Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Domaine De La Breche

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Varennes Sur Loire > Camping Domaine De La Breche > Reviews

Camping Domaine De La Breche
5 Impasse De La Breche
Varennes Sur Loire
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
49730
Tel: +33 2 41 51 22 92
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 135
Open: 28/04/2024 to 15/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 6 Reviews
                9/10 from 6 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lou bee 9 reviews from this member

 Having booked this site for June 2020 we finally arrived for the last week of August/first week of September 2022. This was a first camping trip without our ( now grown up) children and our first trip for nearly four years so was a bit of a gear change for us.

We stayed on a very large electric pitch with a private bathroom on pitch ( another first). Pitch was flat and good although be aware of the large trees around the site as the acorns hitting your roof can be disturbing. The bathroom on pitch was fabulous, clean, modern with sink, shower, separate toilet and plenty of storage. There was a radiator too but weather was boiling so not needed. There was also a covered washing up sink with hot and cold water.

The site was very busy our first week and the pool seemed crowded ( there was a heatwave), the second week was much more relaxed with plenty of room and we used the pool daily. It was fairly cool but a good main pool and separate length pool. All facilities were available into September but some items were no longer available in the bar and takeaway. Good reasonably priced pizza in takeaway.

The main site toilet facilities ( two open) were clean, well maintained, had loo roll and electric hand-dryers.

Overall we felt it was a friendly, beautifully presented site that had plenty to do particularly for families but you do need a car to visit the area and the fabulous Chateaux that shouldn’t be missed. Very easy to drive into Saumur which was a lovely town with an absolutely huge ELeClerc for all the essentials. Not sure if we would visit again but only as it was very much a family site and we are now looking for smaller sites later in September. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rhj296 3 reviews from this member

 Just back from site after a 17 day stay. Great site and great facilities, however despite that we all felt slightly underwhelmed by the place. We can't exactly put our finger on why, just a feeling.

Neither my wife or 12 year old son could pinpoint it either. I believe that the number of mosquitoes coming from the rather full stream of still water behind our pitch may have had something to do with it. I know they are a fact of summer and a problem made worse by the recent rains.

Our pitch was very large and flat with no problems hooking up to the electric system.

On the positive side the facilities were spotless and the dish washing water was the hottest I have ever used. The wine purchased from the on site shop was exceptionally nice.

The area has lots to do and we visited the local towns and chateau, as well as just relaxing on site.

Will we return? No, next year we will head off and try our luck elsewhere. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Swiftowner 18 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 10 nights. The camp site is very big, with lots of Eurocamp statics on site. Plenty of touring spaces with really large pitches separated by hedges and trees. Swimming pools were good, with slides and splash pool. Not enough sun loungers to accommodate everyone on a busy day. My sons loved the football cage where they played football happily for hours at a time! Lots to do on site including golf, tennis, pony rides, archery, go karting etc.

Only downside of this site is its location. You definitely need your car for all outings. Nothing within walking distance. However, that said we really liked this site and would definitely consider staying again. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dobboanddobbo 13 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, would highly recommend it. It is a large site and was virtually full as you'd expect at that time of year yet there seemed to be plenty of space for everyone and everywhere was kept really clean at all times.

The pool complex was great for our children aged 2 and 5 with a little pool with their own slides and fountain which was fenced off from the deep pools with the larger slides.

A smallholding with various small farm animals, pony trekking (€8 for half an hour) fishing and various small play parks kept us all busy during days on site.

The restaurant served good food and wine and worked out similar in cost to a restaurant in the uk. The takeaway was reasonable also.

Staff really friendly and attentive and the evening entertainment was different every night and of decent quality. There was also a travelling circus there one evening which we paid extra to see and it was worth it.

Great location with lots to see and do and a supermarket 10 minutes drive away. Make sure you visit Château Breze. Not far by car and absolutely fantastic day out exploring the old caves and Château - a bargain at only €19 for all four of us. Before you visit anywhere go to reception as they are really informative about the best places to visit and will give you a voucher for a discount on entry prices. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sarahlhunter 1 review from this member

 This is a really family friendly site with plenty to do for the children even catered for out 12 year old. Bridgette the owner could not be more welcoming and nothing was ever a problem for her.

We were pitched on a008 & A009 which were rather shady but offered some sun when it came out.

The toilet blocks could have been cleaner near the end of the day but that was partly due to the fact that people did not clean up after themselves and seemed to forget what the mop was for! They were cleaned early hours of every morning.

The pool offered plenty to keep the children happy although it was hard to get a sunbed unless you were there when the pool opened. It would have been nice to have an early morning swim before it got busy but the pool didn't open until 10am which was one of the downsides.

The shop has lots of local produce and all local wine, champagne etc which was nice and not too pricey.

The wifi is only available in the shop/bar area very little 3G anywhere else but that didn't bother us.

Definitely will be visiting again on our way to another Castels site next year. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Wisteria 2 reviews from this member

 This is a great site for children. Our daughter had a wonderful holiday here which meant we were able to relax too. It seems to be listed here under 'Etang de la Breche' but is obviously the same place. We read the glowing reviews and were not disappointed.

There was so much for children to do, but the site managed to retain a small, friendly feel. Lots of play areas (slides etc) scattered around the ground (about 5 in all) so not too far from any pitches. Our daughter loved the pool area, which had slides and a toddlers pool. It did get busy in the afternoons, but that is what you expect in hot weather. We always managed to find a sun lounger here.

The kids club was superb. Really lovely staff, very friendly and so many activities: pony riding, circus skills (a circus visited while we were there) games, craft etc, etc. There were go-karts to hire to ride around the site. Our daughter loved the freedom allowed by this site. The kids club team ran evening activities - bingo, quizzes etc which were good fun and they got the children involved eg reading the bingo numbers in English/French. Was a lovely, family atmosphere here.

The Loire valley is a great area for a holiday. So many wonderful castles to visit (don't miss Villandry) and we had perfect weather (not too hot but still hot enough for outside pool). There is a choice of restaurants and supermarkets in nearby Saumur.

Mainly English & French visitors here. The young bar staff were all practising their English so difficult to practice your French on site. About 50% rental mobiles and 50% pitches. The mobiles are at the further end of the site.

There are plenty of toilet blocks (3 I think) so never far to walk. The loos were always clean, the showers hot and we never had to wait. They were separate mens and womens, rather than unisex.

Only downsides for us (but these are quibbles that will not stop us returning):

- there was a little background road noise (but we were near the swimming pool and bar etc ie the road end). There was only noise from the bar one evening when there was a party/band but this finished about 11pm, otherwise very quiet.

- the food - we found the restaurant and take away to be of poor quality, but I see they have new manager in the restaurant this year.

- there was a separate kids club for the Eurocamp/Keycamp customers which was rather divisive and difficult to explain to a young child.

We had planned to stay for 2 weeks, but actually stayed for 3 as I was taken ill in the middle of the holiday and had an emergency operation and had to stay in the local hospital in Saumur for a few nights. (As an aside the hospital was superb). The campsite staff were very helpful and concerned during this time and enabled us to stay on the original pitch for the extra week while I was recovering.

Overall, a really friendly, family focussed site. Our daughter is desperate to return again this year. 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping Domaine De La Breche child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Domaine De La Breche have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Domaine De La Breche?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Domaine De La Breche dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Varennes Sur Loire      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6320 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement