Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Scurrival Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Barra > Scurrival Camp Site Reviews

Scurrival Camp Site
Number 3
Eoligarry
Isle Of Barra
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS9 5YD
Tel: 01871 890292  or  07896 471580
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/08/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 24 Reviews
                10/10 from 24 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Peteow 1 review from this member

 Great location & the facilities were very good too considering a lot of campsites had shut all of theirs!

It was a little rough the night we stayed, so unfortunately we didn't get much sleep, lol

The chap that runs the place was very welcoming & helpful

I would definitely recommend this campsite 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 107 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights. If camping, Angus will charge you £5 pppn. There is a sloping field with plenty of level areas and a beautiful Easterly aspect over the Sound of Eriskay.

There is a hill behind which will shelter you from the worst of a West wind. The beach is a stone's throw away and the view from the hill behind is fantastic.

This site is one of those secret places you might like to keep to yourselves.

The only issues are that it is exposed (but where on Barra isn't) and that it is at the opposite end of the Island to castlebay. Not much of a problem either as it's only a small Island.

The facilities are within a croft conversion so you have use of several family size shower rooms and loos. There is also a well equipped kitchen and sitting/eating area. This communal area is ideal for meeting fellow residents and makes for a great campsite atmosphere.

Book up for a curry at the Kisimul Café, climb to the top of Heavel to watch the sunset across castlebay, walk around Vatasay (and if you're lucky meet an otter) and watch the aeroplanes landing on the sand. Campsites don't get much better than this.  


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Daisy85 16 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, the views are stunning. Facilities are spotless. Campsite is hilly so chocks are needed.

Access to beach is just across the road. Site is at the most northerly part of the island.

Angus the site owner is lovely, nothing is a bother for him. Hope to come back one day. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Shonz 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic campsite. Spotless facilities. Angus is great and so friendly. 50 yards from amazing beach.

I thoroughly recommend this campsite with it's amazing views! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Caraid68 9 reviews from this member

 Our 9th year staying on this site. Angus keeps improving it. Always a wonderful welcome. Fantastic views too.

Best beach access and not too far to Airport to see planes. Great spot for all island sightseeing. Island not big anyway. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Scouse82 3 reviews from this member

 Love love love this site. Angus (the owner) doesn't advertise so we actually came across his site by accident when looking for Croft No. 2. Not impressed with the facilities at Croft 2 we headed back up the road to Scurrival. What a discovery!

Pitch wherever you want, several electric hook ups available. £5 per adult per night with kids going free and £4 per night hook-up. Cheap as!

The cottage contains 3 large bathrooms, 2 of them containing sink, toilet and shower and the third just toilet and sink. The kitchen is well equipped with a couple of microwaves, toasters, kettle, washing machine with free powder and fabric softener (money for use goes into the nearby honesty box). There's also 2 full sized fridge freezers and a room for food storage. Also plenty of utensils should you forget anything.

The beach accessed from the site is just beautiful. We can't wait to go back! 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Macmoto 5 reviews from this member

 Our first trip in our new motorhome. What a great place to start. We know Barra very well, but have never stayed on a campsite before. The location is stunning, very relaxed atmosphere and facilities all that we needed. The owner, Angus, is very welcoming and eager to ensure that everything was to our satisfaction.

It is basic, but shower/toilet block is clean and fresh. Only quibble is the lack of a washing machine, my husband had been sailing for a week, so would have been very useful. We did see one in the kitchen, but not plumbed in yet.

There is no hard-standing, and it is a bit sloped, so we needed to use our ramps, but this was good practice for us and we preferred the informality, it helped to make the site feel more remote and relaxing.

There is a beautiful, big beach just beside the campsite, perfect for walking when the tide is out

We used our bikes every day to get about, the site is quite remote and the island is a bit hilly, so I suppose that would not suit everyone.

Would not hesitate to stay here again when we return to Barra. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jay Bay 12 reviews from this member

 Used this site as thought it would be close to the ferry and wanted to see the planes landing, but it is not as close to either as we thought it was. A nice large field with the electric hookups near the bottom. It is actually quite sloping so the only good spot for us was at the bottom near the road, but it is so quiet that it was not a problem. Lovely place for walks, we did a walk from the site over the hill along the beach up to the airport and back along the main road, wonderful. The beach is a few minute walk from the site and the sunset over the hill was stunning. The facilities I have to say are odd. As others have mentioned they are in what looks like a house, with no indication that it is in fact the bathrooms and kitchen. We didn't use the kitchen so can't comment but the showers were very clean with plenty of hot water, it just felt like using a bathroom in someone's house.

The owner was very helpful both when booking by phone and in the event when he came to collect payment. Very good value for money.

There are no shops nearby, or pubs but the airport cafe does great coffee and food to eat in and takeaway, but that is either a long walk or drive away. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Headgardener 35 reviews from this member

 After changing our caravan for a motorhome we decided our first trip would be be to the Outer Isles. So we took the ferry from Oban and found this site. It has fantastic views and is very quiet. The road from Castlebay was quite narrow in places but we had no problems with our 7. 14 m motorhome. There is a large shower block with three showers and a kitchen area. It looks as this was previously a house and was converted by a DIY enthusiast! The rocky/sandy beach is an easy walk although when we were there there was a thick covering of sea weed at the high tide mark. If you want to stay a few days take everything you need as there are no shops/pubs close by. The owner was very friendly and came down each night to collect the fees - £14. 00 including electric in May. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Vanterrier 29 reviews from this member

 Site is still as good as previous reviews srate and the owner is as helpful and friendly as ever.

The facilities are developing nicely with two very good shower rooms now and a third almost completed. It has been recently decorated and is heated with a very functional kitchen which would be a boon to campers in poor weather.

The Island of course is sublime.

The owner also said he hoped to install some level hardstands at spme point soon so watch this space.

Excellent overall. 


Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Scurrival Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Scurrival Camp Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Scurrival Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Barra      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2248 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December