Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ashurst Camping in the New Forest

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > New Forest & Hampshire > Southampton > Ashurst Camping in the New Forest > Reviews

Ashurst Camping in the New Forest
New Forest, Lyndhurst Road
Ashurst
Southampton
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO40 7AR
Tel: 02380 292097
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 280
Open: 07/04/2024 to 26/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 138 Reviews
                8/10 from 138 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  138 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: ChrisBradburn 30 reviews from this member

 These forest sites are under new management, The new team seem to be more relaxed although still very much on the ball.

There was a free choice of hard or grass pitches, none of which have hook ups. There is a choice of pubs in easy walking distance and an hourly bus service from the camp entrance.

Local walks and cycle rides through the forest with a lovely, green field four mile round trip to the newspaper shop. Ponies are free roaming throughout the site.

There is very little traffic noise even with the close proximity of the main road. Just the police sirens of course (it seems to be impossible to get away from them these days).

The facilities are fine, TV signal good, 4g is OK. There is no site WiFi.

Site fees are a little high but given the wonderful and spacious natural environment we shall certainly be back again. 


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Garys8 1 review from this member

 Lovely spot, immaculately clean and quiet, loved waking up to the squirrels and birds.

Showers were particularly nice, clean and welcome!

Walked to the New Forest pub.

Beware the kitchen closes EARLY @ 7:45 so ended up walking further to the nearby curry house (Asha’s) which was superb. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: KatieDu 1 review from this member

 Lots of varied places to pitch - sun/shade, open/secluded.

No marked pitches, just the 6metre rule.

Good clean facilities (toilets, showers, and washbasins in cubicles) always open as split into two parts, each cleaned at different times.

There is also a dishwashing room with 8 sinks and drainers, and a motorhome service point which has a drive over for grey waste.

Friendly staff. Early check in/ late check out available for small fee if space allows.

Close to two pubs serving food. One mile to decent size co op. Buses and trains run from just outside entrance. Possible to walk into forest directly from site.

Ponies and foals wandering around the site when we were there. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Vv59 3 reviews from this member

 What an excellent site, plenty of room with good facilities in the centre, from the greeting to leaving we enjoyed our stay.

The site was clean and tidy not overcrowded, yes there were some waterlogged areas, but there were plenty of dry spots, you can't change the weather!

Close to Southampton and the forest attractions,

We're booking for another weekend now 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Chriss 1 review from this member

 I don't have a bad word to say about this campsite,

The facilities were excellent and there was plenty of space and it was also nice and quiet too.

Would certainly recommend. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Kentish cob 2 reviews from this member

 Pretty much my go-to site when visiting the New Forest.

Good sized pitches nicely spread out, with a choice of open grass or in the trees, a godsend to be in the shade of the oaks through the recent heatwave.

Easy to get to and a decent, good value touring base for the national park.

Staff are welcoming and friendly, and facilities are nice and clean.

The only downside is the site is bordered by the rail line on the south-side and the A35 on the north, but there are plenty of pitches through the middle of the site to minimise any noise.

Al in all, I'd have no hesitation in recommending. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lee 60 24 reviews from this member

 We really enjoyed our visit to this tranquil site. Never having stayed with Camping in the Forest we didn't really know what to expect, but we were pleasantly surprised.

Set in beautiful woodland, with walking and cycling trails leading off in several directions, this really is a gem of a location. We were greeted by Pamela who couldn't have been more helpful. She explained the rules and gave us loads of useful information.

The facilities are not new, but very clean and functional. There is no EHU, so you have to make best use of your leisure battery or torches. You basically choose your pitch, but we found plenty of hard standing for our van, particularly good if you want a bit of space. There are camping only areas and many fresh water points throughout the site.

Horses and cattle roam freely around the site, which really brings home the New Forest experience. We were able to cycle from the campsite on paths directly to Lyndhurst, out to Brockenhurst and back in via a different route, all mostly on forest rails.

There is a main line railway which runs down one side of the site. Whilst the trains can be heard, they didn't disturb us.

We would definitely come back at some point, but looking at some of the other reviews, we would again make sure it isn't at the weekend or during school holidays.

My only niggle was that we were not told before booking that bike thieves are active in the area. The site is open to walkers and cyclists ant there isn't a perimeter fence, only a barrier which is locked at night. We had not trouble, but if you have expensive bikes, be warned. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fudge59 35 reviews from this member

 This is not a bad site, but I think it isn't suitable for everyone. Over the weekend there were a lot of large family and other groups, so it was quite busy. There was some late noise (talking loudly at 0130) on the Friday night, but I think the group in question was warned so it was quieter on the Saturday. The wardens we spoke to said that they were quite happy to be called on the emergency number late at night if there was noise.

The site is in a good location with good travel connections (both buses and trains), two pubs close by and a shop a little further down the road. There is some noise from the railway line and road, and some very early/late trains if you're close to the line (on the left side of the site as you come in). It's a beautiful area, though I think more suitable for cycling than walking.

The pitches were a decent size, though some were a bit waterlogged. There were both open and shaded areas to go to. There is one large toilet block in the site, which didn't seem to be overcrowded with some covid restrictions. The facilities were extremely clean. There's no EHU. The staff we spoke to were friendly and helpful.

All in all, it's not a bad site, but I probably wouldn't visit again at the weekend as it was a bit busy and group orientated for us. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Junglesim 17 reviews from this member

 What a great campsite. Great setting in the trees with horses running wild. Very clean facilities and great staff. What more could a happy camper wish for. I would highly recommended this to couples and families alike. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Roofybubbles1 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned after 3 nights camping at Ashurst. We woke on the first morning to ponies roaming through the campsite and one inquisitive pony poking his head into our porch. The toilet/shower blocks although older were impeccably clean and the hot water was always available whatever time day or night. No EHU but that is in part the site's charm. Lovely stay and definitely one to return to. Thank you also to the exceptionally friendly staff. 


Previous     138 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Ashurst Camping in the New Forest child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ashurst Camping in the New Forest?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Ashurst Camping in the New Forest dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Southampton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3534 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement