Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Anitas Touring Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Banbury > Anitas Touring Caravan Park Reviews

Anitas Touring Caravan Park
Formerly Mollington Touring Caravan Park
The Yews
Mollington
Banbury
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX17 1AZ
Tel: 01295 750731
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 24
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 95 Reviews
                8/10 from 95 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  95 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kiddy Can 6 reviews from this member

A very clean and well kept site, excellent facilities including lovely hot water in the showers and easy to get at toilet drop, Automatic entrance and exit, 45 minute stroll to Farnborough pub across the fields. The only downside was the noise from the main road, which was constant and the poor Wi-Fi.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Ganderson888 21 reviews from this member

Just spent 3 nights with 5 friends in three camping pods called Tom, Dick & Harry. These were excellent for our small group who were in the area for a classic car event.

The entire site and the facilities are excellent and all are very well maintained to a high standard.

Anita & Ken were very friendly and overall our experience while on site enabled us to relax and enjoy our weekend.

I'm sure we'll be back soon!

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lynn321 2 reviews from this member

Just come back from a 2 night stay at this smashing caravan park. Staff very friendly and helpful. Shower and toilets spotless. Good area for dogs to do what dogs must do. Nice little bar 5 min walk away ( not open till 7pm but still nice ) about 1 and a half mile to next village smashing bar very friendly and dog friendly. Would we go again YES. Only hiccup is the bus service.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RETIRED2017 1 review from this member

I have just got home after a couple of nights at Anitas campsite. It was quite quiet being midweek. The site is very well kept, the grass and surrounds are all well manicured. The toilet and shower block was clean and had large shower rooms, very good.

The location is good for access to Banbury which is about 4 miles away and to the local countryside. I personally wanted to go canoeing on the Oxford canal. Which is abut 1. 5 miles away.

The site is secured by electric gates and there are entry systems on the shower blocks, this is all reassuring.

The site was not full and most of the pods were not in use, so its hard to say what it would be like when full, but for me it was a perfect short break away in quiet rural location.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Gi11 19 reviews from this member

We visited this site with a whole load of friends. Between us, we used their two cottages (very nice but a bit pricey), all their glamping pods, tents, motorhomes and caravans. No statics on the site. The pods are mixed, some equipped, some bare, none with bathrooms. The site is pretty level and well kept, and is divided by hedges. Plenty of well kept facilities.

Tiny shop, not open many hours, but has the basics, and various breads can be ordered - their croissants are superb.

Well positioned for tourist attractions, of which there are many. It's a working animal farm.

Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: GYPSY3 2 reviews from this member

Don't know when all the campers who left good reviews stayed but it must have been in summer. We booked in for 4 weeks in January. The site was so muddy had to wear wellingtons all the time. The toilet block was unheated and was so cold could not use the showers. I asked the owners why no heating and was told ' people leave the heaters on and our electricity bill is too high ' ( shouldn't open in winter then ) Also the toilet block was never cleaned. I saw a discarded gents razor cartridge on the floor and its was still there a week later. There is no laundry so was unable to wash clothes. Could not stand it after 1 week so found another site nearby which was superb.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Absinthe_boy 16 reviews from this member

Anita's is located adjacent to the village of Mollington, and close to Cropredy and Banbury. It's not too far from Oxford and Leamington-Spa.

On arrival there is a sign telling you to 'stop here' and report to reception. However this sign is placed such that you cannot actually turn into the entrance to the camping fields if you stop with your front bumper at the sign. If you're towing anything, this is a problem. Just be aware and park a couple of yards behind the sign.

Check-in was friendly and we were given the entrance code, however we were not given a map or much advice as to where our pitch was nor were we given the bathroom lock code. As we were staying with a group of friends who had already arrived, perhaps it was assumed someone else would tell us.

The pitch itself was fine, level and well kept. The EHU was the other side of a hedge but this isn't an issue, everyone simply trailed their cables over the hedge. The hedges are mature and keep out the worst of the wind and noise. Indeed we were not especially bothered by the noise from the nearby main road except on Friday and Saturday evenings when motorcycles bomb up and down for a couple of hours. During the week the noise is not intrusive, and is more likely to be lorries burbling along.

There is a mini toilet block to service the top fields, and this is fine when there aren't many people but queues form like a night club when the site is full. One toilet per gender and two sinks for washing up. Nevertheless, when the lady in the golf buggy is on duty (special shout out to her as a star) they are kept spotless and well supplied. The main block is at the other end of the site, and has two unisex showers as well as gendered toilets and showers. These showers are all huge, comfortable and apart from one which needed attention from a plumber gave plenty of hot water. Temperature is adjustable and the press valves seem to be quite generous. These are well kept and also have mops to encourage guests to clean up after themselves.

EHU seems to cope with most situations but our friends found it tripped when they used a kettle, freezer and airbed pump. The reception area has a small shop with your essentials such as bacon, milk, tinned foods, sometimes sausages. 'Poops Corner' is the name of the dog run area, and while it is a nice facility it's a bit small, not large enough to throw a ball any distance for a larger dog to get any exercise. However the site is dog friendly, as long as you keep your dog on a lead. The site keeps the grass they have mowed next to Poops Corner and after a while this begins to mulch and rot in the sun, making an unpleasant smell. I am not sure what other sites do but I've not come across this before. It's not too bad, but is noticeable when the wind blows it in your direction.

A very short walk takes you to Mollington which has a lovely old church but not much else. The village pub opens at 7pm daily but doesn't serve food. There is a postbox in the village.

Further out there is a wonderful pub 'The Bell Inn' at Great Bourton which does fantastic meals. A little further down the road is Cropredy, famed for a civil war battle and an annual music festival. It also has a wonderful old church and a general store type shop with most provisions you could want. Here you can also have access to the canal-side walkway.

Banbury is the nearest sizable town about 4 miles away with good shopping of all kinds including several big name outlets, supermarkets and so on.

Our stay began at the late May bank holiday and extended into the following June weekend and we did get the feeling that once the bank holiday campers had gone, we were kind of left alone. The bins in the upper toilet block overflowed and the dispensers ran out of paper. However this coincided with the golf buggy lady's two days off which explains it.

All in all, I am unsure if I would come back. As a group we found little to do or see in the area, having visited Oxford before. The site is certainly clean and well kept. I am docking points for 'value for money' as they charge quite a lot extra for things like gazebos or event shelters. There was usually plenty of space for kids to play and run around, though there is no specific play area ore equipment.

I would tentatively recommend the site if you wish to camp in this area, as there's nothing specifically wrong here. They do cater well for tents and caravans.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Subry 7 reviews from this member

We stayed here over the busy bank holiday weekend, and were met by an extremely pleasant site warden who seemed to work REALLY hard, she was everywhere - showing people to their pitches, cleaning the toilets - you name it! She even gave us her mobile number to contact her if we needed anything. Site was clean and tidy and the pitches were big enough, if not massive. Toilets and showers were always clean, though there were very often queues for the showers first thing in the morning. Lovely little shop on site, prices were as you would expect for an on site shop. Banbury is not far away with all the usual facilities of a large town - nice shopping centre, pubs etc. We visited the Motor museum at Gaydon (disappointing) and Upton House (National trust - excellent). Also a lovely walk through the owners garden into the village of Mollington, no facilities there but a lovely chocolate box village to stroll round. All in all the site is a great base for exploring the local area.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Crazyguider 22 reviews from this member

We stayed here as a group in early October, and we had been put together as requested, which was lovely.

I arrived in the dark, and received a very warm welcome. I was shown to my pitch, and given the gate/loo/wifi codes.

The site is absolutely pristine - one of the most beautifully cared for sites I have ever seen, and very pretty, taking full advantage of the surrounding countryside.

The site is medium size, divided into areas for tents, tourers/motorhomes, and varieties of glamping, by tidy hedges. There are hard standings of gravel for tin tents. There is also a rally field at the top of the site, which the children use as a playing field when not in use.

Hook ups are available, too.

Entrance to the field is by automatic, coded gate, and a one way system takes you out through another automatic gate.

There is a block which houses the loos and showers, with a combination lock, and this block also houses the laundry and washing up area. The latter holds 2 sinks and drainers and looked a little cramped for more than 3 people at a time, however my kids do the washing up, so I can't comment!

There is a small, tidy little shop in reception which is in the main house.

The toilets/showers were always spotless. There are 3 loos in the ladies, and one shower, but there are 2 further unisex showers in the block vestibule. All 3 shower cubicles were extremely clean and HUGE! The water was lovely and hot, and not on a timer: in fact they are some of the best campsite showers I've used this year. No curtain was required as they were at least 2m x 2m square, although my shoes did get wet from the spray. Each cubicle has its own mop and bucket, which is so much nicer than one mop for the whole shower block! The shower in the ladies has the 2 massive water tanks above it, which made it darker so I only used the unisex shower. It would look so much nicer if those tanks were boxed in to finish it off, and that goes for the exposed pipe work in the other showers - a little attention to detail goes a long way!

The little shop looked nice, but we only bought milk, which was reasonably priced.

The area is lovely - lots of little towns to explore, as well as Oxford and Banbury - although we remained on site with our friends for most of the stay.

The main downside for us was the close proximity to a busy A road, plus the constant roar of the m40 in the distance. You are very close to Oxford and Banbury here, and it's very busy.

Site access, however is very good, with a nice wide entrance/exit and good visibility out onto the road.

We would stay here again if in the area, but for a longer stay we would look for somewhere quieter.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kevinsheldon 33 reviews from this member

This quirky little site suited us perfectly for our 3 night stay in mid September.

A low hedge separated our pitch from 4 or 5 pods with glamping tents a little further away.

Our motorhome occupied the hardstanding area of our pitch so all ancillaries stood on grass.

I found the toilet block had more plus points than drawbacks.

No more fighting off a plastic shower curtain or having to press a button for water flow. The shower cubicles were vast and a shower temperature control ensured a constant flow of piping hot water.

However incorrect setting of the timer operated lighting meant that around 5pm, before the lights came on, the interior became too dark to be of any use.

Road noise became apparent at certain times of day so this needs to be taken into account.

Some lovely ponies passed by on a regular basis and ten or so pretty bantams scurried round the reception garden.

Anita's made a refreshing change from the majority of campsites we've stayed on over the years.

Previous     95 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3252 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019