Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Southsea Holiday Home And Lodge Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Southsea > Southsea Holiday Home And Lodge Park Reviews

Southsea Holiday Home And Lodge Park
Melville Road
Southsea
Hampshire   (Browse area)
PO4 9TB
Tel: 023 9273 5070
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 24
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 4/10 from 56 Reviews
                4/10 from 56 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Val holland 8 reviews from this member

We stayed at this sight because it was the only site we could find near to portsmouth, and after reading the reviews I was a bit scared of what to expect. It was in a lovely location right on the sea front and portsmouth could be reached by a long walk along the front about 45 mins. The lady on reception was lovely and had waited for us to arrive as we had been held up in traffic, we found our pitch easy and had plenty of room, we did not spend much time on the sight as we were visiting friends in portsmouth, but found the site ok, I think it depends on who you were next to. All the people around us were lovely. The toilets and showers were not brilliant but served the purpose and the water was hot. I have been to worse. We did not use any of the other facilities so cannot comment on these. A good campsite for visiting portsmouth, only 6 in a taxi into gunwharf quays if you do not fancy a long walk.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Landrovernut3 2 reviews from this member

Well what can one say. Having stayed at many sites all over the UK, I found this one to be the worst ever. You get given a key to get access to the toilet/shower block, even though the lock had been smashed off the door. Only stayed for 2 nights and on the 1st night only one toilet out off 3 was useable, second day there were no toilets in the men's were in a fit state to use, either blocked up or just to dirty to go in and didn't even have loo paper in! The whole block was filthy, tiles missing, ceiling had holes in, and mould in showers.

Pitches were very small and everyone crammed in tight. There were a lot of vans on site which looked like they were lived in all year round and very scruffy. For the price they charge I wouldn't recommend this site to anyone.

On the plus side it had easy access to beach as fence was missing and also some fairly new statics on site

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Croudyl 3 reviews from this member

The only redeeming feature of this site is its location near to Portsmouth ferry terminal. This site is an absolute disgrace. We stayed here for two nights - one before catching our ferry to France and one on the return journey (which, had I not paid an outrageous 28 per night in advance, I would not have stayed). The pitches were badly marked out, very small and cramped. The site itself is extremely shabby and looks nothing like the pictures on the website. The roads are in a very bad state of repair with potholes in abundance, the lighting around the site (where there is some) is in the same poor state with broken light bulbs. I didn't visit the main toilet/shower facilities but the disabled facilities were quite disgusting. The toilet bowl didn't look as if it had seen bleach or any form of cleaning for some considerable time. All the fitments were old and in need of refurbishment. The swimming pool was closed so I can't comment on this. The bar area on our first visit (early July) was a building site and in accord with the state of the rest of the site, but, to be fair, this area had been completed to a good standard by our return visit (mid-July). However the exterior of the bar area looked untidy and unkempt with chipboard replacing a broken window. In conclusion, the other poor reviews from 2014 reflect the true state of this site. This is the worst site I have ever visited and I would not return under any circumstances.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Teresaheath 2 reviews from this member

Visited may bank holiday weekend for 3 nights and will NOT be returning unless they get their act together and tidy up the place.

On arrival we were allocated our pitch and given a map of the park and a map of the nearby town with a list of attractions. We booked a gravel pitch as we have a 30ft long caravan.

Staff seemed friendly enough so we set off to find our pitch.

The site itself consisted mainly of holiday homes with a grassy area for tents in the first half of the site and the touring section was at the far end within the permanent residents section.

Immediately we regretted choosing this site. The Tarmac roads that run through the site were covered in huge potholes. There were weeds everywhere. Even found Nails and screws within our gravel pitch!

We were lucky enough to be pitched near the toilet/shower block (the only one on the whole site) which tbh wasn't in the best condition. Although was cleaned once a day every morning, there was never any toilet roll and the floors were always dirty and sodden wet. I did have a shower whilst there and it was a awful experience. First the door didn't shut properly so I was on view to everyone. Also there was no shower curtain so my clothes got wet and the cubicle was covered in mould.

Moving on to the rest of the site. Play area was ok which was located near the entrance by the clubhouse. There was a outdoor swimming pool which was closed even though was advertised on their website that it would be open. Which was one of the reasons we chose this site in the first place and was a hot weekend and could have done with a dip.

The clubhouse was very small with only a handful of tables and a small bar. There was a arcade area for the kids but again was very small set in a conservatory and half the games were turned off or broken.

We didn't use the clubhouse as were advised not to by one of the permanent residents who said we could be likely to get food poisoning if we ate or drank there!

On the plus side the beach there was fantastic with a direct walkway running through from the campsite.

The local attractions were Good with plenty of museums. Kids loved the natural history museum with their butterfly room. Also the permanant funfair located down near the pier was very good.

All in all the place looked like a building site and was very run down and overpriced. Think we paid 150 for 3 nights which included a deposit for the barrier card and a key card for the toilet block.

Unfortunately I will not be recommending this site to anyone and I will not be revisiting.

Shame it's the only campsite in that area as the local area was lovely.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vinnie1 1 review from this member

We were so glad we didn't take too much notice of other reviews of this great campsite.

Someone obviously with an axe to grind but unrelated to the site.

We loved it & will definitely return! Only stayed 2 nights but would love to have stayed longer.

Looked around, chose a pitch then checked in with ease and efficiency.

Bar had a great evening atmosphere with fun friendly regulars.

Showers hot & clean and plenty of loos.

Fabulous seafront location, & a 6 taxi ride or 5minute drive to nightlife or shops - or a walk if you fancy it.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Minstrel 1 review from this member

Enjoyed our stay. Good weather and good pitch and very close to the beach. Toilets and showers clean if lacking toilet paper in gents. Bar staff friendly but unfortunately reception staff need customer care training. We enjoyed our stay as it was quiet and a good location for Portsmouth but afraid to say we will not return.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ollythefrog 5 reviews from this member

OMG I have stayed in some very poor campsites but this stands head an shoulders above all of them.

We booked in and were given a pitch with hook up. Unfortunately it was dark and raining heavily and with very poor site lighting it proved difficult to locate our pitch even though there were not many using the site.

When it came to plugging in for the hook up we found there was no power which was not surprising as the electrical box was hanging off its hinges and everything was wet internally. So not to be out done we found the next nearest box which was in a similar state and with no power.

After a call to the office we were told to 'just find any pitch and try the box then use that pitch'. Eventually we found a box that worked.

The shower blocks were a disgrace as the lighting in the shower block above the showers was broken with the light tubes removed making it quite a dark area to be. The shower control which was just a stainless steel box with a 'push knob' in the middle was hanging off and had to be held in the depressed position all the time making showering complicated. This would not have been acceptable for a disabled person. Two of the toilets were blocked all weekend and are probably still blocked as no apparent cleaning activities took place as far a I could see. The site is very run down and has 'permanent' residents one of which had built a makeshift kennel under his dismountable unit from where a security business was being run. The dog inside the kennel barked whenever somebody walked past. Traffic in the site was driven very fast with one resident allowing his small child (about 6 years old) to drive past our van while sitting on his parents knee. The final straw for me was waking up on our last day to find that someone had allowed their dog to foul outside our van. Dogs were not restricted to any one area as far as I could see.

I'm annoyed I have to write this review because the site charges high prices for a very poor service. I feel sorry for anyone who has saved up their money for their once a year holiday to be confronted by this site.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fayety 5 reviews from this member

What can I say about this site other than AWFUL!

I was delighted when I phoned on the Friday before the bank holiday to be told that they had a pitch available with electric for one night. I drove straight there and found they could fit me in for the Friday and Saturday night so I duly paid up including deposits for toilet block key and entry barrier card. As it was late when I arrived the tent was pitched in the dark and we went straight to bed. In the morning the following revealed itself and I regretted choosing this site.

The pitches are small and cramped, there are not enough showers and there is never any hot water, there are not enough toilets (take your own paper as they run out)and the staff are very rude and unwilling to help.

If you are looking for somewhere to stay that is expensive 31. 00 per night with cold showers, very noisy campers late into the night and early morning and staff who think you are being totally unreasonable for expecting to get what you have paid for then this is the site for you!

Be warned, they think they are giving value for money because of their proximity to Portsmouth. Pay the extra and book into a Travelodge or guest house.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Try Again 2 reviews from this member

We visited this site during the bank holiday week to ascertain whether we would be better here than at a site 30 minutes drive away. The price per night for the dates of our intended visit was 25. We asked whether we could have a walk round and the receptionist said that would be fine. We walked through the whole park before arriving at the touring pitches. The static vans were surrounded by pebbles, not a flower or blade of grass in sight. The toilet blocks looked shabby from the outside and we didn't go inside.

The touring pitches were clearly close together in some areas and the 'grass' was either overcamped or dead anyway.

There were a few genuine touring units on site but many shabby, dirty 'tourers' which were clearly permanent fixtures. Many of them were surrounded by a lot of debris and mess, quite unappealing to look at.

Our conclusion, stick with the clean, tidy site we were on for 16 a night and carry on driving.

In parts it had all the appearance of a gypsy encampment apart from the heaps of scrap metal and white vans.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lovebus2 5 reviews from this member

We booked for two nights, the first pitch we had was full of weeds, so we moved, rubbish in the hedgerows, no signs on the doors for ladies or gents the ladies toilets were horrid, loose toilet seats, all black something or other in the pan, no way could I use them, the drinking water taps yuk, the area was full of weeds and cigarette butts. The place is open all year so there is no need for it too be dirty and untidy. Unable to order food after 5. 45, nothing else nearby to eat. We were woken at 12, 2. 30, 5. 30 and 7. 30, no one minds people enjoying themselves, but think of others. This place obviously does not have a time curfew, and it was expensive to stay.

Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Southsea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5857 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019