Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverside Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Cambridgeshire > Ely > Riverside Caravan & Camping Park > Reviews

Riverside Caravan & Camping Park
21 New River Bank
Littleport
Ely
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
CB7 4TA
Tel: 01353 860255  or  07813 523960
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 49
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 120 Reviews
                8/10 from 120 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  120 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Janef8 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely clean campsite, staff very helpful 10out10

Great walks along the river for walking dog 2 x nice pubs near by in the village.

Would return again close to Windsor for the sightseeing they advised us on a good car park to use for the day.

Wish it was a section for adults only say one side of the campsite, then families on the other side it’s big enough site and laid out to be able todo this, but for a few days it suited us … I wouldn’t stay in school holiday times again

But it’s a great site will stay when it’s not school holidays next time 😊 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Seafarer 8 reviews from this member

 Riverside is predominately a static caravan site and (as stated by staff member who met us on arrival), is being converted, to be totally residential static.

We were pitched on the remaining small area of grass, which was only big enough for about 5 caravans or motorhomes.

Staff member that we met at gate was very helpful and facilities for overnight stop were good. However, it is obvious that Riverside will cease to be a campsite in the near future 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Postie79 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a midweek break from this lovely quiet site.

On arrival, Dave the park manager greeted us and showed us around and let us choose our pitch. He was really helpful and accomodating in telling us about the nearby village and surrounding area.

The site is very clean as well as the toilets and showers. Improvements to the grounds were being made during our stay. Also a shop is planned for those essentials. Littleport is a 5 minute walk away, several shops and takeaways to suit every taste. Nice cosy pub, called the Swan on the Lake just over the bridge served a nice pint of beer. Also served food.

Overall a very relaxed site, would go again. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jackfield 8 reviews from this member

 This was a nice site, the person showing us the pitches was very pleasant and helpful, but there were a few problems. The one shower was out of order, leaving only one shower available for the whole site. It was quiet when we were there but I cant imagine what it would be like if it was busy. The toilets were cleaned daily. The main point for me was there was a freezer and fridge area to put your food, but when I looked in the freezer it was chocked to the top with I don't know what and the fridge I wouldn't put anything in there for fear of some dreaded food poisoning. It needs cleaning out, as it was full of old food and something had run out in it. It was a health hazard, but don't be put off by this, as the site itself is pleasant, lots of birds tweeting, very quiet and over the road a nice walk along the river to the Swan, which was right on the river, a beautiful setting and you could walk into Littleport and catch the train to Ely, which is also a lovely little riverside place, with pubs on the river. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Susanj 18 reviews from this member

 IT’S NOT ADULT ONLY!

We booked this site after reading the reviews and were really looking forward to it.

What a disappointment.

The sites own website and this web-site, plus their own promotional leaflet all state that is an adult only site.

On checking in, we were told they had changed their policy and were now allowing children. We were told ‘we don’t have any children here at the moment’. Not true!

If you book an adult only site, then you sort of expect it to be adult only, don’t you?

Road noise: we were shown to a pitch which was immediately adjacent to the road. This road is the ‘old’ A 10, which looks quiet on the OS map, but is obviously used by locals not wanting to use the by-pass. It was noisy all day long. This is a shame as the site is pleasantly rural.

Positioning of units: The people who pitched up next to us (in a caravan) were only 8 feet away from us. I’m not sure if they were told to go there, or they chose it themselves. I suspect the former, as we were told where to go and I see from other reviews that this seems the normal practice. We had no space around the van and little privacy. This was made worse by the fact the people the other side of us parked up the ‘wrong’ way round-and no, they didn’t have a foreign vehicle-so they gave us no privacy either.

Facilities were generally ok but not great.

We had to pay cash, which we weren’t told about when booking.

I definitely would not return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Danmarsal 2 reviews from this member

 My wife and I stayed over the Bank Holiday weekend. Brilliant, what a quiet campsite! Next to the river almost, (you need to cross the road but although not busy cars do whizz along so look both ways, luckily you can see a long way either direction) so we took our inflatable kayaks and got a good afternoons kayaking in.

The food places nearby are ok for food but we thought that the Indian restaurant that the campsite mentions on their noticeboards was excellent.

A short drive away is Ely, the Cathedral is magnificent for it's sheer size, beauty and the fact it is older than almost every building you have ever visited. When the market is on it is large and worth having a mooch around.

Back to the campsite. Everyone we met and spoke to were polite and helpful and friendly but they only interact mutually and otherwise leave you to your own devices so it was bliss. Also, because it is Adults only there is no excess noise that the little ones generate, sheer bliss! To put it how my wife said 'We are definitely coming back here again!' and I agreed. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joannem1 13 reviews from this member

 We've just returned after a 3 night stay at this pretty site. The shower block was clean and there was plenty of hot water. I do agree with a previous review and getting over the road to walk dogs could be a bit of a challenge as the road wasn't always busy but when cars did use it they came down at speed and also the steps to get up to the riverbank weren't paw friendly as they had big gaps in them. It could be advised that the site sign could be further up the road to warn you that you're approaching the entrance, rather than the current sign that is upon the entrance and if you were towing a caravan and missed the turning you would struggle to find a place to turn around. We will return again to this site as its well kept and a credit to the owners who have worked hard to get it were it is today 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hilary C 36 reviews from this member

 So disappointed, we had been looking forward to our two night stay here so much. When we arrived the owners were away on their holiday so we and our 7 month puppy were shown to our pitch by a friendly caretaker. However two hours later he came storming over and said that if the dog was barking when the owners returned the next day we would be told to leave as they wouldn't tolerate it. He's a 7 month old excited puppy in a strange place with exciting new sights and smells but no allowance was made for this. Once we were set up he was much quieter but we spent the rest of that day and all of the next continually on edge encase he barked. Dogs must be exercised off site which entails crossing the road which at times was like a race track and going up a short flight of metal steps to the top of the river bank, when you come back down the steps go to the edge of the road which is not very dog friendly. There are trains which run quite frequently the other side of the river and sound their horn.

The site itself was neat, tidy, clean and pretty and the bird song is lovely. The showers and toilets were also clean. The riverside walk to the Swan is very nice as was the food there. We were going to return after a few days for a further three nights but cancelled in favour of another site that is more dog friendly. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: The Brownies 1 review from this member

 Lovely little quite well kept site with very helpful and friendly owners.

Facilities beautifully kept and look to have been upgraded. Will definitely return to cycle along river to Ely 5 miles away. It was too hot to do anything when we stayed.

Brilliant chippy in village about 20 min on foot (The Cod Father) and short walk to pub.

Can also swim in river which is just cross the road, if the fancy takes you! 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lemise 1 review from this member

 Thank you Steve and Vanessa for a lovely site very helpful, lovely location, loved walking by the river and the food at the swan was lovely. Shops within walking distance, it maybe near a road but hardly notice this at all, will be visiting again X thank you keep the good work up. 


Previous     120 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Riverside Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Riverside Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Riverside Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ely      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3104 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement