Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stourhead Estate Certificated Location

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Wiltshire > Warminster > Stourhead Estate Certificated Location > Reviews

Stourhead Estate Certificated Location
Stourton
Mere
Warminster
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
BA12 6QD
Tel: 01747 841143
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 6 Reviews
                8/10 from 6 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sandyc 1 review from this member

 We have visited this site now on several occasions, it has always been clean and tidy and very quiet during the evening time.

We did notice this time the grass was very over grown and the area needed some garden work done on it, but this was because of the current situation we are in all over the country at the moment so can't be helped.

We hope to return soon, we felt safe within are Motorhome and found that the centre had been well organised with social distancing.

Thanks 


Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Minddhyg 17 reviews from this member

 Having read the other reviews you should remember that this site is a CL site and facilities will be basic as they are with all CL's. Sites like this are needed so I like to support them. It's a CAMC site so their membership is needed to stop here.

We stayed here on a two night stop which was part of a mini tour. It is very peaceful out of hours and if you forget what it's located next too ie the overflow car park, then it's okay. As another reviewer has stated there are walkers who walk through the site from the fields footpath behind the CL and the toilets only open when the site is open. When it gets wet, it really does get wet. There are no transport links, which I would imagine could be a pain on a longer stay in a MH. The portaloo's which are not very clean are locked out of hours so you have to use the main toilets for the number two's when open - of course, that is if you don't wont to put it into the cassette. There is no emptying point for MH grey waste tanks, but there is a black waste point for cassettes. TV reception is very bad and the signal comes and goes.

Okay lets get onto the good points. Stourhead Estate is as beautiful as it is stunning at any time of the year ( even in November ) and very pleasant for walks. The gardens cost £16. 50 per adult ( not cheap ) and no OAP discounts. It has a restaurant which serves good food, and in fact, they even let us take a fish pie back to our van, that we bought there after a afternoons walk. It also has a farm shop which sells all manor of local cheeses, sausages and gastro goodies. Stourhead also has it's own pub on the Estate which serves good cask ales and food. I like a bit of peace and quiet at night and would stop here again just for that and also to do a bit more exploring. Remember it's basic and you might have to rough it a bit more than the usual sites and you wont go far wrong. You would probably be going here to visit the gardens and house as first priority anyway. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Billydog2 7 reviews from this member

 This site is in need of TLC and tidying up, it could be very special, but falls flat. We are told, at check-in, not to park on the grass, this is impossible at the moment with the layout as it is. The hardstandings are just wide enough for a caravan, so the car has to park beside it, as Caravan Club like, on the grass! Each pitch has electric hook-up, water and waste are situated at the entrance in a compound. You are now pitched far from the car parks and estate, which ensures peace and quiet, but bit of a walk to the toilets and gardens. The overflow car park is used as the dog exercise area/children's play field, and is adequate. There is a problem with the TV signal, well we had a problem that we couldn't get a picture wherever we pointed the aerial. Saying that we will be using this site again. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hoedown 56 reviews from this member

 When we arrived at Stourhead, we found the CL to be fully booked, but the lady in the office said we could stay overnight in the car park for £10. The gent managing the parking directed us to a hard gravel spot right next to the CL and we were able to use the water tap, dump point and rubbish bins in the enclosed CL area. The five hardstandings there looked to be fairly large although we would have had to use leveling ramps. The car park part was flat and spacious, only lacking an electric hook-up, which did not bother us. It is a very pleasant spot from which to spend a day or two visiting the house and grounds. Restaurant and shop were up to normal NT standards, so we came away with some more plants.

As previously mentioned, the toilets are only available during opening hours and at the moment are temporary festival-type toilets whilst the permanent ones are being refurbished. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rickym34 28 reviews from this member

 This Caravan Club CL is perfectly sited as the halfway point on our way to Cornwall. Easy route off the A303 to the site, which is located behind the National Trust Stourhead car park. The 5 pitches are hard-standings but are only just wider than the caravan - not a problem for us as we do not put up an awning. We just level the caravan, connect everything up and then take the kids into Stourhead where they can burn off all the energy that has built up on the journey. Stourhead house is lovely to look round but it is the gardens that we love. They are glorious whatever time of year we arrive ! It is wonderful to wander round them as there are lots of things to look out for: watermill, bridge, urns, beautiful trees and plants, even a grotto !

When we return to the site to cook dinner, there is a massive field where a football or frisbee can be played with well away from the caravans.

There is one enclosed concrete area combing water tap, grey waste and toilet emptying. There can be lying water in this area if it has rained, but it is not too bad (so much better than the old facilities that used to be at the bottom of the site !). However I think Motorhomes will not be able to reach this easily. The NT toilet block can be used during Stourhead opening hours should you want to (no showers) and there is a very nice shop and café. Recycling and rubbish are put in the shop wheelie bins. Across the car park is a Farm Shop with local produce for sale.

We have always found the NT staff extremely friendly when we have booked in and gone into gardens. Apparently you can go into the gardens out of hours but we have never done this. We have used the footpath which leads up from the Church up to the site, but be warned it can be a bit overgrown.

The only time we have had an issue was when the back field was used for an overflow car park when NT held a Fireworks musical evening and people walked through the site, and the cars took ages to leave the car park. However we have regularly used this site over a number of years, and every other time there has never been a problem.

We really like this CL as it is the perfect halfway stopover for us and our children, and we look forward to continuing to use it in the future. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Longtimecaravaner 27 reviews from this member

 Fabulous location right next to the entrance to the National Trust's Stourhead Gardens and staying on the CL you get 24 hours access so you can walk round when the public have gone home. The gardens themselves are a two miles walk if you go the whole distance and there are also walks on the estate. You have access to the toilets and restaurant during opening hours and there is a pub just five minutes walk away. That's the very good side. Unfortunately the down side is the CL is located adjoining the staff car park and with the overspill car park right in front of the CL. When it is quiet you overlook grass, when busy [in April every afternoon] you overlook a sea of cars. On the Sunday when it was exceptionally busy people were walking through the CL to get back to their cars. Motorhomes cannot access the toilet/grey water disposal area as it is fenced off and surrounded with concrete which slopes towards the centre so if it has been raining you get wet feet. The hardstandings are very narrow and the grass does get very wet in a wet spell. The site access is very easy and the staff were very welcoming. You have to weigh up whether being parked in effectively a car park during the day is worth it for the access to the gardens. I felt it was. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stourhead Estate Certificated Location child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stourhead Estate Certificated Location?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Stourhead Estate Certificated Location dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Warminster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3464 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement