Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Wavecrest Campsite (was Campbells)

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Barra > Wavecrest Campsite (was Campbells) > Reviews

Wavecrest Campsite (was Campbells)
Borve
Castlebay
Isle Of Barra
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS9 5XR
Tel: 07960217328  or  07960217328
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/03/2023 to 31/10/2023
           01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 67 Reviews
                10/10 from 67 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (30)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Skyemc 1 review from this member

 Lovley little site with great view which was very easy to find. Less than 10 min drive to ferry terminal and shops.

Friendly owners who respond quickly to emails and are happy to chat on site. Facilities are clean.

Showers have hot water (1 for 5mins) toilets and a little kitchen area with sink, microwave and fridge. Reasonable price.

I would happily stay again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hjhall 1 review from this member

 We were well looked after at the campsite and helped to dry out our flooded out tent which proved not to withstand the unfortunate weather conditions.

The site has good, clean facilities and is in a lovely and convenient location. The only improvement I can think of, would be the provision of a freezer compartment that campers can use for ice blocks. 


Date of Visit: October 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: George 1 review from this member

 Superb position with great views of Atlantic rollers. Very friendly guys looking after the sire for mum!

Good clean facilities. You do have to pay for showers.

Great base for exploring Barra and Vatersay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Anita5 1 review from this member

 Great campsite, perfectly located overlooking the sea.

Clean facilities, great area to explore from.

Handy area with info, fridge, freezer, sink, kettle and other bits and bats.

Friendly staff who are happy to help. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Fasbar 1 review from this member

 We received a friendly welcome.

The facilities are excellent.

There are fabulous views on this relaxed, tidy, well maintained site.

Great for exploring by cycle. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jonny gibbo 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Wavecrest camping for 3 nights and I have to say this is the most friendly and helpful site I've ever stayed on.

Our ferry was delayed and we only got to the site close to midnight but the 2 guys Callum and Gordon stayed out in really bad weather to greet us and help us pitch up. And they both gave us little nuggets of info about walks or places to go or eat. Well done lads!

Views from the pitches couldn't be better. Literally on the side of the ocean. All the amenities were clean and a campers cabin with fridge, microwave and kettle. Very close within walking distance to the Hebridean Way footpath. A real away from it all feeling but still only 10 minutes by car to the village for food or the ferry.

This is a great site for many reasons and it will be the first site I book on my next visit to the Hebrides.

John and Shelley 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gail Hamp 2 reviews from this member

 The most convenient campsite from ferry arrival at castlebay, just a few minutes away.

Beautiful location facing wild beach. Walks from here.

Fully adequate facilities.

Good value. 


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Youtwo 1 review from this member

 The location is superb, above rocky inlets with great view of the sunsets and waves breaking on the reefs.

All the facilities one needs are there, both clean and easily available 1 for a 5 min shower. With separate kitchen facilities.

Very friendly welcome from our hosts who also gave useful local information.

The site is largely fairly level and spacious,

Would highly recommend 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gphand 1 review from this member

 Very friendly host, very helpful.

Loved our short stay, facilities very well kept, very clean.

The site was generally flat and all pitches

Were on grass with ample ehu 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Siobha 2 reviews from this member

 I did not know what to expect when I booked this site and I was blown away by just how wonderful my stay was. Margaret Mary and Ronald were so welcoming. They gave me lots of information and showed me local walks. Which are worth doing for the views/

The site location is fantastic, right next to the sea. I loved listening to the roar of the waves crashing onto the rugged coastline when it was windy.

I had electric hookup alongside a table and benches that are provided to sit out and take in the beautiful surroundings.

Nice hot showers that were spotless.

Castlebay shops and pub about two miles down the road.

Barra airport is worth a visit to see the small

Plane land on the sandy beach when the tide is out.

The island of Vatersay is not far by car and it is beautiful. Stunning beaches.

I loved my stay at Wavecrest and I would thoroughly recommend it and I cannot wait to return. Great value for money 
via mobile


Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Wavecrest Campsite (was Campbells) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wavecrest Campsite (was Campbells)?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Wavecrest Campsite (was Campbells) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Barra      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan, Motorhome & Holiday Show 11/01 to 14/01
Over 200 exhibitors with all the latest 2024 models and a fantastic selection of accessories, the Caravan & Motorhome Show is not to be missed! Claim FREE TICKETS

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5413 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2023


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
2023 Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £200 each PLUS a 2023 Christmas Day Star Prize worth £919

Open Today's Window



Advertisement