Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Budle Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Bamburgh > Budle Farm Campsite Reviews

Budle Farm Campsite
Budle Bay
Bamburgh
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE69 7AJ
Tel: 01668 214357
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ford pop top 1 review from this member

 £10 a night for a field next to the beach, toilet disposal and water point (both donít run water at the same time, slightly annoying).

Site is sloping so you need levelling blocks and there are lots of stingy nettles.

Itís about 20 min walk into Bamburgh and there are buses.

Lovely back to basic site literally ion the beach, ideal! 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Melectra 3 reviews from this member

 An absolute bargain at £10 per night and a bit of a hidden gem, a short drive on from the regular, busier sites. The location alone is totally worth the trip. Just take levelling blocks with you as the field is on a slope. There are limited facilities - just a tap and waste disposal, so you need to have a loo with you.

This is a very relaxed site where families and dogs are welcome. The views are absolutely stunning across the sea as the site is almost on the cliff edge! You can walk down onto the expansive, sandy beach within 10 minutes- an added bonus.

The owners leave you it for the most part - just pop down to site early morning for payments. Highly recommended if you have a motorhome or caravan. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Greengrass43 8 reviews from this member

 On arrival and was able to get a pitch for a two man tent for a very reasonable £10 p/n. The site got busy over the weekend so I would advise booking ahead.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. There is a stream which runs alongside the tent pitches, the sound of running water was relaxing.

No issues getting a shower or washing up sink. Ideally placed for Bamburg Castle, Holy Island and the Farne Islands. Wonderful views across the sea as short walk from the site. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hev65 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed in our motorhome for a few nights on the basic field. It is a sloping, uneven site and levellers are required. There are no facilities except a drinking water tap and toilet disposal which is very basic. We were advised by Billy to empty our grey waste onto the field. There did not appear to be any waste bins for general rubbish so we took it away with us.

The field became very busy over the weekend and unfortunately the peace was disturbed by a large group.

This site is popular because of its location with stunning views across the bay to Lindisfarne and direct access on to the beach.

Make sure you stock up with supplies before you arrive as the nearest small supermarket appears to be in Seahouses. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Hjf139 13 reviews from this member

 Great location just minutes from Bamburgh Beach and Beadnall Bay. Booked as a group of like minded friends with our pooches and had checked with owners prior to booking about the dogs as it was advertised as dog friendly.

We were therefore a bit annoyed to be told the dogs were too noisy and if we didn't quieten them down we may have to leave. We wouldn't have minded but there were other dogs on the site that were just as noisy. The owners were aware of how many dogs there would be, 14 between the 25 of us.

We are a group of predominantly adults who meet up once a year from all over the country. On the Saturday evening we had arranged for a quiz night and when it turned chilly we all piled in out tent, (we have a 10 man) and then got told off by the warden because we were too noisy at 10. 30! We were actually in a separate section of the site and all pitched together.

Nice site, decent showers but not if you are with a group and you all have dogs. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Moorlander999 11 reviews from this member

 This was our third ( possibly fourth but old age is effecting my memory ! ) Be patient when booking the site. The owner Eric Anderson has other jobs including farming and looking after the Rally field. There is no website or email address just a mobile telephone number. I would recommend sending Eric a Text message with yiour dates. I would also then either ring or text Eric again nearer the date of your arrival to confirm your pitch will be available. We booked approx 6 months in advance as we were staying for 2 weeks this year.

The site is easily accessible from the the A1 in each direction. Follow the signposts for Bamburgh on the B1342. You will pass the Ambulance station and grain SILOS on your left then will cross over the East Coast Rail line. Be careful as you approach Budle Bay Campsite near to Waren Mill as there are a couple of sharp bends. At the junction just after Budle Bay Campsite, turn right and follow the road, with a great view of Budel Bay on your left. Carry on up the Hill to a point where you will see a large sign for Waren Caravan Site. At this point you will see a dirt/gravel track on your left leading down towards the sea.

Turn down the track. If you have booked onto the rally field ( no EHU ) turn immediately left into the field. If you have booked a pitch with EHU continue down the track towards the stone single storey houses. On your left you will see a number of timber buidldings and storage containers. Dont be put off - these are remains of the once working farm at this location. Continue up onto the grassed area where you will find a blackboard with a list of pitches. These will correspond with a slate with your surname on the pitch that Eric has alocated you.

If you cant see your name my advice is to ring Eric to avoid any confusion etc. The grassed area is '' fairly level'' it slopes downhill towards the beach. We always seem to use at least one levelling block to get the water to drain form teh shower. If you havent brought levelling blocks there are plenty of pieces of wood/bricks lying about or just ring Eric and explain and he will pop over and help you out.

Pitch one does need some extra levelling but the view to the sea is uninterupted. Each pitch has a EHU point. Be aware that the live and neutral are reversed which we discovered on our first visit by using a cheap plug in circuit tester. Water tap is at teh top of the grassed area and is from a spring in the adjacent field. It is very chalky/limescale etc so we take a water filter jug to keep limescale in the kettle to a minimum but your taps / shower do get a good coating after 2 weeks ! De scaling of hot water boilers etc is required after a 2 week stay

The chemical waste is adjacent and is VERY basic. It could do with a bit of work to bring it up to date and can get full when a rally is in full swing on the field next door, also owned by Eric. There is no recycling and again the bins can get full despite repeated emptying by Erics cousin Ivan who also does the grass cutting and fills in the mole / rabbit holes.

Grey water can be tipped onto the gravel lane or into the hedges. Dont tip it onto your pitch as you will find it doesn't soak into the ground and only makes your awning groundsheet wet and smelly ( yes that happended to us when the waste pipe came adrift from our container)

Once you have got set up you will really enjoy the view. Only 2 mins walk to the beach. It starts off very ''gravelly'' and lots of sea weed but after approx 10 mons walk or less you end up on a soft sandy beach.

The lane down to the beach is a public right of way for pedestrians and cyclists. No cars are allowed on the beach and due to an accident involving a jet ski and a child - the gate was locked with only pedestrian access allowed.

Rates are £15 per pitch per night with EHU.

£10 per pitch per night with no EHU in the rally field.

The nearest shops are ;-

COOP Belford.

Butchers / Deli / Fruit and veg in Bamburgh

Pubs in Bamburgh and Belford.

Fish and chips in Seahouses.

Cheapest Fuel is TESCO in Berwick ( Alnwick expensive ! )

National Cycle ROUTE 1 runs from Budle to Holy Island / Berwick via BELFORD ( short dash over the A1 )

If you want a bit more seclusion then take a trip up to Ross Sands. The beach is the best in Northumberland, but can get busy ! The day we went there was approx 5 people(incl us two ) for 5 miles ! :)

Overall this is a very BASIC site. It is NOT a CL etc and has no showers / Toilets. There is is no WIFI but mobile phone signal ( Vodafone ) is very good.

Tv signal is very good. We always take our portable sat dish but have never used it.

Abundance of bird life on site so take some bird food to feed the robins and Great Tits that congregate in the hedge line behind the pitches.

And finally. DONT TELL ANYONE ABOUT THIS SITE ! It is perfect for a quiet holiday. We will be back next year for another 2 week holiday :) 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lucyshades 3 reviews from this member

 First of all to find this site you might miss this entrance as it is a farm track with a hand written sign, but if you see the sign for the Warren Camp site it is directly opposite. Follow the track, which is also a public footpath to the beach, for a couple of hundred yards and you will see a bank to the left just in front of the cottages. Eric, the owner, has a system of having a flip board with available pitches on it, if you have booked it will have your name on it, pitch up and Eric will be along later for his fee. £15. 00 at the time of writing

This site is very rudimentary having a very basic chemical waste system, a single water tap in an awkward corner and EHU for the supposedly five pitches.

There is a rally field next to the site which is again basic to the extreme and the single tap on the CL is used by them also. The path to the beach is also a public footpath and is used by people who are using the Warren Camp Site across the main road, but this is not an annoyance and unlike a previous post I found this path to be clean of any dog fouling.

You might find Eric hard to contact to book as it is a working farm but persevere as this site is a little gem and as I have said very basic but if you are used to using your own facilities it is no problem.

The Cl was fully booked, with units coming and going daily but without any disturbance to the remaining residents. While I was there the rally field was booked for a V Dub rally but this did not cause any inconvenience to the remaining CL users. The view from the site is toward the Holy Island (Lindisfarne) Which was an enjoyable 20 mile cycle ride away, using the Sustrans ONE cycle route.

Bamburgh and its castle is also a very enjoyable 1 hour walk away along Budle Bay's beautiful beach. The castle is well worth a visit and if you have an English Heritage card you will get a 20% discount.

