Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hedley Wood Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Site Reviews

Hedley Wood Caravan & Camping Park
Tackbear Road
Bridgerule
Nr Bude
Holsworthy
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX22 7ED
Tel: 01288 381404
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 49 Reviews
                8/10 from 49 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cleemark 1 review from this member

Booked a week in our tent, out of season for 2 adults, 2 dogs and electric for just 90. Bargain! To be honest, for the price, I was not expecting much but was very pleasantly surprised from the moment we arrived.

We were the only tent in a vast field with far-reaching views. Our pitch was basically a ten acre field!

Large, attractive separate dog walking field but sadly some dog owner's were ignoring the 'dogs on a lead' rule and letting their mutts run free around the main field and wind up our 2 tethered husky's. Had to have a word with a couple of dog owners! At no point did I come across any dog poo, even in the dog walking field so nice and clean.

Weather initially great but thanks to storm 'Ali' coming in suddenly (we were not keeping up with news weather), we had to cut our stay short to protect our tent from 100kph winds. At 5. 00pm we asked reception (who had just closed) if there might be a static caravan available to rent for one night. We were given this for free; they refused to take any offer of money, or even a tip the next day. This was a bit of a stressful time and the staff made things great, enabling us to relax and drive home safely the next day. This was 'above and beyond' customer care.

Re the site, brand new dog kennels (for use during the day), clean and efficient shower/toilet facilities, friendly and knowledgeable staff and a handy shop. There is a new-looking kids play area and an aviary with cockatiels and parakeets with a sitting area. They even have an electric car charging point!

Locally, there's not much within walking distance but that is up to the traveller to research beforehand rather than the fault of the site. Our husky's had lots of lovely long walks. The local beach was lovely (and dog friendly) and Hedley Wood staff even advised a where to park for free. Nothing like a bit of local knowledge!

If as we did, you want/need a night off from your dogs (my wife's birthday - went for a meal at Jamaica Inn, 40 minutes drive away), there is a dog boarding kennel (Breezelyn) half a mile from the camp site. They were also very helpful.

We will definitely be coming back and I will be recommending to our camping friends.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ben and honey 2 reviews from this member

We have our Touring caravan stored at Hedleywood and have done so for several years, We love this site My Husband and Our Dog Archie, it has improved very much with a New Manager Paul who is extremely friendly and helpful and also not forgetting George and Amanda who are really friendly staff, in fact we have not come across anybody there who is not helpful. I know there is a lot of work going on but that is not a bad thing as it is getting improvements all the time, it will take a little while to get it all together but bare with them, they are doing there best. They also open the club house a lot more than it ever was with music which is good, they are trying different things to improve it which I for one are grateful, more things for the teenagers would be an advantage.

We have been down to our caravan April, May, June, got a week in July, Long weekend for my Birthday in August and a week in September, We cannot wait.

Give it a chance, Hedleywood is a lovely setting and not far from Bude

Roll on 3 weeks time for our holiday. Well done the New Team at Hedleywood

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AdamsFamily6162 1 review from this member

A real find! Choose own electric hook-up pitch - bonus! Toilets, showers & washing-up facilities immaculate with constant hot water. Bar food gorgeous & very, very reasonable. Staff friendly/helpful!

Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Heatherv8 1 review from this member

Just returned from a New Year stay at this site, the staff are VERY friendly, its a very pretty site, and they really pushed the boat out at new year, including Santa making a stop over, I know you had to pay for the food but 7 for adults and 4 for children ( including a gift)is excellent value for money.

Unfortunately I couldn't eat anything at the buffet, due to me being coeliac, shame as the food looked amazing, but I mentioned it to the lovely lady who was preparing food, and she asked what she could prepare for me, so off she went to do me a jacket potato with salad etc, all done with a smile, without making me feel a nuisance, first class customer service,

The children enjoyed seeing the animals, but couldn't play at the park as the weather had been too wet.

Unfortunately we wont come back as the caravans are in really poor condition now, our caravan number 20, had 2 faulty doors, one let daylight in at the top, one let it in at the bottom, I did mention it at reception, and the lady did offer to send someone down to see if anything could be done, but did comment as the vans are really old now, the hinges might be too fragile to do anything with, so we ended up taping both doors up, but the van was still very cold with the heaters on, the gas fire didn't actually do a lot, a very small flame, so we all slept in pjs t shirts and socks, thankfully we took 3 season sleeping bags not quilts, but the top of them and the pillows were icy cold in the morning, as it was too expensive, as well as possibly dangerous, to leave the heaters on all night,

Such a shame that the van let the site down for us, as the staff are a credit to the site,

One more thing to note, is a car is really important as the site is in the middle of nowhere, but if you take your own van, love a pretty and quiet site with wonderful staff, this would be perfect for you,

Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: WetWindyHappy 2 reviews from this member

We booked because of the description that used words like 'peaceful' and 'Dog Friendly', we arrived the day of the Fireworks and can only describe that evening as absolute animal cruelty for us (I kid you not).

Don't get me wrong, we were advised of the pending fireworks, but thought that as they are a pet friendly site they would conduct it responsibly (more colour than bangs and away from the accommodation areas, but its only a small site, that would have been difficult), we were very wrong.

The site owners may not consider around an hour of intense and very loud and consistent explosions, accompanied by very loud music to be animal cruelty (tell it to the dogs that were absolutely petrified), and they may feel this review is unfair, but we paid for the words that are used to describe the site (for one torturous hour this was the polar opposite, and ruined the lot, our dog was not right for a few days afterwards).

This was probably our fault for visiting around that time, but, If you love your dog, don't visit around any sort of celebration time. It would have been nice to have been warned properly (we won't be making that mistake again).

On the whole the site itself was OK.

10/10 for end of season prices.

Cleanliness of caravan was OK, but dead flies lay in the lamp shades of the caravan and the steps into our caravan didn't look safe (just my opinion).

Didn't use any of the other services, so can't comment.

The British Holiday industry has become very expensive from a customer point of view (and that which is offered has appeared to remain the same) but this site has to be the best value for money that I have found (I looked at well over 100 sites around the UK when looking for a static caravan doggie holiday, pity the fireworks spoilt it, we were in desperate need of a holiday which unfortunately didn't happen for us).

Just our experience, I gave it 9 out of 10 because probably 99% of the time this site is half decent.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Donna jane 1 review from this member

We have been going to hedley wood for a number of years and we find the site very pleasant. The staff are helpful and willing to help. There are facilities which are cleaned regularly and a bar which serves great homemade food. Dogs are welcome free of charge. If you have a problem you just speak to the staff and if possible they will resolve the problem for you. All in all we give it 10 out of 10 and will be returning again and again.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Melkat 2 reviews from this member

We had, on several occasions, previously pitched our tent, with electric hook-up, at this site and had always been more than satisfied with the facilities on offer and the friendly helpful staff. The bar and restaurant offer a wide range of good value meals and the take-away option is always welcome. Especially after a long day of visiting the many attractions locally available, when you just want to curl up in private and relax.

Last year we decided to try one of their static caravans on offer for people with dogs. Having two dogs, a dog friendly site which encourages responsible dog owners, is a must for us.

There are specific statics for use by people with dogs. We had expected a lower standard of static for people with dogs but we were pleasantly surprised both at the state of the internal fittings and the accessories. The fridge, flat screen TV, gas hob and oven were all of a high standard and worked perfectly. The beds and sofas were comfortable and the shower was perfect.

Although the on-site shower and toilet facilities are of the highest quality you are likely to find on any site (I have been camping, home and abroad for almost 40 years) the convenience of having these in the static were welcome as I am well into my 60's.

We will be back again this year - looking forward to meeting the friendliest and most helpful staff who always exceed our expectations. That is the best recommendation I can make.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Kjhope84 1 review from this member

This site is really amazing, first visit with our 5year old daughter and puppy had a great time. Campsite extremely clean and well maintained. Excellent surroundings for dogs and families. The static caravan was clean well equipped and had a lot of space. The site is located close to the beach and other family orientated places. We live 7hrs from this site but would go again for the satisfaction l.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Lidds0 34 reviews from this member

We've just returned from a short-stay at Hedley Wood and have nothing but good things to say about it.

The staff were all welcoming, friendly and helpful but not at all intrusive; only too glad to answer any queries about the site and surrounding area; offering advice on where best to go for shopping and recommending nearby eateries (their own restaurant and bar isn't open until a little later in the season, but I had a glance at the menu and was told they cook everything themselves, on site, so reckon that's maybe something worth checking out when they're open).

This pretty, well-kept (but not prissy or pristine), spacious site is set out on tiers, and we were told that campers can choose where to pitch on arrival and that they've (quote): 'Never turned anyone away'.

There are no designated pitches, so no restrictions on tent size, which is useful to know. Also, single-sex groups are accepted. No curfew time or rules to be seen but, on speaking with the manager, we were told that everyone is just expected to behave courteously and with a bit of common sense, and that usually works.

Every pitch - just under 180, I believe - has an EHU point, and we noticed that hook up leads for campers can be rented from reception if required.

There are two main sanitary blocks (one at the top of the site, one nearer the lower meadows) and both are modern, well-equipped and spotlessly clean when we were there (they even smelled nice!). There are further toilets in the lower reception building and a washing up block near the lower pitches.

We noticed they were installing new water pipes, and were told it was to improve water pressure issues around the site. They were also installing new hardstanding and parking areas in some of the meadows, apparently to save campers from driving on the grass and potentially churning it up when it's wet. We didn't find the works intrusive or noisy.

We noticed what looked like some permanent pitches on the lower meadow but, as it's ten acres big (the clue is in the name: 'Ten Acres'), there's a huge amount of space so they don't impede in any way. It's edged with trees, and beautiful. This is next to the dog exercise field, by the way.

The top meadows have incredible views and one is next to a sheep field, so quite idyllic. Conifer Meadow is closest to the top sanitary block and is really level and a bit sheltered. That was my favourite!

There are a few statics on site - where we were - which are tucked away to one side. They are getting on a bit so are a little tired, but this is reflected in the price and ours was spotlessly clean and tidy so just the job for a comfortable and relaxing short break without lugging camping gear. They don't feel crammed in and ours had the most wonderful view across the campsite, from the front window.

They do store caravans on site but these too are tucked away and we only noticed them on the second day, when we were properly investigating.

There's an on site shop selling the basics, plus items of camping equipment (including rock pegs - needed for some of the lower pitches as this was apparently once a brickyard).

The site wasn't busy when we were there but the info states they have been granted Kennel Club awards for being dog-friendly (there's a considerable dog-walk/nature trail and dog exercising area on the site itself, and they offer daily kenneling for 4 per dog, which we thought is a great idea for when you want to go shopping or to visit a non-dog friendly attraction). In addition, we learned that dogs are apparently allowed in the static caravans (but not on the furniture, according to the info folder in the van, so you're required to take your own dog beds and blankets). They must be kept on a lead around the site and dog poop must be picked up (common sense, but just thought I'd mention). Dog poop bags are available in the shop.

No kids with us but we checked things out and saw 2 x playground areas (one for littlies adjacent to the restaurant/bar area, and one higher up the site for older children). Mostly, there's lots of space for them to run around and let off steam, especially at this time of year when the site is more quiet.

As has already been said, it's nicely remote (but not overly-so; about 15 minutes drive to Bude and less to Widemouth Bay, where the surf was spectacular). Lots of supermarkets to choose from within a 10-15 minute drive and the scenery in this area - in any direction - is simply stunning.

We went to Padstow one day (less than an hour in the car) and enjoyed fish and chips at Rick Stein's chippy, which was a bit too delicious!

All in all, a sizable, friendly, laid-back, well set-out site with good facilities, in a rural (and breathtakingly pretty) location, but close enough to fab beaches and good shops to make it a fine choice for everyone. I can see why it'd be popular in high season, and we certainly hope to return.

Date of Visit: December 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lorraine tommey 2 reviews from this member

My husband and I visited Hedley Wood for a 4 day break in a motorhome, across the New Year. The site is in a lovely rural location but in easy reach of Bude and Holsworthy. We like to visit rural and quiet locations, although this time of year is relatively quiet the touring pitches were fairly busy, due to New Years celebrations (but not overcrowded).

We stayed at the lower end of the site with easy access to good toilets and washing up facilities. The showers at the lower end were shut for refurbishment but facilities were available at top of the site. The site has a bar, which provides good home cooked food (not open during quiet periods), shop (closed during quiet periods), several children play areas and a small pets corner.

The best part was everyone was extremely friendly and welcoming, including the staff, owners and other site users. We were made to feel really welcome, therefore we would visit again. However we were advised it is a busy site during peak periods, so our preference will be to stay during low season when the site is quieter.

Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Devon (North)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2826 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019