Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Chine Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Isle Of Wight > Site Reviews

Chine Farm
Military Rd
Atherfield Bay
Chale
Ventnor
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO38 2JH
Tel: 01983 740901
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 100
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 48 Reviews
                9/10 from 48 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mike Bellew 8 reviews from this member

Having read the reviews from previous years, the same applies in 2016.

Welcomed on arrival and helpfully advised that the pitches with the best sea views will also be exposed to the forecast strong winds - we chose a compromise half way along the field where we could still see and hear the sea but also with some shelter. Alternatively there's a more inland field with a couple of swings for kids - and all pitches are pretty much level and of good size. Even in August, the site was less than half full, with essential facilities only, clean, tidy and quiet - ideal if you want to get away from it all as the only buildings nearby are the farm and the ruins of a former Butlins-type site. Shops and pubs are a drive away, but you can walk down a path to a shingle beach, which seems popular with fishermen. The toilets and showers are old, but appear to have been painted recently and are kept clean and supplied and the free showers have adequate hot water. Recommended as a very reasonably priced site for those wishing to avoid the tourist hot-spots.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Stoke Sunflower 1 review from this member

A site of tranquillity. Following a long but very enjoyable journey from Staffordshire over to the Isle of Wight, we arrived at Chine Farm and were delighted. Firstly, greeted by the Proprietor who kindly drove over to the plot that was designated for us, a good size plot with hook up. The site was clean and obviously well looked after. We were given details of the facilities on site - which appear to some as basic but they are clean and hot water is continuously available in the showers/toilets, what else is needed if camping? The views from the site are amazing and within a 10 minute walk - you are on the beach which is dog friendly (as long as your dog doesn't mind a stony beach). The location of the campsite is ideal for various places of interest on the Island and has a wide spectrum of walks available. As a bonus - groceries which may be forgotten can be obtained from the reception office, which is great as shops are very few within the area. A great place to forget work and RELAX for all the whole family.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Iowkiss 7 reviews from this member

Well, this was the third or fourth year of visiting Chine Farm as I liked it so much. We're not Glampers, instead we like the more basic and wild sites (isn't that what camping's all about?). The shower block was basic but clean although the showers would benefit from a little more water from them albeit adequate as they are, and a couple more shower cubicles would be useful at peek times! Large pitches which are not marked, and cars are allowed next to tents. The owners have a strict zero policy to disturbance and unruly campers and WILL remove them if necessary which is a breath of fresh air! An unspoilt beach is below the campsite cliff and pitching near the cliff edge is possible on calm days (don't sleep walk off the edge!). There is a fast road nearby but is not too noisy to disturb. The owners are friendly and helpful and seem to be your typical farmers. We went in September and there was hardly anyone there which was lovely. Although the site is out in the wilds it doesn't take long to drive to the nearest towns (6 and 10 miles away). Highly recommended for families and couples! Value for money :D. A+++

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Iowcouple 1 review from this member

Stayed here for part of the bank holiday weekend. Very reasonable cost and had loads of space in very large pitches. Site very basic but clean and tidy and the owner was very helpful even showing us to our pitch. Toilet/shower block was adequate if a bit dated but was very clean. Site was also VERY quiet at night and it you want to star/satellite watch was a very dark sky. Would recommend it no problem for a quiet break.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Fuzzyfreak 29 reviews from this member

A delightful campsite well located to explore the island (though it only takes 45 mins to drive from one side to the other).

I was glad to be located the other side of the bank, away from the road because the cars race down it but couldn't say how this affects the peace and quiet of those road side. For us, it was peaceful and only a five/ten minute walk to the beach (down some steep steps).

The toilet. Shower block was not your modern affair, more the usual breezeblock sixties style but I did not find this a problem and the washing up facilities were just right.

The owner was reliable and friendly.

All in all, I'd definitely come back.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Vinylvaughan 19 reviews from this member

We spent a very pleasant few days at this site. The field we were in, was only a couple of minutes walk to the Beach, with splendid views out to sea. Toilets and showers were spotless. The site was also very quiet during our stay. Took a walk along the Coastal Path into Brightstone and walked back along the Beach on our return. With the weather being hot, we spent some time on the near deserted Beach. One of the best sites we've stayed on, with location and facilities. Ps. There was even a Barn Owl flying around our field early evening !

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Iowkiss 7 reviews from this member

The wild side of the Island! Great! A basic campsite with clean showers and toilets. Run by a friendly and helpful couple who keep an eye on the goings-on but without interfering. Level ground on the cliff top with wild and unspoilt beaches. Great if you want to get away from it all! Good value for money, no shop on site but small stores a couple miles away at Chale Green. Provide a freeze block service. Recommended!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gent1970 3 reviews from this member

This is the second time we have stopped on this site and as before it was fantastic, yea the facilities are basic but very well maintained, we spent 2 weeks here and once again loved it. I'm trying to think of a single bad point but to be honest I can't. If you want a good family campsite this is for you. All the other campers were friendly. In a nutshell if your going to the island to camp this is the site to stay.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Clarecooper 2 reviews from this member

Loved it here. Want to, and definitely will, return. As a family of four (two girls aged 10 and 6), this was the perfect campsite for us. We arrived early and couldn't get on our pitch as previous occupants were still on it. But the lovely owners allowed us to leave our trailer outside reception whilst we went off for a bit. However if you do arrive early and your pitch is empty, they are more than happy to allow you to pitch. The tent pitches are a fantastic size, we have a monte verde 700 and our car parked next to the tent with no problems. Yes the toilets and showers are basic, but they and indeed the rest of the campsite are spotlessly clean. I never once queued for the showers but I am a very early riser. Easy access to the shingle beach below the site, and some nice walks along the coast paths. And the very dark skies at night amazed the kids, who living in the light polluted skies of south Yorkshire, rarely get to see so many stars.

Basic play area, but all the kids played together, from little ones to teenagers. My kids made loads of friends.

The website says there is a laundry service. I didn't try this so not sure what exactly it entails, but be aware that there are no actual laundry facilities on site. This doesn't bother me as I tend to hand wash anyway, but something to be aware of, especially if you have children.

We've always tended to camp in Cornwall, but decided to give the Isle of Wight a go this year, and we were not disappointed. If you are a fan of the outdoors, this is the place to go. The walking is fantastic, the beaches are great, (Sandown is the flattest if you have small children), and there are so many attractions you won't fit them all in on one visit. Bembridge is a lovely place, and the lifeboat is worth a visit. The joint family ticket for Blackgang Chine and Robin Hill Country Park is 99, and allows you 7 days unlimited entry into both parks. We found this quite good value as both parks have evening and day events on so you can come and go as you choose. Great walking around St Catherine's Lighthouse and over Tennyson Downs and the Needles (Needles Park - BEWARE very expensive). Ventor and Shanklin have some nice shops. We ate out at the Bugle Inn at Brading, and the White lion at Niton, both have kids eat free when an adult's meal is purchased. Good food and good value to be found at both pubs.

We were blessed with good weather. I think it may be difficult to find things to do if the weather is wet for any length of time, but we had a great holiday. The owners of the site are very friendly, and helpful and we will definitely return

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shilling 1 review from this member

Just spend 5 days at the site and cannot fault. Well sheltered, friendly, spacious pitches and clean. Shower block always clean and well stocked with loo roll :o) Showers were lovely and hot.

Will definitely be returning even if for a weekend.

Easy access to tourist attractions and main towns.

Close to brilliant pubs that served great food.

Plenty of space for games. Wonderful view of the English Channel. A swimming pool would make this the best site on the Island :o)

Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2252 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019