Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Leicestershire > Castle Donington > Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel Camp Site Reviews

Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel Camp Site
Melbourne Rd
Isley Walton
Castle Donington
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
DE74 2RN
Tel: 01332 862409
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 60
Open: March To December

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 23 Reviews
                7/10 from 23 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Albion24 1 review from this member

Booked onto this campsite for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding on the Saturday. We did know about aircraft noise so we're not surprised at the volume. Check in was nice and easy although I had to leave the caravan at the barrier and go and check in at the hotel reception as there's was no one in the campsite reception and it is quite a walk round to hotel. The toilet block was not clean and tidy and the water was not very warm did not use them decided to use the toilet etc on the caravan instead. The site itself is tidy, but I don't think we will return. Tents are allowed on on site and we found some extra noise from these. The charges are also high and go up even further when there is an event at Donnington Park race track.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Suziebabe32 4 reviews from this member

Used this campsite for the first time this weekend and and will be our last. Nice grounds but no drainage. Toilets dirty and no toilet roll for the whole weekend. No hot water in showers or sinks. We were told the bar would be open from 6pm, we went down at 7. 30 to find it in total darkness, apparently they had weddings on so would not be opening? Not worth the price they charge. We were told to camp up at the top of the site due to wedding guests using the hard standings at the bottom (these were empty for most of the weekend). The toilets at the top were all shut off (not a busy weekend was the reason for that!). If you are visiting Donington racetrack the site is in an excellent location but I am afraid that is the only bit of praise I can give it

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Emma simpson 8 reviews from this member

Stayed over Easter weekend when super bike heats started at Donnington Park. Ground very wet on arrival. Greeted by warden who stated that if we went on the grass with caravan and got stuck then it was a 10 fine. Ground not very well drained, puddles everywhere. Road around campsite had huge potholes and could do with been resurfacing. Toilets were disgusting and looked like they hadn't been cleaned in days. Did not use shower as it was cold and filthy. A generator was running alright in a campervan a few pitches up which was very loud. Rang reception about this and they said to speak to the warden in the morning. Paid 34 for the pitch per night as the super bikes was on, this is way over priced compared to normal prices. Would only use this site again if could not get alternative accommodation and was going to the super bikes or download. Would also use own facilities in own van as well. Only other advantage to this park is been near East Minlands airport. Certainly would not recommend the place.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Julian Dearson 58 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 3 nights at the start of half term. I had arranged a track day at Donington Park for the Saturday and the site was incredibly convenient for this; having a gate at the top of the site leading to the tracks outer service road.

We arrived Friday night and were greeted in the pub by friendly staff. The site was very quiet but not surprised being the end of October. We had a good sized pitch with plenty of room.

Friday night we went to a local pub, by car, which was very good. Found it in the Good Beer Guide!

Sunday we went for a drive around the area and ended up, by design on my part, at the Donington Park museum. Awesome and even the girls enjoyed it!

Very pleasant site with reasonable facilities and relaxed and friendly staff; the airport noise was apparent but I live near a railway so found it easy to 'tune-out' but I can see it could be a little annoying for some.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MadGasket 2 reviews from this member

We visited Friday to Monday as we were visiting a nearby sailing Club. Staff in the Hotel reception were welcoming and friendly. The site was not busy and the only other visitors were likely to have been visiting the adjacent motor racing circuit. We counted a couple of other caravans, a motorvan, a few tents plus a few who were sleeping in their car of van. The Gents toilet was locked leaving three unisex toilets for the site users on the top field. My wife set-to and cleaned two of the cubicles for us to use; she baulked at the third one as someone had lacked an accurate aim! The toilet seats were loose on the pans and the waste bins remained un-emptied during our stay. A shame as the site looked good on paper; I assume that the lack of attention to cleanliness was due to the season reaching the end. I would like to visit early next year to see if things are better.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: HymerHotel 1 review from this member

My Partner and I stayed here whilst watching the E-Formula event at Donington Park on the 19th of August 2014. The site itself is very nice and clean. It is beautifully landscaped with trees and shrubs all very well maintained. Set in very picturesque countryside all walks we went on offered beautiful panoramic views.

It is next to East Midlands Airport so obviously there is aircraft flying over, we personally found this pleasing, living in Cumbria the jets we have flying overhead are quite sudden!

It is a very short walk from gate 21 which is the main entrance to Donington Park Race Course, maybe 200 yards at most.

All the staff at the hotel where we had some drinks and a meal were all very nice and obliging. We definitely plan to go back.

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Moneypeni 9 reviews from this member

We chose this site specifically for the World Superbikes at Donington Race Circuit. We stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend.

On arrival we were booked in quickly and given the code to the security barrier on the site. We directed up to the camping area were told to pitch where we wanted and we chose a sheltered area under the trees.

As it was early in the season, nearly all the campers were bikers who were there for the WSBs. The site itself was well laid out and had direct access out of the back entrance to the paddock entrance of the race track, which saved a lengthy walk to the main gate. Also it saved a fortune in car parking fees as the circuit itself as we just left the car on the campsite the whole weekend.

The toilets were a bit of a trek at the other end of the site near the entrance but eventually they did open a temporary portable cabin toilet block which was much nearer and was well stocked with loo roll, and was kept reasonably clean. There was a small kiddies play area but we didn't see anybody using it.

A word of warning the site is very noisy. It is basically right next to the flight path of East Midlands Airport and you can see and hear the planes quite clearly and they do not stop during the night time! The noise from the race track was very loud, it didn't bother us as we knew what we were letting ourselves in for but it could be off putting.

Overall, a great site if you're visiting the race circuit or you love watching planes take off and land. If not, it's a nice site for a short stay.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Snuggle-Bear 1 review from this member

To be honest, booked this site as a last resort, as everywhere I wanted was fully booked. But I should have chosen this one from the off. A brilliant site. Huge pitches, and more than helpful staff. Toilets were the cleanest I have ever seen on a campsite, but one block was locked as the site was relatively quiet, so we opted to drive to the ones at the entrance.

Only drawbacks is the fact that it is right at the end of east midlands airport main runway. And that you have to pay 1 for 5 mins in the shower! Planes are very loud, but it didn't bother us one bit, as we were not the quietest of campers!

Lovely helpful staff, even when they were woken at 1am to let an ambulance in for me when I started to have a nasty asthma attack. Local people were lovely as well, which is surprising, as normally the locals don't seem to like the campers/tourers!

In easy reach of Donington race track - museum is a must, and there is an asda and tesco a few miles up the road in derby. Bit of a trek, but gave me the excuse to explore the picturesque country roads, and the fantastic swarkstone causeway and bridge.

I would give this site a 9/10 mark, only because I cant seem to get to sleep now without the drone and the roar of the odd airplane taking off over us through the night! I would recommend this site to friends, and I would definitely stay here again!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Skoota 12 reviews from this member

Arrived here on the day after the motor GP and the clean up process was already in motion, we were advised to pitch on a hard standing by the very friendly staff and was happy to do so as it had been raining. We tried the facilities later and found everything good and clean. Price was 22 but was given a midweek discount to 18 with EHU. We went here to see the aircraft and was not disappointed so we didn't mind the noise. There seems to be an adjoining field for long term or statics and another for tents. There are signs for having breakfast from the hotel around the yard. Hook-ups and water are available at appointed places around the park so there's no long walks .We only stopped for one night so did not try the hotel or any local shops. We would stay here again.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thehintons 3 reviews from this member

We booked this site as we attended a wedding at the hotel. The site itself was really nice well laid out and good facilities. Good shower and toilet blocks. Plenty of space for the kids to play. However, the noise. The site is at the end of the runway, well almost. The first plane takes off at dark o'clock about 4:30 according to my wife and goes on pretty much throughout the day. The race track starts at about 10.

If this site were placed anywhere else I would really recommend it.

It was really good though to come out of the wedding walk to the tent and fall asleep. Probably imbibed a bit too much to notice the planes after that.

I can see a big plus here though if they let you leave your car whilst you catch a plane.

Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Castle Donington      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Leicestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4304 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019