perfected.

All staff are so friendly and canít do enough to help, asking for suggestions in anyways to improve things for children like Archie.

The site is immaculate, well kept,

Toilets And showers (with baths) are 5* and the views are unbelievable.

This is our favourite site and will be booking up more from now on. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ajmcca 1 review from this member

 Beautiful site and very clean facilities. Staff are very friendly. Our 4 year old loved feeding the animals on site and learning about them and playing in the play area.

Lovely touch of pizza made on site and delivered to your pitch very nice. Would def recommend. Haltwhistle have a leisure centre with open air pools brilliant for warm weather.

We didnít really venture off site much but plenty of walks to do around the area. Bus stop straight outside site as well. 
via mobile


Previous     85 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Herding Hill Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Herding Hill Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Herding Hill Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Haltwhistle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3703 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement