Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Riverside Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Site Reviews

Riverside Caravan & Camping Park
21 New River Bank
Littleport
Ely
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
CB7 4TA
Tel: 01353 860255  or  07813 523960
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 49
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 118 Reviews
                8/10 from 118 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  118 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Postie79 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a midweek break from this lovely quiet site.

On arrival, Dave the park manager greeted us and showed us around and let us choose our pitch. He was really helpful and accomodating in telling us about the nearby village and surrounding area.

The site is very clean as well as the toilets and showers. Improvements to the grounds were being made during our stay. Also a shop is planned for those essentials. Littleport is a 5 minute walk away, several shops and takeaways to suit every taste. Nice cosy pub, called the Swan on the Lake just over the bridge served a nice pint of beer. Also served food.

Overall a very relaxed site, would go again.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jackfield 1 review from this member

This was a nice site, the person showing us the pitches was very pleasant and helpful, but there were a few problems. The one shower was out of order, leaving only one shower available for the whole site. It was quiet when we were there but I cant imagine what it would be like if it was busy. The toilets were cleaned daily. The main point for me was there was a freezer and fridge area to put your food, but when I looked in the freezer it was chocked to the top with I don't know what and the fridge I wouldn't put anything in there for fear of some dreaded food poisoning. It needs cleaning out, as it was full of old food and something had run out in it. It was a health hazard, but don't be put off by this, as the site itself is pleasant, lots of birds tweeting, very quiet and over the road a nice walk along the river to the Swan, which was right on the river, a beautiful setting and you could walk into Littleport and catch the train to Ely, which is also a lovely little riverside place, with pubs on the river.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Susanj 16 reviews from this member

IT’S NOT ADULT ONLY!

We booked this site after reading the reviews and were really looking forward to it.

What a disappointment.

The sites own website and this web-site, plus their own promotional leaflet all state that is an adult only site.

On checking in, we were told they had changed their policy and were now allowing children. We were told ‘we don’t have any children here at the moment’. Not true!

If you book an adult only site, then you sort of expect it to be adult only, don’t you?

Road noise: we were shown to a pitch which was immediately adjacent to the road. This road is the ‘old’ A 10, which looks quiet on the OS map, but is obviously used by locals not wanting to use the by-pass. It was noisy all day long. This is a shame as the site is pleasantly rural.

Positioning of units: The people who pitched up next to us (in a caravan) were only 8 feet away from us. I’m not sure if they were told to go there, or they chose it themselves. I suspect the former, as we were told where to go and I see from other reviews that this seems the normal practice. We had no space around the van and little privacy. This was made worse by the fact the people the other side of us parked up the ‘wrong’ way round-and no, they didn’t have a foreign vehicle-so they gave us no privacy either.

Facilities were generally ok but not great.

We had to pay cash, which we weren’t told about when booking.

I definitely would not return.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Danmarsal 1 review from this member

My wife and I stayed over the Bank Holiday weekend. Brilliant, what a quiet campsite! Next to the river almost, (you need to cross the road but although not busy cars do whizz along so look both ways, luckily you can see a long way either direction) so we took our inflatable kayaks and got a good afternoons kayaking in.

The food places nearby are ok for food but we thought that the Indian restaurant that the campsite mentions on their noticeboards was excellent.

A short drive away is Ely, the Cathedral is magnificent for it's sheer size, beauty and the fact it is older than almost every building you have ever visited. When the market is on it is large and worth having a mooch around.

Back to the campsite. Everyone we met and spoke to were polite and helpful and friendly but they only interact mutually and otherwise leave you to your own devices so it was bliss. Also, because it is Adults only there is no excess noise that the little ones generate, sheer bliss! To put it how my wife said 'We are definitely coming back here again!' and I agreed.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joannem1 13 reviews from this member

We've just returned after a 3 night stay at this pretty site. The shower block was clean and there was plenty of hot water. I do agree with a previous review and getting over the road to walk dogs could be a bit of a challenge as the road wasn't always busy but when cars did use it they came down at speed and also the steps to get up to the riverbank weren't paw friendly as they had big gaps in them. It could be advised that the site sign could be further up the road to warn you that you're approaching the entrance, rather than the current sign that is upon the entrance and if you were towing a caravan and missed the turning you would struggle to find a place to turn around. We will return again to this site as its well kept and a credit to the owners who have worked hard to get it were it is today

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hilary C 30 reviews from this member

So disappointed, we had been looking forward to our two night stay here so much. When we arrived the owners were away on their holiday so we and our 7 month puppy were shown to our pitch by a friendly caretaker. However two hours later he came storming over and said that if the dog was barking when the owners returned the next day we would be told to leave as they wouldn't tolerate it. He's a 7 month old excited puppy in a strange place with exciting new sights and smells but no allowance was made for this. Once we were set up he was much quieter but we spent the rest of that day and all of the next continually on edge encase he barked. Dogs must be exercised off site which entails crossing the road which at times was like a race track and going up a short flight of metal steps to the top of the river bank, when you come back down the steps go to the edge of the road which is not very dog friendly. There are trains which run quite frequently the other side of the river and sound their horn.

The site itself was neat, tidy, clean and pretty and the bird song is lovely. The showers and toilets were also clean. The riverside walk to the Swan is very nice as was the food there. We were going to return after a few days for a further three nights but cancelled in favour of another site that is more dog friendly.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: The Brownies 1 review from this member

Lovely little quite well kept site with very helpful and friendly owners.

Facilities beautifully kept and look to have been upgraded. Will definitely return to cycle along river to Ely 5 miles away. It was too hot to do anything when we stayed.

Brilliant chippy in village about 20 min on foot (The Cod Father) and short walk to pub.

Can also swim in river which is just cross the road, if the fancy takes you!

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lemise 1 review from this member

Thank you Steve and Vanessa for a lovely site very helpful, lovely location, loved walking by the river and the food at the swan was lovely. Shops within walking distance, it maybe near a road but hardly notice this at all, will be visiting again X thank you keep the good work up.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Septeluna247 2 reviews from this member

We wanted a quiet site for our second trip out in our little caravan, not too far from our home in Bedfordshire and Riverside seemed to tick all the boxes. Upon arrival we were greeted by the owner, very friendly, who booked us in and asked us to follow her to our pitch. As we drove through, following her on her bicycle, we were really impressed at how lovely the site was kept. We got to our pitch in a lovely grassed area amongst some other caravans and set the up. Everything was clean, tidy, well kept and quiet! The toilet and shower blocks were very clean and in a good way, welcoming. Hook up was right next to the caravan and fresh water about 20 yards away. Even the roaming chickens were quiet! We went up the road and across the bridge in the evening to the Swan on the River for a glorious meal. All in all, a superb stay was had and we will definitely go back again. The site is beautiful and quiet with plenty of opportunities for walking by the river, a visit to the local towns or just chilling out. With a beer or three.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Azhaaris 2 reviews from this member

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay for three nights whilst I exhibited my cats at the local leisure centre in Littleport ( 2 miles away).

This site is beautifully kept the owners are to be commended on the extremely high standards they keep very helfull and friendly and on arriving Vanessa the owner escorts you to your pitch on her trusty bicycle. This site has hook up showers & toilets( which are pristine), fridge & freezer facilities included in the price. An adults only site that excepts dogs, motorhomes, trailer tents & tents. An added bonus are the free range hens that live on the site whose eggs are available for purchase, what more can you want for your breakfast then really fresh eggs on your holiday! the local area has a village feel to it with plenty of places to eat and drink, the town of Ely is a few miles away with plenty of shopping and history. There are also local markets that you may visit Downham market has them and dates times etc are posted on the notice board on the site also the owners are extremely knowledgeable and helpful if you need any information.

Across the road from the campsite is the river Ouse and I think you are able to fish with a permit.

I am definitely going back to this site next year for the cat show again but will book in for a longer stay as I was so enjoying myself I didn't want to leave.

Previous     118 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Cambridgeshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2870 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0967