Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hillend Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Glamorgan > Llangennith > Hillend Caravan And Camping Park > Reviews

Hillend Caravan And Camping Park
Hillend
Llangennith
Glamorgan   (Browse area)
SA3 1JD
Tel: 01792 386204
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 300
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 75 Reviews
                9/10 from 75 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  75 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Ktjc 6 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site! We had an amazing time staying at Hillend and were super impressed with the excellent, but very discreet management of this site. The facilities were very clean, the grass was kept very short and the whole site was very well run.

The staff in reception were extremely friendly and knowledgeable about all the local things and very helpful indeed.

The shop was very well stocked with food, papers, holiday stuff and plenty enough supplies to be able to cook several meals without having to go further to the supermarket. Eddy's, the bar and restaurant was absolutely lovely, with not only beautiful views out over the dunes and the sea, but also a very varied menu, catering for a wide range of tastes.

Our pitch itself was on field 4, it was very generous in size and there was plenty of space for ball games as well. We had a couple of downpours whilst there, and the ground was rather boggy after a particular heavy night of rain, but it's hard to imagine any site could have done much in that weather.

The absolutely stunning beach was just a short walk through the dunes. Super for surfing, body boarding all the usual beach stuff. We also made use of the surf school just next to the site and had a couple of lessons, which was very handy to be able to do from our site. It was a real luxury to have hot wetsuit showers back at the site. Worm's Head at the southern end of the beach was a great walk across the causeway at lowtide and it was fun to go onto the island at the northern end of the beach. Lots of walks from the site, pubs etc.

I can't think of anything negative to write about this site. I would go back again like a shot and will be happily recommending it to everyone. Thank you so much Hillend. 


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Joosmond 4 reviews from this member

 We received the most friendly welcome, and I got a ride to our pitch on the quad bike. The site was immaculate, as were the facilities, and the cheerful staff were always ready to help.

They waved and said hello literally every time they passed. The cafe served great food, huge portions and excellent value for money.

I'd recommend the stunning walk to Worms Head.

Then a little hop over the dunes from the campsite to the most amazing and vast beach ever. Will definitely be back soon. 


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Ady on Tour 8 reviews from this member

 On arriving there was only a man taking money for the car park, but he showed me where to go and I pitched my tent. The reception and the cafe were not open but to be fair it is right near the end of the season, and there were people around to help if needed.

The facilities were really good with loads of toilets and showers including a good size washing up station, which I think they need as it is a big site and well used by surfers due to the great beach on the doorstep.

The only negative thing I have to say is that as usual there is a big influx of new arrivals on the Friday ready for the weekend, but to have people pitching up in the dark at 10. 00pm with the noise and torches right next to you, and subsequent talking until late, was hard to deal with while trying to get some sleep. I do feel there should be a slightly earlier cut off point for people to arrive on site.

Apart from that I would recommend and stay here again due to its fantastic location. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Chrisgronow 1 review from this member

 Spent 2 nights camping in July, not been in over 15 years and much prefer the new system of being able to book in advance.

Campsite is in an amazing location with great well kept facilities, all the staff I came across were very friendly and welcoming.

Cant wait to go again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: CB-Camper 11 reviews from this member

 Our third trip to this fabulous site.

Busy as always during the school holidays but the site is kept in great order and the kids love the proximity to the beach and great play area.

Hot showers, clean toilets, great staff, shop for all the essentials and a cafe with takeaway.

Great place! Fantastic location for surfing and great walks.

Lots of other beaches and coves to explore in the local area.

Can't wait for next year! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TEvs 1 review from this member

 Excellent site. Divided into general and family fields.

Family field was very good. Slightly rocky whilst putting in pegs but hardly their fault!

Showers, washing up all very good.

Tidy play area for the kids. Cafe on the site was good but rather expensive.

Little camp shop was excellent. Nestled behind rolling dunes its a very short walk to the beach, the most amazing three miles of golden sand ever with excellent surf especially for beginners like me!

All in all a superb site but make sure you get in early on busy weekends as the pitches sell out fast! 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LBBK 57 reviews from this member

 We stayed Mon-Fri in the first week of the school summer holidays. The site was busy but never full: most were family groups or surfers. Facilities were good though quite a walk from the furthest fields.

Many had taken bikes or scooters to whizz around on the site. Staff friendly. Shop was good - very helpful considering it is quite a drive back into Swansea for a supermarket. The on site cafe/bar looked good and we can recommend the milkshakes though we didn't choose to eat there.

I think this is the first site we have used that has a 'no dogs' rule something you will either welcome or curse depending on your view of our four legged friends!

On our visit there was no problem with campsite noise at night.

It is a very short walk through the sand dunes to the amazing Rhossili Bay beach. Walking to Rhossili village itself took about an hour: cafes, surf shop and a beautiful National Trust headland out towards the Worms Head islands. They can be reached at low tide but be warned that it is quite a rough walk over the rocks.

Would we return? Definately. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Markhem 11 reviews from this member

 My party's 6th or 7th visit to this excellent campsite.

The surroundings are incredible, the site sitting between the vast wild beauty of Rhossili Bay and its dunes to the west, and the lofty Downs to the east.

Four big fields (two strictly for families) usually enough to comfortably house the large numbers this site receives during good weather - handy as no pre-booking allowed!

The site's 10pm noise policy is very well managed, though I'd like to see stronger encouragement for visitors to see to their litter better - the summer can see a few 'rough townies' descend upon Hillend, who seem to have very little regard for the environment.

Great intermediate surfing in the bay (avoid July and August for this - millpond!), and a top, TOP pub in the Kings Head in Llangennith just a mile or so's walk up the hill.

A great site, in one of the most picturesque locations in the UK. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Casman94 2 reviews from this member

 Had 2 nights here. Spotless showers and toilets, very modern. Very helpful staff, said to pitch were we liked. Couldn't believe the location, 50 yards to the beach through the sand dunes, and what a beach. Walked along Rhossili bay to the village of Rhossilli. If you walk round the headland you're find a deserted sandy cove. The Kings Head pub is a mile walk, free WiFi. Certainly would use this site again. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Debjayne 1 review from this member

 Just come back from a fantastic 4 days at hillend ! Our first time here since we were both 17 in 1973! Very impressed indeed ! A very friendly welcome by the guy who books us in, we could chose a pitch, very clean showers and loos, the BEST chemical loo disposal ever ! very strict rules on radios, which is great, and barbi's been off the grass (understandable) but the vibe of the site, was friendly, all ages and really really nice. And on a last note, the shop sells everything ! will we be back ? Can not wait for the next sunny weekend ! Well done Hillend, you are a fantastic site ! 


Previous     75 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Hillend Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hillend Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hillend Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Llangennith      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Glamorgan

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

  

  

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4104 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement