Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wavecrest Campsite (was Campbells)

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Barra > Wavecrest Campsite (was Campbells) Reviews

Wavecrest Campsite (was Campbells)
77 Borve
Castlebay
Isle Of Barra
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS9 5XR
Tel: 01871 810408  or  07973525357
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 61 Reviews
                10/10 from 61 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gail Hamp 2 reviews from this member

 The most convenient campsite from ferry arrival at castlebay, just a few minutes away.

Beautiful location facing wild beach. Walks from here.

Fully adequate facilities.

Good value. 


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Youtwo 1 review from this member

 The location is superb, above rocky inlets with great view of the sunsets and waves breaking on the reefs.

All the facilities one needs are there, both clean and easily available 1 for a 5 min shower. With separate kitchen facilities.

Very friendly welcome from our hosts who also gave useful local information.

The site is largely fairly level and spacious,

Would highly recommend 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gphand 1 review from this member

 Very friendly host, very helpful.

Loved our short stay, facilities very well kept, very clean.

The site was generally flat and all pitches

Were on grass with ample ehu 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Siobha 2 reviews from this member

 I did not know what to expect when I booked this site and I was blown away by just how wonderful my stay was. Margaret Mary and Ronald were so welcoming. They gave me lots of information and showed me local walks. Which are worth doing for the views/

The site location is fantastic, right next to the sea. I loved listening to the roar of the waves crashing onto the rugged coastline when it was windy.

I had electric hookup alongside a table and benches that are provided to sit out and take in the beautiful surroundings.

Nice hot showers that were spotless.

Castlebay shops and pub about two miles down the road.

Barra airport is worth a visit to see the small

Plane land on the sandy beach when the tide is out.

The island of Vatersay is not far by car and it is beautiful. Stunning beaches.

I loved my stay at Wavecrest and I would thoroughly recommend it and I cannot wait to return. Great value for money 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Seanon 1 review from this member

 Just a fantastic site with an incredible aspect.

Simple but very adequate facilities and wonderfully friendly staff.

Peaceful beyond belief. I would definitely return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sallyc 1 review from this member

 Great campsite with beautiful views and great, clean facilities.

Lovely, friendly hosts who were so kind and over nice because we were on our honeymoon-

We had a lovely time and would love to go back again sometime. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Annsc3 1 review from this member

 Wonderfully located campsite on the beach within 40 minute walk of castlebay. Gordon and Callum managing the site were exceptional; so friendly and knowledgeable.

The shower and toilet facilities although located within container units are kept extremely clean and the showers (operated by 1 coin) are great. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Averil 1 review from this member

 The friendliest welcome ever was received from Ronald and Margaret Mary Campbell, from the booking in process to the siting of our motorhome.

Wished we could have stopped longer, but we had the rest of the Outer Hebrides to explore.

Barra is a beautiful island and watching the flight from Glasgow land on a white sandy beach is a sight to behold.

The only downside was no O2 reception at all, but, hey, we survived! 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Petean 1 review from this member

 This site is amazing beautiful views excellent facilities couldn't ask for more.

The owners to be honest I've never met a more helpful caring couple as on the Thursday of our holiday high winds made us take our tent down but Ronald was the most helpful person we could've needed, along with fellow campers our tent would've been in the Atlantic

So in a crisis time along with a perfect campsite was absolutely brilliant 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mckenz 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic friendly campsite with beautiful views onto the sea.

10 minute drive from the ferry at castlebay, Warm welcome on arrival and flexible on pitches.

Toilet, shower and kitchen all spotlessly clean.

Would definitely stay at Wavecrest again without a doubt. 
via mobile


Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wavecrest Campsite (was Campbells) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wavecrest Campsite (was Campbells)?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Wavecrest Campsite (was Campbells) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Barra      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7650 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement