Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Wyke Down Touring Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Andover > Wyke Down Touring Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

CLOSED: Wyke Down Touring Caravan & Camping Park
Picket Piece
Andover
Hampshire   (Browse area)



Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Touring Site Closed 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 60 Reviews
                8/10 from 60 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  60 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please note we have been advised this location is being redeveloped as a residential park only.

The touring site has now closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches.

If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nevs 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from two nights at this site, really good weekend. Arrived about 6:30 checked in ok, they give you a key fob to open the sliding gate, hold 10 deposit via card details.

Site was not very busy our pitch near the pub which was fine. Electric hook up and water tap really close noticed lots of taps around the site so no problems. Children's play area in the pub garden which is good also a swimming pool is available. We tried it out on Sat - not heated so its a shock when you first get in but really good and the kids loved it.

Separate shower and toilet blocks which is good they were clean, did find a couple of the shower heads need some attention as the water sprayed all over the place, minor point which is easily fixed. Indoor washing up facilities couple of sinks. Pitches are flat and on grass.

We didn't try the food in the pub but it looks really good and the pub was busy both nights.

As other posts have mentioned on Sun morning there is a Car boot sale in the field opposite campsite.

We will definitely return for another visit relaxed atmosphere and good facilities.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caroline129 4 reviews from this member

Booked for friday till monday, but decided to go home sunday night around 5pm we mentioned this when booking in did not get any money knocked off the bill.

The fob to get you in the site is not usable from the car, so have to get out to open gate.

Got shown to pitch with our caravan. There seemed a lot of seasonal caravans with no one in them.

The toilet block was not heated and while you are in there the lights go out. (Ladies).

The site was clean and grass cut. Had a meal in pub not bad and good prices. There is a carboot sale outside the entrance on sundays. We had kids playing football and running round the van, did tell them off when ball hit the van. There is a kids play area at the pub but not really on the site, so if your kids want play ball I would not recommend this site.

Close to stonehenge and haynes motor museum, also sailsbury cathedral is well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: TheBogwoppit 1 review from this member

Nice looking, well organised and secure site with a warm welcome at reception.

The size of the pool and play park was rather disappointing as the farm is a distance from any other amenities.

Toilet block is in very good condition and exceptionally clean but the showers were scalding hot. I had to duck in and out to wash my hair it was so hot and I couldn't shower the children. Odd that the hot tap in the ladies was cold with the washing up water sited between the two was luke warm. I wonder whether most of the hot water is being directed to the shower block.

We had a meal at the pub and there was a large choice. The food itself was fairly average but it was enjoyed with a young band playing next door and decent ales.

On the downside, as others have mentioned, the road is noisy and long-stayers on the site did get up rather early to go to work.

The main reason that I would not go back is the dog poo. Having helped pitch our friends' tent on arrival day we found a poo between the pitches which I had to clear up. The following day my son stepped in another poo near our van and we had to clean up our pitch. On the day of departure our friends found another poo behind their tent and more underneath as they were putting it away. We did inform the owners who were very apologetic and cleaned up one of the poos. The only problem being the owner seemed rather obsessed with whose dog was responsible. Honestly I don't care which dog it came from. Free roaming dogs pooing on a campsite especially where you have children running about is unacceptable.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Acairns 1 review from this member

Ok campsite. Facilities were great.

BUT I would never go back, due to lots of dog poo on the site.

And I would tell all our camping friends not to go to this site.

We arrived Fri evening.

Sat we had to pick up dog poo on 4 different occasions around out pitch. We told the owner - we suspected his dog - which roamed around the site.

Sun morning - a fresh dropping of poo right behind out tent.

Sun morning - packed up the tent. Guess what was on the underside. Yes! Poo!

So not for me again. Never seen so much poo on a campsite.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kadgerlot 3 reviews from this member

The site was lovely and clean, brilliant pub on site and pool. The only thing that I think is wrong, is that you have a car and caravan so you drop the caravan off and run round in your car.

We have a motorhome towing a car and we get charged an extra 10. 00 for the car.

The motorhome gets dropped off just like a caravan and we use the car to go out in, WHAT is the difference ???????

Will not go again.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rcs1703 1 review from this member

A very nice site. Nice, good value pub with great food selection. Nice children's play area outside and good games room inside. Swimming pool good size. Facilities on the whole very nice and spacious, when we arrived on the Friday everything was beautifully clean but unfortunately the toilet and shower block were not cleaned until Sunday so on Saturday they were pretty messy. This is the only slight criticism though but it wouldn't stop us going back.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jadechantlerx 1 review from this member

Stayed over the bank holiday period. Stayed on electric pitch with two tents with pals. Very clean field plenty of water taps to get water from. Bins were dotted about so not much of a walk. Toilets showers and washing up room centred in the middle of the camp site which was very convenient. Also had a disabled toilet and shower and baby change room. Toilets were cleaned once to twice daily very clean as we're showers. There were 8 toilets in the females and 4 showers and considering it was a bank holiday we did not have to queue once. Large showers which were hot and had a separate part for changing with plenty of hooks so clothes and towels did not get wet whilst showering. The site itself was very near shops and super markets. Pool on site looked a reasonable size however was not open until June. Great golf range and cheap to hire out gold balls and clubs. Excellent pub on site with very friendly staff and lovely food at a reasonable price. Lots to do with a park for children out the back, 2 pool tables and a football game table. For the price paid 27 pound per head for a three night stay it was very good and I would recommend it to friends in the future. There was a bootsale across the road every Sunday morn and Monday. Did not experience other things to do locally as we had other things planned. However we drove one hour to the new forest and had a bike ride where it is surrounded with souvenir shops and restaurants.

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wunny 2 reviews from this member

We stayed for 2 nights on a grass pitch with electric. Non serviced.

Water within a few feet of pitch.

Toilets & showers were very clean

Pleasant views of cattle ambling around adjacent field.

Pub / restaurant was warm and welcoming, especially near the wood burner - cosy!

Good food, good service, ate in there 3 times.

Electric key card entrance worked well.

No complaints at all and will be going back.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Yertiz7 1 review from this member

Situated between a busy road and a railway line Wyke Down Campsite is not the ideal site for peace and tranquillity. An alarm clock will not be required as there will be a regular stream of traffic, articulated lorries, cars and motorcycles on one side and trains on the other, from around 4am.

Bring plenty of money and patience as these will be required.

The services are very basic for a site of this size and should everyone decide to have a shower or wash their dishes at the same time, the poor guy at the rear would be waiting a long time. The area seems quite pleasant but the traffic noise factor outweighs any benefits.

Previous     60 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Hampshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3560 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019