Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glenbrittle Campsite & Cafe

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Isle Of Skye > Carbost > Glenbrittle Campsite & Cafe Reviews

Glenbrittle Campsite & Cafe
Glenbrittle
Carbost
Isle Of Skye   (Browse area)
IV47 8TA
Tel: 01478 640404
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: Easter - 30 September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 70 Reviews
                8/10 from 70 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming 1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  70 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 88 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to this site. We returned to find it a lot busier than 6 years ago. On the drive down you'll pass the Fairy Pools, now completely trashed by erosion from thousands of tourists' boots. The single track road gets extremely congested with cars and campervans and the verges are churned up from parked and passing vehicles. We saw several campervans stranded. Chose your time of travel carefully!

Once at Glenbrittle, you'll discover what was one of the best sites on the Island. Its popularity is now such that you'll need to book ahead at peak times.

There is a small shop/café but I suggest arriving stocked up with provisions for the duration. The a shower and toilet block are OK.

The site faces West and the wind is channelled up the loch. There is very little shelter so larger tents may be unsuitable if the wind picks up.

The walks down along the coast to The Viking Canal are awesome and the mountains behind have to be climbed. Unfortunately for the second time now, my ascent of Sgurr Alasdair 992m via the Great Stone Chute was shrouded in mist!

I will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Brandon Figg 1 review from this member

The site is absolutely stunning. Waking up on a morning with those views. Wow! The location is extremely remote which is a huge contribution to it's beauty and ruggedness. Absolutely breathtaking.

We camped just by the beach which was fab. Listening to the waves while we went to sleep. Bliss

Midges are a nightmare. But what you expect when camping remotely in the highlands. It comes with the territory.

I agree with the other comments with regards to journey there and back. Narrow roads with lots of passing places. Fine apart from when you go past the fairy pools. It takes forever! Lots or reversing and pulling into precarious dips in the curbs. On the upside you are camping right next to the fairy pools therefore great for fitting in an early morning visit when it is a lot quieter!

Facilities good. Showers warm.

Lots of good walks just off the campsite.

Highly recommend this little gem!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Red_leader 9 reviews from this member

Great camp site. Location next to beach with views of mountains.

Very friendly staff and good facilities.

No WiFi good or bad depending on your view

To drive here you have to pass the Fairy Pools which can be busy down the single track road.

Great for an early morning visit to the Fairy Pools

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gingerfreckles 9 reviews from this member

Its a long, but very scenic, drive to this site, and as you can't book, a daunting thought that you won't get in. Having said that it's a large site, so hopefully not too possible a prospect.

I received a very friendly, helpful welcome, and the little cafe has a good vibe about it.

Being beside the beach is great, shame there aren't more access points via the fence that runs alongside it though.

I had no problems with the facilities, or the water temperature. Perhaps having wild camped for 3 nights previously it's all relative - I thoroughly enjoyed my shower.

Me and my dog loved it, and would definitely return if back in the area.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paulgdolman 3 reviews from this member

Wow. What a site for dramatic views, although we did have two clear sunny days while here which made a great difference.

Access via 7 miles of single track road with passing places which was fine as hardly any traffic on it once your pass the fairy pools attraction.

Coffee/ cafe hut staff were excellent with instructions and advice on the site and walks etc with cakes tea and coffee and a few provisions if needed.

Choose your own pitch on grass with gravelled track access facing a lovely beach and many walks.

Only negative for us was the showers, which you access through a separate door in the toilet block via a key pad, very low water pressure and so cold I could not force myself to get in! Went back and showered in my Motorhome.

All clean if basic facilities but the position and views more than made up for this negative point.

Would definitely return.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Beebeebus 8 reviews from this member

As I live in the highlands I am used to single track roads so the journey didn't phase me. But I think it would be scary pulling a caravan for some folk ! ! once at the site everything is worth it, we arrived late so reception was closed. We found a pitch and plugged the electric in. Nothing. Went to another pitch. Nothing by this time it was very dark so we just went to bed with me thinking my poor van was dying. It was a great relief next morning to find out from reception that you have to get a pre-paid card to make the leckie work ! the staff at the café/reception are just wonderful. Chatty and bubbly.

the café is brand new with an amazing rustic theme its fantastic and the cuilin coffee is delicious, wonderful bread. Pastries and muffins and a wee shop that provides basics. We will go back to this site again. You cant book but there are lots of pitches to be had 'toilets and showers were clean.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fluffy58 2 reviews from this member

Lovely spot with huge field. We were very lucky with the weather so ground was good. Hard standing area was not nice. Relaxed and very good for dogs with beach right in front.

But long walk with a full cassette, and £26 for a tepid shower?

No thanks

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Archierob 2 reviews from this member

Great place for climber's and midges. Get pulled to spell by the waves lapping the huge sandy beach 50m away.

Beautiful vistas, friendly campers and staff. There is a shop but it has limited foodstuff. Better to plan ahead and stock up in Broadford.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lorfal 21 reviews from this member

Loved this site. Cannot be beaten for it's location. Mountains, sand and sea in one vista. Great for exploring the great outdoors with walking/climbing for every age and ability. Great for dogs.

The pitches are big. Room for motorhome, awning and an extra car/ outdoor furniture/BBQ. During our travels in Skye we found it difficult to find a site that would allow motorhome with awning on grass. This site allows this, grass is well kept and each pitch well defined.

Site staff are always around if you need help. Good wee coffee shop is stocked with common items you might run out of. I would however recommend going well stocked with food/wine etc. This site is remote, there is no wifi or mobile phone reception. Tv might be possible with a sattelite.

There are plentiful fresh water stands dotted about.

There is a bog standard chemical waste emptying area behind the toilets. It is close to shrubbery, a point worth noting in the height of midge season! Be prepared!

The few negative points I would mention. The toilets are open to the public, though not a problem, they could be cleaner. I do understand though there is a lot of traffic through them. There is an odour permeating around the toilet/shower block though never inside. Again, being remote and not on mains water or sewage this is understandable.

From a motorhome point of view, the grey waste disposal point is not well accessed for driving over. When I was there it was impossible to use as there were always cars parked on or around it making turning a coach built size van near impossible. If you want to use it, then best go with long hose or even a bucket.

As mentioned in previous reviews, the toilet/shower block is a fair distance it you are camped at the opposite end of the site. Bear this in mind. Not a huge issue for many, but still worth noting.

There are 6 hard standing areas next to the toilet block. This is a let down for the site. Cramped looking, no space between vans and not a pleasant looking area, unlike the rest of the site. There is also a large volume of foot traffic passing by to reach the toilets, and the walks that start from behind the block.

Overall, this is an amazing place to camp. Lots of space for all outfits with large well laid out grass pitches.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cc43 17 reviews from this member

The location of this site is wonderful, right underneath the Cuillins, and beside a beach. A lovely place to sit and admire the view, and plenty of opportunities for walking. This means it is remote, however easily reached on a single-track road with plenty of passing places. No mobile signal, but there is a payphone. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Facilities are generally clean and good, although as other reviewers have mentioned, they are very much at one end of the site, and more dish-washing would help.

Midges sometimes irritating in the evening.

Previous     70 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Skye

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5020 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019