The water supply is from a natural spring. The beautiful beach is a 5 minute walk away. Eric is very laid back and there are no rules, he will give you his mobile number if you have need to contact him.

In summary. If you do not mind a basic site this CL is much recommended. DO NOT BE PUT OFF by the lack of facilities here, this location is outstanding. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Moorlander999 11 reviews from this member

 Back again for a 12 night stay. A perfect location for touring the Northumberland coast. Great walk from the site into Bamburgh.

'plus points'.

1)- location, location, location !

2)Great beach less than 5 mins away!

3)Very friendly owners

Minus points -

1) it's very basic no toilets or showers and the waste disposal area can get a bit muddy.

2)The rally field adjacent was also very busy - we had problems with the kids from the rally field playing around the caravans, they thought it was funny to remove pegs from the awnings, 'twanging' the storm straps etc but we're soon given the hard word by Eric, the owner.

3) the waste disposal point which takes both toilet and grey waste can fill up quickly if busy and towards the end of our stay we were advised to tip grey waste on the dirt track adjacent.

4) why don't people rinse the chemical waste area out after emptying their toilet - or is it normal to leave it for the next person???

Overall a great holiday. Try the butchers in Bamburgh. Great pies and fantastic sausages. We will be back again next year thanks to Eric and Ivan ( Ivan never stopped clearing up on the site. Hard working gent ) 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jemmby 15 reviews from this member

 This is our kind of site. I followed the directions supplied by a previous reviewer (thanks for the detailed review, it helped a lot)although we missed the hand made sign at 1st and had to turn around. On our arrival the other campers pointed out the water and CDP.

The EHU and pitches were obvious. The water point was a bit difficult for us to access with our vehicle but we managed. A lovely beach is just a few hundred yards further down the track and we walked to Bamburgh and back via the beach and the dunes.

It was great to watch the kite surfers who were nearby on the beach. The friendly farmer came to check we were OK and to collect his fee.

It was brilliant for us and our two dogs. A great base from which to tour the area.

This site is now in our top 5 favourite sites. We loved it and have already recommended it to several, like minded, people. We will return. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Moorlander999 11 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 6 nights. 2 adults, 1 touring caravan and porch awning.

Ok, first off. Be patient when you try to book. The landline has no answer machine. Try the owners mobile phone. But again be patient. He is a farmer and may be out doing farmer type stuff.

We rang and rang until ERIC ( the owner ) rang us back. We confirmed our dates by text message too. The site is on the coast road towards Bamburgh, just out Waren Mill. There is a small hand written sign on the grass verge. Turn left down the gravel track. Immediately to your left is the a Rally field( no EHU) which was being used by The Beach Gathering VW club. ( this field is also owned by Eric) No noise and seemed a good bunch. Carry on down the track there is a small grassed area( which Eric told us was once the gardens to the cottages ) to the left with 5 pitches. There is a small handwritten board with pitch numbers on and a reversible board with ' booked' or ' free' on them. You choose the pitch which is free and then turn the board over. The sign also has Eric's mobile number on which I rang to let him know we had landed. The pitches slope slightly to the right as you face them. We had to use one levelling block. There is EHU for each pitch and there is water and chemical/grey waste nearby. Pitch number 1 next to the track requires a LOT of levelling front to back but Eric is on hand to help. We stayed on pitch 3. The pitches back onto a hedge line which was FULL of sparrows and blue tits. Some even sat on the inside of our open bathroom skylight they were so tame. The lane serves as access to the terrace of four single storey cottages and also a public footpath to the beach so can get busy with people walking down to the beach. Also used as as a dog loo - I had to ask several times for dog owners to clear up ( these were people who were not stopping on the site). It was also used by several people to launch their jet skis but this was via Eric as he has the key to the gate which prevents unauthorised access by vehicles down to the beach.

The minus points to the site are:- no toilets, no showers and the grey / chemical waste disposal point can get a bit muddy and overflowed while we were there. The waste bins were full, all the time we were there and there is no recycling. The lane can be busy. The jet skis are noisy when you are on the beach.

Make sure Eric confirms your booking. Another person staying the same week as us told us they were regulars at the site and had often been double booked so had to pitch down the lane outside one of Eric's cottages.

The plus points are that it's so close to the sea. With a great view to the sea.

£15 per night incl EHU and awning.

The site has no website, email etc.

Would visit again ! 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Budle Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Budle Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Budle Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bamburgh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6860 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements