Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Leicestershire > Castle Donington > Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel Camp Site > Reviews

Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel Camp Site
Melbourne Rd
Isley Walton
Castle Donington
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
DE74 2RN
Tel: 01332 862409
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 27 Reviews
                7/10 from 27 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Grey29 1 review from this member

 Camp site was very clean and well maintained.

The facilities were excellent with everything needed for a great stay.

Nothing negative to say about our stay 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hgvcad 1 review from this member

 I hastily booked this site for an overnight stay. The site itself was lovely and it was fun at first watching the airplanes coming in but not so fun during the night.

The toilet and shower facilities were not the best we have seen and for 36.00 or so for one night we realised why the site was completely empty other than 1 tent and one caravan. No one on site to meet you and saw no staff at all.

I think this place is a stopover for the racing enthusiasts who might be happy to the fees but if not, you should find somewhere else to stay.

To be totally honest, we like to stay on nice sites but have paid 15.00 a night for a lot better. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Boozysuzy 2 reviews from this member

 Perfect spot for attending Donington park, staff friendly and very helpful.

Showers very good 1 (paid contactless) for 5 mins, toilets could do to be upgraded but to be fair they had had a huge amount of rain before we arrived and the grass was very spongy we were on the larger hard standing so were fine!

Be warned it is on east midland airport flight path so can be noisy!

We'll definitely be back! The hotel is good for food too! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paulv3 1 review from this member

 Great brand new shower block. At 40 per night well overpriced.

On the plus side the access to donington race track is absolutely perfect. But I still think forty quid a night is a bit steep to stay in my own caravan and my wife wasn't even allowed to use her hair drier.

Oh forgot to say the brand new shower block costs 1 for a 5 minute shower and that's on top of your Forty quid. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Albion24 1 review from this member

 Booked onto this campsite for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding on the Saturday. We did know about aircraft noise so we're not surprised at the volume.

Check in was nice and easy although I had to leave the caravan at the barrier and go and check in at the hotel reception as there's was no one in the campsite reception and it is quite a walk round to hotel.

The toilet block was not clean and tidy and the water was not very warm did not use them decided to use the toilet etc on the caravan instead.

The site itself is tidy, but I don't think we will return. Tents are allowed on on site and we found some extra noise from these.

The charges are also high and go up even further when there is an event at Donnington Park race track. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Suziebabe32 4 reviews from this member

 Used this campsite for the first time this weekend and and will be our last. Nice grounds but no drainage. Toilets dirty and no toilet roll for the whole weekend.

No hot water in showers or sinks. We were told the bar would be open from 6pm, we went down at 7. 30 to find it in total darkness, apparently they had weddings on so would not be opening? Not worth the price they charge.

We were told to camp up at the top of the site due to wedding guests using the hard standings at the bottom (these were empty for most of the weekend).

The toilets at the top were all shut off (not a busy weekend was the reason for that!).

If you are visiting Donington racetrack the site is in an excellent location but I am afraid that is the only bit of praise I can give it 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Emma simpson 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed over Easter weekend when super bike heats started at Donnington Park. Ground very wet on arrival. Greeted by warden who stated that if we went on the grass with caravan and got stuck then it was a 10 fine.

Ground not very well drained, puddles everywhere. Road around campsite had huge potholes and could do with been resurfacing. Toilets were disgusting and looked like they hadn't been cleaned in days. Did not use shower as it was cold and filthy.

A generator was running alright in a campervan a few pitches up which was very loud. Rang reception about this and they said to speak to the warden in the morning. Paid 34 for the pitch per night as the super bikes was on, this is way over priced compared to normal prices.

Would only use this site again if could not get alternative accommodation and was going to the super bikes or download. Would also use own facilities in own van as well.

Only other advantage to this park is been near East Minlands airport. Certainly would not recommend the place. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Julian Dearson 58 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights at the start of half term. I had arranged a track day at Donington Park for the Saturday and the site was incredibly convenient for this; having a gate at the top of the site leading to the tracks outer service road.

We arrived Friday night and were greeted in the pub by friendly staff. The site was very quiet but not surprised being the end of October. We had a good sized pitch with plenty of room.

Friday night we went to a local pub, by car, which was very good. Found it in the Good Beer Guide!

Sunday we went for a drive around the area and ended up, by design on my part, at the Donington Park museum. Awesome and even the girls enjoyed it!

Very pleasant site with reasonable facilities and relaxed and friendly staff; the airport noise was apparent but I live near a railway so found it easy to 'tune-out' but I can see it could be a little annoying for some. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MadGasket 2 reviews from this member

 We visited Friday to Monday as we were visiting a nearby sailing Club. Staff in the Hotel reception were welcoming and friendly. The site was not busy and the only other visitors were likely to have been visiting the adjacent motor racing circuit. We counted a couple of other caravans, a motorvan, a few tents plus a few who were sleeping in their car of van. The Gents toilet was locked leaving three unisex toilets for the site users on the top field. My wife set-to and cleaned two of the cubicles for us to use; she baulked at the third one as someone had lacked an accurate aim! The toilet seats were loose on the pans and the waste bins remained un-emptied during our stay. A shame as the site looked good on paper; I assume that the lack of attention to cleanliness was due to the season reaching the end. I would like to visit early next year to see if things are better. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: HymerHotel 1 review from this member

 My Partner and I stayed here whilst watching the E-Formula event at Donington Park on the 19th of August 2014. The site itself is very nice and clean. It is beautifully landscaped with trees and shrubs all very well maintained. Set in very picturesque countryside all walks we went on offered beautiful panoramic views.

It is next to East Midlands Airport so obviously there is aircraft flying over, we personally found this pleasing, living in Cumbria the jets we have flying overhead are quite sudden!

It is a very short walk from gate 21 which is the main entrance to Donington Park Race Course, maybe 200 yards at most.

All the staff at the hotel where we had some drinks and a meal were all very nice and obliging. We definitely plan to go back. 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel Camp Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel Camp Site dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Castle Donington      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Leicestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1650 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement