Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Cashel Camping In The Forest Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Glasgow > Cashel Camping In The Forest Site Reviews

Cashel Camping In The Forest Site
Loch Lomond
Rowardennan
Glasgow
Argyll   (Browse area)
G63 0AW
Tel: 024 7642 3008  or  01360 870234
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 168
Open: 01/03 To 21/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 96 Reviews
                8/10 from 96 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Steve bradley 5 reviews from this member

Showers were clean and hot

Well stocked shop

Site staff were friendly and helpful

Amazing views of Loch Lomond and plenty of wildlife

On our 1st night there was gale force winds and rain and the young couple next to us had a problem with their tent pegs being pulled out of the soft wet ground by the wind

The site warden assisted them by giving them some better pegs to help with the tent not being blown away

All in all a clean tidy site with great views and
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Anphro 6 reviews from this member

We picked a 'select' pitch which was right on Loch Lomond with great views and atmosphere. Pitch was level hard-standing, however due to prolonged rain, rest of site was muddy.

Toilets and showers OK, staff in shop very helpful and useful stock of provisions and snacks. Site is a long way up the East side of Loch Lomond which adds 20 mins to many journeys to and from local attractions, and road up is tricky (narrow, hilly, winding) with a caravan or motorhome.

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Golden Girl 9 reviews from this member

This is a perfectly situated site for access to Loch Lomond for water sports, cycling and forest walks.

The wardens were helpful, shop well stocked and the addition of a pre-orderable breakfast menu a bonus.

However, the overflowing rubbish bins, rough roadway around the site, late night on site traffic movement and noise from a few campers spoilt an otherwise pleasant stay.

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lornamd 12 reviews from this member

Right on the shore of Loch Lomond with lovely views. We had a pitch in the main, larger, part of the site. Nice and roomy pitch and the staff member was relaxed about how we parked on the pitch, so we could make the most of the views across the Loch.

Showers and loos were very warm, clean and tidy and the site is nicely laid out with roomy pitches and good facilities.

There is nothing nearby, shop wise, but the wee shop on site has basics and the man we spoke to was very friendly and helpful.

If you want to get access to the Loch, this is probably one of the best sites. The drive to it is a bit twisty and has sharp hills to contend with, but the site is great for walking from as well as the water access.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Nao1 10 reviews from this member

We stayed here for just one night, having only booked it on the day before. The location is amazing, we brought our kayak and could easily carry it from the campervan to the loch. The site seemed to be split into two sections, we were in the smaller section (over the little bridge). This section had its own toilets with showers, they were basic but fine. There was also a washing up area with 2 sinks.

One odd thing was that there seemed to be hardly any bins, as we were only there one night we didn't bother to hunt hard for them, but other than in the toilets we couldn't find any!

There was a small shop on site at reception, but I didn't go in so can't comment. No wifi but the 4g signal was pretty good.

Just beware the midges!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lianne1978 8 reviews from this member

We arrived here fairly late on Friday night (7pm) after a 4. 5 hour drive from home. There were 2 units in our party and we did ask to be pitched together. The only 2 pitches next to each other were very small and in the back of the site. I was a bit disappointed as there were several pitches still available but just not 2 together. Knowing that we would arrive fairly late on the Friday of a bank holiday, we both made sure that at we stated pitching together. There was not really any area for the children to play on the site. There was not really many small children but a lot of families with older kids/teenagers.

That said, the site was very nice, right on the shore of the Loch. It is a fairly small site but there were quite a lot of seasonal pitches. The kids loved being so close to the lake and we took our chairs down to the shore in the evening to watch them playing (skimming stones, paddling, fishing for bugs with a net). The campsite has is own boat launch and there were a lot of people who had taken there own boats/ canoes/ jetski's etc.

The shower/toilet facilities were good and never too busy

The small shop on site was well equipped and very reasonably priced wit friendly staff.

The biggest negative for us was that the site was MIDGE CITY. I have camped in Scotland many times and have never seen so many midges. Despite being covered in DEET and purchasing some SMIDGE midge repellent from the site shop we were all bitten to death. I can deal with a few midges but this would probably put me off returning to this site (I must also say that the road leading to the site is in very poor condition). However if you can put up with the midges and enjoy water sports - then this would be a great site for you.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Plinsky 15 reviews from this member

WOW! Just WOW! Absolutely stunning site. Peaceful tranquil, we were able to pitch right next to the beach on the lock. Beautiful sunset and scenery. If you want to get away from it all this is the place to come.

Shop on site has necessities although it isn't cheap. Quiet time from 10:30pm to 9am! Great walks from the site. As it is away from any villages you will need transport if you wish to explore the surrounding area rather than by foot.

Toilets and showers are good and free with free hot water etc.

We will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Emily43 1 review from this member

Just returned from 3 night stay at cashel and must say we loved it. Site basic, toilets and showers were clean. But if you are looking for a few nights away to relax this site is perfect as it has amazing views across the loch, stunning ! Manager drives around on his moped to ensure no problems. Only downside is they put the barrier down at 22:00 so you are locked out, c'mon we are not children if you go out for a meal you have to rush back or you are locked out and have to spend the night in the car park. Also no bins around the site only at the shops. We had a dog with us but had to walk full length of site to put dog poop and rubbish in the bins. Same with chemical disposal, only one point at the shops again had to walk full length of site. I would not let this put you off. I will be returning very soon. Great for quiet break with amazing views. Ps read a few reviews about the state of the roads in the campsite but these were being repaired while we were there. Had a great chilled out break.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ultraquasar 5 reviews from this member

Spent one night on here breaking up the journey home, having spent a week on their sister site Glenmore. Its a little more older, basic and smaller, right on Lochs Lomonds shore line, a small shop with supplies with food and equipment for those that might have forgotten something with reasonable prices.

Its a short drive from anywhere nearby, more of a country lane than a main A or B road to get there so expect it to be single track in places. A gate pass is needed to get in and out of the site, but there's not a lot to do nearby other than walking down to the Ben Lomond centre which is a starting point to hiking up Ben Lomond or head back into the small town where you'll find the usual stuff like pubs and a few shops, but you'll probably want to drive there rather than walk.

No playground on site for kids if that's what you are looking for, but if you keep your eyes open around dusk you may be lucky enough to see a Pine Martin crossing the road heading towards tents looking for food when we were there.

Can be a bit windy & chilly when its blowing across the Loch onto the site with not a lot of shelter from it.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nrjones 21 reviews from this member

The main positive about this site is the amazing loch-side location. We were lucky enough to bag a pitch with an unforgettable view - there is no guaranteed reservation so we were lucky. Facilities are good with showers in main toilet block clean and warm. Site was extremely windswept and this might be worth noting - we were unable to bbq or sit outside - it was April I guess.

Site is well situated - we climbed Ben Lomond and loved the island at Balmaha (Inchcailloch). Oak Tree Inn worth visiti g - pub at Drymen also very good.

Only negative is pot-holes on entering and leaving (wouldn't take much to repair?).

Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Glasgow      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3901 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019