Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hedley Wood Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Holsworthy > Hedley Wood Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Hedley Wood Caravan & Camping Park
Tackbear Road
Bridgerule
Nr Bude
Holsworthy
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX22 7ED
Tel: 01288 381404
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 53 Reviews
                8/10 from 53 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Jahmh 1 review from this member

 I booked this site because I was told there would be help from the wardens to help me if the van needed to be reversed parked.

It did & wardens to busy in the bar as I arrived later than 5pm due to M5 being grid locked.

I very nice guy & his wife helped & reversed parked for me.

The site was full being the 1st break many could enjoy after restrictions lifted. Lots of dogs. Tidy camp site.

No where to walk locally, but 10 minute drive from the beach which is lovely.

Would I go again, probably not.

To far from anywhere & a bit in the sticks. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: GerryWatkins 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite clean and tidy.

Friendly staff, bar, food, great location

Definitely stay here again

Close to lovely beaches and walks

Very peaceful and lots to do and see around the area 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Shaun328 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a week with niece and new puppy in September 19

Lovely site even with what can only be described as utterly poxy weather

Pitch size was more than adequate and despite torrential rain drained quite well

All amenities was clean and tidy and never had to queue for showers

Not much within walking distance but fantastic beaches just 10 mins drive away

All staff helpful and friendly

Easy access if using a map but sat nav did ensure a pretty interesting route once off main drag 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bessy525 50 reviews from this member

 A Site with lots of potential unfortunately not being fully utilized. We were on the lower barn section of the sprawling site and I can say the pitch sizes were small infact the ones opposite us only took a VW van size units because of a lack of depth.

Toilets and showers were clean most of the time but the toilet are fixed to the wall in a very high position which meant children struggled to actually sit on them. This led to me finding a deposit on the floor in the cubicle. During our stay of 8 out of 10 nights one cubicle in the mens remained permanently closed awaiting repairs.

The club house is open from 6-11pm only and as with the rest of the site had a large number of dogs, most owners were very responsible but on the 1 night we had entertainment 1 very vicious dog kept barking and trying to get at the other dogs. Surely a member of staff should have asked the person in question to leave.

Food prices in the clubhouse were reasonable but we didn't eat in their because of the large number of dogs. The site claims to have wifi but it was also out for the duration of our stay. When I asked about freeview reception I was told " this is Cornwall you don't get tv reception in this valley, you need a satellite system " would have been nice to know that before booking. Surprisingly no mention of this on the website.

We gave up on day 8 after a family arrived on the pitches above us who were partying until past midnight, unfortunately there were no members of staff available to ask the party to reduce the noise they were making. Needless to say we will not be returning 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cleemark 1 review from this member

 Booked a week in our tent, out of season for 2 adults, 2 dogs and electric for just 90. Bargain! To be honest, for the price, I was not expecting much but was very pleasantly surprised from the moment we arrived.

We were the only tent in a vast field with far-reaching views. Our pitch was basically a ten acre field!

Large, attractive separate dog walking field but sadly some dog owner's were ignoring the 'dogs on a lead' rule and letting their mutts run free around the main field and wind up our 2 tethered husky's. Had to have a word with a couple of dog owners! At no point did I come across any dog poo, even in the dog walking field so nice and clean.

Weather initially great but thanks to storm 'Ali' coming in suddenly (we were not keeping up with news weather), we had to cut our stay short to protect our tent from 100kph winds. At 5. 00pm we asked reception (who had just closed) if there might be a static caravan available to rent for one night. We were given this for free; they refused to take any offer of money, or even a tip the next day. This was a bit of a stressful time and the staff made things great, enabling us to relax and drive home safely the next day. This was 'above and beyond' customer care.

Re the site, brand new dog kennels (for use during the day), clean and efficient shower/toilet facilities, friendly and knowledgeable staff and a handy shop. There is a new-looking kids play area and an aviary with cockatiels and parakeets with a sitting area. They even have an electric car charging point!

Locally, there's not much within walking distance but that is up to the traveller to research beforehand rather than the fault of the site. Our husky's had lots of lovely long walks. The local beach was lovely (and dog friendly) and Hedley Wood staff even advised a where to park for free. Nothing like a bit of local knowledge!

If as we did, you want/need a night off from your dogs (my wife's birthday - went for a meal at Jamaica Inn, 40 minutes drive away), there is a dog boarding kennel (Breezelyn) half a mile from the camp site. They were also very helpful.

We will definitely be coming back and I will be recommending to our camping friends. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ben and honey 4 reviews from this member

 We have our Touring caravan stored at Hedleywood and have done so for several years, We love this site My Husband and Our Dog Archie, it has improved very much with a New Manager Paul who is extremely friendly and helpful and also not forgetting George and Amanda who are really friendly staff, in fact we have not come across anybody there who is not helpful.

I know there is a lot of work going on but that is not a bad thing as it is getting improvements all the time, it will take a little while to get it all together but bare with them, they are doing there best.

They also open the club house a lot more than it ever was with music which is good, they are trying different things to improve it which I for one are grateful, more things for the teenagers would be an advantage.

We have been down to our caravan April, May, June, got a week in July, Long weekend for my Birthday in August and a week in September, We cannot wait.

Give it a chance, Hedleywood is a lovely setting and not far from Bude

Roll on 3 weeks time for our holiday. Well done the New Team at Hedleywood 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AdamsFamily6162 1 review from this member

 A real find! Choose own electric hook-up pitch - bonus! Toilets, showers & washing-up facilities immaculate with constant hot water. Bar food gorgeous & very, very reasonable. Staff friendly/helpful! 


Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Heatherv8 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a New Year stay at this site, the staff are VERY friendly, its a very pretty site, and they really pushed the boat out at new year, including Santa making a stop over, I know you had to pay for the food but 7 for adults and 4 for children ( including a gift)is excellent value for money.

Unfortunately I couldn't eat anything at the buffet, due to me being coeliac, shame as the food looked amazing, but I mentioned it to the lovely lady who was preparing food, and she asked what she could prepare for me, so off she went to do me a jacket potato with salad etc, all done with a smile, without making me feel a nuisance, first class customer service,

The children enjoyed seeing the animals, but couldn't play at the park as the weather had been too wet.

Unfortunately we wont come back as the caravans are in really poor condition now, our caravan number 20, had 2 faulty doors, one let daylight in at the top, one let it in at the bottom, I did mention it at reception, and the lady did offer to send someone down to see if anything could be done, but did comment as the vans are really old now, the hinges might be too fragile to do anything with, so we ended up taping both doors up, but the van was still very cold with the heaters on, the gas fire didn't actually do a lot, a very small flame, so we all slept in pjs t shirts and socks, thankfully we took 3 season sleeping bags not quilts, but the top of them and the pillows were icy cold in the morning, as it was too expensive, as well as possibly dangerous, to leave the heaters on all night,

Such a shame that the van let the site down for us, as the staff are a credit to the site,

One more thing to note, is a car is really important as the site is in the middle of nowhere, but if you take your own van, love a pretty and quiet site with wonderful staff, this would be perfect for you, 


Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: WetWindyHappy 2 reviews from this member

 We booked because of the description that used words like 'peaceful' and 'Dog Friendly', we arrived the day of the Fireworks and can only describe that evening as absolute animal cruelty for us (I kid you not).

Don't get me wrong, we were advised of the pending fireworks, but thought that as they are a pet friendly site they would conduct it responsibly (more colour than bangs and away from the accommodation areas, but its only a small site, that would have been difficult), we were very wrong.

The site owners may not consider around an hour of intense and very loud and consistent explosions, accompanied by very loud music to be animal cruelty (tell it to the dogs that were absolutely petrified), and they may feel this review is unfair, but we paid for the words that are used to describe the site (for one torturous hour this was the polar opposite, and ruined the lot, our dog was not right for a few days afterwards).

This was probably our fault for visiting around that time, but, If you love your dog, don't visit around any sort of celebration time. It would have been nice to have been warned properly (we won't be making that mistake again).

On the whole the site itself was OK.

10/10 for end of season prices.

Cleanliness of caravan was OK, but dead flies lay in the lamp shades of the caravan and the steps into our caravan didn't look safe (just my opinion).

Didn't use any of the other services, so can't comment.

The British Holiday industry has become very expensive from a customer point of view (and that which is offered has appeared to remain the same) but this site has to be the best value for money that I have found (I looked at well over 100 sites around the UK when looking for a static caravan doggie holiday, pity the fireworks spoilt it, we were in desperate need of a holiday which unfortunately didn't happen for us).

Just our experience, I gave it 9 out of 10 because probably 99% of the time this site is half decent.  


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Donna jane 1 review from this member

 We have been going to hedley wood for a number of years and we find the site very pleasant. The staff are helpful and willing to help. There are facilities which are cleaned regularly and a bar which serves great homemade food. Dogs are welcome free of charge. If you have a problem you just speak to the staff and if possible they will resolve the problem for you. All in all we give it 10 out of 10 and will be returning again and again. 


Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hedley Wood Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hedley Wood Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hedley Wood Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Holsworthy      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3739 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement