Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Scurrival Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Barra > Scurrival Camp Site Reviews

Scurrival Camp Site
Number 3
Eoligarry
Isle Of Barra
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS9 5YD
Tel: 01871 890292  or  07896 471580
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 10
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 23 Reviews
                10/10 from 23 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 94 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 3 nights. If camping, Angus will charge you £5 pppn. There is a sloping field with plenty of level areas and a beautiful Easterly aspect over the Sound of Eriskay.

There is a hill behind which will shelter you from the worst of a West wind. The beach is a stone's throw away and the view from the hill behind is fantastic.

This site is one of those secret places you might like to keep to yourselves.

The only issues are that it is exposed (but where on Barra isn't) and that it is at the opposite end of the Island to castlebay. Not much of a problem either as it's only a small Island.

The facilities are within a croft conversion so you have use of several family size shower rooms and loos. There is also a well equipped kitchen and sitting/eating area. This communal area is ideal for meeting fellow residents and makes for a great campsite atmosphere.

Book up for a curry at the Kisimul Café, climb to the top of Heavel to watch the sunset across castlebay, walk around Vatasay (and if you're lucky meet an otter) and watch the aeroplanes landing on the sand. Campsites don't get much better than this.

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Daisy85 15 reviews from this member

Lovely site, the views are stunning. Facilities are spotless. Campsite is hilly so chocks are needed.

Access to beach is just across the road. Site is at the most northerly part of the island.

Angus the site owner is lovely, nothing is a bother for him. Hope to come back one day.

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Shonz 1 review from this member

Fantastic campsite. Spotless facilities. Angus is great and so friendly. 50 yards from amazing beach.

I thoroughly recommend this campsite with it's amazing views!
via mobile

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Caraid68 6 reviews from this member

Our 9th year staying on this site. Angus keeps improving it. Always a wonderful welcome. Fantastic views too.

Best beach access and not too far to Airport to see planes. Great spot for all island sightseeing. Island not big anyway.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Scouse82 3 reviews from this member

Love love love this site. Angus (the owner) doesn't advertise so we actually came across his site by accident when looking for Croft No. 2. Not impressed with the facilities at Croft 2 we headed back up the road to Scurrival. What a discovery!

Pitch wherever you want, several electric hook ups available. £5 per adult per night with kids going free and £4 per night hook-up. Cheap as!

The cottage contains 3 large bathrooms, 2 of them containing sink, toilet and shower and the third just toilet and sink. The kitchen is well equipped with a couple of microwaves, toasters, kettle, washing machine with free powder and fabric softener (money for use goes into the nearby honesty box). There's also 2 full sized fridge freezers and a room for food storage. Also plenty of utensils should you forget anything.

The beach accessed from the site is just beautiful. We can't wait to go back!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Macmoto 5 reviews from this member

Our first trip in our new motorhome. What a great place to start. We know Barra very well, but have never stayed on a campsite before. The location is stunning, very relaxed atmosphere and facilities all that we needed. The owner, Angus, is very welcoming and eager to ensure that everything was to our satisfaction.

It is basic, but shower/toilet block is clean and fresh. Only quibble is the lack of a washing machine, my husband had been sailing for a week, so would have been very useful. We did see one in the kitchen, but not plumbed in yet.

There is no hard-standing, and it is a bit sloped, so we needed to use our ramps, but this was good practice for us and we preferred the informality, it helped to make the site feel more remote and relaxing.

There is a beautiful, big beach just beside the campsite, perfect for walking when the tide is out

We used our bikes every day to get about, the site is quite remote and the island is a bit hilly, so I suppose that would not suit everyone.

Would not hesitate to stay here again when we return to Barra.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jay Bay 12 reviews from this member

Used this site as thought it would be close to the ferry and wanted to see the planes landing, but it is not as close to either as we thought it was. A nice large field with the electric hookups near the bottom. It is actually quite sloping so the only good spot for us was at the bottom near the road, but it is so quiet that it was not a problem. Lovely place for walks, we did a walk from the site over the hill along the beach up to the airport and back along the main road, wonderful. The beach is a few minute walk from the site and the sunset over the hill was stunning. The facilities I have to say are odd. As others have mentioned they are in what looks like a house, with no indication that it is in fact the bathrooms and kitchen. We didn't use the kitchen so can't comment but the showers were very clean with plenty of hot water, it just felt like using a bathroom in someone's house.

The owner was very helpful both when booking by phone and in the event when he came to collect payment. Very good value for money.

There are no shops nearby, or pubs but the airport cafe does great coffee and food to eat in and takeaway, but that is either a long walk or drive away.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Headgardener 35 reviews from this member

After changing our caravan for a motorhome we decided our first trip would be be to the Outer Isles. So we took the ferry from Oban and found this site. It has fantastic views and is very quiet. The road from Castlebay was quite narrow in places but we had no problems with our 7. 14 m motorhome. There is a large shower block with three showers and a kitchen area. It looks as this was previously a house and was converted by a DIY enthusiast! The rocky/sandy beach is an easy walk although when we were there there was a thick covering of sea weed at the high tide mark. If you want to stay a few days take everything you need as there are no shops/pubs close by. The owner was very friendly and came down each night to collect the fees - £14. 00 including electric in May.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Vanterrier 29 reviews from this member

Site is still as good as previous reviews srate and the owner is as helpful and friendly as ever.

The facilities are developing nicely with two very good shower rooms now and a third almost completed. It has been recently decorated and is heated with a very functional kitchen which would be a boon to campers in poor weather.

The Island of course is sublime.

The owner also said he hoped to install some level hardstands at spme point soon so watch this space.

Excellent overall.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Robnixon 21 reviews from this member

Great site on the north of Barra, 10 mins from the Eriskay Ferry.

Not far from airport, which is great to watch planes land on beach and has a nice café.

The site has spectacular views across Barra, Eriskay and South Uist. There is nice beach accessed across the road and through a field.

Much of the camping field is sloping, but there are flat spots, especially at the front. Some pitches have EHU.

Facilities are in a house at the back of the site. There are two toilets, a shower and a great kitchen with microwave. Perfect for campers. The owner, who is very helpful is planning on extending the facilities next year.

Barra is a small, but lovely island. There is a co-op in Castlebay, around 20 mins drive.

A must is a drive over to Vatensay with's its deserted beaches. Great value at £5 a night and kids under 15 free!

Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Isle Of Barra      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1472 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019